DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a final rejection in response to claims filed on 08/29/2025. Claims 1-3 and 5 are currently amended. Claims 1-5 remain pending and are examined herein.
Priority
The claims hold priority to US Provisional Application #63/400,042 filed on 08/22/2022.
Claim Interpretation
© the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-“a profile ring feature module (102) configured to exhibit a profile ring on a profile of each user” in claim 1.
-“a user activity tracking module (103) configured to generate one or more signals derived from a plurality of actions executed by one or more users on the online social networking platform (101),” in claim 1
-“a notification module (104) configured to provide plurality of real time notifications to the user upon detecting variations in the color of the profile ring,” in claim 1
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The corresponding structure is found in the provisional application #63/400,042 specification filed on 08/22/2022, specifically in paragraph, “[0014] Furthermore, the described features, structures, or characteristics of the invention may be combined in any suitable manner in one or more embodiments. In the following description, numerous specific details are provided, such as examples of programming, software modules, user selections, network transactions, database queries, database structures, hardware modules, hardware circuits, hardware chips, etc., to provide a thorough understanding of embodiments of the invention.” Therefore, the modules are interpreted to be software or hardware modules.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because as set forth in the claim interpretation section, the recited “modules” encompass both software and hardware modules. Since the modules encompass software without specific structure (according to the provisional application #63/400,042 specification filed on 08/22/2022, specifically in paragraph [0014]), the claims are directed to a “computer program per se” or “software per se.” MPEP 2106.03 describes software per se as “Software expressed as code or a set of instructions detached from any medium is an idea without physical embodiment. See Microsoft Corp. v. AT&T Corp., 550 U.S. 437, 449, 82 USPQ2d 1400, 1407 (2007); see also Benson, 409 U.S. 67, 175 USPQ2d 675 (An "idea" is not patent eligible). Thus, a product claim to a software program that does not also contain at least one structural limitation (such as a "means plus function" limitation) has no physical or tangible form, and thus does not fall within any statutory category.” In order to overcome these rejections, the claims must provide structural recitations, when reciting a computer product, such as the computing infrastructure performing the software functions. Claim 2-3 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency to claim 1. For purposes of compact prosecution, the claims hereinafter are analyzed under the 2 step process as if they satisfied step 1.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Is the claim to a Process, Machine, Manufacture, or Composition of Matter?
Claims 1-3: A system for evaluating a user demeanor and authenticity within an online social networking platform, the system (100) comprises
Claims 4-5: A method for evaluating a user demeanor and authenticity within an online social networking platform, the method
Claims 1-3 recite a system with modules which falls under “machine.” Claims 4-5 recite a method which falls under process, therefore both claims pass step 1 and are to be further analyzed under step 2.
Step 2a Prong 1: Is the claim directed to a Judicial Exception(A Law of Nature, a Natural Phenomenon (Product of Nature), or An Abstract Idea?)
The claims under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification are analyzed herein. Representative claims 1, and 4 are marked up, isolating the abstract idea from additional elements, wherein the abstract idea is in bold and the additional elements have been italicized as follows:
Claim 1: A system for evaluating a user demeanor and authenticity within an online social networking platform, the system (100) comprises:
a. a profile ring feature module (102) configured to exhibit a profile ring on a profile of each user, wherein the profile ring serves as an indicator within an online social networking platform (101), reflecting the user’s degrees of demeanor and authenticity in real time;
b. a user activity tracking module (103) configured to generate one or more signals derived from a plurality of actions executed by one or more users on the online social networking platform (101), wherein the signals are utilized for the computation of a user’s behavioral score for determining a color of the profile ring; and
c. a notification module (104) configured to provide plurality of real time notifications to the user upon detecting variations in the color of the profile ring, wherein the color variations of the profile ring indicate modifications in the user’s degrees of demeanor and authenticity.
Claim 4: A method for evaluating a user demeanor and authenticity within an online social networking platform, the method (200) comprising the steps of: a. generating one or more signals derived from a plurality of actions executed by the users on the online social networking platform (201); b. computing a user’s behavioral score based on the nature and extent of the user’s engagement activities utilizing the signals (202); c. determining a color of a profile ring through the utilization of the user’s behavioral score, wherein the color of the profile ring serves as an indicator within an online social networking platform, reflecting the user’s degrees of demeanor and authenticity (203); and d. providing real time notifications to the user upon detecting variations in the color of the profile ring, wherein the color variations indicate modifications in the user’s degrees of demeanor and authenticity (204).
When evaluating the bolded limitations of the claims under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, it is clear that representative claims 1, and 4 recite an abstract idea within the category of “certain methods of organizing human activity.” More specifically, the present invention falls under the sub-grouping “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people” include social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions as outlined in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C). In this case, the instant claims in bold recite steps of “evaluating a user demeanor and authenticity within a social networking platform, displaying a profile ring which serves as an indicator of the user’s degree of demeanor and authenticity, generate dataset based on user interactions to compute a behavioral score to determine the color of the profile ring, and provide notifications when the color ring changes.” These steps are merely data collection, data processing, and data display steps to perform the abstract idea of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between individuals. Analyzing a user’s behavior on a social networking platform and display an indication of their behavior to other user’s on the social networking platform falls within “social activities, teachings, and following rules or instructions.” Therefore, these claims recite an abstract idea and are to be further analyzed under Step 2A Prong 2.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
Claims 1 and 4 recite the following additional elements:
-a profile ring feature module in claim 1
-a user activity tracking module in claim 1
-a notification module in claim 1
-online social networking platform in claims 1 and 4
The additional elements listed above, when considered individually and in combination with the claim as a whole, no more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on generic computing components as outlined in MPEP 2106.05(f). In this case, the abstract idea of “evaluating a user demeanor and authenticity within a social networking platform, displaying a profile ring which serves as an indicator of the user’s degree of demeanor and authenticity, generate dataset based on user interactions to compute a behavioral score to determine the color of the profile ring, and provide notifications when the color ring changes” is being performed on generic computing components such as modules. Furthermore, limiting the social networking platform to be “online” is merely an indication that the social networking platform exists on a computer, which does not amount to more than merely that the abstract idea should be applied on the internet. This could also be considered a general link to a field of us or technological environment as outlined in MPEP 2106.05(h), since it merely indicates applying the abstract idea on an online technological environment without meaningfully limiting its implementation. Therefore the additional elements do not integrate the claim into a practical application.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Claims 1 and 4 recite the following additional elements:
-a profile ring feature module in claim 1
-a user activity tracking module in claim 1
-a notification module in claim 1
-online social networking platform in claims 1 and 4
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using modules to perform the steps associated with the abstract idea, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Similarly, generally linking the abstract idea to an online technological environment does not meaningfully limit the claim to provide an inventive concept according to MPEP 2106.05(h) Accordingly, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus claims 1 and 4 are not patent eligible because the claims are directed to an abstract without significantly more.
Regarding dependent claims 2, 3, 5:
Claim 2 further defines the abstract idea by adding another step to the user activity tracking module which utilizes the behavioral score based on the nature and extend of the user’s engagement activities. Whether analyzed individually or combination, this is more of the same abstract idea because it merely analyzes user engagement activities(user interactions), when considering the behavioral score. The additional element “user activity tracking module” is still an indication of “apply it” or performing the abstract idea on generic computing components. Therefore the claims are still directed to an abstract idea without integration into a practical application or significantly more.
Claim 3 further defines the abstract idea by adding another step to the profile ring feature module which enables visibility of the profile ring to other users, the color of the profile ring indicating the computed behavioral score. Whether analyzed individually or combination, this is more of the same abstract idea because it merely facilitates the display of the profile data to other parties, which is a form of managing personal behavior or interactions between individuals. The additional element “profile ring feature module” is still an indication of “apply it” or performing the abstract idea on generic computing components. Therefore the claims are still directed to an abstract idea without integration into a practical application or significantly more.
Claim 5 further limits the abstract idea by defining what is included in “user’s engagement activities” to include “user’s historical behavior, quality of posts, content posted, analysis of affective state, instances of being blocked by other users, and positive ratings provided by other users for computing the behavioral score and determining the color of the profile ring.” This is more of the same abstract idea because even when substituting these elements into the representative claims, the claims still recite managing personal behavior or interactions between individuals. Furthermore, there are no further additional elements to consider therefore the claims are still directed to an abstract idea without integration into a practical application or significantly more.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Highman et al. (US 20220237318 A1) hereinafter Highman in view of Dwyer et al. (US 20150195406 A1) hereinafter Dwyer.
Regarding Claim 1:
Highman discloses a method of creating a trust profile by gathering information about a user, assessing the collected information, providing a trust score, and displaying the profile with a color coded ring reflecting the trust. Highman teaches:
A system for evaluating a user authenticity within an online social networking platform, the system (100) comprises: (Highman [0003] A user can create a “trust” or “risk” profile that provides a trust score based on various factors that are included as part of an overall assessment. For example, user data may be based on public and private records, including civil, criminal and other legal proceedings, biographic information, financial records, academic records and other relevant data. [0010] The trust profile may include information regarding identity verification, criminal record status and civil record status and credential status information.) Authenticity is mapped to “trust” in Highman, and since Highman discloses sharing the trust profile with other users on a platform, the limitation has been taught.
-a. a profile ring feature module (102) configured to exhibit a profile ring on a profile of each user, (Highman [0009] The trust profile may be displayed with at least a portion of a circular ring that varies in length according to the trust score. A portion of the circular ring further may include a color code that varies according to the trust score. [0092] The evaluator enter a separately sent validation code to view the user’s profile. The profile is displayed with a picture of the user, the risk score and a color-coded ring.)
-wherein the profile ring serves as an indicator within an online social networking platform (101),
reflecting the user’s degrees of authenticity in real time; (Highman [0050] The user 28 may send their trust score or trust profile to an evaluator 30 or the user 28 may post the score on, for example, on a social media account, website or biographic profile. The data that is evaluated may be, for example, identity verification, criminal record, civil record, and credential verification. The evaluator 30 may be for various types of relationships, such as, for example, employer-employee, sports league-coaching position, potential intimate relationship, etc. [0084] Referring to FIGS. 15A-15C, once the user’s data and profile are complete, the user may share their trust information with another person or entity. The user is prompted to identify the reason for sharing. For example, the user may specify that sharing is for home and family services, professional services, a personal relationship or unspecified.) Highman’s trust score is mapped to “user’s degree of authenticity.” Since “real time” is not specifically defined in the specification, the ability to share trust information that reflects the trust profile satisfies the ”real time” limitation.
-b. a user activity tracking module (103) configured to generate one or more signals, (Highman [0047] The data source 24 may be a database, electronic documents, the internet, paper files, and the like. The trust assessment module may convert the personal information and risk information to an assessment to provide a trust or risk score. For example, if a job applicant has a criminal background, each criminal charge, disposition, and punishment may be quantified and included in the total score. Risk information may be converted from unstructured data sources 24 using a non-standard data vocabulary and complex data semantics to assessment information using standardized vocabulary and values. The memory may store the personal information, the risk information, and/or the assessment information on the computer.) Highman’s conversion of the unstructured data sources into assessment information is a generation of signals.
-wherein the signals are utilized for the computation of a user’s trust score for determining a color of the profile ring; and (Highman [0048] The personal and risk/trust information may be converted to a trust assessment or trust score using an algorithm by the trust assessment module 20. The algorithm may use logical expressions to automatically convert unstructured text into numeric values which are then used in an overall quantification. [0009] The trust profile may be displayed with at least a portion of a circular ring that varies in length according to the trust score. A portion of the circular ring further may include a color code that varies according to the trust score. [0071] The home page can be formatted for desktop 220, tablet 222, or mobile 224 layouts. Information included on the home page includes the user’s image surrounded by a color-coded circle and a numerical risk score. The home page communicates the risk score, shows the latest state of their profile and prompts the user to complete various data processing tasks.)
However, Highman fails to teach:
-Evaluating a user demeanor/degree of demeanor (Highman only discloses a trust score but not specifically evaluate the demeanor or behavioral characteristics)
-signals derived from a plurality of actions executed by one or more users on the social networking platform (Highman’s metrics for calculating the trust score do not involve social media engagements)
-the signals are utilized for computation of a user’s behavioral score for determing a color of the ring (Highman’s trust score determines the color of the ring.)
- c. a notification module (104) configured to provide plurality of real time notifications to the user upon detecting variations in the color of the profile ring,
-wherein the color variations of the profile ring indicate modifications in the user’s degrees of demeanor and authenticity.
Alternatively, Dwyer discloses a system for analyzing communications and dynamically providing a graphical representation of the scores based on the communications, which Dwyer primarily applies to live calls, but can also be applied to social media posts. Dwyer teaches:
-Evaluating a user demeanor/degree of demeanor (Dwyer [0155] In addition to the agent assistant providing behavioral feedback to the user, such as through color-ring indicators and textual messages, the agent assistant may provide for information in response to key words or phrases from the caller or the absence of key words/phrases, such as in information provided in `pop-ups` or `fly-outs`. [0099] One category may be behaviors, for example, how agents or customers are behaving. For example, are customers expressing dissatisfaction, and is there an empathetic response to that dissatisfaction. Various language patterns, keywords, phrases, or other characteristics associated with the overall feel of `dissatisfaction` may be included in a list for the category. When the listed item appears in the communication, the `dissatisfaction` tag may be applied. [0116] Various index scores, such as emotion score, agent quality score, agent quality—customer service, customer satisfaction, and compliance risk are shown. Various other index scores, individual behavior scores or other measures may be shown in this view.) The evaluation of behavior in Dwyer teaches the limitation above.
-signals derived from a plurality of actions executed by one or more users on the social networking platform (Dwyer [0095] With respect to data sources, the conversational analytics system may work with many data sources, regardless of the specific call recording system or combination of call recording systems, or sources of text contacts (e.g., voice, text, email, SMS, chat, blog, social network posts, and the like). [0096] In embodiments, a customer “call” center system may comprise a plurality of channels for receiving heterogeneous customer input to an enterprise, such as: phone calls to a call center; phone calls to an agent; voice mail; on-line chat; e-mail; blogs; surveys; Facebook; Twitter; Google+; other social channels; IVR; and the like. Customer input received as a vocal stream may be translated to text using a variety of speech analysis techniques such as phonetics, LVSCR, and the like. The translated text may be analyzed and the text categorized and scored. The customer input received as text may be analyzed and the text categorized and scored.)
-the signals are utilized for computation of a user’s behavioral score to determine a color of the ring (Dwyer [0018] Various other index scores, individual behavior scores or other measures may be shown in this view. [0118] For example, particular ranges of scores may be associated with a description. In the example of FIG. 16, a score through 79 indicates the suspected emotion, a score from 79 to 80 indicates normal emotion, and any score above 80 indicates calm. The user may define any number of ranges. Each score range may also be associated with a particular color when displayed to a user [0154] One example of the graphical indicator of the agent assistant is illustrated in FIG. 9, where color-coded rings surround an alert message area, where the alert message area displays messages to the agent, and the colored rings provide indicators of how the call is going. For instance, one colored ring may represent a `call temperature gauge`, showing through a color indicator of the emotional state of the caller as based on real-time language and/or acoustics analytics and scoring, such as green indicating a default condition where the caller is calm and the call is going well, orange indicating something has changed either in the acoustic characteristic of the caller’s voice or in the language they are using, and red indicating the caller is now taking actions or has a tone that may indicate they are agitated, upset, and the like, and where the agent needs to take counter-acting measures.) Dwyer also teaches a mood ring which displays different colors based on behavioral metrics.
- c. a notification module (104) configured to provide plurality of real time notifications to the user upon detecting variations in the color of the profile ring, (Dwyer [0124] Performance feedback is delivered as continuous, plain language alerts and notifications, [0154] The agent assistant may be provided on each agent’s desktop to provide real-time alerts, next-best-action guidance to the agent (e.g. links to relevant information or advice when certain items of interest occur on the call, for example: a technical issue with a product or a specific objection to an agent offer), and the like. One example of the graphical indicator of the agent assistant is illustrated in FIG. 9, where color-coded rings surround an alert message area, where the alert message area displays messages to the agent, and the colored rings provide indicators of how the call is going… Through the agent assistant, the agent may receive various textual and/or graphical feedback indicators to help them adjust to the changing behavior of the caller, thus improving the performance of the agent in handling the needs of the caller. In one embodiment, the outer ring changes color based on the tone of the call. If the color gets to “red”, it shakes itself to calm down the agent. Acoustically, volume, tone, and agitation (which itself is a measure of tempo, volume, and stress) may be visually displayed in one of the rings, such as the outer ring, of the assistant and optionally displayed as the actual score in the ring such as the center of the ring. Another ring, such as the inner ring, may change color based on violations and to provide an alert. A portion of the mood ring may present an alert message.) Dwyer’s provision of alerts when the mood ring changes color is mapped to the limitation.
-wherein the color variations of the profile ring indicate modifications in the user’s degrees of demeanor. (Dwyer [0154] For instance, one colored ring may represent a `call temperature gauge`, showing through a color indicator of the emotional state of the caller as based on real-time language and/or acoustics analytics and scoring, such as green indicating a default condition where the caller is calm and the call is going well, orange indicating something has changed either in the acoustic characteristic of the caller’s voice or in the language they are using, and red indicating the caller is now taking actions or has a tone that may indicate they are agitated, upset, and the like, and where the agent needs to take counter-acting measures. Another colored ring may represent an alert indicator that indicates the need to take actions by the agent, such as similarly indicated by different colors, augmented with alert messages, and the like. A ring may change color as the tone of the caller’s voice changes, such as from green when there was silence, to yellow as the caller spoke louder, and finally red when the caller became agitated. For example, after the caller had spoken loudly and quickly for several seconds, a high agitation warning may be shown, such as by color ring indication and/or a textual alert message. Not only can the agent’s assistant detect agitation/stress and other emotional states, but it can detect other acoustic events like silence or over-talk.) The changes in color is an indication of changes in the user’s demeanor.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Highman by adding the behavioral analysis of Dwyer, including changing the color of the ring based on a change in demeanor/behavior, and providing notifications when a change has occurred. This combination would yield the predictable result of providing a profile ring that is based both on behavior and trust scores, based on the actions of the user on a social media platform. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform the combination as it has the benefit of accurately assessing a person’s behavior in real time. (Dwyer [0005])
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Highman and Dwyer teach or suggest the system as claimed in claim 1,
Highman teaches:
-utilizing the user’s trust score based on the trust information to determine the color of the profile ring. (Highman [0048] The personal and risk/trust information may be converted to a trust assessment or trust score using an algorithm by the trust assessment module 20. The algorithm may use logical expressions to automatically convert unstructured text into numeric values which are then used in an overall quantification. [0009] The trust profile may be displayed with at least a portion of a circular ring that varies in length according to the trust score. A portion of the circular ring further may include a color code that varies according to the trust score.)
However, Highman fails to disclose:
-wherein the user activity tracking module utilizes the user’s behavioral score based on the nature and extent of the user’s engagement activities for determining the color of the profile ring.
Alternatively, Dwyer discloses:
-wherein the user activity tracking module utilizes the user’s behavioral score based on the nature and extent of the user’s engagement activities to determine the color of the ring.(Dwyer [0082] The real-time (RT) conversational analytics facility enables automatically evaluating in real-time or near real-time every communication (of heterogeneous types (e.g., voice, phone call [either to the call center or direct dialed to an agent], voicemail, chat, e-mail, blog, survey, Facebook, Twitter, Google+, other social channels, IVR, etc.) related to an activity, such as an activity of an enterprise, including in-progress calls, for sentiment/acoustics, categorization, and performance scoring, including the presence or absence of specific language or acoustic characteristics, utilizing acoustic and conversational analysis to convert communications to a text format for inclusion in a single database repository that includes fields for data relating to, at least, speech analysis/audio mining of spoken communications. The communications may be routed to a centralized host or handled by distributed computing systems in various embodiments disclosed herein or via a cloud-based system. The raw, unstructured data of recorded or real-time conversations is converted into consumable, structured data. Audio conversations are ingested by the system along with call metadata and speech-to-text transcription is performed to generate a transcript that is analyzed using a set of linguistic and acoustic rules to look for certain key words, phrases, topics, and acoustic characteristics. [0082] The conversational analytics system allows for evaluation and comparison of performance and key metrics using data visualization. The conversational analytics system enables determining root cause through auto topic analysis and automatically identifying outliers. Output of text conversion/ sentiment/acoustics analysis of customer conversations and associated metadata from any source communication system (call recorders, chat systems, emails, social posts (e.g. twitter, Facebook), SMS, Blogs and Surveys, etc.) and across multiple contact center sites and locations are stored in a database for a three step process that can be a cloud-based or an on premise call center monitoring solution that is scalable: (i) categorization; (ii) scoring; (iii) auto-analytics. A plurality of category labels are assigned for topics throughout the communication (e.g. Greeting, ID+verification, Behavior/emotions, Procedure discussed, Competitor, Churn, Likelihood for upsell/cross-sell, Agent performance, Customer satisfaction, Credit card (mention CCV code), custom categories, custom sets of categories, search-based categories).) Dwyer’s sentiment analysis is an example of the nature of the user’s engagement activities, and the scoring of the interactions is an example of an “extent.”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Highman by evaluating a behavioral score based on a nature and extent of user’s engagement activities such as social media post as taught by Dwyer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination as it would provide the benefit of accurately assessing one’s behavior. (Dwyer [0086])
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Highman and Dwyer teach or suggest the system as claimed in claim 1,
Furthermore, Highman teaches:
-wherein the profile ring feature module (102) facilitates visibility of the profile ring by other users, thereby enabling the other users to make one or more informed determinations based on the color of the profile ring associated with the user. (Highman [0004] The system allows a user to develop a “trust” profile that can be shared with others, such as, for example, potential employers. The user has complete control of their (used as singular or plural herein) data in terms of what is shared, the time period that it can be shared and with persons or entities that it can be shared with. [0045] The data aggregation module 18 may receive, at the computer, user account information and risk/authentication regarding the user 28 according to the personal information from the data sources 24. As used herein, the term “risk information” refers to any quantifiable information that may be considered as indicative of risk for a person or other entity. For example, risk information may include criminal history, civil history, terrorist watch lists, traffic violations, loan or debt delinquencies, outstanding wants or warrants, academic disciplinary history, and/or immigration status. Risk information may also include accusations relating to the previously mentioned types of risks. For example, a security company may want to know whether potential employees have a criminal record. In this example, risk information could include, among other things, any information that relates to the criminal history of a job applicant.)
-the color of the profile ring indicating the computed behavioral score, (Highman [0009] The trust profile may be displayed with at least a portion of a circular ring that varies in length according to the trust score. A portion of the circular ring further may include a color code that varies according to the trust score.) Since the trust score is now based on a combination of authenticity and behavioral measures from Dwyer, the color of the ring being based on the trust score, satisfies the limitation.
Regarding Claim 4:
Highman teaches:
-A method for evaluating a user authenticity within an online social networking platform, the method (200) comprising the steps of: (Highman [0003] A user can create a “trust” or “risk” profile that provides a trust score based on various factors that are included as part of an overall assessment. For example, user data may be based on public and private records, including civil, criminal and other legal proceedings, biographic information, financial records, academic records and other relevant data. [0010] The trust profile may include information regarding identity verification, criminal record status and civil record status and credential status information.) Authenticity is mapped to “trust” in Highman, and since Highman discloses sharing the trust profile with other users on a platform, the limitation has been taught.
-a. generating one or more signals; (Highman [0047] The data source 24 may be a database, electronic documents, the internet, paper files, and the like. The trust assessment module may convert the personal information and risk information to an assessment to provide a trust or risk score. For example, if a job applicant has a criminal background, each criminal charge, disposition, and punishment may be quantified and included in the total score. Risk information may be converted from unstructured data sources 24 using a non-standard data vocabulary and complex data semantics to assessment information using standardized vocabulary and values. The memory may store the personal information, the risk information, and/or the assessment information on the computer.) Highman’s conversion of the unstructured data sources into assessment information is a generation of signals.
-b. computing a user’s trust score based on the signals (202); (Highman [0048] The personal and risk/trust information may be converted to a trust assessment or trust score using an algorithm by the trust assessment module 20. The algorithm may use logical expressions to automatically convert unstructured text into numeric values which are then used in an overall quantification.)
-c. determining a color of a profile ring through the utilization of the user’s trust score, (Highman [0009] The trust profile may be displayed with at least a portion of a circular ring that varies in length according to the trust score. A portion of the circular ring further may include a color code that varies according to the trust score. [0071] The home page can be formatted for desktop 220, tablet 222, or mobile 224 layouts. Information included on the home page includes the user’s image surrounded by a color-coded circle and a numerical risk score. The home page communicates the risk score, shows the latest state of their profile and prompts the user to complete various ’ata processing tasks.)
-wherein the color of the profile ring serves as an indicator within an online social networking platform, reflecting the user’s degrees of authenticity (203); and (Highman [0050] The user 28 may send their trust score or trust profile to an evaluator 30 or the user 28 may post the score on, for example, on a social media account, website or biographic profile. The data that is evaluated may be, for example, identity verification, criminal record, civil record, and credential verification. The evaluator 30 may be for various types of relationships, such as, for example, employer-employee, sports league-coaching position, potential intimate relationship, etc. [0084] Referring to FIGS. 15A-15C, once the user’s data and profile are complete, the user may share their trust information with another person or entity. The user is prompted to identify the reason for sharing. For example, the user may specify that sharing is for home and family services, professional services, a personal relationship or unspecified.) Highman’s trust score is mapped to “user’s degree of authenticity.”
Highman fails to teach:
-Evaluating a user demeanor/degree of demeanor (Highman only discloses a trust score but not specifically evaluate the demeanor or behavioral characteristics)
-signals derived from a plurality of actions executed by one or more users on the social networking platform (Highman’s metrics for calculating the trust score do not involve social media engagements)
-b. computing a user’s behavioral score based on the nature and extent of the user’s engagement activities utilizing the signals (202);
-determining the color of the profile ring through the utilization of the user’s behavioral score.
- d. providing real time notifications to the user upon detecting variations in the color of the profile ring,
-wherein the color variations indicate modifications in the user’s degrees of demeanor and authenticity.
Alternatively, Dwyer teaches:
-Evaluating a user demeanor/degree of demeanor. (Dwyer [0155] In addition to the agent assistant providing behavioral feedback to the user, such as through color-ring indicators and textual messages, the agent assistant may provide for information in response to key words or phrases from the caller or the absence of key words/phrases, such as in information provided in `pop-ups` or `fly-outs`. [0099] One category may be behaviors, for example, how agents or customers are behaving. For example, are customers expressing dissatisfaction, and is there an empathetic response to that dissatisfaction. Various language patterns, keywords, phrases, or other characteristics associated with the overall feel of `dissatisfaction` may be included in a list for the category. When the listed item appears in the communication, the `dissatisfaction` tag may be applied. [0116] Various index scores, such as emotion score, agent quality score, agent quality—customer service, customer satisfaction, and compliance risk are shown. Various other index scores, individual behavior scores or other measures may be shown in this view.) The evaluation of behavior in Dwyer teaches the limitation above.
-signals derived from a plurality of actions executed by one or more users on the social networking platform (Dwyer [0095] With respect to data sources, the conversational analytics system may work with many data sources, regardless of the specific call recording system or combination of call recording systems, or sources of text contacts (e.g., voice, text, email, SMS, chat, blog, social network posts, and the like). [0096] In embodiments, a customer “call” center system may comprise a plurality of channels for receiving heterogeneous customer input to an enterprise, such as: phone calls to a call center; phone calls to an agent; voice mail; on-line chat; e-mail; blogs; surveys; Facebook; Twitter; Google+; other social channels; IVR; and the like. Customer input received as a vocal stream may be translated to text using a variety of speech analysis techniques such as phonetics, LVSCR, and the like. The translated text may be analyzed and the text categorized and scored. The customer input received as text may be analyzed and the text categorized and scored.)
-b. computing a user’s behavioral score based on the nature and extent of the user’s engagement activities utilizing the signals (202); (Dwyer [0082] The real-time (RT) conversational analytics facility enables automatically evaluating in real-time or near real-time every communication (of heterogeneous types (e.g., voice, phone call [either to the call center or direct dialed to an agent], voicemail, chat, e-mail, blog, survey, Facebook, Twitter, Google+, other social channels, IVR, etc.) related to an activity, such as an activity of an enterprise, including in-progress calls, for sentiment/acoustics, categorization, and performance scoring, including the presence or absence of specific language or acoustic characteristics, utilizing acoustic and conversational analysis to convert communications to a text format for inclusion in a single database repository that includes fields for data relating to, at least, speech analysis/audio mining of spoken communications. The communications may be routed to a centralized host or handled by distributed computing systems in various embodiments disclosed herein or via a cloud-based system. The raw, unstructured data of recorded or real-time conversations is converted into consumable, structured data. Audio conversations are ingested by the system along with call metadata and speech-to-text transcription is performed to generate a transcript that is analyzed using a set of linguistic and acoustic rules to look for certain key words, phrases, topics, and acoustic characteristics. [0082] The conversational analytics system allows for evaluation and comparison of performance and key metrics using data visualization. The conversational analytics system enables determining root cause through auto topic analysis and automatically identifying outliers. Output of text conversion/ sentiment/acoustics analysis of customer conversations and associated metadata from any source communication system (call recorders, chat systems, emails, social posts (e.g. twitter, Facebook), SMS, Blogs and Surveys, etc.) and across multiple contact center sites and locations are stored in a database for a three step process that can be a cloud-based or an on premise call center monitoring solution that is scalable: (i) categorization; (ii) scoring; (iii) auto-analytics. A plurality of category labels are assigned for topics throughout the communication (e.g. Greeting, ID+verification, Behavior/emotions, Procedure discussed, Competitor, Churn, Likelihood for upsell/cross-sell, Agent performance, Customer satisfaction, Cre