DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election of Species I (Figures 5 and 7a) (encompassed by claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 12/16/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, lines 2-3: “said housing part which overlaps said other housing part has an incident-flow surface which is inclined relative to a main flow direction or said housing part which overlaps said other housing part has an incident-flow surface which runs at an angle of between 0° and 20°with respect to an axial direction and/or the axis of rotation” should be changed to --said hub-side housing part which overlaps said support-side housing part has an incident-flow surface which is inclined relative to a main flow direction or said support-side housing part which overlaps said hub-side housing part has an incident-flow surface which runs at an angle of between 0° and 20°with respect to an axial direction and/or the axis of rotation -- (for consistency).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is vague and indefinite because it set forth that “said hub-side housing part and said support-side housing part have a gap formed therebetween”. As presently worded, it is unclear whether the claim is attempting to require an axial gap and/or radial gap, as recited in Paragraph [0042] of Specification, or further defines the air gap, as recited in claim 1, line 13, or something else.
For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the air gap”.
Claim 11 recites the limitation " said angle alpha " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “an air angle alpha”.
8. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. While there is unclear if the elements being set forth as options in claim 5, claim 11 does not add any features/elements to the scope of the claim 5. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Findeisen et al. (hereinafter “Findeisen”) (Pub. No.: US 2021/0148277 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Findeisen discloses a radiator fan module (radiator fan module 10, as stated in Abstract) for a motor vehicle, the radiator fan module comprising:
a fan shroud (shroud ring 2a that is formed as a single piece with the fan shroud 2, as presented in Paragraphs [0046] &[0048]) having a fan impeller aperture (as shown in annotated Figure 4) formed therein;
a motor support (motor holder 3 which is arranged within the fan wheel recess 4 and which is mechanically connected to the fan shroud 2 by means of struts 7, as stated in Paragraph [0046]) disposed within said fan impeller aperture (the motor holder 3 is undoubtedly being arranged within the fan impeller aperture FIA), for an electric motor (electric motor 5, see Paragraph [0046]), having a support-side housing part (support-side housing SSH3, as illustrated in annotated Figure 1) and having a plurality of struts (having the struts 7 that are arranged on a downstream side of the fan shroud 2, as discussed in Paragraph [0046]-[0047] &[0049]) that are connected to said fan shroud (the plurality of struts extending between the motor holder and a portion of the fan shroud; as stated in claim 15; the motor holder 3 is mechanically connected to the fan shroud 2 by means of struts 7, as discussed in Paragraphs [0046]-[0047])
a fan impeller (fan wheel 6) disposed in said fan impeller aperture (fan wheel 6, which is arranged in the fan wheel recess 4 or within fan impeller aperture FIA, as illustrated in annotated Figure 4 and being rotationally driven by the motor 5, as detailed in Paragraph [0046]), and is driven in rotation about an axis of rotation (the fan wheel 6 is surely driven about an axis of rotation of the fan wheel 6), said fan impeller (fan wheel 6) having a hub-side housing part (hub-side housing part HSH6, as depicted in annotated Figure 4) and a plurality of radially outwardly directed radiator fan blades (radially outwardly directed radiator fan blades FB6, as best seen in annotated Figure 4) disposed on said hub-side housing part (as shown in annotated Figure 4, the radiator fan blades FB6 are surely disposed on the hub-side housing part HSH6).
Particularly, Findeisen demonstrates the radiator fan module, wherein, as stated in Paragraph [0052], “the ring-shaped structural element 8 is arranged at least partially within the gap S. Furthermore, the ring-shaped structural element 8 has the gap cross section reduction portion 8d, mentioned in the introduction, which is in particular formed as a single piece with the ring-shaped structural element 8 and which extends, in a radial cross section, in the direction of the fan wheel 6, in particular in the direction of an outer ring of the fan wheel 6, and which is inclined at an angle α relative to the adjoining portion of the ring-shaped structural element 8, wherein the angle α is spanned in a radial plane in which the axis of rotation also extends and amounts to at least substantially 90° in the present case”.
As best seen immediately above, Findeisen explicitly exhibits as how said support-side housing part SSH3 and said hub-side housing part HSH6 have different diameters D6 >D3. Essentially, Findeisen’s radiator fan module is designed such that said support-side housing part SSH3 or said hub-side housing part HSH6 that has a greater diameter overlaps the other of said support-side housing part or said hub-side housing part, with an air gap being formed.
Regarding claim 2, Findeisen substantially discloses the radiator fan module, as claimed and detailed above. Additionally, in Paragraph [0009], Findeisen states: a motor holder which is arranged within the fan wheel recess and which is mechanically connected to the fan shroud by means of struts, a motor, such as an electric motor, which is at least partially held in the motor holder, and a fan wheel which is arranged in the fan wheel recess and which is driven in rotation by the motor.
Especially, in Paragraph [0028], Findeisen further specifies as how: the struts are arranged on an upstream side of the fan shroud. This is of importance because the arrangement of the struts on the upstream or downstream side of the fan shroud, in other words on the suction side or the pressure side of the fan wheel, leads to significantly different flow characteristics, which must be taken into consideration in the design process. In one or more embodiments of the present disclosure, the separately formed ring-shaped structural element is arranged on that side of the fan shroud which is situated opposite the struts. This is advantageous in particular because, in this way, the connecting points between fan shroud and struts do not have to be taken into consideration, but rather a body which is at least substantially rotationally symmetrical in the region of the shroud ring may be used as a basis.
Furthermore, in Paragraph [0046], Findeisen notes: The cooling fan module 10 in the illustrated embodiment has: a fan shroud 2, a fan wheel recess 4 which is formed in the fan shroud 2, wherein the fan wheel recess 4 is delimited by a shroud ring 2 a, a motor holder 3 which is arranged within the fan wheel recess 4 and which is mechanically connected to the fan shroud 2 by means of struts 7, a motor 5, in particular electric motor 5, which is at least partially held in the motor holder 3, and a fan wheel 6 which is arranged in the fan wheel recess 4 and which is driven in rotation by the motor 5, wherein the cooling fan module furthermore has a separately formed, ring-shaped structural element 8 which is arranged on the shroud ring 2a.
As such, with reference to annotated Figure 1, one skilled in the art would surely recognize that said struts 7 or plurality of structs 7 of said motor support or motor holder 3 being disposed in front of said radially outwardly directed radiator fan blades of the fan wheel 6 in relation to a main flow direction or air flow direction L, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Findeisen substantially discloses the radiator fan module, as claimed and detailed above. Additionally, as best seen immediately below, Findeisen evidently illustrates that the housing parts have different diameters.
In other words, Findeisen explicitly exhibits as how a diameter of said support-side housing part is greater than a diameter of said hub-side housing part or the diameter D3 of said hub-side housing part HSH6 is greater than the diameter D6 of said support-side housing part SSH3, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 4, Findeisen substantially discloses the radiator fan module, as claimed and detailed above. Clearly, as depicted in annotated Figure 2, said support-side housing part SSH3 has a housing wall or housing edge extending in an axial direction, which overlaps a housing wall or housing edge, extending in an opposite direction, of said hub-side housing part HSH6; or said hub-side housing part HSH6 has said housing wall or said housing edge, extending in the axial direction, which overlaps said housing wall or said housing edge, extending in an opposite direction, of said support-side housing part.
Regarding claim 6, Findeisen substantially discloses the radiator fan module, as claimed and detailed above. Additionally, in Paragraph [0012], Findeisen specifically teaches: a cooling fan module has a gap between a radially outer edge of the fan wheel and the shroud ring, which gap has an adverse effect on the volume of air conveyed per unit of time. For this reason, it is a known measure to configure said gap to be as narrow as possible in order to minimize the gap flow, which will be described in more detail further below. This approach generally leads to increased requirements in terms of the precision of the assembly of the fan wheel within the fan wheel recess owing to the high requirements in terms of the accuracy of the positioning of fan shroud and fan wheel relative to one another. In one embodiment of the present disclosure, the separately formed ring-shaped structural element according to the disclosure is advantageous because, in this way, it is possible to tolerate a larger gap, which facilitates the assembly process, between fan wheel and fan wheel recess, which gap is subsequently reduced to a desired dimension by means of the arrangement of the separately formed ring-shaped structural element after the installation of the fan wheel in the fan wheel recess.
Findeisen, in Paragraphs [0030]-[0031], then goes on to describe how: a gap is formed in a radial direction between the fan wheel and the shroud ring, wherein the ring-shaped structural element is arranged at least partially within said gap. For the advantages of this embodiment, reference is made to the above explanations relating to the other embodiments. In a further embodiment of the present disclosure, the ring-shaped structural element has a gap cross section reduction portion which may be for example, formed as a single piece with the ring-shaped structural element and which extends, in a radial cross section, in the direction of the fan wheel, for example, in the direction of an outer ring of the fan wheel, and which is inclined at an angle α relative to the adjoining portion of the ring-shaped structural element, wherein the angle α is spanned in a radial plane in which the axis of rotation also extends, and amounts to between 30° and 150°, for example, between 60° and 120°, for example, between 75° and 105°, or for example, at least substantially 90°. This may be advantageous in particular because, in this way, a further means is provided for adapting the gap geometry, in particular the gap cross section, to the specific conditions of the usage situation, in order, in particular by means of the angle α, to provide an additional air-guiding function. By means of the design of the structural element in accordance with this embodiment, it is possible to omit a cross-sectional thickening over the entire limb of the U-shaped profile, which in turn leads to a simplified production method and reduced material costs owing to the reduced risk of cavities.
In fact, Findeisen surely performs as how said hub-side housing part HSH6 and said support-side housing part SSH3 having a gap S formed therebetween and/or said hub-side housing part and said support-side housing part have a first, radial, gap portion formed therebetween and is covered by an overlapping edge of said housing part which has the greater diameter, with a second, axial, gap portion being formed, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 9, Findeisen substantially discloses the radiator fan module, as claimed and detailed above. Additionally, as stated in Abstract, the fan wheel recess is bounded by a frame ring, a motor mount, which is arranged within the fan wheel recess and is mechanically connected to the fan frame by means of struts.
Likewise, in Paragraph [0009], Findeisen further notes: a motor holder which is arranged within the fan wheel recess and which is mechanically connected to the fan shroud by means of struts, a motor, such as an electric motor, which is at least partially held in the motor holder, and a fan wheel which is arranged in the fan wheel recess and which is driven in rotation by the motor. The cooling fan module may include a separately formed, ring-shaped structural element which is arranged on the shroud ring.
Findeisen, in Paragraph [0018], then goes to describe: “Struts” within the meaning of the present disclosure are in particular beam-like or sickle-like structures which provide a mechanical connection between the motor holder and the fan shroud. By way of example, the struts may have a droplet-shaped cross section in order to realize advantageous aerodynamic and/or acoustic effects.
In fact, said struts 7 of said motor support or motor holder 3 are surely integrally formed on an outside of said support-side housing part, as otherwise the system would not normally operate, and that Applicant has recited no structure which makes this interpretation unreasonable.
Regarding claim 10, Findeisen substantially discloses the radiator fan module, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraphs [0047]-0048], Findeisen specifically teaches that: the fan wheel 6 is inserted in the fan wheel recess 4 of the fan shroud 2 of the downstream cooling fan module 10. Said fan wheel is electrically driven by means of the electric motor 5, which is fastened by means of the struts 7 and the motor holder 3 to the shroud. The separately formed ring-shaped structural element 8 is mounted onto the fan shroud 2. The shroud ring 2a has a cylindrical lateral surface, wherein a normal vector of the cylindrical lateral surface is oriented at least substantially perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the fan wheel 6. In the illustrated embodiment, the shroud ring 2a is formed as a single piece with the fan shroud 2. The shroud ring 2a extends in a downstream direction away from the fan shroud 2 as far as a free end 2a 1. The ring-shaped structural element 8 has a U-shaped cross-sectional geometry 8a in a radial cross section (not shown in FIG. 1). The free end 2a 1 of the shroud ring 2a is engaged around in a radial direction by the ring-shaped structural element 8 and is at least partially received in the U-shaped cross-sectional geometry 8a of the ring-shaped structural element 8.
Further, in Paragraph [0050], Findeisen details that: FIG. 2 shows an enlarged sectional view of the cooling fan module from FIG. 1 in a further sectional illustration, FIG. 2a shows a three-dimensional illustration of a detail of the ring-shaped structural element 8, and FIG. 2b shows an enlarged detail of the illustration in FIG. 2 in the region of the gap between shroud ring 2a and fan wheel outer ring 6a.
Clearly, as best seen in annotated Figure 4, Findeisen explicitly exhibits as how said fan impeller aperture FIA is being delimited by a shroud ring 2a and/or said fan impeller or fan wheel 6 has an outer ring that connects said radially outwardly directed radiator fan blades, as instantly claimed.
9. Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Findeisen, as evidenced by Ludwig et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0119616 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Findeisen substantially discloses the radiator fan module, as claimed and detailed above. Additionally, as best seen in annotated Figure 1, Findeisen evidently illustrates that said hub-side housing part HSH6 is of shell-shaped form and/or said support-side housing part SSH3 is of annular-shell-shaped form.
As an evidentiary reference, please see Ludwig et al. (Pub. No. US 20200119616 A1) which particularly demonstrates as how: a sleeve-type or sleeve-shaped cover part 72. The cover part 72, which is also referred to below as a rotor sleeve, has a (sleeve, rotor) shell 74, which is mounted on the outer circumference of the rotor 40 or of the return pot 36 in the assembled condition (FIG. 5). The shell 74 is formed from a rolled or bent strip-shaped sheet-metal part, and the opposite ends of the sheet-metal part are joined together at a seam 76 to form the annular shell 74. On an upper collar 84, that is to say the end facing the drive part 12 in the assembled condition, the shell 74 of the rotor sleeve 72 has three circumferentially distributed retaining tabs 86, which are bent radially inward. Each retaining tab 86 is provided with a fastening opening 88. (see Paragraph [0058] &[0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Findeisen in view of Froh et al. (hereinafter “Froh”) (CN109424581 (A), English translation appended).
Regarding claims 7 and 12, Findeisen substantially discloses the radiator fan module, as claimed and detailed above. However, although Findeisen discloses the majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention, he is silent as to the specifics regarding fan blades.
Nonetheless, the use of backwardly sickle-shaped blades in a radiator fan module is well-known in the art, as taught by Froh.
Froh in the same field of endeavor teaches another fan module, wherein, as stated in Abstract, a fan wheel has a hub cup and a plurality of blades extending radially outward from an outer wall of the hub cup, which is in particular at least substantially cylindrical. Froh, in Paragraph [0029], successfully performs as how “the fan impeller has one or more sickle-shaped blades that face backward when viewed in the direction of rotation. This is particularly important because there are completely different aerodynamic behaviors for fan impellers with forward and backward sickle shapes, which have a significant impact on the volumetric flow of delivered air.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using backward sickle shapes, as taught by Froh, to the impeller blades of Findeisen in order to further improve air performance and further achieve the significant power savings, as motivated by Froh in Paragraph [0027].
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that said radially outwardly directed radiator fan blades would be further being sickle-shaped and/or said radially outwardly directed radiator fan blades each would be further having a leading edge and/or a trailing edge being of undulating form, as instantly claimed.
14. Claims 5 and 11 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Findeisen in view of Froh et al. (hereinafter “Froh”) (Pub. No.: US 2022/ 0316496 A1),
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Findeisen substantially discloses the radiator fan module, as claimed and detailed above. Additionally, in Paragraph [0031], Findeisen specifically teaches: the ring-shaped structural element has a gap cross section reduction portion which may be for example, formed as a single piece with the ring-shaped structural element and which extends, in a radial cross section, in the direction of the fan wheel, for example, in the direction of an outer ring of the fan wheel, and which is inclined at an angle α relative to the adjoining portion of the ring-shaped structural element, wherein the angle α is spanned in a radial plane in which the axis of rotation also extends, and amounts to between 30° and 150°, for example, between 60° and 120°, for example, between 75° and 105°, or for example, at least substantially 90°. This may be advantageous in particular because, in this way, a further means is provided for adapting the gap geometry, in particular the gap cross section, to the specific conditions of the usage situation, in order, in particular by means of the angle α, to provide an additional air-guiding function. By means of the design of the structural element in accordance with this embodiment, it is possible to omit a cross-sectional thickening over the entire limb of the U-shaped profile, which in turn leads to a simplified production method and reduced material costs owing to the reduced risk of cavities.
However, although Findeisen discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, he is still silent as to the specifics regarding an incident-flow surface.
Froh in the same field of endeavor teaches another cooling fan module, very similar to that seen in annotated Figure 1 and 4 of Findeisen, and performs as how “A shroud ring section of the shroud ring extends axially beyond the outer ring on the shroud underside. The shroud ring section is orientated parallel or at an angle of inclination and radially inwards relative to the conveying direction”.
Froh, in Paragraph [0039], successfully teaches: The acute angle between the conveying direction and the connecting line corresponds to the arctangent (arctan) of the ratio between the radial spacing and the axial spacing of the end surfaces. As the axial spacing is greater than or equal to the radial spacing or the radial spacing is less than or equal to the axial spacing, the acute angle between the conveying direction and the connecting line in this embodiment is always less than or equal to 45, i.e., in an angular range of between 0° and 45°. Preferably, the angle is dimensioned, for example, to be between 15° and 45°, preferably between 20° and 40°, in particular approximately 25°. As a result, a particularly suitable opening of the ring gap is produced.
Further, in Paragraph [0074], Froh especially notes: The shroud ring 12 extends in the region of the shroud underside U, i.e., the pressure side or outlet side of the fan wheel recess 10, with a shroud ring section or (shroud) ring extension 40 axially beyond the outer ring 24. In the exemplary embodiment shown in FIGS. 5 to 7, in this case the shroud ring section 40 is oriented at an angle of inclination NW radially inwards relative to the conveying direction. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the angle of inclination NW is approximately 45°. In other words, the shroud ring section 40 is bent or angled radially inwards. The shroud ring section 40 thus engages behind the radial lip 36 of the outer ring 24 at least in some sections in the radial direction R. The shroud ring section 40 is designed without pockets, i.e., without a shroud ring pocket or outlet bell.
As such, in view of prior art teachings, the variations of angles, as taught by Froh, is found to be a result-effective variables which effects the operating condition of the fan module. It has been held that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antoine, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.05 II(B). Furthermore, it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the invention of Findeisen and apply the teachings of Froh to optimize the angle of incident surface through routine experimentation in order to improve the cooling capacity, as motivated by Froh in Paragraph [0008].
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that said housing part which overlaps said other housing part would be further having an incident-flow surface which would be further inclined relative to a main flow direction and/or said housing part which overlaps said other housing part would be further having an incident-flow surface which would be further running at an angle of between 0° and 20°with respect to an axial direction and/or the axis of rotation and/or said angle (α) would be further running between 0° and 20°, as instantly claimed.
Prior Art
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and consists of four patents.
US 2019/0072104 A1, US 2015/0098817 A1, US 5,906,179 A and US 5,660,149 A are cited to show different radiator fan modules, wherein a fan wheel has a hub cup and a plurality of blades which are arranged on the hub cup and extend radially outward from an outer wall of the hub cup which is in particular at least substantially cylindrical.
Conclusion
/L. P./
Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746