Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Singh’s heat pipe 10 is a hollow structure that would replicate the structural integrity issues of Kilbourne’s cavity 324, and that the combination would negatively impact the seal strip wear surface. These arguments are not persuasive because the proposed combination does not require bodily incorporation of Singh’s hollow heat pipe into Kilbourne’s seal strip. Rather, the combination relies on Singh’s teaching of using an embedded thermally conductive element to conduct heat to a remotely located sensor, as expressly described at paragraph [0084] of Singh, which discloses conducting heat through a rod of highly thermally conductive metal as a recognized alternative. Claim 1 recites a heat-conducting rod, not a hollow fluid filled pipe and a solid thermally conductive rod would not create a cavity or compromise the structural integrity of the seal strip is argued. Applicant’s arguments regarding wear surface impact are unsupported by objective evidence in the record.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 01/06/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 7 – 10, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilbourne et al. (US 2022/0145538 – hereafter “Kilbourne”) in view of Singh (US 2024/0353270 – hereafter “Singh”).
As per claim 1, Kilbourne teaches the following:
An assembly, comprising: a seal strip (seal strip 34) with an upper wear surface and an opposed lower surface, the seal strip configured to provide a seal for a suction roll, the seal strip comprising a first material (see para [0005] – [0008], FIG. 1);
a seal strip holder, the seal strip residing in the seal strip holder and movable relative thereto (see para [0011] – [0013], holders 102,202,302);
and a temperature monitoring system comprising: a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 132) operatively connected with the controller (controller 106) configured to receive signals from the temperature sensor and process the signals to indicate a temperature of the upper surface of the seal strip. (see para [0042] – [0049]).
However, Kilbourne does not explicitly teach a heat-conducting rod at least partially embedded in the seal strip, the heat-conducting rod comprising a second material, wherein the second material has a second thermal conductivity that is higher than the first thermal conductivity.
Singh teaches a temperature measuring device comprising a heat pipe (10) and a temperature sensor (20) thermally coupled to the pipe (see para [0027]). Singh describes that the heat pipe transfers heat from a plurality of heat sources to a common temperature sensor via direct conduction, enabling accurate and rapid thermal sensing compared to fluid or radiative methods. The temperature sensor detects temperature of the heat pipe to determine the temperature of the heat source (see para [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the system of Kilbourne to incorporate the conduction-based temperature measuring structure of Singh in order to improve speed conduction-based temperature measurement of the seal strip surface (see paras [0009] and [0084]).
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “The assembly defined in Claim 1, wherein the heat-conducting rod extends to the wear surface of the seal strip.” Kilbourne teaches the assembly of claim 1. However, Kilbourne does not teach a heat conducting rod that extends to the wear surface of a seal strip.
Singh teaches a temperature measuring device including a heat pipe (10) and a temperature sensor (20), wherein the heat pipe functions as a solid heat conducting member with a high thermal conductivity, and transfers heat from a heat source to the temperature sensor through direct conduction (see para [0027], [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the heat conducting member of Singh into the seal strip assembly of Kilbourne, and to extend the rod to the wear surface of the seal strip, in order to improve heat transfer and temperature detection at the surface directly exposed to the suction roll environment, thereby enhancing the accuracy and responsiveness of temperature measurement at the interface.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “The assembly defined in Claim 1, wherein the heat-conducting rod extends to the lower surface of the seal strip.” Kilbourne teaches the assembly of claim 1, however, it does not teach a heat-conducting rod, nor that such a rod extends to the lower surface of the seal strip.
Singh teaches a temperature measuring device including a heat pipe formed of a highly thermally conductive material, the heat pipe extending between opposing surfaces of a substrate to transfer heat from a heat source to a temperature sensor through direct conduction (see para [0027]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the heat conducting pipe of Singh into the seal strip assembly of Kilbourne, and to extend the pipe to the lower surface of the seal strip, in order to ensure efficient heat transfer through the entire thickness of the seal strip, thereby improving sensor coupling and accuracy of temperature readings from both surfaces of the strip.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites the following “A suction roll, comprising: a cylindrical shell having an internal lumen and a plurality of through holes; a suction box positioned in the lumen of the shell; and a suction source operatively connected with the suction box; and an assembly of Claim 1, wherein the seal strip and seal strip holder are mounted in the suction box, such that the upper surface of the seal strip confronts an inner surface of the shell.
Kilbourne teaches a suction roll comprising a cylindrical shell (12) that forms the outer surface of the roll and contains numerous perforations or openings that allow suction to be drawn through the shell wall. It further teaches a suction box (20) disposed within the internal lumen of the cylindrical shell and a vacuum source (30) connected to that suction box to draw air through the perforations (see Fig. 1 – 3). Kilbourne also teaches seal strips positioned along the sides of the suction box, biased against the inner surface of the shell to maintain a seal during rotation. This teaches that the seal strips are retained and supported within the suction box and move slightly relative to the roll surface during operation (see para [0005] – [0008]). However, it does not teach that the seal strip assembly includes a heat-conducting rod or an embedded temperature monitoring system.
Singh teaches a temperature measuring device comprising a heat conducting member formed of a highly thermally conductive material, and thermally coupled to a temperature sensor to measure surface temperature through conduction while maintaining structural integrity and isolation from direct fluid or pressure effects (see para [0027]; [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Kilbourne’s suction-roll assembly to incorporate the heat-conducting member and conduction-based temperature sensing configuration of Singh, in order to improve heat transfer from the seal strip’s contact surface to the embedded temperature sensor, thereby providing more accurate and responsive temperature monitoring of the seal interface.
As per claim 8, Kilbourne teaches the following:
An assembly, comprising: a seal strip (seal strip 34) with an upper wear surface and an opposed lower surface, the seal strip configured to provide a seal for a suction roll, the seal strip comprising a first material (see para [0005] – [0008], FIG. 1);
a seal strip holder, the seal strip residing in the seal strip holder and movable relative thereto (see para [0011] – [0013], holders 102,202,302);
and a temperature monitoring system comprising: and a temperature monitoring system comprising: a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 132) operatively connected with the controller (controller 106) configured to receive signals from the temperature sensor and process the signals to indicate a temperature of the upper surface of the seal strip. (see para [0042] – [0049]).
However, Kilbourne does not explicitly disclose a heat-conducting rod at least partially embedded in the seal strip, the heat-conducting rod comprising a second material, wherein the second material has a second thermal conductivity that is at least 50 to 1,000 times higher than the first thermal conductivity.
Singh teaches a heat conducting member (heat pipe 10) formed of a highly thermally conductive material, which has a significantly higher thermal conductivity than surrounding structural materials, and which transfers heat through direct conduction to a temperature sensor (20) for accurate surface temperature measurement (see para [0027]; [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the heat-conducting member of Singh into the seal strip assembly of Kilbourne in order to improve temperature monitoring of the seal strip surface by enhancing heat conduction to the embedded temperature sensor.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “The assembly defined in Claim 8, wherein the heat-conducting rod extends to the wear surface of the seal strip.” Similarly, to claim 2’s rejection above Kilbourne teaches the assembly of claim 8. However, Kilbourne does not teach a heat conducting rod that extends to the wear surface of a seal strip.
Singh teaches a heat-conducting member formed of a highly conductive material, extending between opposing surfaces to transfer heat from a heat source to a temperature sensor through conduction, thereby providing accurate surface temperature measurement (see para [0027], [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the heat-conducting member of Singh into the seal strip assembly of Kilbourne, and to extend the member of the wear surface of the seal strip, in order to improve thermal condition from the surface directly exposed to the suction roll environment to the senor, thereby enhancing the accuracy of temperature measurement at the interface.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “The assembly defined in Claim 8, wherein the heat-conducting rod extends to the lower surface of the seal strip.” Similarly, to claim 3’s rejection above Kilbourne teaches the assembly of claim 8, however, it does not teach a heat-conducting rod, nor that such a rod extends to the lower surface of the seal strip.
Singh teaches a heat-conducting member formed of a highly conductive material, embedded within a body and extending between opposing surfaces to transfer heat through conduction from one surface to another for accurate temperature sensing (see para [0027], [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the heat-conducting member of Singh into the seal strip assembly of Kilbourne, and to extend the rod to the lower surface of the seal strip, in order to ensure efficient heat transfer through the entire thickness of the seal strip, thereby improving sensor coupling and accuracy of temperature readings from both surfaces of the strip.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites the following “A suction roll, comprising: a cylindrical shell having an internal lumen and a plurality of through holes; a suction box positioned in the lumen of the shell; and a suction source operatively connected with the suction box; and an assembly of Claim 8, wherein the seal strip and seal strip holder are mounted in the suction box, such that the upper surface of the seal strip confronts an inner surface of the shell.
Similarly, to claim 7’s rejection above, Kilbourne teaches a suction roll comprising a cylindrical shell (12) that forms the outer surface of the roll and contains numerous perforations or openings that allow suction to be drawn through the shell wall. It further teaches a suction box (20) disposed within the internal lumen of the cylindrical shell and a vacuum source (30) connected to that suction box to draw air through the perforations (see Fig. 1 – 3). Kilbourne also teaches seal strips positioned along the sides of the suction box, biased against the inner surface of the shell to maintain a seal during rotation. This teaches that the seal strips are retained and supported within the suction box and move slightly relative to the roll surface during operation (see para [0005] – [0008]). However, it does not teach that the seal strip assembly includes a heat-conducting rod or an embedded temperature monitoring system.
Singh teaches a temperature measuring device comprising a heat conducting member formed of a highly thermally conductive material, and thermally coupled to a temperature sensor to measure surface temperature through conduction while maintaining structural integrity and isolation from direct fluid or pressure effects (see para [0027]; [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Kilbourne’s suction-roll assembly to incorporate Singh’s heat-conducting member in order to improve heat transfer from the seal strip’s contact surface to an embedded temperature sensor, thereby providing more accurate and responsive temperature monitoring of the seal interface.
As per claim 15, Kilbourne teaches the following:
An assembly, comprising: a seal strip (seal strip 34) with an upper wear surface and an opposed lower surface, the seal strip configured to provide a seal for a suction roll, the seal strip comprising a first material (see para [0005] – [0008], FIG. 1);
a seal strip holder, the seal strip residing in the seal strip holder and movable relative thereto (see para [0011] – [0013], holders 102,202,302);
and a temperature monitoring system comprising: a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 132) operatively connected with the controller (controller 106) configured to receive signals from the temperature sensor and process the signals to indicate a temperature of the upper surface of the seal strip. (see para [0042] – [0049]).
However, Kilbourne does not explicitly teach a heat-conducting rod at least partially embedded in the seal strip, the heat-conducting rod comprising a second material, wherein the second material has a second thermal conductivity that is higher than the first thermal conductivity.
Singh teaches a heat conducting member (heat pipe 10) formed of a highly thermally conductive material, embedded within a structure to transfer heat through conduction to a temperature sensor for accurate thermal measurement (see para [0027], [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the heat conducting member of Singh into the seal strip assembly of Kilbourne in order to improve temperature monitoring of the seal strip surface by enhancing conductive heat transfer to the embedded temperature sensor.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites the following “A suction roll, comprising: a cylindrical shell having an internal lumen and a plurality of through holes; a suction box positioned in the lumen of the shell; and a suction source operatively connected with the suction box; and an assembly of Claim 15, wherein the seal strip and seal strip holder are mounted in the suction box, such that the upper surface of the seal strip confronts an inner surface of the shell.
Similarly, to claims 7 and 14 rejections above, Kilbourne teaches a suction roll comprising a cylindrical shell (12) that forms the outer surface of the roll and contains numerous perforations or openings that allow suction to be drawn through the shell wall. It further teaches a suction box (20) disposed within the internal lumen of the cylindrical shell and a vacuum source (30) connected to that suction box to draw air through the perforations (see Fig. 1 – 3). Kilbourne also teaches seal strips positioned along the sides of the suction box, biased against the inner surface of the shell to maintain a seal during rotation. This teaches that the seal strips are retained and supported within the suction box and move slightly relative to the roll surface during operation (see para [0005] – [0008]). However, it does not teach that the seal strip assembly includes a heat-conducting rod or an embedded temperature monitoring system.
Singh teaches a temperature measuring device comprising a heat conducting member formed of a highly thermally conductive material, and thermally coupled to a temperature sensor to measure surface temperature through conduction while maintaining structural integrity and isolation from direct fluid or pressure effects (see para [0027]; [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Kilbourne’s suction-roll assembly to incorporate Singh’s heat-conducting member in order to improve heat transfer from the seal strip’s contact surface to an embedded temperature sensor, thereby providing more accurate and responsive temperature monitoring of the seal interface.
Claims 4 – 6, 11 – 13, and 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilbourne in view of Singh in view of Rockhill et al. (US 12,428,301 – hereafter “Rockhill”).
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “The assembly defined in Claim 1, wherein the heat-conducting rod comprises graphene.” Kilbourne teaches the assembly of claim 1, however, it does not teach the heat-conducting rod comprises graphene.
Singh teaches a heat conducting member (heat pipe 10) with high thermal conductivity which transfers heat through conduction between opposing surfaces for accurate temperature measurement. However, it does not teach a seal strip or suction roll assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kilbourne with the heat-conducting member of Singh to improve heat transfer from the seal strip surface to the embedded temperature sensor, thereby enhancing temperature response and accuracy. However, Kilbourne in view of Singh does not teach that the heat-conducting rod comprises graphene.
Rockhill teaches thermally conductive elastomer and rubber compositions containing graphene to improve heat dissipation and durability in sealing applications, including seals, gaskets, and diaphragms (see col. 14, lines 65 – 67). However, Rockhill does not teach a temperature monitoring system or a heat-conducting rod.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the assembly of Kilbourne in view of Singh with the teachings of Rockhill by forming the heat-conducting rod from the graphene-based thermally conductive material of Rockhill, in order to enhance heat transfer and sensor accuracy.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “The assembly defined in Claim 4, wherein the heat-conducting rod comprises a coiled graphene sheet.” Kilbourne teaches the assembly of claim 4, however, it does not teach the heat-conducting rod or any coiled conductive element.
Singh teaches a heat conducting member embedded within a thermal assembly for transferring heat from a heat source to a temperature sensor through conduction. However, Singh does not disclose graphene or any sheet material wound around the heat conducting member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kilbourne with the heat-conducting member of Singh to improve heat transfer from the seal strip surface to the embedded temperature sensor through conduction. However, Kilbourne in view of Singh does not teach that the heat-conducting rod comprises a coiled graphene sheet.
Rockhill teaches thermally conductive materials containing graphene arranged in layered or sheet like form within elastomeric structures to improve heat dissipation (see col. 14, lines 65 – 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the assembly of Kilbourne in view of Singh with the teachings of Rockhill by wrapping or coiling the graphene sheet of Rockhill around the conductive member of Singh to form a composite heat conducting rod structure. Coiling the graphene sheet around the rod would have been a predictable design choice to increase the contact area between the graphene and the conductive core, thereby improving heat transfer and durability of the seal strip temperature monitoring system.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “The assembly defined in Claim 1, wherein the seal strip comprises graphite-impregnated rubber.” Kilbourne teaches the assembly of claim 1, but does not teach that the seal strip material includes graphite-impregnated rubber.
Singh teaches a heat-conducting member embedded within a structure for transferring heat from a heat source to a temperature sensor through conduction, but does not teach the composition of the surrounding strip seal material.
It would have been obvious to combine Singh’s conductive member with Kilbourne’s seal strip assembly to improve temperature sensing performance through enhanced thermal conduction. However, Kilbourne in view of Singh does not teach a seal strip body formed of graphite-impregnated rubber.
Rockhill teaches elastomeric and rubber compositions containing graphene, disclosing that such materials provide improved thermal conductivity, strength, and wear resistance in seals, gaskets, and similar components (see col. 14, lines 65 – 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the assembly of Kilbourne in view of Singh with the graphene-impregnated rubber composition of Rockhill in order to enhance dissipation and durability of the sealing interface.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “The assembly defined in Claim 8, wherein the heat-conducting rod comprises graphene.” Similarly, to claim 4’s rejection above Kilbourne teaches the assembly of claim 8, however, it does not teach the heat-conducting rod comprises graphene.
Singh teaches a heat conducting member (heat pipe 10) with high thermal conductivity which transfers heat through conduction between opposing surfaces for accurate temperature measurement. However, it does not teach a seal strip or suction roll assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kilbourne with the heat-conducting member of Singh to improve heat transfer from the seal strip surface to the embedded temperature sensor, thereby enhancing temperature response and accuracy. However, Kilbourne in view of Singh does not teach that the heat-conducting rod comprises graphene.
Rockhill teaches thermally conductive elastomer and rubber compositions containing graphene to improve heat dissipation and durability in sealing applications, including seals, gaskets, and diaphragms (see col. 14, lines 65 – 67). However, Rockhill does not teach a temperature monitoring system or a heat-conducting rod.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the assembly of Kilbourne in view of Singh with the teachings of Rockhill by forming the heat-conducting rod from the graphene-based thermally conductive material of Rockhill, in order to enhance heat transfer and sensor accuracy.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “The assembly defined in Claim 11, wherein the heat-conducting rod comprises a coiled graphene sheet.” Similarly, to claim 5’s rejection above Kilbourne teaches the assembly of claim 11, however, it does not teach the heat-conducting rod or any coiled conductive element.
Singh teaches a heat conducting member embedded within a thermal assembly for transferring heat from a heat source to a temperature sensor through conduction. However, Singh does not disclose graphene or any sheet material wound around the heat conducting member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kilbourne with the heat-conducting member of Singh to improve heat transfer from the seal strip surface to the embedded temperature sensor through conduction. However, Kilbourne in view of Singh does not teach that the heat-conducting rod comprises a coiled graphene sheet.
Rockhill teaches thermally conductive materials containing graphene arranged in layered or sheet like form within elastomeric structures to improve heat dissipation (see col. 14, lines 65 – 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the assembly of Kilbourne in view of Singh with the teachings of Rockhill by wrapping or coiling the graphene sheet of Rockhill around the conductive member of Singh to form a composite heat conducting rod structure. Coiling the graphene sheet around the rod would have been a predictable design choice to increase the contact area between the graphene and the conductive core, thereby improving heat transfer and durability of the seal strip temperature monitoring system.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “The assembly defined in Claim 8, wherein the seal strip comprises graphite-impregnated rubber.” Similarly, to claim 6’s rejection above Kilbourne teaches the assembly of claim 8, but does not teach that the seal strip material includes graphite-impregnated rubber.
Singh teaches a heat-conducting member embedded within a structure for transferring heat from a heat source to a temperature sensor through conduction, but does not teach the composition of the surrounding strip seal material.
It would have been obvious to combine Singh’s conductive member with Kilbourne’s seal strip assembly to improve temperature sensing performance through enhanced thermal conduction. However, Kilbourne in view of Singh does not teach a seal strip body formed of graphite-impregnated rubber.
Rockhill teaches elastomeric and rubber compositions containing graphene, disclosing that such materials provide improved thermal conductivity, strength, and wear resistance in seals, gaskets, and similar components (see col. 14, lines 65 – 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the assembly of Kilbourne in view of Singh with the graphene-impregnated rubber composition of Rockhill in order to enhance dissipation and durability of the sealing interface.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites “The assembly defined in Claim 15, wherein the heat-conducting rod comprises graphene.” Similarly, to claims 4 and 11 rejections above Kilbourne teaches the assembly of claim 15, however, it does not teach the heat-conducting rod comprises graphene.
Singh teaches a heat conducting member (heat pipe 10) with high thermal conductivity which transfers heat through conduction between opposing surfaces for accurate temperature measurement. However, it does not teach a seal strip or suction roll assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kilbourne with the heat-conducting member of Singh to improve heat transfer from the seal strip surface to the embedded temperature sensor, thereby enhancing temperature response and accuracy. However, Kilbourne in view of Singh does not teach that the heat-conducting rod comprises graphene.
Rockhill teaches thermally conductive elastomer and rubber compositions containing graphene to improve heat dissipation and durability in sealing applications, including seals, gaskets, and diaphragms (see col. 14, lines 65 – 67). However, Rockhill does not teach a temperature monitoring system or a heat-conducting rod.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the assembly of Kilbourne in view of Singh with the teachings of Rockhill by forming the heat-conducting rod from the graphene-based thermally conductive material of Rockhill, in order to enhance heat transfer and sensor accuracy.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites “The assembly defined in Claim 16, wherein the heat-conducting rod comprises a coiled graphene sheet.” Similarly, to claims 5 and 12 rejections above Kilbourne teaches the assembly of claim 16, however, it does not teach the heat-conducting rod or any coiled conductive element.
Singh teaches a heat conducting member embedded within a thermal assembly for transferring heat from a heat source to a temperature sensor through conduction. However, Singh does not disclose graphene or any sheet material wound around the heat conducting member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kilbourne with the heat-conducting member of Singh to improve heat transfer from the seal strip surface to the embedded temperature sensor through conduction. However, Kilbourne in view of Singh does not teach that the heat-conducting rod comprises a coiled graphene sheet.
Rockhill teaches thermally conductive materials containing graphene arranged in layered or sheet like form within elastomeric structures to improve heat dissipation (see col. 14, lines 65 – 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the assembly of Kilbourne in view of Singh with the teachings of Rockhill by wrapping or coiling the graphene sheet of Rockhill around the conductive member of Singh to form a composite heat conducting rod structure. Coiling the graphene sheet around the rod would have been a predictable design choice to increase the contact area between the graphene and the conductive core, thereby improving heat transfer and durability of the seal strip temperature monitoring system.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites “The assembly defined in Claim 15, wherein the seal strip comprises graphite-impregnated rubber.” Similarly, to claims 6 and 13 rejections above Kilbourne teaches the assembly of claim 15, but does not teach that the seal strip material includes graphite-impregnated rubber.
Singh teaches a heat-conducting member embedded within a structure for transferring heat from a heat source to a temperature sensor through conduction, but does not teach the composition of the surrounding strip seal material.
It would have been obvious to combine Singh’s conductive member with Kilbourne’s seal strip assembly to improve temperature sensing performance through enhanced thermal conduction. However, Kilbourne in view of Singh does not teach a seal strip body formed of graphite-impregnated rubber.
Rockhill teaches elastomeric and rubber compositions containing graphene, disclosing that such materials provide improved thermal conductivity, strength, and wear resistance in seals, gaskets, and similar components (see col. 14, lines 65 – 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the assembly of Kilbourne in view of Singh with the graphene-impregnated rubber composition of Rockhill in order to enhance dissipation and durability of the sealing interface.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANUEL SALVADOR CASTELLON JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855