DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on August 21, 2023. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hsu-Hoffman et al., U.S. Patent 12,361,494 B2 (2025).
As to claim 1, Hsu-Hoffman et al. discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
identifying an obstacle along an initial driving route to a destination specified by a user (Column 11, Lines 15-29);
presenting, on a user interface for the user, details of the obstacle (Column 24, Lines 33-44);
prompting the user, on the user interface, to input, via the user interface, a rating for the obstacle that indicates the user’s tolerance to traversing the obstacle while driving (Column 17, Lines 35-61, Column 18, Lines 24-48);
receiving from the user the rating for the obstacle, the rating indicating the user’s tolerance to traversing the obstacle while driving, wherein the rating indicates that the obstacle is to be avoided (Column 17, Line 15 - Column 18, Line 23); and
recalculating the initial driving route to the destination to provide an alternative driving route to the destination, wherein the alternative route avoids the obstacle (Column 17, Line 15 – Column 18, Line 23).
As to claim 2, Hsu-Hoffman et al. discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the prompting prompts the user to select between an option of avoiding traversal of the obstacle and an option of tolerating traversal of the obstacle (Column 18, Lines 24-48, Column 27, Lines 44-64).
As to claim 3, Hsu-Hoffman et al. discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the prompting prompts the user to select between options on a tolerance rating scale (Column 11, Lines 15-29).
As to claim 5, Hsu-Hoffman et al. discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the identifying identifies multiple obstacles along the initial driving route, wherein the presenting presents details of the multiple obstacles, wherein the prompting prompts the user to input a respective rating for each of the multiple obstacles, and wherein the receiving receives a respective rating for each of the multiple obstacles (Column 17, Lines 35-61, Column 18, Lines 24-48).
As to claim 6, Hsu-Hoffman et al. discloses the method of claim 5, and further discloses wherein the presenting details of the multiple obstacles indicates the multiple obstacles to the user in a ranked order based on a composite tolerance rating, the ranked order ordering the multiple obstacles from least tolerated to least avoided (Column 18, Lines 24-48).
As to claim 7, Hsu-Hoffman et al. discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the obstacle comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a bridge, a tunnel, a cliff-side road, and a mountain (Column 19, Line 42 – Column 20, Line 10).
As to claim 8, Hsu-Hoffman et al. discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses further comprising indicating to the user one or more deviations between the initial driving route and the alternative driving route, the one or more deviations comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a difference in estimated time of arrival to the destination as between the initial driving route and the alternative driving route, and (ii) a difference in toll fees as between the initial driving route and the alternative driving route (Column 18, Lines 24-48).
As to claim 14, Hsu-Hoffman et al. discloses a computer system comprising:
a memory (Column 7, Line 61 – Column 8, Line 19); and
a processor in communication with the memory (Column 7, Line 61 – Column 8, Line 19), wherein the computer system is configured to perform a method comprising:
identifying an obstacle along an initial driving route to a destination specified by a user (Column 11, Lines 15-29);
presenting, on a user interface for the user, details of the obstacle (Column 24, Lines 33-44);
prompting the user, on the user interface, to input, via the user interface, a rating for the obstacle that indicates the user’s tolerance to traversing the obstacle while driving (Column 17, Lines 35-61, Column 18, Lines 24-48);
receiving from the user the rating for the obstacle, the rating indicating the user’s tolerance to traversing the obstacle while driving, wherein the rating indicates that the obstacle is to be avoided (Column 17, Line 15 - Column 18, Line 23); and
recalculating the initial driving route to the destination to provide an alternative driving route to the destination, wherein the alternative route avoids the obstacle (Column 17, Line 15 – Column 18, Line 23).
As to claim 18, Hsu-Hoffman et al. discloses a computer program product comprising:
a computer readable storage medium readable by a processing circuit and storing instructions for execution by the processing circuit (Column 7, Line 61 – Column 8, Line 19) to:
identify an obstacle along an initial driving route to a destination specified by a user (Column 11, Lines 15-29);
present, on a user interface for the user, details of the obstacle (Column 24, Lines 33-44);
prompt the user, on the user interface, to input, via the user interface, a rating for the obstacle that indicates the user’s tolerance to traversing the obstacle while driving (Column 17, Lines 35-61, Column 18, Lines 24-48);
receive from the user the rating for the obstacle, the rating indicating the user’s tolerance to traversing the obstacle while driving, wherein the rating indicates that the obstacle is to be avoided (Column 17, Line 15 – Column 18, Line 23); and
recalculate the initial driving route to the destination to provide an alternative driving route to the destination, wherein the alternative route avoids the obstacle (Column 17, Line 15 – Column 18, Line 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu-Hoffman et al., U.S. Patent 12,361,494 B2 (2025) in view of Mayster, U.S. Patent 11,971,269 B2 (2024).
As to claim 4, Hsu-Hoffman et al. discloses the method of claim 1. Hsu-Hoffman et al. does not disclose an image of the obstacle, as claimed.
Mayster discloses wherein the presenting the details of the obstacle comprises presenting an image of the obstacle to the user on the user interface (Column 24, Lines 51-63, Column 27, Lines 13-24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Hsu-Hoffman et al., with the use of images of the obstacle, as disclosed by Mayster, with a reasonable expectation of success, presenting the obstacle imagery in a standard manner, allowing the user to determine the user’s tolerance to traversing the obstacle based on pictures that show the actual obstacle or allow greater understanding of what the obstacle would mean to the traversing of the route.
As to claim 15, Hsu-Hoffman et al. discloses the computer system of claim 14. Hsu-Hoffman et al. does not disclose an image of the obstacle, as claimed.
Mayster discloses wherein the presenting the details of the obstacle comprises presenting an image of the obstacle to the user on the user interface (Column 24, Lines 51-63, Column 27, Lines 13-24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the computer system of claim 14, as disclosed by Hsu-Hoffman et al., with the use of images of the obstacle, as disclosed by Mayster, with a reasonable expectation of success, presenting the obstacle imagery in a standard manner, allowing the user to determine the user’s tolerance to traversing the obstacle based on pictures that show the actual obstacle or allow greater understanding of what the obstacle would mean to the traversing of the route.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13, 16-17 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The publication of the present application is cited. Berman et al. is cited as disclosing a similar system based on safety rankings. The issued patents based on the IDS references to published applications are cited.
MICHAEL BERNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/MICHAEL A BERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667