DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-24, 25, 30-37, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergdahl et al. (US 2011/0121017 A1) in view of Davies (US 6,553,987 A1).
With regard to claim 21 and 36, Bergdahl discloses A handheld apparatus (fig. 1 and 5, system is designed to be used by a user and is considered handheld in that the system is operated via a user’s hand, see further details in the Response to Arguments) for delivering an agent, comprising: a chamber (2) configured to store the agent (3); a first passage (see Fig. 5, pathway below the dosing element 14 at element 5 that continues through element 7) configured to receive a pressurized fluid (from 8, pressurized fluid would be capable of flowing into passage 5 and 7, therefore the first passage would be configured to or capable of receiving pressurized fluid); and a movable device (Fig. 5, rotating element 14) disposed between and in fluid communication with each of the chamber and the first passage (see Fig. 5); wherein the movable device includes a pair of cavities, and each cavity (see annotated Fig below) configured to receive the agent from the chamber and release the agent into the first passage in response to the movable device rotating relative to the chamber and the first passage ([0054]), thereby causing the agent to mix with the pressurized fluid from the first passage for delivery from the handheld apparatus (mixes within passage 7).
However, Bergdahl does not disclose a helically-shaped cavities.
Davies teaches an apparatus for delivering a powder agent comprising a chamber (Fig. 1, element 12) configured to store the agent (P inside 14), a first passage (at 20) and a movable device (16) disposed between and in fluid communication with each of the chamber and the first passage, wherein the movable device has a longitudinal length (Fig. 1, length is between 36a and 34) that extends perpendicular to the chamber (see Fig .1, longitudinal length of the chamber 12 is up and down in Fig. 1 and the longitudinal length of the movable member is left to right in Fig. 1); wherein the movable device includes a pair of helically-shaped cavities (17, better seen in Fig. 2) that each extend along the longitudinal length of the movable device and each-helically shaped cavity is configured to continuously receive the agent from the chamber (Col 4, lines 57-end) and release the agent into the first passage as the movable device rotates relative to the chamber and the first passage (Col 5, lines 22-38). Thus, the movable element of Davies can replace the movable element of Bergdahl for metering the powder.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl with the movable device having helically-shaped cavities as taught by Davies for the purpose of delivered the desired dose of powder without compacting the powder (Col 2, lines 56-65).
With regard to claim 22, Bergdahl discloses further comprising a second passage (9) in fluid communication with the first passage, the second passage is configured to receive a mixture of the agent and the pressurized fluid in response to the movable device releasing the agent into the first passage (see Fig. 1, after mixture is mixed with fluid from passage 8, the combined mixture moves through passage 9).
With regard to claim 23, Bergdahl discloses wherein the movable device (14) is configured to position each cavity facing towards at least one of the chamber (see top cavity in Fig above) and the first passage (see bottom cavity in Fig above) in response to rotating along a longitudinal axis that is transverse relative to the chamber (In Fig. 5, the rotating axis would the one coming straight out of the page at 145, the longitudinal axis of the chamber would be straight up and down, therefore, the rotational axis of the movable element is transverse to the chamber).
However, Bergdahl does not disclose the longitudinal axis of the movable element that is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the first passage.
Davies teaches wherein the movable device (16) is configured to position each helically-shaped cavity (17) facing towards at least one of the chamber and the first passage (20) in response to rotating along a longitudinal axis that is transverse relative to the chamber (12, see Fig. 1) and parallel to a longitudinal axis of the first passage (see Fig. 1) (Col 5, lines 22-38).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl with the movable device having helically-shaped cavities transverse to the chamber as taught by Davies for the purpose of delivered the desired dose of powder without compacting the powder (Col 2, lines 56-65).
With regard to claim 24, Bergdahl discloses wherein the movable device is positioned downstream from the chamber (see Fig. 5) such that cavity is configured to receive the agent from the chamber at least partially via gravitational forces (see Fig above, agent would fall down into the top cavity).
However, Bergdahl does not disclose a helically-shaped cavities.
Davies teaches an apparatus for delivering a powder agent comprising a chamber (Fig. 1, element 12) configured to store the agent (P inside 14), a first passage (at 20) and a movable device (16) disposed between and in fluid communication with each of the chamber and the first passage, wherein the movable device has a longitudinal length (Fig. 1, length is between 36a and 34) that extends perpendicular to the chamber (see Fig .1, longitudinal length of the chamber 12 is up and down in Fig. 1 and the longitudinal length of the movable member is left to right in Fig. 1); wherein the movable device includes a pair of helically-shaped cavities (17, better seen in Fig. 2) that each extend along the longitudinal length of the movable device and each-helically shaped cavity is configured to continuously receive the agent from the chamber (Col 4, lines 57-end) and release the agent into the first passage as the movable device rotates relative to the chamber and the first passage (Col 5, lines 22-38). Thus, the movable element of Davies can replace the movable element of Bergdahl for metering the powder.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl with the movable device having helically-shaped cavities as taught by Davies for the purpose of delivered the desired dose of powder without compacting the powder (Col 2, lines 56-65).
With regard to claim 25, Bergdahl discloses wherein the movable device (14) is positioned upstream from the first passage (5, see Fig. 5) such that each cavity is configured to release the agent into the first passage at least partially via gravitational forces (see Fig above the bottom cavity would allow for gravitational forces to drop the agent downwards toward passage 5).
However, Bergdahl does not disclose a helically-shaped cavities.
Davies teaches an apparatus for delivering a powder agent comprising a chamber (Fig. 1, element 12) configured to store the agent (P inside 14), a first passage (at 20) and a movable device (16) disposed between and in fluid communication with each of the chamber and the first passage, wherein the movable device has a longitudinal length (Fig. 1, length is between 36a and 34) that extends perpendicular to the chamber (see Fig .1, longitudinal length of the chamber 12 is up and down in Fig. 1 and the longitudinal length of the movable member is left to right in Fig. 1); wherein the movable device includes a pair of helically-shaped cavities (17, better seen in Fig. 2) that each extend along the longitudinal length of the movable device and each-helically shaped cavity is configured to continuously receive the agent from the chamber (Col 4, lines 57-end) and release the agent into the first passage as the movable device rotates relative to the chamber and the first passage (Col 5, lines 22-38). Thus, the movable element of Davies can replace the movable element of Bergdahl for metering the powder.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl with the movable device having helically-shaped cavities as taught by Davies for the purpose of delivered the desired dose of powder without compacting the powder (Col 2, lines 56-65).
With regard to claim 30, Bergdahl discloses the claimed invention except for the helically-shaped blades.
Davies teaches wherein each helically-shaped cavity (17) is separated from one another by a pair of helically-shaped blades (42) disposed therebetween, such that each cavity defines a trough extending through the movable device and positioned between the helically-shaped blades, the trough having a longitudinal length and an elongate shape that has a uniform cross-sectional dimension along the longitudinal length (trough is formed but the cutout of 17 and is along the length of the movable member as shown in Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl with the movable device having helically-shaped cavities as taught by Davies for the purpose of delivered the desired dose of powder without compacting the powder (Col 2, lines 56-65).
With regard to claim 31, Bergdahl discloses further comprising a chassis (146, in fig. 5), wherein the movable device and the first passage are disposed within the chassis and the chamber is removably coupled to the chassis.
With regard to claim 32, Bergdahl discloses wherein the chamber includes an opening (see where chamber 2 connects with 146) that is in fluid communication with each cavity in response to the movable device rotating relative to the chamber to align each cavity with the opening (see Fig. 5).
However, Bergdahl does not disclose a helically-shaped cavities.
Davies teaches an apparatus for delivering a powder agent comprising a chamber (Fig. 1, element 12) configured to store the agent (P inside 14), a first passage (at 20) and a movable device (16) disposed between and in fluid communication with each of the chamber and the first passage, wherein the movable device has a longitudinal length (Fig. 1, length is between 36a and 34) that extends perpendicular to the chamber (see Fig .1, longitudinal length of the chamber 12 is up and down in Fig. 1 and the longitudinal length of the movable member is left to right in Fig. 1); wherein the movable device includes a pair of helically-shaped cavities (17, better seen in Fig. 2) that each extend along the longitudinal length of the movable device and each-helically shaped cavity is configured to continuously receive the agent from the chamber (Col 4, lines 57-end) and release the agent into the first passage as the movable device rotates relative to the chamber and the first passage (Col 5, lines 22-38). Thus, the movable element of Davies can replace the movable element of Bergdahl for metering the powder.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl with the movable device having helically-shaped cavities as taught by Davies for the purpose of delivered the desired dose of powder without compacting the powder (Col 2, lines 56-65).
With regard to claim 33, Bergdahl discloses wherein the chamber (2) includes one or more curved surfaces that are tapered radially-inwards towards the opening such that the agent stored in the chamber is funneled by the one or more curved surfaces towards the opening (see Fig. 1, between where element 3 and element 2 are labeled there is a curve that tapers the chamber towards the dosing element 14).
With regard to claim 34, Bergdahl discloses wherein the pair of opposing cavities includes a first cavity and receipt of the agent from the chamber and delivery of the agent into the first passage via at least one of the first cavity and the second cavity (fig. 5).
However, Bergdahl does not disclose a helically-shaped cavities.
Davies teaches an apparatus for delivering a powder agent comprising a chamber (Fig. 1, element 12) configured to store the agent (P inside 14), a first passage (at 20) and a movable device (16) disposed between and in fluid communication with each of the chamber and the first passage, wherein the movable device has a longitudinal length (Fig. 1, length is between 36a and 34) that extends perpendicular to the chamber (see Fig .1, longitudinal length of the chamber 12 is up and down in Fig. 1 and the longitudinal length of the movable member is left to right in Fig. 1); wherein the movable device includes a pair of helically-shaped cavities (17, better seen in Fig. 2) that each extend along the longitudinal length of the movable device and each-helically shaped cavity is configured to continuously receive the agent from the chamber (Col 4, lines 57-end) and release the agent into the first passage as the movable device rotates relative to the chamber and the first passage (Col 5, lines 22-38). Thus, the movable element of Davies can replace the movable element of Bergdahl for metering the powder.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl with the movable device having helically-shaped cavities as taught by Davies for the purpose of delivered the desired dose of powder without compacting the powder (Col 2, lines 56-65).
With regard to claim 35, Bergdahl discloses the claimed invention except for the helically-shaped cavities along the length of the movable device.
Davies teaches an apparatus for delivering a powder agent comprising a chamber (Fig. 1, element 12) configured to store the agent (P inside 14), a first passage (at 20) and a movable device (16) disposed between and in fluid communication with each of the chamber and the first passage, wherein the movable device has a longitudinal length (Fig. 1, length is between 36a and 34) that extends perpendicular to the chamber (see Fig .1, longitudinal length of the chamber 12 is up and down in Fig. 1 and the longitudinal length of the movable member is left to right in Fig. 1); wherein the movable device includes a pair of helically-shaped cavities (17, better seen in Fig. 2) that each extend along the longitudinal length of the movable device and each-helically shaped cavity is configured to continuously receive the agent from the chamber (Col 4, lines 57-end) and release the agent into the first passage as the movable device rotates relative to the chamber and the first passage (Col 5, lines 22-38). Thus, the movable element of Davies can replace the movable element of Bergdahl for metering the powder.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl with the movable device having helically-shaped cavities as taught by Davies for the purpose of delivered the desired dose of powder without compacting the powder (Col 2, lines 56-65).
With regard to claim 37, Bergdahl discloses wherein the movable device is configured to selectively position each cavity towards each of the chamber and the first passage in response to the movable device rotating relative to the chamber and the first passage (see Fig above, showing one cavity at the top facing the chamber and one cavity at the bottom facing the first passage).
However, Bergdahl does not disclose a helically-shaped cavities.
Davies teaches an apparatus for delivering a powder agent comprising a chamber (Fig. 1, element 12) configured to store the agent (P inside 14), a first passage (at 20) and a movable device (16) disposed between and in fluid communication with each of the chamber and the first passage, wherein the movable device has a longitudinal length (Fig. 1, length is between 36a and 34) that extends perpendicular to the chamber (see Fig .1, longitudinal length of the chamber 12 is up and down in Fig. 1 and the longitudinal length of the movable member is left to right in Fig. 1); wherein the movable device includes a pair of helically-shaped cavities (17, better seen in Fig. 2) that each extend along the longitudinal length of the movable device and each-helically shaped cavity is configured to continuously receive the agent from the chamber (Col 4, lines 57-end) and release the agent into the first passage as the movable device rotates relative to the chamber and the first passage (Col 5, lines 22-38). Thus, the movable element of Davies can replace the movable element of Bergdahl for metering the powder.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl with the movable device having helically-shaped cavities as taught by Davies for the purpose of delivered the desired dose of powder without compacting the powder (Col 2, lines 56-65).
With regard to claim 39, Bergdahl discloses wherein each cavity is shaped such that the movable device is configured to provide continuous receipt of the agent from the chamber and delivery of the agent into the first passage (see Fig. 5).
However, Bergdahl does not disclose a helically-shaped cavities.
Davies teaches an apparatus for delivering a powder agent comprising a chamber (Fig. 1, element 12) configured to store the agent (P inside 14), a first passage (at 20) and a movable device (16) disposed between and in fluid communication with each of the chamber and the first passage, wherein the movable device has a longitudinal length (Fig. 1, length is between 36a and 34) that extends perpendicular to the chamber (see Fig .1, longitudinal length of the chamber 12 is up and down in Fig. 1 and the longitudinal length of the movable member is left to right in Fig. 1); wherein the movable device includes a pair of helically-shaped cavities (17, better seen in Fig. 2) that each extend along the longitudinal length of the movable device and each-helically shaped cavity is configured to continuously receive the agent from the chamber (Col 4, lines 57-end) simultaneously through the pair of helically-shaped cavities and release the agent into the first passage as the movable device rotates relative to the chamber and the first passage (Col 5, lines 22-38). Thus, the movable element of Davies can replace the movable element of Bergdahl for metering the powder.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl with the movable device having helically-shaped cavities as taught by Davies for the purpose of delivered the desired dose of powder without compacting the powder (Col 2, lines 56-65).
Claim(s) 26-29, 38, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergdahl et al. (US 2011/0121017 A1) in view of Davies (US 6,553,987 A1) and Ji (US 2011/0066132 A1).
With regard to claim 26 and 38, Bergdahl discloses a source of pressurized fluid (from 8) that is in communication with the first passage (7).
However, Bergdahl/Davies does not explicitly disclose an actuator.
Ji teaches further comprising: a source (22”) of the pressurized fluid that is in fluid communication with the first passage; and a handle (housing of the actuator can be considered a handle as it can be used by the hand of a user) including an actuator (electrical pressurized gas feeder that comprises an electrical air pump to automatically and continuously produce positive pressurized air into the first passage 21’ [0077]) configured to control release of the pressurized fluid from the source upon actuation.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl/Davies to include an actuator as taught by Ji for the purpose of releasing the fluid in a controlled manner ([0077]).
With regard to claim 27, Bergdahl discloses the claimed invention except for the helically-shaped cavities and an actuator.
Davies teaches an apparatus for delivering a powder agent comprising a chamber (Fig. 1, element 12) configured to store the agent (P inside 14), a first passage (at 20) and a movable device (16) disposed between and in fluid communication with each of the chamber and the first passage, wherein the movable device has a longitudinal length (Fig. 1, length is between 36a and 34) that extends perpendicular to the chamber (see Fig .1, longitudinal length of the chamber 12 is up and down in Fig. 1 and the longitudinal length of the movable member is left to right in Fig. 1); wherein the movable device includes a pair of helically-shaped cavities (17, better seen in Fig. 2) that each extend along the longitudinal length of the movable device and each-helically shaped cavity is configured to continuously receive the agent from the chamber (Col 4, lines 57-end) simultaneously through the pair of helically-shaped cavities and release the agent into the first passage as the movable device rotates relative to the chamber and the first passage (Col 5, lines 22-38). Thus, the movable element of Davies can replace the movable element of Bergdahl for metering the powder.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl with the movable device having helically-shaped cavities as taught by Davies for the purpose of delivered the desired dose of powder without compacting the powder (Col 2, lines 56-65).
However, Bergdahl/Davies does not teach an actuator.
Ji teaches an actuator (electrical pressurized gas feeder that comprises an electrical air pump to automatically and continuously produce positive pressurized air into the first passage 21’ [0077]) operatively connected to the movable device wherein the actuator is configured to release the pressurized fluid and automatically rotate the movable device relative to the chamber to control receipt of the agent from the chamber into the cavity upon actuation ([0077] the pressurized air and powder feeder are automatic devices controlled by a processor (considered the actuator) that can use electronic control of the powder feed. Thus the actuator can be used with the movable member to electronically control the movable member of Bergdahl. The claim language recites “configured to” implying a functional recitation and thus the actuator must only need to be capable of performing the recited function. Therefore, the electronic actuator would be able to rotate the movable member of Bergdahl).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl/Davies to include an actuator as taught by Ji for the purpose of releasing the fluid in a controlled manner ([0077]).
With regard to claim 28, Bergdahl/Davies discloses the claimed invention except for the actuator.
Ji teaches wherein the actuator is configured to automatically rotate the movable device relative to the first passage to control release of the agent from the cavity into the first passage upon actuation ([0077] the pressurized air and powder feeder are automatic devices controlled by a processor (considered the actuator) that can use electronic control of the powder feed. Thus the actuator can be used with the movable member to electronically control the movable member of Bergdahl. The claim language recites “configured to” implying a functional recitation and thus the actuator must only need to be capable of performing the recited function. Therefore, the electronic actuator would be able to rotate the movable member of Bergdahl).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl/Davies to include an actuator as taught by Ji for the purpose of releasing the fluid in a controlled manner ([0077]).
With regard to claim 29, Bergdahl/Davies discloses the claimed invention except for the gas canister.
Ji teaches wherein the source of the pressurized fluid includes a gas canister ([0077] electrical air pump is considered the canister that includes the pressurized fluid), the pressurized fluid includes pressurized air ([0077]), and the agent includes powdered particles ([0077]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl/Davies to include a gas canister as taught by Ji for the purpose of providing the pressurized fluid to mix with the agent ([0077]).
W With regard to claim 40, Bergdahl discloses A handheld medical apparatus (fig. 1 and 5) for delivering an agent, comprising: a chamber (2) configured to store the agent (3); a first passage (see Fig. 5, pathway below the dosing element 14 at element 5 that continues through element 7) configured to receive a pressurized fluid (from 8, pressurized fluid would be capable of flowing into passage 5 and 7, therefore the first passage would be configured to or capable of receiving pressurized fluid); and a movable device (Fig. 5, rotating element 14) disposed between and in fluid communication with each of the chamber and the first passage (see Fig. 5); wherein the movable device includes a pair of opposing cavities, and each cavity (see annotated Fig above) configured to receive the agent from the chamber and release the agent into the first passage in response to the movable device rotating relative to the chamber and the first passage ([0054]), thereby causing the agent to mix with the pressurized fluid from the first passage for delivery from the apparatus (mixes within passage 7).
However, Bergdahl does not disclose a helically-shaped cavities.
Davies teaches an apparatus for delivering a powder agent comprising a chamber (Fig. 1, element 12) configured to store the agent (P inside 14), a first passage (at 20) and a movable device (16) disposed between and in fluid communication with each of the chamber and the first passage, wherein the movable device has a longitudinal length (Fig. 1, length is between 36a and 34) that extends perpendicular to the chamber (see Fig .1, longitudinal length of the chamber 12 is up and down in Fig. 1 and the longitudinal length of the movable member is left to right in Fig. 1); wherein the movable device includes a pair of helically-shaped cavities (17, better seen in Fig. 2) that each extend along the longitudinal length of the movable device and each-helically shaped cavity is configured to continuously receive the agent from the chamber (Col 4, lines 57-end) simultaneously through the pair of helically-shaped cavities and release the agent into the first passage as the movable device rotates relative to the chamber and the first passage (Col 5, lines 22-38). Thus, the movable element of Davies can replace the movable element of Bergdahl for metering the powder.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl with the movable device having helically-shaped cavities as taught by Davies for the purpose of delivered the desired dose of powder without compacting the powder (Col 2, lines 56-65).
However, Bergdahl/Davies does not explicitly teach an actuator.
Ji teaches further comprising: a source (22”) of the pressurized fluid that is in fluid communication with the first passage; and an actuator (electrical pressurized gas feeder that comprises an electrical air pump to automatically and continuously produce positive pressurized air into the first passage 21’ [0077]) configured to control release of the pressurized fluid from the source upon actuation.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bergdahl/Davies to include an actuator as taught by Ji for the purpose of releasing the fluid in a controlled manner ([0077]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-40 have been considered but are moot because the amendments created a new ground of rejection that is different than the rejection applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The amendment to the independent claims to add the term “handheld” into the preamble of the claims does not overcome the prior art of Bergdahl/Davies because the term handheld simply implies that the apparatus must be able to held or used by the hand. The system of Bergdahl can still be considered handheld under this broad term as it is and can be manipulated by a user hand. For example, [0022] mentions a user docking the operation by hand by holding the device. Also mention of a user pushing a button [0050] to operate part of the system can also imply that the apparatus as a whole is handheld. While this concept of being “handheld” was discussed in the last Interview, more structure or sizing of the structures or relative locations of structures is needed to overcome the current rejection. The addition of the term “handheld” in the preamble does not provide enough definition or structure to overcome the overall system of Bergdahl.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Lauren P Farrar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783