DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the amendment dated 12/9/2025, for which the amendment and corresponding arguments filed on the same date have been entered. Claims 2, 3, 5-13, 15-20 and 22-24 are currently pending in this application, with claims 2, 12 and 22 being independent. No claims have been amended, cancelled or added. This Action is made NON-FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection of the claims filed 12/9/2025, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the new references below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5-13, 15-20 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imran, et al (US PG Publication 2022/0225127), hereafter Imran, in view of Da Silva, et al (US PG Publication 2023/0025432), hereafter Da Silva.
Regarding claim 2, Imran teaches
a user equipment (UE)
([0175] Apparatus UE), comprising:
one or more transceivers
([0175] Apparatus UE);
one or more memories comprising instructions
([0175] Apparatus comprises: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to
([0175] Apparatus comprises: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to):
receive, via at least one of the one or more transceivers, navigation data associated with the UE
([0154] The prediction model may be built. The next cells may be mapped to the future user locations, which may comprise location coordinates that may be GPS coordinates);
perform, based at least in part on the navigation data, a mobility prediction associated with whether the UE will likely travel within a cell associated with a network node that is different from a serving node to which the UE is communicatively coupled
([0154] The prediction model may be built using at least one of handover reports, CDRs, or UE measurements. The next cells may be mapped to the future user locations, which may comprise location coordinates that may be GPS coordinates
[0175] In a first embodiment, an apparatus comprises: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to: build a prediction model that predicts next cells of UEs in a future time step of a mobile network; map the next cells to future user locations);
perform, based at least in part on the mobility prediction, one or more measurements associated with the cell
([0154] The prediction model may be built using UE measurements that comprise at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, or an RSS. The next cells may be mapped to the future user locations using at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, or an RSS).
Imran does not explicitly teach
transmit, via the at least one of the one or more transceivers, an indication of a measurement report associated with the one or more measurements.
In the same field of endeavor, Da Silva teaches
transmit, via the at least one of the one or more transceivers, an indication of a measurement report associated with the one or more measurements
([0191] The UE 101 may predict mobility information such as radio conditions of serving and/or neighbor cells, in serving and/or neighbor frequencies, list of cells the UE 101 is moving or being handed over to, and the inclusion of these predictions in measurement reports, such as the existing periodic measurement reports and event-triggered measurement reports).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Imran, which includes a UE predicting mobility to a cell, to include Da Silva’s teaching of a UE predicting mobility to a cell, for the benefit of handling mobility information in a communications network [0001].
Regarding claim 3, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the UE of claim 2.
Da Silva further teaches
wherein the one or more measurements include a radio resource management (RRM) measurement
([0569] The term real measurement or current measurement used herein may also be called RRM measurements. These measurements to be performed by the UE 101 and reported).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Imran, in view of Da Silva, which includes a UE predicting mobility to a cell, to include Da Silva’s teaching of a UE predicting mobility to a cell, for the benefit of handling mobility information in a communications network [0001].
Regarding claim 5, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the UE of claim 2.
Imran further teaches
wherein the navigation data is global positioning system (GPS) navigation data
([0154] The next cells may be mapped to the future user locations, which may comprise location coordinates that may be GPS coordinates).
Regarding claim 6, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the UE of claim 2.
Imran further teaches
wherein the navigation data comprises one or more previous navigation destinations associated with the UE
([0123] That information is used for estimating the UE's future location coordinates in a next time step k+k′. Knowing that nodes in a network usually move around a set of well-visited landmarks with a fairly regular landmark trajectory, past mobility logs of UEs are used to estimate most probable landmarks visited by each UE in each cell).
Regarding claim 7, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the UE of claim 2.
Imran further teaches
the mobility prediction is further based at least in part on an expected time duration during which the UE will likely travel within the cell
([0118] First, the probability that the user stays in cell i for a period of length r and then goes to cell m is given by ψ.sub.i,m.sup.(u)(τ)).
Regarding claim 8, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the UE of claim 2.
Da Silva further teaches
wherein the mobility prediction is further based at least on a likelihood that the UE will travel within the cell
([0453] The first network node 403a may receive the reported list of cells that the UE 101 may move to or predicted measurement results per cell. By knowing where the UE 101 is going the first network node 403a knows with some level of likelihood where the UE 101 is moving).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Imran, in view of Da Silva, which includes a UE predicting mobility to a cell, to include Da Silva’s teaching of a UE predicting mobility to a cell, for the benefit of handling mobility information in a communications network [0001].
Regarding claim 9, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the UE of claim 2.
Da Silva further teaches
wherein the mobility prediction is further based at least in part on a confidence level for the likelihood the UE will travel within the cell
([0453] The first network node 403a may receive the reported list of cells that the UE 101 may move to or predicted measurement results per cell. By knowing where the UE 101 is going the first network node 403a knows with some level of likelihood where the UE 101 is moving).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Imran, in view of Da Silva, which includes a UE predicting mobility to a cell, to include Da Silva’s teaching of a UE predicting mobility to a cell, for the benefit of handling mobility information in a communications network [0001].
Regarding claim 10, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the UE of claim 2.
Da Silva further teaches
wherein the indication is transmitted for transmission to the serving node
([0191] The UE 101 may predict mobility information such as radio conditions of serving and/or neighbor cells, in serving and/or neighbor frequencies, list of cells the UE 101 is moving or being handed over to, and the inclusion of these predictions in measurement reports, such as the existing periodic measurement reports and event-triggered measurement reports).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Imran, in view of Da Silva, which includes a UE predicting mobility to a cell, to include Da Silva’s teaching of a UE predicting mobility to a cell, for the benefit of handling mobility information in a communications network [0001].
Regarding claim 11, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the UE of claim 2.
Imran further teaches
wherein the one or more network nodes are a neighbor to the UE
([0175] In a first embodiment, an apparatus comprises: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to: build a prediction model that predicts next cells of UEs)).
Regarding claim 12, Imran teaches
a method of wireless communication performed at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving navigation data associated with the UE
([0154] The prediction model may be built. The next cells may be mapped to the future user locations, which may comprise location coordinates that may be GPS coordinates);
performing, based at least in part on the navigation data, a mobility prediction associated with whether the UE will likely travel within a cell associated with a network node that is different from a serving node to which the UE is communicatively coupled
([0154] The prediction model may be built using at least one of handover reports, CDRs, or UE measurements. The next cells may be mapped to the future user locations, which may comprise location coordinates that may be GPS coordinates
[0175] In a first embodiment, an apparatus comprises: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to: build a prediction model that predicts next cells of UEs in a future time step of a mobile network; map the next cells to future user locations);
performing, based at least in part on the mobility prediction, one or more measurements associated with the cell
([0154] The prediction model may be built using UE measurements that comprise at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, or an RSS. The next cells may be mapped to the future user locations using at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, or an RSS).
Imran does not teach
transmitting an indication of a measurement report associated with the one or more measurements.
In the same field of endeavor, Da Silva teaches
transmitting an indication of a measurement report associated with the one or more measurements
([0191] The UE 101 may predict mobility information such as radio conditions of serving and/or neighbor cells, in serving and/or neighbor frequencies, list of cells the UE 101 is moving or being handed over to, and the inclusion of these predictions in measurement reports, such as the existing periodic measurement reports and event-triggered measurement reports).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Imran, which includes a UE predicting mobility to a cell, to include Da Silva’s teaching of a UE predicting mobility to a cell, for the benefit of handling mobility information in a communications network [0001].
Regarding claim 13, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the method of claim 12.
Da Silva further teaches
wherein the one or more measurements include a radio resource management (RRM) measurement
([0569] The term real measurement or current measurement used herein may also be called RRM measurements. These measurements to be performed by the UE 101 and reported).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Imran, in view of Da Silva, which includes a UE predicting mobility to a cell, to include Da Silva’s teaching of a UE predicting mobility to a cell, for the benefit of handling mobility information in a communications network [0001].
Regarding claim 15, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the method of claim 12.
Imran further teaches
wherein the navigation data is global positioning system (GPS) navigation data
([0154] The next cells may be mapped to the future user locations, which may comprise location coordinates that may be GPS coordinates).
Regarding claim 16, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the method of claim 12.
Imran further teaches
wherein the navigation data comprises one or more previous navigation destinations associated with the UE
([0123] That information is used for estimating the UE's future location coordinates in a next time step k+k′. Knowing that nodes in a network usually move around a set of well-visited landmarks with a fairly regular landmark trajectory, past mobility logs of UEs are used to estimate most probable landmarks visited by each UE in each cell).
Regarding claim 17, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the method of claim 12.
Imran further teaches
the mobility prediction is further based at least in part on an expected time duration during which the UE will likely travel within the cell
([0118] First, the probability that the user stays in cell i for a period of length r and then goes to cell m is given by ψ.sub.i,m.sup.(u)(τ)).
Regarding claim 18, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the method of claim 12.
Da Silva further teaches
wherein the mobility prediction is further based at least on a likelihood that the UE will travel within the cell
([0453] The first network node 403a may receive the reported list of cells that the UE 101 may move to or predicted measurement results per cell. By knowing where the UE 101 is going the first network node 403a knows with some level of likelihood where the UE 101 is moving).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Imran, in view of Da Silva, which includes a UE predicting mobility to a cell, to include Da Silva’s teaching of a UE predicting mobility to a cell, for the benefit of handling mobility information in a communications network [0001].
Regarding claim 19, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the method of claim 18.
Da Silva further teaches
wherein the mobility prediction is further based at least in part on a confidence level for the likelihood the UE will travel within the cell ([0453] The first network node 403a may receive the reported list of cells that the UE 101 may move to or predicted measurement results per cell. By knowing where the UE 101 is going the first network node 403a knows with some level of likelihood where the UE 101 is moving).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Imran, in view of Da Silva, which includes a UE predicting mobility to a cell, to include Da Silva’s teaching of a UE predicting mobility to a cell, for the benefit of handling mobility information in a communications network [0001].
Regarding claim 20, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the method of claim 12.
Da Silva further teaches
wherein the indication is outputted for transmission to the serving node
([0191] The UE 101 may predict mobility information such as radio conditions of serving and/or neighbor cells, in serving and/or neighbor frequencies, list of cells the UE 101 is moving or being handed over to, and the inclusion of these predictions in measurement reports, such as the existing periodic measurement reports and event-triggered measurement reports).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Imran, in view of Da Silva, which includes a UE predicting mobility to a cell, to include Da Silva’s teaching of a UE predicting mobility to a cell, for the benefit of handling mobility information in a communications network [0001].
Regarding claim 22, Imran teaches
a wireless node, comprising:
means for receiving navigation data associated with the wireless node
([0154] The prediction model may be built. The next cells may be mapped to the future user locations, which may comprise location coordinates that may be GPS coordinates);
means for performing, based at least in part on the navigation data, a mobility prediction associated with whether the wireless node will likely travel within a cell associated with a network node that is different from a serving node to which the wireless node is communicatively coupled
([0154] The prediction model may be built using at least one of handover reports, CDRs, or UE measurements. The next cells may be mapped to the future user locations, which may comprise location coordinates that may be GPS coordinates
[0175] In a first embodiment, an apparatus comprises: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to: build a prediction model that predicts next cells of UEs in a future time step of a mobile network; map the next cells to future user locations);
means for performing, based at least in part on the mobility prediction, one or more measurements associated with the cell
([0154] The prediction model may be built using UE measurements that comprise at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, or an RSS. The next cells may be mapped to the future user locations using at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, or an RSS).
Imran does not teach
means for transmitting an indication of a measurement report associated with the one or more measurements.
In the same field of endeavor, Da Silva teaches
means for transmitting an indication of a measurement report associated with the one or more measurements
([0191] The UE 101 may predict mobility information such as radio conditions of serving and/or neighbor cells, in serving and/or neighbor frequencies, list of cells the UE 101 is moving or being handed over to, and the inclusion of these predictions in measurement reports, such as the existing periodic measurement reports and event-triggered measurement reports).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Imran, which includes a UE predicting mobility to a cell, to include Da Silva’s teaching of a UE predicting mobility to a cell, for the benefit of handling mobility information in a communications network [0001].
Regarding claim 23, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the wireless node of claim 22.
Da Silva further teaches
wherein the one or more measurements include a radio resource management (RRM) measurement
([0569] The term real measurement or current measurement used herein may also be called RRM measurements. These measurements to be performed by the UE 101 and reported).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Imran, in view of Da Silva, which includes a UE predicting mobility to a cell, to include Da Silva’s teaching of a UE predicting mobility to a cell, for the benefit of handling mobility information in a communications network [0001].
Regarding claim 24, Imran, in view of Da Silva, teaches the wireless node of claim 22.
Imran further teaches
wherein the navigation data is global positioning system (GPS) navigation data
([0154] The next cells may be mapped to the future user locations, which may comprise location coordinates that may be GPS coordinates).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Thomas, et al (US PG Publication 2019/0289505), hereafter Thomas, teaches preemptive handover preparation and tracking/paging area handling and intelligent route selection in a cellular network.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641