DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed on the information disclosure statement filed on 09/19/2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the amendment filed on 27 October 2025.
Claims 8-9 and 19-20 have been canceled.
Claims 1-7 and 10-18 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-5, 10, 13 and 16-18 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 1-5, 10, 13 and 16-18 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see remarks at page(s) 13-14, filed 27 October 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-7 and 10-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 103 over Vestal et al. have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues:
Vestal and Chen do not disclose or teach the technical feature “when the robot arrives at the start location, the control module is further configured to generate return data and transmit the return data to the certificate module through the communication module; and the certificate module confirms, when receiving the return data of any robot, whether there is the dispatch information and the arrival data of the robot, and generates the completion certificate in response to that there is the dispatch information and the arrival data of the same robot, or generates the exception certificate in response to that there is not the arrival data of the same robot.”
The Examiner’s Response
With respect to independent claims 1 and 13, Applicant argues the limitation of “when the robot arrives at the start location, the control module is further configured to generate return data and transmit the return data to the certificate module through the communication module; and the certificate module confirms, when receiving the return data of any robot, whether there is the dispatch information and the arrival data of the robot, and generates the completion certificate in response to that there is the dispatch information and the arrival data of the same robot, or generates the exception certificate in response to that there is not the arrival data of the same robot.” is not taught by Vestal and Chen. While Vestal and Chen does not explicitly use the exact wording of the Applicant’s claim, Vestal and Chen does suggest the limitations, as broadly interpreted. Chen is specifically being used to teach that the robot returns to an initial position following the finishing of a task (pages 2 and 4) which Vestal is silent on. However, Vestal does disclose tracking the current statuses for a plurality of robots. These statuses include, for example, “completed” (i.e., task is complete or completion certificate) or “in progress” (i.e., task is not yet complete or exception certificate) (¶[0097]-[0098]). Therefore, Vestal discloses constantly maintaining the statuses of the robots based on status updates transmitted to the job management system from the robots, so “completion” and “exception” certificates are constantly being maintained while Chen discloses the robot returning to a starting position after finishing a task. Additionally, the Examiner notes the limitation recites “the certificate module confirms, when receiving the return data of any robot, whether there is the dispatch information and the arrival data of the robot, and generates the completion certificate in response to that there is the dispatch information and the arrival data of the same robot, OR generates the exception certificate in response to that there is not the arrival data of the same robot”. Therefore, the mission could still be in progress and only dispatch information of the robot has been received and the mission is marked in progress (i.e., exception certificate). While the Examiner agrees that the exact language of the claim limitation is not present in the disclosure of Vestal and Chen, the teachings of Vestal and Chen does suggest Applicant’s limitation in the invention under a broadest reasonable interpretation. See new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below made over Vestal et al. (US 20140365258 A1) in view of Chen et al. (CN 114779789 A).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “service transceiver module, configured to…” in claim 1, “dispatch module configured to…” in claims 1-5, “monitoring module configured to…” and “monitoring module obtains…” in claims 1 and 6, and “certificate module configured to…” and “certificate module confirms…” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vestal et al. (US 20140365258 A1) in view of Chen et al. (CN 114779789 A).
Regarding claim 1, Vestal teaches an autonomous mobile robot fleet, comprising: a service transceiver module, configured to receive and send mission information (see abstract and at least ¶[0001], [0020], [0023], [0026], [0032]-[0040], [0052], [0077] and [0086] regarding a job management system that receives and processes job requests in an automated physical environment); a dispatch module, coupling to the service transceiver module and configured to generate dispatch information according to the mission information (see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding automatically determines the actual locations and actual job operations for the job requests, and intelligently selects a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot as well as generating a dispatch command instruction); a robot fleet, wirelessly coupling to the dispatch module and configured to execute the dispatch information (see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding automatically determines the actual locations and actual job operations for the job requests, and intelligently selects a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot as well as generating a dispatch command instruction; also, see at least ¶[0021], [0023], [0025], [0028], [0039]-[0040], [0085] and [0092] regarding sending commands to the selected mobile robot to cause the mobile robot to automatically drive the actual job location, to automatically perform the actual job operations); a monitoring module, wirelessly coupling to the robot fleet and configured to receive at least one status signal from the robot fleet and form monitoring information according to the at least one status signal (see at least ¶[0097]-[0098], [0107] and [0124] regarding tracking the current statuses for the mobile robots in the fleet; the selected mobile robot is able to remain in contact with the job management system so that the mobile robot is able to provide the job management system 205 with status updates on the progress and completion of that job); a storage module, coupling to the dispatch module and the monitoring module and configured to store the dispatch information and the monitoring information (see at least ¶[0027], [0030], [0032]-[0036] and [0096] regarding a memory containing records and/or fields suitable for holding and/or indicating one or more of a wide variety of different current status values or conditions for each mobile robot in the fleet; also, see at least ¶[0098] regarding recording in the memory historical data for job requests and events 254, such as when a job request was received, when it was assigned to a particular mobile robot, and when the job request was completed); and a certificate module, coupling to the storage module, wirelessly coupling to the robot fleet, and configured to generate certificate information according to the dispatch information and the monitoring information (see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding automatically determines the actual locations and actual job operations for the job requests, and intelligently selects a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot as well as generating a dispatch command instruction; also, see at least ¶[0021], [0023], [0025], [0028], [0039]-[0040], [0085] and [0092] regarding sending commands to the selected mobile robot to cause the mobile robot to automatically drive the actual job location, to automatically perform the actual job operations; also, see at least ¶[0097]-[0098], [0107] and [0124] regarding tracking the current statuses for the mobile robots in the fleet; the selected mobile robot is able to remain in contact with the job management system so that the mobile robot is able to provide the job management system 205 with status updates on the progress and completion of that job via a completion signal); wherein the robot fleet comprises at least one robot (see abstract regarding a fleet of autonomously-navigating mobile robots), and the dispatch information comprises the project data (see abstract and at least ¶[0020], [0022], [0025], [0030]-[0031], [0034] and [0106] regarding determine an actual job location and/or an actual job operation associated with the request as well as selecting a robot with a correct configuration); the robot comprises a communication module (see at least ¶[0082]-[0083], [0111]-[0112] and [0123] regarding a robot including a wireless communication interface), a control module (see at least ¶[0110]-[0112], [0116] and [0124] regarding a robot including a controller), and a moving apparatus (see at least ¶[0111], [0115] and [0118] regarding a locomotion system; also, see at least ¶[0083], [0087], [0096], [0109] and [0122] regarding actuators); the control module couples to the communication module and the moving apparatus (see Fig. 7 regarding a controller, wireless communication interface and locomotion system in the robot); the control module and the communication module are located on the moving apparatus (see Fig. 7 regarding a controller, wireless communication interface are included on the robot base which includes the locomotion system); and the control module is further configured to generate arrival data after the project data is completed, transmit the arrival data to the monitoring module through the communication module, and drive the moving apparatus to return to a start location (see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding automatically determines the actual locations and actual job operations for the job requests, and intelligently selects a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot as well as generating a dispatch command instruction; also, see at least ¶[0021], [0023], [0025], [0028], [0039]-[0040], [0085] and [0092] regarding sending commands to the selected mobile robot to cause the mobile robot to automatically drive the actual job location, to automatically perform the actual job operations; also, see at least ¶[0097]-[0098], [0107] and [0124] regarding tracking the current statuses for the mobile robots in the fleet; the selected mobile robot is able to remain in contact with the job management system so that the mobile robot is able to provide the job management system 205 with status updates on the progress and completion of that job via a completion signal; also, see at least ¶[0169] regarding the robot docking and charging automatically upon being low battery); and wherein the certificate information comprises a completion certificate and an exception certificate (see at least ¶[0097]-[0098], [0107] and [0124] regarding the selected mobile robot is able to remain in contact with the job management system so that the mobile robot is able to provide the job management system 205 with status updates on the progress and completion of that job via a completion signal, the status might include identifiers such as "en route" or "travelling;" "arrived;" "performing function;" or "completed”); and the certificate module confirms, when receiving the return data of any robot, whether there is the dispatch information and the arrival data of the robot, and generates the completion certificate in response to that there is the dispatch information and the arrival data of the same robot, OR generates the exception certificate in response to that there is not the arrival data of the same robot (see at least ¶[0097]-[0098], [0107] and [0124] regarding the selected mobile robot is able to remain in contact with the job management system so that the mobile robot is able to provide the job management system 205 with status updates on the progress and completion of that job via a completion signal, the status might include identifiers such as "en route" or "travelling;" "arrived;" "performing function;" or "completed”).
Vestal does not explicitly teach when the robot arrives at the start location, the control module is further configured to generate return data and transmit the return data to the certificate module through the communication module. However, Chen discloses a multi-robot cooperative task execution system and execution method and teaches when the robot arrives at the start location, the control module is further configured to generate return data and transmit the return data to the certificate module through the communication module (see at least pages 2 and 4 regarding returning to the initial position following finishing of a task).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the job management system for a fleet of autonomous mobile robots of Vestal to provide, with a reasonable expectation of success, when the robot arrives at the start location, the control module is further configured to generate return data and transmit the return data to the certificate module through the communication module, as taught by Chen, to provide improving the working efficiency of the robots. (Chen at abstract)
Regarding claim 2, Vestal teaches the autonomous mobile robot fleet according to claim 1, wherein the mission information comprises project data and location data (see abstract and at least ¶[0020], [0022], [0025], [0030]-[0031], [0034] and [0106] regarding determine an actual job location and/or an actual job operation associated with the request as well as selecting a robot with a correct configuration), and the dispatch information comprises route data (see at least ¶[0037], [0087], [0093] and [0114] regarding in specific embodiments of the job management system, the queue manager could receive a first planned path that the selected mobile robot plans to use to drive to the specified job location and a second planned path that a second mobile robot in the fleet plans to use; the mobile robots 102a-102e are capable of autonomously performing all of the navigation functions (e.g., localization and path planning) necessary for the mobile robots, that is the location information for the job is used for path planning by the robot); and the dispatch module is further configured to generate the route data according to the project data, the location data, and first map information (see at least ¶[0037], [0087], [0093] and [0114] regarding in specific embodiments of the job management system, the queue manager could receive a first planned path that the selected mobile robot plans to use to drive to the specified job location and a second planned path that a second mobile robot in the fleet plans to use; the mobile robots 102a-102e are capable of autonomously performing all of the navigation functions (e.g., localization and path planning) necessary for the mobile robots, that is the location information for the job is used for path planning by the robot).
Regarding claim 3, Vestal teaches the autonomous mobile robot fleet according to claim 2, wherein the at least one robot comprises a plurality of robots (see abstract regarding a fleet of autonomously-navigating mobile robots), the monitoring information comprises current status information of the plurality of robots (see at least ¶[0027] and [0097] regarding tracking the current statuses for the mobile robots, the robot lists database 240 can be used to track and provide up-to-date status information about many other important states associated with the mobile robot, including for example, the mobile robot's identification number, position, heading, current speed, current job, current job status, current job location, proximity to the current job location, current job destination path, estimated time of arrival, estimated time of departure, estimated time of job completion, length of time in an idle state, performance level, security level, battery charge level, payload status, payload error condition and remaining cargo capacity), and the current status information of each robot comprises idle data (see at least ¶[0027] and [0097] regarding the robot lists database 240 can be used to track and provide up-to-date status information about many other important states associated with the mobile robot, including for example, the mobile robot's length of time in an idle state); and the dispatch module is further configured to transmit the dispatch information to a selected robot in the plurality of robots according to the idle data of each robot (see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding the job management system intelligently selecting a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot).
Regarding claim 4, Vestal teaches the autonomous mobile robot fleet according to claim 2, wherein the at least one robot comprises a plurality of robots (see abstract regarding a fleet of autonomously-navigating mobile robots), the monitoring information comprises current status information of the plurality of robots (see at least ¶[0027] and [0097] regarding tracking the current statuses for the mobile robots), and the current status information of each robot comprises idle data and power data (see at least ¶[0027] and [0097] regarding tracking the current statuses for the mobile robots, the robot lists database 240 can be used to track and provide up-to-date status information about many other important states associated with the mobile robot, including for example, the mobile robot's identification number, position, heading, current speed, current job, current job status, current job location, proximity to the current job location, current job destination path, estimated time of arrival, estimated time of departure, estimated time of job completion, length of time in an idle state, performance level, security level, battery charge level, payload status, payload error condition and remaining cargo capacity); and the dispatch module is further configured to transmit the dispatch information to a selected robot in the plurality of robots according to the project data, the location data, and the idle data and the power data of each robot (see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding the job management system intelligently selecting a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot).
Regarding claim 5, Vestal teaches the autonomous mobile robot fleet according to claim 2, wherein the at least one robot comprises a plurality of robots (see abstract regarding a fleet of autonomously-navigating mobile robots), the monitoring information comprises current status information of the a plurality of robots (see at least ¶[0027] and [0097] regarding tracking the current statuses for the mobile robots, the robot lists database 240 can be used to track and provide up-to-date status information about many other important states associated with the mobile robot, including for example, the mobile robot's identification number, position, heading, current speed, current job, current job status, current job location, proximity to the current job location, current job destination path, estimated time of arrival, estimated time of departure, estimated time of job completion, length of time in an idle state, performance level, security level, battery charge level, payload status, payload error condition and remaining cargo capacity), and the current status information of each robot comprises idle data, power data, and position data (see at least ¶[0027] and [0097] regarding tracking the current statuses for the mobile robots, the robot lists database 240 can be used to track and provide up-to-date status information about many other important states associated with the mobile robot, including for example, the mobile robot's identification number, position, heading, current speed, current job, current job status, current job location, proximity to the current job location, current job destination path, estimated time of arrival, estimated time of departure, estimated time of job completion, length of time in an idle state, performance level, security level, battery charge level, payload status, payload error condition and remaining cargo capacity); and the dispatch module is further configured to transmit the dispatch information to a selected robot in the plurality of robots, according to the project data, the location data, and the idle data, the power data, and the position data of each robot (see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding the job management system intelligently selecting a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot).
Regarding claim 10, Vestal teaches the autonomous mobile robot fleet according to claim 1, wherein the dispatch information further comprises first map information (see abstract and at least ¶[0020], [0025]-[0027], [0039]-[0040], [0090] and [0099]-[0100] regarding a job management system includes a map defining a floor plan); the robot further comprises another storage module (see at least ¶[0124] regarding a memory of the robot base); the control module couples to the communication module, the another storage module, and the moving apparatus (see Fig. 7 regarding a controller, wireless communication interface and locomotion system in the robot); the control module, the communication module, and the another storage module are located on the moving apparatus (see Fig. 7 regarding a controller, wireless communication interface are included on the robot base which includes the locomotion system); the another storage module stores second map information (see at least ¶[0025], [0039], [0099] and [0112]-[0113] regarding a map stored in the memory as well as robot including a map defining a floor plan); and the control module is further configured to download the first map information through the communication module, and update the second map information with the first map information (see at least ¶[0025], [0039], [0099] and [0112]-[0113] regarding a map stored in the memory as well as robot including a map defining a floor plan and updating the map received from other computer systems).
Regarding claim 11, Vestal teaches the autonomous mobile robot fleet according to claim 10, wherein the second map information comprises charging location data (see at least ¶[0103]-[0104] regarding the mobile robot will use a copy of the map 208 to obtain the current locations of battery charging stations in respect to the floor plan); the robot further comprises a power supply module (see at least ¶[0117] regarding a robot base including a power 720); the power supply module couples to the control module and located on the moving apparatus (see Fig. 7 regarding a controller and power are included on the robot base which includes the locomotion system); the power supply module stores remaining power, and provides, with the remaining power, power required by operation of the robot (see at least ¶[0117] regarding a robot base including a power 720); and the control module drives the moving apparatus according to the charging location data in response to that the remaining power is less than or equal to a threshold (see at least ¶[0103]-[0104] regarding the mobile robot will use a copy of the map 208 to obtain the current locations of battery charging stations in respect to the floor plan; also, see at least ¶[0168]-[0169] regarding checking whether the battery level is below a battery threshold).
Regarding claim 12, Vestal teaches the autonomous mobile robot fleet according to claim 1, wherein the dispatch information comprises cleaning and disinfection data; the robot in the robot fleet (see abstract regarding a fleet of autonomously-navigating mobile robots) comprises a cleaning and disinfection apparatus (see at least ¶[0022] regarding a mobile or industrial robot cleaning up (sanitizing or disinfecting) an area; the mobile robots in the fleet may have different physical configurations), a communication module (see at least ¶[0082]-[0083], [0111]-[0112] and [0123] regarding a robot including a wireless communication interface), a control module (see at least ¶[0110]-[0112], [0116] and [0124] regarding a robot including a controller), and a moving apparatus (see at least ¶[0111], [0115] and [0118] regarding a locomotion system; also, see at least ¶[0083], [0087], [0096], [0109] and [0122] regarding actuators); the control module couples to the communication module, the cleaning and disinfection apparatus, and the moving apparatus (see Fig. 7 regarding a controller, wireless communication interface and payload (e.g., cleaning apparatus) are included on the mobile robot with a locomotion system); the control module, the communication module, and the cleaning and disinfection apparatus are located on the moving apparatus (see Fig. 7 regarding a controller, wireless communication interface and payload (e.g., cleaning apparatus) are included on the mobile robot and wherein the mobile includes the robot base which includes the locomotion system); and the control module receives the dispatch information through the communication module, and controls the cleaning and disinfection apparatus according to the cleaning and disinfection data (see at least ¶[0022] regarding a mobile or industrial robot receiving a task suitable for the specific task of cleaning up (sanitizing or disinfecting) an area; the mobile robots in the fleet may have different physical configurations).
Regarding claim 13, Vestal teaches an autonomous mobile robot fleet control method, wherein at least one piece of monitoring information of at least one robot is stored, mission information is obtained, dispatch information is generated according to the mission information (see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding automatically determines the actual locations and actual job operations for the job requests, and intelligently selects a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot as well as generating a dispatch command instruction; see abstract and at least ¶[0001], [0020], [0023], [0026], [0032]-[0040], [0052], [0077] and [0086] regarding a job management system that receives and processes job requests in an automated physical environment; also, see at least ¶[0097]-[0098], [0107] and [0124] regarding tracking the current statuses for the mobile robots in the fleet; the selected mobile robot is able to remain in contact with the job management system so that the mobile robot is able to provide the job management system 205 with status updates on the progress and completion of that job), and the dispatch information is transmitted to a selected robot in the at least one robot according to the monitoring information of each robot (see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding automatically determines the actual locations and actual job operations for the job requests, and intelligently selects a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot as well as generating a dispatch command instruction); and the autonomous mobile robot fleet control method comprises: receiving, from the at least one robot, at least one status signal corresponding to the monitoring information of the robot (see at least ¶[0097]-[0098], [0107] and [0124] regarding tracking the current statuses for the mobile robots in the fleet; the selected mobile robot is able to remain in contact with the job management system so that the mobile robot is able to provide the job management system 205 with status updates on the progress and completion of that job); updating, according to a status signal of each robot, the monitoring information of the robot (see at least ¶[0097]-[0098], [0107] and [0124] regarding tracking the current statuses for the mobile robots in the fleet; the selected mobile robot is able to remain in contact with the job management system so that the mobile robot is able to provide the job management system 205 with status updates on the progress and completion of that job; also, see at least ¶[0097] and [0128]-[0129] regarding providing status updates for job requests); and generating certificate information according to the dispatch information and the monitoring information (see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding automatically determines the actual locations and actual job operations for the job requests, and intelligently selects a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot as well as generating a dispatch command instruction; also, see at least ¶[0021], [0023], [0025], [0028], [0039]-[0040], [0085] and [0092] regarding sending commands to the selected mobile robot to cause the mobile robot to automatically drive the actual job location, to automatically perform the actual job operations; also, see at least ¶[0097]-[0098], [0107] and [0124] regarding tracking the current statuses for the mobile robots in the fleet; the selected mobile robot is able to remain in contact with the job management system so that the mobile robot is able to provide the job management system 205 with status updates on the progress and completion of that job via a completion signal); wherein the dispatch information comprises the project data (see abstract and at least ¶[0020], [0022], [0025], [0030]-[0031], [0034] and [0106] regarding determine an actual job location and/or an actual job operation associated with the request as well as selecting a robot with a correct configuration); the robot comprises a communication module (see at least ¶[0082]-[0083], [0111]-[0112] and [0123] regarding a robot including a wireless communication interface), a control module (see at least ¶[0110]-[0112], [0116] and [0124] regarding a robot including a controller), and a moving apparatus (see at least ¶[0111], [0115] and [0118] regarding a locomotion system; also, see at least ¶[0083], [0087], [0096], [0109] and [0122] regarding actuators); the control module couples to the communication module and the moving apparatus (see Fig. 7 regarding a controller, wireless communication interface and locomotion system in the robot); the control module and the communication module are located on the moving apparatus (see Fig. 7 regarding a controller, wireless communication interface are included on the robot base which includes the locomotion system); and the control module is further configured to generate arrival data after the project data is completed, transmit the arrival data to the monitoring module through the communication module, and drive the moving apparatus to return to a start location (see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding automatically determines the actual locations and actual job operations for the job requests, and intelligently selects a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot as well as generating a dispatch command instruction; also, see at least ¶[0021], [0023], [0025], [0028], [0039]-[0040], [0085] and [0092] regarding sending commands to the selected mobile robot to cause the mobile robot to automatically drive the actual job location, to automatically perform the actual job operations; also, see at least ¶[0097]-[0098], [0107] and [0124] regarding tracking the current statuses for the mobile robots in the fleet; the selected mobile robot is able to remain in contact with the job management system so that the mobile robot is able to provide the job management system 205 with status updates on the progress and completion of that job via a completion signal; also, see at least ¶[0169] regarding the robot docking and charging automatically upon being low battery); and wherein the certificate information comprises a completion certificate and an exception certificate (see at least ¶[0097]-[0098], [0107] and [0124] regarding the selected mobile robot is able to remain in contact with the job management system so that the mobile robot is able to provide the job management system 205 with status updates on the progress and completion of that job via a completion signal, the status might include identifiers such as "en route" or "travelling;" "arrived;" "performing function;" or "completed”); and the certificate module confirms, when receiving the return data of any robot, whether there is the dispatch information and the arrival data of the robot, and generates the completion certificate in response to that there is the dispatch information and the arrival data of the same robot, OR generates the exception certificate in response to that there is not the arrival data of the same robot (see at least ¶[0097]-[0098], [0107] and [0124] regarding the selected mobile robot is able to remain in contact with the job management system so that the mobile robot is able to provide the job management system 205 with status updates on the progress and completion of that job via a completion signal, the status might include identifiers such as "en route" or "travelling;" "arrived;" "performing function;" or "completed”).
Vestal does not explicitly teach when the robot arrives at the start location, the control module is further configured to generate return data and transmit the return data to the certificate module through the communication module. However, Chen discloses a multi-robot cooperative task execution system and execution method and teaches when the robot arrives at the start location, the control module is further configured to generate return data and transmit the return data to the certificate module through the communication module (see at least pages 2 and 4 regarding returning to the initial position following finishing of a task).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the job management system for a fleet of autonomous mobile robots of Vestal to provide, with a reasonable expectation of success, when the robot arrives at the start location, the control module is further configured to generate return data and transmit the return data to the certificate module through the communication module, as taught by Chen, to provide improving the working efficiency of the robots. (Chen at abstract)
Regarding claim 16, Vestal teaches the autonomous mobile robot fleet control method according to claim 13, wherein a transmission step comprises: selecting one of the at least one robot as the selected robot according to idle data in the monitoring information and project data and location data in the dispatch information (see at least ¶[0027] and [0097] regarding the robot lists database 240 can be used to track and provide up-to-date status information about many other important states associated with the mobile robot, including for example, the mobile robot's length of time in an idle state; see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding the job management system intelligently selecting a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot); and transmitting the dispatch information to the selected robot (see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding the job management system intelligently selecting a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot; see at least ¶[0025] regarding transmitting one or more commands to the selected mobile robot to carry out the job request).
Regarding claim 17, Vestal teaches the autonomous mobile robot fleet control method according to claim 13, wherein a transmission step comprises: selecting one of the at least one robot as the selected robot according to idle data and power data in the monitoring information and project data and location data in the dispatch information (see at least ¶[0027] and [0097] regarding the robot lists database 240 can be used to track and provide up-to-date status information about many other important states associated with the mobile robot, including for example, the mobile robot's length of time in an idle state and/or battery charge level; see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding the job management system intelligently selecting a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot); and transmitting the dispatch information to the selected robot (see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding the job management system intelligently selecting a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot; see at least ¶[0025] regarding transmitting one or more commands to the selected mobile robot to carry out the job request).
Regarding claim 18, Vestal teaches the autonomous mobile robot fleet control method according to claim 13, wherein a transmission step comprises: selecting one of the at least one robot as the selected robot according to idle data, power data, and position data in the monitoring information and project data and location data in the dispatch information (see at least ¶[0027] and [0097] regarding the robot lists database 240 can be used to track and provide up-to-date status information about many other important states associated with the mobile robot, including for example, the mobile robot's length of time in an idle state, battery charge level, position, payload status and/or configuration; see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding the job management system intelligently selecting a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot); and transmitting the dispatch information to the selected robot (see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding the job management system intelligently selecting a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot; see at least ¶[0025] regarding transmitting one or more commands to the selected mobile robot to carry out the job request).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vestal et al. (US 20140365258 A1) in view of Chen et al. (CN 114779789 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Deyle et al. (US 11209832 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Vestal teaches the autonomous mobile robot fleet according to claim 1, wherein the at least one robot comprises at least one robot (see abstract regarding a fleet of autonomously-navigating mobile robots), and the dispatch information is received and executed by a selected robot in the at least one robot (see abstract and at least ¶[0020]-[0023], [0028]-[0030], [0091], [0105]-[0106], [0129], [0131] and [0167] regarding automatically determines the actual locations and actual job operations for the job requests, and intelligently selects a suitable mobile robot to handle each job request based on the current status and/or the current configuration for the selected mobile robot as well as generating a dispatch command instruction; also, see at least ¶[0021], [0023], [0025], [0028], [0039]-[0040], [0085] and [0092] regarding sending commands to the selected mobile robot to cause the mobile robot to automatically drive the actual job location, to automatically perform the actual job operations); the selected robot is further configured to send a call signal to the monitoring module during execution of the dispatch information (see at least ¶[0097]-[0098], [0107] and [0124] regarding tracking the current statuses for the mobile robots in the fleet; the selected mobile robot is able to remain in contact with the job management system so that the mobile robot is able to provide the job management system 205 with status updates on the progress and completion of that job; also, see at least ¶[0083] regarding the mobile robot being configured to engage and interact with equipment such as elevators).
While Vestal discusses a mobile robot being configured to engage and interact with equipment such as elevators (see ¶[0083] of Vestal), the combination of Vestal and Chen does not explicitly teach the monitoring module obtains floor data and plane data according to the call signal, controls a first elevator corresponding to the plane data to a floor corresponding to the floor data, and after the first elevator arrives at the floor, sends back an entry command to the selected robot. However, Deyle discloses elevator interactions by mobile robots and teaches the monitoring module obtains floor data and plane data according to the call signal, controls a first elevator corresponding to the plane data to a floor corresponding to the floor data, and after the first elevator arrives at the floor, sends back an entry command to the selected robot (see at least Col. 1, lines 30-47, and Col. 61, line 60 to Col. 66, line 18, regarding the mobile robot communicating with the elevator system including transmitting information to the elevator controller to identify current and target floors, the robot enters upon the elevator car arriving and opening (which is detected via robot sensors)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the job management system for a fleet of autonomous mobile robots of Vestal as modified by Chen to provide, with a reasonable expectation of success, the monitoring module obtains floor data and plane data according to the call signal, controls a first elevator corresponding to the plane data to a floor corresponding to the floor data, and after the first elevator arrives at the floor, sends back an entry command to the selected robot, as taught by Deyle, to provide the mobile robot ability to move between each floor to respond to tasks. (Deyle at Col. 62, lines 4-8)
Regarding claim 7, Vestal teaches the autonomous mobile robot fleet according to claim 6, wherein the robot further comprises a sensing apparatus (see at least ¶[0022], [0087], [0111] and [0114] regarding the mobile robot including sensors); the control module couples to the communication module, the sensing apparatus, and the moving apparatus (see Fig. 7 regarding a controller, wireless communication interface and sensors are included on the robot base which includes the locomotion system); the control module, the communication module, and the sensing apparatus are located in the moving apparatus (see Fig. 7 regarding a controller, wireless communication interface and sensors are included on the robot base which includes the locomotion system).
While Vestal discusses a mobile robot being configured to engage and interact with equipment such as elevators (see ¶[0083] of Vestal), the combination of Vestal and Chen does not explicitly teach the control module receives entry information through the communication module, receives, in response to the entry information, an elevator image acquired by the sensing apparatus, analyzes the elevator image to recognize internal space of the first elevator, and drives the moving apparatus according to the internal space. However, Deyle discloses elevator interactions by mobile robots and teaches the control module receives entry information through the communication module, receives, in response to the entry information, an elevator image acquired by the sensing apparatus, analyzes the elevator image to recognize internal space of the first elevator, and drives the moving apparatus according to the internal space (see at least Col. 1, lines 30-47, and Col. 61, line 60 to Col. 66, line 18, regarding the mobile robot communicating with the elevator system including transmitting information to the elevator controller to identify current and target floors, the robot enters upon the elevator car arriving and opening (which is detected via robot sensors); these columns include receiving image data of the surrounding environment and using image detection to determine that the elevator doors are open or that other people waiting for the elevator are moving. The elevator system may alert the mobile robot that the elevator car has arrived and that the elevator doors are open. Once the elevator doors are fully open, the mobile robot analyzes the inside of the elevator car to determine a target location within the elevator car to move to).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the job management system for a fleet of autonomous mobile robots of Vestal as modified by Chen to provide, with a reasonable expectation of success, the control module receives entry information through the communication module, receives, in response to the entry information, an elevator image acquired by the sensing apparatus, analyzes the elevator image to recognize internal space of the first elevator, and drives the moving apparatus according to the internal space, as taught by Deyle, to provide the mobile robot ability to move between each floor to respond to tasks. (Deyle at Col. 62, lines 4-8)
Regarding claim 14, while Vestal discusses a mobile robot being configured to engage and interact with equipment such as elevators (see ¶[0083] of Vestal), the combination of Vestal and Chen does not explicitly teach the autonomous mobile robot fleet control method according to claim 13, further comprising: receiving a call signal from the selected robot, the call signal comprising height data and plane data; controlling an elevator corresponding to the plane data to move to a floor corresponding to the height data; and sending an entry command to the selected robot after the elevator arrives at the floor. However, Deyle discloses elevator interactions by mobile robots and teaches the autonomous mobile robot fleet control method according to claim 13, further comprising: receiving a call signal from the selected robot (see at least Col. 1, lines 30-47, and Col. 61, line 60 to Col. 66, line 18, regarding the mobile robot communicating with the elevator system which includes the mobile robot presenting a wireless tag to the elevator controller and the elevator system verifies that the mobile robot is allowed to access the target floor, the elevator system calls an elevator car to the current floor of the mobile robot), the call signal comprising height data and plane data (see at least Col. 1, lines 30-47, and Col. 61, line 60 to Col. 66, line 18, regarding the mobile robot communicating with the elevator system including transmitting information to the elevator controller to identify current and target floors); controlling an elevator corresponding to the plane data to move to a floor corresponding to the height data (see at least Col. 1, lines 30-47, and Col. 61, line 60 to Col. 66, line 18, regarding the mobile robot communicating with the elevator system which includes the mobile robot presenting a wireless tag to the elevator controller and the elevator system verifies that the mobile robot is allowed to access the target floor, the elevator system calls an elevator car to the current floor of the mobile robot); and sending an entry command to the selected robot after the elevator arrives at the floor (see at least Col. 1, lines 30-47, and Col. 61, line 60 to Col. 66, line 18, regarding the mobile robot communicating with the elevator system including transmitting information to the elevator controller to identify current and target floors, the robot enters upon the elevator car arriving and opening (which is detected via robot sensors); these columns include receiving image data of the surrounding environment and using image detection to determine that the elevator doors are open or that other people waiting for the elevator are moving. The elevator system may alert the mobile robot that the elevator car has arrived and that the elevator doors are open. Once the elevator doors are fully open, the mobile robot analyzes the inside of the elevator car to determine a target location within the elevator car to move to).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the job management system for a fleet of autonomous mobile robots of Vestal as modified by Chen to provide, with a reasonable expectation of success, further comprising: receiving a call signal from the selected robot, the call signal comprising height data and plane data; controlling an elevator corresponding to the plane data to move to a floor corresponding to the height data; and sending an entry command to the selected robot after the elevator arrives at the floor, as taught by Deyle, to provide the mobile robot ability to move between each floor to respond to tasks. (Deyle at Col. 62, lines 4-8)
Regarding claim 15, while Vestal discusses a mobile robot being configured to engage and interact with equipment such as elevators (see ¶[0083] of Vestal), the combination of Vestal and Chen does not explicitly teach the autonomous mobile robot fleet control method according to claim 14, further comprising: acquiring an elevator image of the elevator in response to the entry command; analyzing the elevator image to recognize internal space of the elevator; and driving the selected robot according to the internal space. However, Deyle discloses elevator interactions by mobile robots and teaches the autonomous mobile robot fleet control method according to claim 14, further comprising: acquiring an elevator image of the elevator in response to the entry command (see at least Col. 1, lines 30-47, and Col. 61, line 60 to Col. 66, line 18, regarding the mobile robot using image detection to determine that the elevator doors are open or that other people waiting for the elevator are moving. The elevator system may alert the mobile robot that the elevator car has arrived and that the elevator doors are open. Once the elevator doors are fully open, the mobile robot analyzes the inside of the elevator car to determine a target location within the elevator car to move to); analyzing the elevator image to recognize internal space of the elevator (see at least Col. 1, lines 30-47, and Col. 61, line 60 to Col. 66, line 18, regarding the mobile robot communicating with the elevator system including transmitting information to the elevator controller to identify current and target floors, the robot enters upon the elevator car arriving and opening (which is detected via robot sensors); these columns include receiving image data of the surrounding environment and using image detection to determine that the elevator doors are open or that other people waiting for the elevator are moving. The elevator system may alert the mobile robot that the elevator car has arrived and that the elevator doors are open. Once the elevator doors are fully open, the mobile robot analyzes the inside of the elevator car to determine a target location within the elevator car to move to); and driving the selected robot according to the internal space (see at least Col. 1, lines 30-47, and Col. 61, line 60 to Col. 66, line 18, regarding the mobile robot analyzing the inside of the elevator car to determine a target location within the elevator car to move to).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the job management system for a fleet of autonomous mobile robots of Vestal as modified by Chen to provide, with a reasonable expectation of success, acquiring an elevator image of the elevator in response to the entry command; analyzing the elevator image to recognize internal space of the elevator; and driving the selected robot according to the internal space, as taught by Deyle, to provide the mobile robot ability to move between each floor to respond to tasks. (Deyle at Col. 62, lines 4-8)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.L.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666