DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the request for continued examination filed 10/17/2025.
Claims 1-17, 19 and 21 are pending. Claims 1, 3, 8, 11, 12, 14 and 15 are currently amended, and Claim 21 is new.
The prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101 are withdrawn.
The prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. § § 102-103 are withdrawn as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferretti, U.S. PGPUB No. 2015/0029824 (“Ferretti”), in view of Haymart, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0213515 (“Haymart”) and Wang, et al., U.S. Patent No. 12,431,012 (“Wang”).
With regard to Claim 1, Ferretti teaches a method for generating a fishing track, comprising:
acquiring a first position of a user and a second position of at least one fishing area ([0019]-[0020] describes that a navigation module generates location information for where the system is, where [0017] describes that the system is used on a watercraft. [0018] describes that a fish location module identifies a location of fish);
determining a target fishing area in which the user is located from the at least one fishing area according to the first position and the second position ([0022] describes that the user location and fish location information can be integrated into a display of a waterway where the user and fish are located); and
generating, by a processor of a mobile terminal, a fishing track according to the first position and a third position of the target fishing area ([0029]-[0030] describes that the integrated information can be used to indicate a plot line for the movement of the watercraft, which indicates the locations through which the watercraft has moved as well as various locations of fish).
Ferretti also teaches teaches controlling a global positioning system (GPS) of the mobile terminal to sample position information of the user at a predetermined frequency for a period time; and generating, by the processor, the fishing track by connecting the sampled position information into a line on a map. Ferretti teaches at [0025]-[0030] that the system can collect position information, as well as information about objects underneath a vessel as a vessel moves through an area. Locations that the vessel passes through where objects were detected can be connected by a line, where [0019] describes location determined by GPS.
Ferretti does not teach the sampling at a predetermined frequency for a period time; obtaining a fish caught area and underwater topography of the fish caught area identified by the user on a map according to scale information on the map of a display apparatus; and controlling the display apparatus to display the underwater topography of the fish caught area.
Haymart teaches at [0021] that when an angler’s device is connected to a GPS receiver, the system can track the user’s location in real-time, which one of skill in the art would understands means sampling user position at regular intervals. [0023] describes that a map display can include many display options related to underwater topography, including bottom structure and bottom substrate information, along with depth information. [0039] describes that the map system can also display locations where other anglers have caught fish, and [0045] describes that anglers can log fishing in the specified locations identifying their own catches for future reference and viewing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Haymart with Ferretti. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve system functioning and utility to anglers by enabling a significant amount of additional useful information to be displayed in a map display that increases anglers’ likelihood of catching fish.
Haymart, in view of Wang teaches in response to the processor detecting that a position change between a current sampled position information and a last sampled position information is greater than a maximum position change threshold, determining, by the processor, that a signal drift of the GPS occurs, and deleting, by the processor, the current sample position information.
Haymart teaches real-time tracking of GPS locations, as described above. Wang teaches at Col. 2, lines 39-50 that an improvement to a location tracking system involves eliminating drift data in location signals by identifying received points which are more than a threshold distance from both a preceding and subsequent point. If a point is greater than the threshold distance from both points, and those points are less than a threshold from each other, then the point is determined as a drift point and eliminated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Wang with Haymart and Ferretti. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve a location tracking system by ensuring that points which represent incorrect locations, such as can be caused by GPS drift as is known in the art, are excluded from points that are used in generating a track followed by an angler. This improves the system by improving the accuracy of the track by eliminating incorrect location data.
Claim 16 is directed to a mobile terminal which carries out the method of Claim 1, and is similarly rejected. Claim 19 recites a medium storing instructions for performing the method of Claim 1, and is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 2, Ferretti teaches that detecting an operation instruction of the user, wherein acquiring the first position of the user, comprises: controlling the mobile terminal to acquire the first position according to the operation instruction of the user. [0014] describes that a user can access information to determine the location of fish, which also accesses the navigational information for the watercraft. Therefore, the user input to access information acquires the location information for display.
With regard to Claim 3, Ferretti teaches that controlling the mobile terminal to acquire the first position according to the operation instruction of the user, comprises: controlling the GPS to collect a fourth position of the mobile terminal according to the operation instruction of the user; and determining the fourth position as the first position. [0029] describes that the navigation information tracks where a watercraft has moved, thereby collecting many positions, including a fourth position which is a position at which the watercraft is located. [0019] describes positioning determined by GPS.
With regard to Claim 4, Ferretti teaches that determining the target fishing area in which the user is located from the at least one fishing area according to the first position and the second position, comprises: determining whether the second position matches the first position; and determining a fishing area corresponding to the second position that matches the first position as the target fishing area in a case where the second position matches the first position. [0031] describes that a user returning to a particular area delineated by a particular map can have markers of detected fish retrieved, and navigate to one of the areas, thereby determining a position where the first and second positions match through the provision of the navigation data.
With regard to Claim 5, Ferretti teaches that determining the second position that matches the first position as the third position in a case where the second position matches the first position. [0029]-[0030] describes that a plot line identifies a user’s movement in a watercraft. Therefore, the plot line generated using a third position will include the location where the first and second positions match as a user moves the watercraft in the fishing area.
With regard to Claim 6, Ferretti teaches that determining whether the second position matches the first position, comprises: determining whether the second position coincides with the first position according to the first position and the second position; and determining that the second position matches the first position in a case where the second position coincides with the first position. [0014] describes that navigational and fish location data are used to return watercraft to sites where fish were located. [0031] describes that navigational information will show a user navigational directions to return to the spot, thereby indicating when a user location matches the fish location.
With regard to Claim 8, Ferretti teaches controlling the display apparatus to display the fishing track. [0028]-[0029] describe that the plot line of the watercraft movement can be displayed on the display.
With regard to Claim 9, Ferretti teaches that the fishing track comprises a movement track composed of the first position, and the second position, wherein controlling the display apparatus to display the fishing track, comprises: controlling the display apparatus to display the movement track in a first identification on a display interface and to display the second position in a second identification, wherein the first identification is different from the second identification. [0030]-[0031] describe that the movement track is displayed as a plot line, and a fish location is displayed as a marker on the map.
With regard to Claim 10, Ferretti teaches acquiring map data; and controlling the display apparatus to display the map data on a display interface, wherein controlling the display apparatus to display the fishing track, comprises: controlling the display apparatus to superimpose and display the fishing track on the map data. [0029]-[0030] describe that the navigation and fish location information, including the plot line, can be displayed on a map.
With regard to Claim 11, Ferretti teaches detecting whether a fishing event occurs in the target fishing area; and controlling the display apparatus to use a third identification to display information of the fishing event when it is detected that a fishing event occurs in the target fishing area. [0022] describes that when fish are detected in a location, the location where fish are detected can be displayed. [0030] describes that a plurality of icons is displayed, each corresponding to a fish detection event, thereby providing a third identification separate from others for another fish identification event.
With regard to Claim 12, Ferretti teaches that the information of the fishing event comprises at least one of fishing start time, fishing duration, fishing end time, or a fishing position. [0022] describes that the system records the location where fish were found, thereby recording information of a position where fishing is beneficial.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferretti, in view of Haymart, in view of Wang, and in view of Hara, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0001970 (“Hara”).
With regard to Claim 7, Ferretti, in view of Hara teaches determining a distance between the second position and the first position according to the first position and the second position, wherein determining whether the second position coincides with the first position, comprises: determining that the second position coincides with the first position in a case where the distance is less than or equal to a distance threshold.
Ferretti teaches navigating to a second position and identifying a first position of a watercraft, as described above. Hara teaches at [0036] that an arrival determining unit for determining when a ship has arrived at a specified location can detect that a ship has arrived at a specified location when the distance between the current location of the ship and the target destination is less than a threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Ferretti, Haymart and Wang with Hara. Hara describes at [0013] that the methods described therein allow for navigating a ship with a high degree of accuracy. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve system functioning by improving the accuracy of navigation to specified fish locations.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferretti, in view of Haymart, in view of Wang, and in view of Mazor, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0184828 (“Mazor”).
With regard to Claim 13, Mazor teaches that detecting whether the fishing event occurs in the target fishing area, comprises: detecting whether the user stays in the target fishing area within a preset period of time; and determining that the fishing event occurs in the target fishing area when it is detected that the user stays in the target fishing area within the preset period of time. [0095] describes that a vessel can be determined to be engaged in fishing activity based on the location of the vessel in a fishing area and remaining in the area for a time consistent with fishing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Mazor with Ferretti, Haymart and Wang. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve system functioning by allowing for additional methods by which a system can determine an area where fish are present, thereby allowing for more complete data to aid in future determinations of fishing spots.
With regard to Claim 14, Mazor teaches acquiring a displacement of the user when it is detected that the user is in the fishing area; and determining that the fishing event occurs in the target fishing area when the displacement of the user within a preset period of time is less than or equal to a preset displacement threshold. [0095] describes that a vessel is determined to be engaged in fishing when the vessel remains in the fishing area for a specified period of time consistent with fishing. Therefore, a fishing event is determined when the vessel and user aboard are not displaced outside the fishing area threshold for the period of time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Mazor with Ferretti, Haymart and Wang. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve system functioning by allowing for additional methods by which a system can determine an area where fish are present, thereby allowing for more complete data to aid in future determinations of fishing spots.
With regard to Claim 15, Mazor teaches detecting whether the fishing event occurs in the target fishing area, comprises: acquiring an activity range of the user when it is detected that the user is in the fishing area; and determining that the fishing event occurs in the target fishing area when the activity range of the user within a preset period of time is less than a preset activity range. [0095] describes that a vessel is determined to be engaged in fishing when the vessel remains in the fishing area for a specified period of time consistent with fishing. Therefore, a fishing event is determined when the vessel and user aboard do not engage activity in a range outside of the fishing area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Mazor with Ferretti, Haymart and Wang. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve system functioning by allowing for additional methods by which a system can determine an area where fish are present, thereby allowing for more complete data to aid in future determinations of fishing spots.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferretti, in view of Haymart, in view of Wang, and in view of Bailey, U.S. PGPUB No. 2015/0057929 (“Bailey”).
With regard to Claim 21, Bailey teaches determining whether a fishing event occurs in the target fishing area; and in response to determining that the fishing event occurs in the target fishing area, controlling the display apparatus of the mobile terminal to display information of the fishing event, the information of the fishing event including at least one of fishing start time, fishing duration, or fishing end time.
Bailey teaches at [0032] that a method automatically determines time periods spent fishing. [0034]-[0036] describe that the method also determines amounts of time corresponding to the activities carried out during a fishing trip, including the fishing, and displaying the activities, locations, and time spent performing the activities as a map. [0040] and Fig. 2 show that the display includes a recorded path as well as the activities in the determined locations. [0056] describes that the invention can be implemented on portable devices such as hand-held or laptop devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Bailey with Ferretti, Haymart and Wang. Bailey teaches at [0003] that the recording of data captured during a marine trip is very useful. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve utility to users of a marine trip recording system by capturing and presenting additional data to users which may be useful both in real-time and in future trips.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101 are noted. The rejection has been withdrawn, as the claim now recites subject matter that integrates the claimed abstract idea into a practical application, specifically the collecting and presentation of data in a particular way in a display of a mobile terminal.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102-103 have been considered but are moot, as the newly cited references cure any deficiencies with regard to the previous references in teaching or suggesting the elements of the claims which have been added by amendment.
Conclusion
/KEITH D BLOOMQUIST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171
12/23/2025