DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites “the indicia information” (line 3) which lacks antecedent basis and line 4 recites “the indicia” which renders the claim vague/ indefinite as the recitations of “indicia” “indicia information” are unclear to what is referred. The dependent claims are rejected based on their dependency.
Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph, as discussed above, in view of Mulla et al. (US 5821520).
Re claim 21, Joseph teaches (paragraph [0043] +) the use of separate processes for barcode reading due to anomalies in the indicia information caused by signal interference/ signal strength, as Joseph teaches a second process (algorithm) that is more complex and time consuming, for noisy codes, truncated codes, damaged codes, etc., which is interpreted as due to anomalies caused by signal interference or signal strength. Different applications are therefore implicit as there are different processors executing different software. When a first algorithm to decode fails, the second one is applied to decode. Information is acquired at step 210.
Joseph teaches is silent to transmitting pre-processed indicia information determined during the “attempt to decode” to the second program.
Mulla et al. generally teaches preprocessing before decoding (abstract+ and col 10, lines 35+). This is interpreted as being part of the “attempt to decode”, as pre-processing is interpreted as part of the overall decoding attempt, which has not been specifically defined to preclude such an interpretation, such as to minimize noise, as taught by Mulla et al., and thus is interpreted as being determined during an attempt to decode (as such an attempt includes preprocessing)
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to pre-process data in order to more accurately determine barcode presence/ accuracy. The preprocessing and decoding is interpreted as first program decoding as sequentially the preprocessing takes place prior to decoding. Joseph teaches the first and second decoding as claimed, wherein it would have been obvious to use the preprocessing data of Mulla et al. with the first and the second decoding attempts of Joseph, for accuracy during both program decoding, as noise would be desirous to be removed for decoding.
Re claim 22, an indicia capturing subsystem is determined to be what captures the / reads the code.
Re claim 23, the different programs/processors are interpreted to read on the recited limitations absent more specific limitations as programmable logic and software are interpreted as part of the decoding/ reading/ processing steps.
Re claim 24, the limitations have been discussed above.
Re claim 25, the limitations have been discussed above.
Re claim 26, Joseph teaches imagers (paragraph [0005]+).
Re claim 27, Joseph teaches lasers (paragraph [0005]+).
Re claim 28, the limitations have been discussed above, re claim 23.
Re claim 29, the limitations have been discussed above, re claim 24.
Re claim 30, the Examiner has interpreted separate processors to read on a controller and a computer processor.
Re claim 31, the limitations have been discussed above.
Re claim 32, the limitations have been discussed above, re claim 23.
Re claim 33, the limitations have been discussed above, re claim 24.
Re claim 34, the limitations have been discussed above, re claim 29.
Claims 21-23, 25-28, and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanford et al. (US 7070108), in view of Mulla et al. (US 5821520), as discussed above.
Blanford et al. teaches acquiring information about indicia via the barcode scanner. The barcode is attempted to be decoded using a first program (limited number of bar code types in a first mode) and when that fails decoding the indicia is performed using a second program (second mode) (abstract+).
Blanford et al. is silent to transmitting pre-processed indicia determined during the attempt to decode using the first program to the second program.
Mulla et al. teaches such limitations, as discussed above.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings in order to have more accurate barcode data when attempting to decode. It would have been obvious that if the preprocessed data of Mulla et al. fails the first mode that it would be used in the second mode of Blanford et al. for expected accuracy benefits.
Re claim 22, an indicia capturing subsystem is determined to be what captures the / reads the code.
Re claim 23, the different programs/processors are intpereted to read on the recited limitations absent more specific limitation as programmable logic and software are interpreted as part of the decoding/ reading/ processing steps.
Re claim 25, the limtaitons have been discussed above).
Re claim 26, the limitations have been discussed above re claim 22.
Re claim 27, laser scanning has been discussed above (FIG. 1+).
Re claim 28, the limitations have been discussed above, re claim 23.
Re claim 31, the limitations have been discussed above, re claim 21.
Re claim 32, the limitations have been discussed above re claim 23.
Claims 23-24, 28-30, and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanford et al. (US 7070108), in view of Mulla et al. (US 5821520), as discussed above, and Nadabar (US 20080011855).
Re claims 23-24, the limitations have been discussed above but are silent to separate processors for the separate programs.
Nadabar teaches the use of separate cores or processors for decoding, including 1d and 2d encoding (abstract+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings for more processing power, dedicated and separately programmable and replaceable processors, efficiency, etc.
Re claim 23, the different programs/processors are interpreted to read on the recited limitations absent more specific limitations as programmable logic and software are interpreted as part of the decoding/ reading/ processing steps.
Re claims 28-30, the limtaitons have been discussed re claims 23-24 above re claim 30, a processor and controller are interpreted to be read on by the separate processors.
Re claims 33-34, the limitations have been discussed above, re claims 24 and 29.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in light of the rejection above. The Examiner notes that preprocessing is routine and known in the art for barcode reading/ decoding and is an obvious expedient as part of the reading process to clean up or align/ center the data (Epshteyn et al. US 20080073434 paragraph [0029]), Strom et al. (US 20120018518 paragraph [0051]+), Entwistle (US 20020088860 paragraph [0026]+) which teach preprocessing barcodes prior to their reading/ decoding as part of the overall reading/ decoding process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20010080414 teaches separate modules for 1d and 2d barcodes and US 20030222144 teaches separate decoder modules for 1d and 2d decoding.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL I WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876