DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are pending in the application.
Examiner’s Note: The examiner has cited particular passages including column and line numbers, paragraphs as designated numerically and/or figures as designated numerically in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, other passages, paragraphs and figures of any and all cited prior art references may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing an eventual response, to fully consider the context of the passages, paragraphs and figures as taught by the prior art and/or cited by the examiner while including in such consideration the cited prior art references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/21/2023 and 08/21/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2019506826 A1 Bell et al. (“Bell”).
Regarding claim 1, Bell discloses a power transmission apparatus [102 or 200 – SEE fig. 1 and 2], comprising
a control unit that controls a power transmitting unit that performs wireless power transmission, wherein the control unit comprises a processor and a memory with instructions thereon, and the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to:
The transmitter 102 can be an electronic device including a chip or other form of integrated circuit that can generate a power wave 104, such as a radio frequency (RF), so that at least one RF wave is at least one other The phase is shifted with respect to the RF wave and the gain is adjusted. The transmitter 102 transmits the power wave 104 from the antenna array 106 to a receiver that is coupled or integrated with the one or more electronic devices 108, 110, and the one or more electronic devices 108, 110 are shown in FIG. The exemplary system 100 includes a mobile phone 108 and a laptop 110.
The microprocessor of the transmitter 102 may cause the power wave 104 to converge to form an energy pocket 112 at a location determined by the microprocessor to be an effective location for providing energy to the receiver. [SEE page 4]
identify dynamic information [location, distance, speed (see page 25)] related to a power receiving surface that corresponds to a power receiving unit included in a target power reception apparatus;
The 102 microprocessor is further configured to receive one or more parameters indicating the location of the electronic device (eg, mobile phone 108, laptop 110) using exemplary system components in conjunction with sensor operation. [SEE pages 5-6]
The processed image data from one or more video cameras can be based on any number of features, characteristics, or current state of the receiver, such as data indicating the orientation of the receiver, X plane, Y plane, And determining the orientation in the Z plane and the position of the receiver or the position of one or more receiver antennas. [page 10]
If multiple cameras are used, each camera may be placed offset from the other camera so that each camera has a different, possibly partially overlapping viewpoint. By positioning the cameras at offset intervals, the computer vision algorithm can perform the calculation and estimation of the relative distance of objects in the two-dimensional images captured by each camera. [page 12]
identify static information [size and shape of receivers (see page 25)] related to the power receiving surface;
In another embodiment, the symbolic data is one or more of the three-dimensional (XYZ) coordinates of only one or more receivers, the size of one or more receivers, and the transmitter captured in the image data. [page 12]
Computer vision software can also be trained to recognize different shaped receivers [pare 18].
generate a control parameter related to a radiation direction [power wave characteristics may include amplitude, phase, gain, frequency, and direction, among others - page 9] and a beam shape [subset of antennas may be selected – page 5, 7] of a power transmission beam for supplying electrical power to the target power reception apparatus by referring to the dynamic information related to the power receiving surface and the static information related to the power receiving surface;
cause the power transmitting unit to radiate the power transmission beam in accordance with the control parameter;
And based on one or more of these parameters, the microprocessor of the transmitter 102 selects the output frequency, phase, or amplitude of the power wave 104 and determines which antenna of the antenna array 106 should transmit. (Thus defining the shape of the actively transmitting antenna) [page 5]
Based on any combination of various types of data that may be received from one or more cameras, internal sensors, external sensors, heat mapping data and communication signals from the receiver, the microprocessor of the transmitter 102 may One or more parameters that generate 104 may be determined, and the parameters are used as data inputs when proceeding to determine how efficiently the microprocessor generates the energy pocket 112 at the target location. For example, after determining one or more parameters, the transmitter 102 may select the type of waveform of the power wave 104 to transmit (eg, a chirp wave) and the output frequency of the power wave 104, and the transmitter 102 may In addition, a power
wave 104 is transmitted to generate an energy pocket 112 at a target location within the transmitter 102 transmission field. [page 6]
In some embodiments, in addition to selecting the type of power wave 104 and determining the output frequency of power wave 104, the transmitter 102 places an energy pocket 112 at a target location within the transmitter 102 's transmission field. A subset of antennas may also be selected from a fixed physical shape of antenna array 106 that corresponds to the desired spacing of the antennas used to generate. After selecting the output frequency, phase, or amplitude of the power wave 104, which antenna of the antenna array 106 is transmitting, and the spacing of the antennas in each of the one or more antenna arrays 106, the transmitter 102. The antenna may initiate transmission of a power wave 104 that may converge in three-dimensional space. These power waves 104 can also be generated by using a local oscillator chip using an external power source and a piezoelectric material. The power wave 104 is constantly controlled by the microprocessor of the transmitter 102, and the microprocessor can also include a proprietary chip that adjusts the phase and / or relative magnitude of the power wave 104. The phase, gain, amplitude, frequency, and other waveform characteristics of the power wave 104 are determined based on one or more parameters and may serve as one of the antenna inputs forming the energy pocket 112. [page 7]
Transmitter 200 may use image data and / or video data to determine where and how antenna202 should transmit power waves. In another embodiment, transmitter 200 may use sensor data to determine where and how antenna 202 should transmit power waves. In yet another embodiment, transmitter 200 may use image data, video data, and sensor data to determine where and how antenna 202 should transmit power waves. Image data, video data, and / or sensor data may be sent to transmitter 200 where power waves should be transmitted and where energy pockets should be formed [page 9]
The central processor may then receive symbolic data that can be generated by the computer vision software of each transmitter from the raw image data. The symbolic data may include the X, Y, Z coordinates of the receiver, the size of the receiver, and the speed of the receiver if the receiver is moving. In this case, the software vision software of each transmitter can be programmed to analyze the raw image data and search for object patterns. A stationary object is as a continuous BLOB of pixels of the same background color perception or as a moving BLOB of pixels that are relative to the field of view of the transmitter and that are moving relative to the background pixels of the field of view and near the same background color. Can be recognized. The computer vision software then recognizes the BLOB, and the X, Y, Z coordinates of the BLOB center or centroid, the size of the BLOB or the BLOB speed with respect to the number or percentage of pixels compared to the field of view, and the BLOB in seconds. Generate symbolic data that includes the duration of visibility. All symbolic data can then be sent to the central processor. The central processor may generate a 3D cloud model using all the symbolic data and / or raw image data received at all times and / or periodically, where the 3D cloud model is in the same transmission area A data structure that can be useful for all transmitters to use for wireless power transmission by controlling the antenna phase of the antenna to form an optimal energy pocket at each receiver location within. The 3D cloud model was specified by the X, Y, Z coordinates of all visually recognized objects (such as humans and furniture) and computer vision software of each transmitter and / or antenna management software at each transmitter It can be a data structure containing a list of X, Y, Z coordinates for all receivers. Along with the X, Y, Z coordinates of each object, the model may include other details related to the object, such as BLOB size or average pixel color. [page 25]
refer to a position of an edge in an image obtained by photographing a periphery of the target power reception apparatus and monitor entry of a biological body or an object with respect to a no-entry region that is created in a periphery of a path of the power transmission beam; and
stop radiation of the power transmission beam when entry of a biological body or an object with respect to the no-entry region is detected.
Sensor Operation Sensor 210 may detect whether an object, such as a person or furniture, enters a predetermined neighborhood of transmitter 200, power waves, and / or energy pockets. The sensor 210 can detect whether an object such as a person or furniture enters the transmission field of the transmitter 200. In one configuration, the sensor 210 may then instruct the transmitter 200 or other components of the wireless power transmission system to perform various operations based on the detected object. In another configuration, the sensor 210 may transmit sensor data generated upon detection of an object to the processor 206 of the transmitter 200, which processor 206 of the transmitter 200 performs (e.g., energy Pocket adjustment, power wave transmission stop, and / or power wave transmission reduction) may be determined. [page 17]
Thermal imaging data associated with visually contiguous pixels can include various geometric characteristics of a set of visually contiguous pixels. One geometric characteristic is the center of mass, which is the center of mass of a two-dimensional flat thin layer or three-dimensional solid. Another characteristic is size, which depends on the number of pixels in the set of visually contiguous pixels, the length and width of visually contiguous pixels, or the round pattern of visually contiguous pixels. It can be estimated by the area measured by the radius. In some embodiments, once a human or other externally sensitive object has been identified that spans a certain percentage of the camera's field of view located at the same location as the transmitter, the transmitter transmits power waves. Stop. This means that a human can walk in front of the transmitter at a close distance, thus representing a certain percentage of the pixels in the field of view and needing to avoid transmission of any power wave in order to ensure full safety for humans This happens when the situation is expected. [page 30]
[READ further PAGE 32]
Regarding claim 2, Bell discloses cause the processor to generate the control parameter so as to change at least one of a transmitted power of the power transmission beam, a size of a spot to which the power transmission beam is focused at a position of the power receiving surface, and a position of the spot to which the power transmission beam is focused at a position of the power receiving surface when radiation of the power transmission beam is stopped [READ pages 29, 32. 35-36].
Regarding claim 8, Bell discloses cause the processor to: analyze a motion of a biological body or an object in a periphery of the target power reception apparatus by referring to an image obtained by photographing the periphery of the target power reception apparatus; and generate the control parameter by referring to an analysis result of the motion of the biological body or the object [READ pages 29, 32. 35-36].
Regarding claim 10, Bell discloses refer to a position of the edge and monitor entry of a biological body or an object with respect to a caution region that is defined in a periphery of the no-entry region; and generate the control parameter by prioritizing avoiding stoppage of radiation of the power transmission beam when entry by the biological body or the object with respect to the caution region is detected [SEE page 33].
In another example, multiple thermal imaging cameras 314 form a thermal image that includes visually continuous body temperature pixels. The processor of the transmitter 302 receives thermal imaging data from the thermal imaging camera 314 and applies stereoscopic analysis to identify the three-dimensional coordinates of the pattern of visually continuous body temperature pixels. The processor identifies the centroid of the pattern of visually continuous body temperature pixels and calculates the distance between the centroid and the predetermined 3D position of the energy pocket 318. If the distance is less than the first predetermined threshold, the system reduces the power level of the power wave 312. If the distance is less than a second predetermined threshold that is lower than the first predetermined threshold, the system ends transmission of the power wave 312.
In a further example, the plurality of thermal imaging cameras 314 form a series of thermal images over time, each including a visually continuous body temperature pixel. The processor of the transmitter 302 receives the thermal imaging data from the thermal imaging camera 314 and correlates the visually continuous body temperature pixels from the background image elements in the thermal image frame and relates to the visually continuous body temperature pixels. Apply movement tracking analysis to detect the movement of objects. Further, the processor applies stereoscopic analysis to identify the three-dimensional coordinates of the visually continuous body temperature pixel pattern and calculates the center of gravity of the visually continuous body temperature pixel pattern. If the movement tracking analysis concludes that the organism associated with the visually continuous body temperature pixel is moving toward the energy pocket 318, the system reduces the power level of the power wave 312. If the stereoscopic analysis determines that the distance between the organism and the predetermined 3D position of the energy pocket 318 is less than a predetermined threshold distance, the system ends transmission of the power wave 312
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. CN 113904412 (“Li”).
Regarding claim 3, Li does not teach cause the processor to generate the control parameter by further referring to history information related to stoppage of radiation of the power transmission beam.
Li teaches a mobile power supply discharge quantity control method and system, wherein the method comprises: after detecting the access signal of any one discharge interface of the mobile power supply, obtaining the residual electric quantity of the mobile power supply, the residual electric quantity of each charging device connected with the discharge interface; according to the residual electric quantity of the charging device and the battery capacity of the charging device, calculating the charging amount when each of the charging device reaches the full power state. Specifically, Li teaches generate the control parameter by further referring to history information related to stoppage of radiation of the power transmission beam.
when not receiving the pause signal of the discharge interface stopping transmission, real time calculating the charging device to be charged; when receiving the pause signal of the discharge interface stopping power transmission, generating the history record of the pause signal, the pause signal carries the identification of the charging device, calculating the charging amount when each of the history record is generated, setting the charge quantity of the needed charging device corresponding to the pause signal as the sum of the charged electric quantity in all history records. by using the technical solution, considering the charging device in the charging process of manual or other reasons caused by the power-off condition, at this time, it will influence the charging of the charging device of the calculation, so when receiving the pause signal of the discharge interface stopping transmission, generating the history record of the pause signal, and binding the history record and the identification of the charging device, so as to calculate the sum of the charged quantity of history when the discharge interface continues to transmit power, so as to realize the iterative update of the value of the charged quantity. [SEE page 4-5]
In other words, so if a device was charge for a while, paused, the resume later, each “session” of the charging has its own recorded charge amount. When charging resume, the system generates the control parameter to charge the device equals to the pre-calculated allocated amount.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bell with the generate the control parameter by further referring to history information related to stoppage of radiation of the power transmission beam of Li. The motivation for doing so would has been to prevent overcharge or undercharge after resuming.
Regarding claim 4, Bell in view of Li teaches cause the processor to generate the control parameter by referring to history information associated with user information corresponding to a user being provided with a wireless power supply service by the power transmission apparatus [SEE discussed lines in claim 3 of Li - generating the history record of the pause signal, and binding the history record and the identification of the charging device]
Regarding claim 5, Bell in view Li teaches cause the processor to generate the control parameter by referring to history information associated with power reception apparatus information corresponding to a target power reception apparatus being provided with a wireless power supply service by the power transmission apparatus [SEE page 5, 11].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Braune Ingolf DE 10152543 (“Ingolf”).
Regarding claim 9, Bell teaches cause the processor to generate the control parameter by prioritizing avoiding stoppage of radiation of the power transmission beam when
In another example, multiple thermal imaging cameras 314 form a thermal image that includes visually continuous body temperature pixels. The processor of the transmitter 302 receives thermal imaging data from the thermal imaging camera 314 and applies stereoscopic analysis to identify the three-dimensional coordinates of the pattern of visually continuous body temperature pixels. The processor identifies the centroid of the pattern of visually continuous body temperature pixels and calculates the distance between the centroid and the predetermined 3D position of the energy pocket 318. If the distance is less than the first predetermined threshold, the system reduces the power level of the power wave 312. If the distance is less than a second predetermined threshold that is lower than the first predetermined threshold, the system ends transmission of the power wave 312.
Bell does not teach when an index related to an amount of motion of the biological body or the object exceeds a threshold.
Ingolf teaches a monitoring region (18) including a safety boundary separated from danger region of machine (12), is monitored with a location resolving and time resolving cameras (14,16), to detect movement direction and speed of an operator. Specifically, Ingolf teaches prioritizing avoiding stoppage of an apparatus when an index related to an amount of motion of the biological body or the object exceeds a threshold [SEE fig. 1-4].
In the monitoring area 18 there is an object 24, which in the example shown is an operator 26. The sensors 14, 16, 22 are connected via signal lines to an evaluation unit 28 in which the sensor signals can be evaluated. The evaluation unit 28 is connected to the machine 12 via a suitable connection 30 in order to be able to control the triggering of at least one safety-relevant function. The safety-relevant function can be an emergency stop of the machine and / or only an acoustic and / or visual warning signal.
The safety limit 32 is not a physically recognizable limit, but is set in the evaluation unit 28, for example in software, by means of appropriate means 47. The means 47 for setting the safety limit can consist of a programmable circuit. The safety limit 32 has a safety distance S from the machine 12 and defines the size of the danger zone 36. According to the invention, this safety distance S. is thus the position of the safety limit 32, which can be variably determined via the means 47 as a function of the position, the direction of movement and / or the speed of movement v of the person 26.
The position, direction of movement and / or speed of movement v of the person 26 can be determined in a manner known per se via the sensors 14 and 16 and the evaluation unit 28 (see, for example, DE 44 17 128 A1). The movement speed v of the person 26 is composed of a component v.sub.II parallel to the machine 12 and a component v .sub.⊥ perpendicular to the machine 12 . Movement with an exclusive component v.sub.II parallel to the machine cannot cause any danger. From a safety.sub.perspective , only the component v .sub.⊥ ,sub.i.e. the effective approach .sub.speed , is important. If v .sub.⊥ is large, the safety .sub.distance S should also be large. However, if v .sub.⊥ is small, ie the person 26 moves only slowly towards the machine 12 , the safety .sub.limit 32 can be set closer to the machine 12. The speed at which the position of the safety limit is shifted is preferably dependent on the one hand on the position of the person 26 and on the other hand on the speed component v .sub.⊥ .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bell with when an index related to an amount of motion of the biological body or the object exceeds a threshold of Ingolf. The motivation for doing so would has been to prevent the stoppage radiation of the power transmission beam while still above to ensure safety to a person. Thus, improve system performance.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mese et al. US Pub. No. 2019/0372402 (“Mese”).
Regarding claim 11, Bell does not teach determine power transmission priorities of a plurality of power reception apparatuses in a power transmission area; and select the target power reception apparatus from the plurality of power reception apparatuses in the power transmission area based on the power transmission priorities.
Mese teaches a system, an apparatus, and a method for wireless power transfer are provided. The system includes a plurality of wireless power transmitters and at least one receiver. The at least one receiver is configured to receive the power wirelessly transmitted at least one wireless power transmitter of the plurality of wireless power transmitters. Specifically, Mese teaches determine power transmission priorities of a plurality of power reception apparatuses in a power transmission area; and select the target power reception apparatus from the plurality of power reception apparatuses in the power transmission area based on the power transmission priorities.
[0030] … For example, in response to determining that multiple power harvester devices 104 are in the predefined area 106 (e.g., room), the status of charge of each of the electronic devices may be retrieved. The electronic device having the lowest status of charge (e.g., dead battery) may be selected as the target device. Then, the WPTs 102a-d (or a subset of WPTs 102a-d) may transfer the power to the target device. A priority level may be associated with the electronic device. For example, electronic devices associated with parents may be given priority over electronic devices associated with children. The electronic device associated with the parent may be selected as the target device. Thus, the electronic device associated with the parents may be charged before other devices.
[0031] The target device may also be identified based on the time of the day and date. For example, extra power may be delivered at a specific time to a specific device. For example, when the user 108 is scheduled to leave the predefined area 106 (e.g., home, office) at 8 AM, power from all available WPTs 102a-d may be transmitted to the one or more electronic devices associated with the user 108. The target device may be also identified based on the priority level. The priority level may be based on the status of user, status of the battery, payments, and the like.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bell with determine power transmission priorities of a plurality of power reception apparatuses in a power transmission area; and select the target power reception apparatus from the plurality of power reception apparatuses in the power transmission area based on the power transmission priorities of Mese. The motivation for doing so would has been to optimize wireless power transmission efficiency, reliability in multi-device environment by dynamically prioritizing which power reception apparatus should receive power based on power demand, or operational importance. Thus, improve user convenience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 6-7 are considered allowable since, when reading the claims in light of the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of subject matter specified in the dependent claim(s) a) cause the processor to generate the control parameter by referring to history information associated with environmental information corresponding to an environment of wireless power supply at a time of generation of the control parameter and b) refer to the dynamic information related to the power receiving surface, the static information related to the power receiving surface, and the history information; predict, for each of a plurality of candidates that can be adopted as the control parameter, a probability that radiation of the power transmission beam stops when the candidate is adopted; refer to the normal received power and the probability; and generate the control parameter so that an expected value of an amount of electric power to be transmitted by the power transmission beam increases.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 2009538429 teaches a transmitter assembly including the light source is electrically powered. The light source receives electrical power and converts the electrical power into an optical power beam. The power beam is directed through free space to the optical / electrical power converter of the device. The optical / electrical power converter converts the optical power beam into electrical form and provides electrical power to the device. The safety subsystem ensures that radiation beyond the hot zone between the transmitter and receiver does not exceed the regulatory level. Specifically, 429 teaches the optical power beaming system shown in FIGS. 2 and 3 can implement various safeguards. These safeguards should prevent humans from directly blocking the beam if they enter the beam path and suppress stray reflections generated from the surface of system components or contaminants inside the system Both prevent human exposure to dangerous levels of optical radiation.
For example, in some implementations, the power beaming system includes a beam guard placed around the power beam 90. The beam guard detects an object that enters the beam guard path. An example of a beam guard shown in FIGS. 5A and 5B is a series of guard beams 502 placed around the power beam 90. Light beams of lower power intensity than the power beam 90 are generated by the respective optical transceivers 501 and directed to propagate parallel to the power beam 90. The guard beam 501 is reflected from individual reflectors 504 placed around the outside of the optical / electrical converter 50, and the light returns to the optical transceiver 501. When an object enters the path of the guard beam 502, each transceiver 501 records the intrusion and signals the CPU 22 to turn off the laser 26 or at least keep the laser on.
US Pub. No. 2012/0299540 to Perry teaches a signal generator generates an electrical signal that is sent to an amplifier, which increases the power of the signal using power from a power source. The amplified signal is fed to a sender transducer to generate ultrasonic waves that can be focused and sent to a receiver. The receiver transducer converts the ultrasonic waves back into electrical energy and stores it in an energy storage device, such as a battery, or uses the electrical energy to power a device.
US Pub. No. 2020/0136435 to Mitomo et al. teach an wireless power transmission apparatus includes a plurality of antennas, a power transmission circuit, a measuring circuit and a control circuit. The power transmission circuit is configured to transmit a beam of a first wireless signal from the plurality of antennas. The measuring circuit is configured to receive a second wireless signal with the plurality of antennas. The control circuit is configured to: detect an object in a direction of the beam based on the second wireless signal received at a plurality of timings; and change a shape of the beam by controlling at least either an amplitude or a phase of the first wireless signal provided to each antenna of the plurality of antennas.
/VINCENT H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 IDS filed on 08/21/2023.