DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 22 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22, line 2, “a vessel cart of any claim 1” should say “the vessel cart of claim 1”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 105691431 A).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a vessel cart (vehicle in figures 1-11) comprising: a base (chassis 1, fig.1-11) configured to abut a lower portion of a vessel (gas bottle, fig.1) and hold the vessel upright when the vessel is loaded to the vessel cart (fig.1); a stand (vertical frame 2, figs.1-11) connected to or formed with the base; and a clamp (cuff 23 with semicircular hoop 24, figs.1-11) connected to the stand and configured to selectively grip an upper portion of the vessel (cuff 23 with hoop 24 grip upper portion of gas bottle, figs.1-11), wherein the clamp is configured to open and close in a plane substantially parallel to a first surface of the base facing the clamp to allow the vessel to move laterally or radially relative to the clamp when the vessel is being loaded to the vessel cart or unloaded from the vessel cart (cuff 23 and hoop 24 are detachably connected by a hook or buckle structure and hoop 24 can be an elastic band structure and can be moved between open and closed positions in a parallel plane to top surface of base 1 to allow gas bottle be removed or loaded in a laterally, figs.1-11).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses wherein the clamp is configured to reduce a lifting height required for loading the vessel to the vessel cart or unloading the vessel from the vessel cart (cuff 23 and hoop 24 are detachably connected by a hook or buckle structure allowing the gas bottle to be mounted laterally into the cuff 23 instead of having to be lifted above the cuff 23 and hoop 24 reducing the lifting height required, figs.1-11).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses further comprising: a plurality of wheels (rollers 3 and 4, fig.1) connected to the base at a side of the base facing away from the clamp to facilitate moving of the vessel cart, wherein the plurality of wheels comprises: one or more fixed wheels (rollers 4, figs.1) disposed at a rear side of the vessel cart; and one or more swivel v-groove track wheels (universal wheels 3, fig.1) disposed at a front side of the vessel car.
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses wherein the stand comprises: a first bar and a second bar spaced apart from each other (vertical frame 2 has two vertical beams 2-1 spaced apart from each other as seen in figure 6), wherein the first and second bars are substantially perpendicular to the first surface of the base facing the clamp (vertical beams 2-1 of vertical frame are perpendicular to the base 1 as seen in figures 1-11).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses wherein the stand further comprises: a cross member (cross member connected to buffer 25 below beam 2-2 in figure 6, figs.1-11) connected to or formed with upper portions of the first and second bars (cross member is connected between beams 2-1, figs.1-11), wherein the clamp is connected to the cross member of the stand (cuff 23 and hoop 24 connect to cross member through the buffer 25, figs.1-11).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses wherein the first surface of the base facing the clamp is substantially planar (top surface of the base 1 is substantially planar, figs.1-11).
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses wherein the clamp is removably connected to the stand (cuff 23 and hoop 24 are removable connected to stand 2 through fasteners as seen in figures 1-11), and wherein the clamp comprises: a first clamp member connected to the stand (cuff 23, figs.1-11); a second clamp member (hoop 24, figs.1-11) pivotally connected to the first clamp member and rotatable with respect to the first clamp member in the plane substantially parallel to the first surface of the base (hoop 24 is an elastic band structure making it pivotable and rotatable with respect to the cuff 23 in the plane parallel to the top surface of the base 1, figs.1-11); and a third clamp member (hook or buckle structure, figs.1-11, 3rd paragraph under preferred embodiments) disposed at the first or second clamp member and configured to selectively lock or unlock the second clamp member with respect to the first clamp member (hook or buckle structure detachable connects the cuff 23 and hoop 23, figs.1-11, 3rd paragraph under preferred embodiments).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 105691431 A) in view of Gonzalez (US 20170282949 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses the vessel cart of claim 1 but fails to disclose a brake.
However, Gonzalez discloses a brake (brake 114, fig.1) connected to the stand or the base (brake 114 is connected to base 104, fig.1) and configured to selectively lock or unlock the vessel cart (brake 114 has disc 116 that engages the ground to prevent undesired rolling of the cart 100, fig.1, paragraph [0024), wherein the brake is a foot brake (brake 114 has rod 118 moveable with respect to mechanism 119 that can be engaged by a user’s foot, fig,1) connected to the base at a side of the base facing away from the clamp (the brake 114 is mounted under the base 104, figs.1).
Li and Gonzalez are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transport carts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with the foot brake of Gonzalez with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of preventing undesired rolling movement of the cart (paragraph [0024] of Gonzalez).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 105691431 A) in view of Chartier (DE 102019210093 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses handle (handle 8, figs.1-11) connected with an upper portion of the stand (2, fig.1) to facilitate maneuvering of the vessel cart, but fails to disclose a first pair of handles and a second pair of handles.
However, Chartier discloses one or more handles (handles 40 and arms 80 can be used as handles, figs.1) connected to or integrally formed with an upper portion of the stand (vertical frame 20, figs.1) to facilitate maneuvering of the vessel cart, wherein the one or more handles comprises: a first pair of handles (handles 40, fig.1) extending toward a rear side of the vessel cart (handles 40 mounted to members 22 extend in a rearward direction, fig.1); and a second pair of handles (arms 80, fig.1) extending toward a front side of the vessel cart (arms 80 extend in forward direction and can be used as handles, fig.1).
Li and Chartier are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of trollies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with the handles and arms of Chartier with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements according to known methods yielding predictable results to allow the trolley/cart be maneuvered from multiple sides of the cart, allowing the cart to be moved easier.
Regarding claim 6, Li in combination with Chartier, Chartier discloses wherein: the handles of the second pair of handles are longer than the handles of the first pair of handles (arms 80 are longer than handles 40 as seen in figure 1); the handles of the second pair of handles are spaced apart from each other (arms 80 are spaced apart from each other, fig.1); the handles of the first pair of handles are spaced apart from each other (handles 40 are spaced apart from each other, fig.1); and/or a distance between the handles of the second pair of handles is greater than a distance between the handles of the first pair of handles (handles 40 are mounted to vertical frame 20 through members 22 which are mounted on top of the frame 20 while the arms 80 are mounted to the frame 20 through brackets/plates on the side of the frame 20 as seen in figure 1, making the distance between arms 80 greater than the handles 40 at the mounting locations).
Claim(s) 10-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 105691431 A) in view of Ge (CN 109204411 A).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses the vessel cart of claim 1 but fails to disclose a restriction member on the base.
However, Ge discloses wherein the base comprises a restriction member (base 1 has opening with lower second base member with limit plate 19, pressure rod 21, spring 23, figs.1-3) configured to limit movement of the lower portion of the vessel on the base (barrel 11, figs.1-3).
Li and Ge are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transport carts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with the base structure of Ge with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of helping fasten the container to the base and help prevent the container from sliding or falling off of the base when the trolley/cart is being moved, making the cart safer.
Regarding claim 11, Li in combination with Ge, Ge discloses wherein the restriction member comprises a raised rim on the first surface of the base facing the clamp, a dent recessed from the first surface of the base facing the clamp, an opening formed on the first surface of the base facing the clamp, or any combination thereof (base 1 has opening with lower second base member with limit plate 19, pressure rod 21, spring 23, figs.1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses the vessel cart of claim 1 but fails to disclose first and second base members.
However, Ge discloses wherein the base comprises: a first base member (upper top surface of the base 1 as seen in attached figure, fig.1-3); and a second base member (lower top surface of base 1 as seen in attached figure, figs.1-3) disposed below and connected to the first base member, wherein the first base member has an opening to allow the lower portion of the vessel to pass through and seat on the second base member (upper top surface has opening to allow lower portion of barrel 11 to pass and seat on lower top surface, figs.1-3).
Li and Ge are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transport carts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with the base structure of Ge with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of helping fasten the container to the base and help prevent the container from sliding or falling off of the base when the trolley/cart is being moved, making the cart safer.
Regarding claim 14, Li in combination with Ge, Ge discloses wherein the second base member of the base comprises: a rib (limit plate 19, figs.1-3) disposed or formed on a surface of the second base member facing the first base member (limit plate 19 is connected to second base member through rod 19 and disposed on the top surface of the second base member face the first base member, figs.1-3), wherein the rib on the second base member and an edge of the opening of the first base member collectively limits movement of the lower portion of the vessel on the base when the vessel is loaded to the vessel cart (limit plate 19 limits movement of barrel 11 and edge of opening limits movement the limit plate 19, figs.1-3).
Regarding claim 15, Li in combination with Ge, Ge discloses wherein the rib is either curved or substantially straight (limit plate 19, figs.1-3).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 105691431 A) in view of Ge (CN 109204411 A), and in further view of Kim (KR 20170003961 U).
Regarding claim 13, Li in combination with Ge, Ge discloses wherein the opening of the first base member of the base is substantially planar (opening is planar, figs.1-3). Ge also discloses opening is for barrel (11) which is cylindrical but fails to disclose the opening is substantially circular.
However, Kim discloses opening is circular (through hole 111a of base 111, fig.2).
Ge and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transport carts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ge with the opening being circular of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success because having the hole/opening be circular would match the shape of the container being held in the opening providing a more secure fit between the container and opening to help prevent movement of the container.
Claim(s) 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 105691431 A) in view of Chartier (DE 102019210093 A1), and in further view of Ge (CN 109204411 A).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses a vessel cart (vehicle in figures 1-11), comprising: a stand (vertical frame 2, figs.1-11) comprising a first bar and a second bar spaced apart from each other (vertical frame 2 has two vertical beams 2-1 spaced apart from each other as seen in figure 6), wherein each of the first and second bars comprises a lower portion and an upper portion (vertical beams 2-1 have lower portion near base 1 and upper portion opposite, fig.1-11); a handle (handle 8, figs.1-11); a base (chassis 1, fig.1-11) connected to the lower portions of the first and second bars (figs.1-11),; a clamp (cuff 23 with semicircular hoop 24, figs.1-11) connected to the stand and configured to selectively grip an upper portion of the vessel; and a plurality of wheels (rollers 3 and 4, fig.1) connected to a side of the base facing away from the clamp to facilitate moving of the vessel cart (rollers 3 and 4 are mounted below base 1, fig.1). Li fails to disclose a first pair of handles and the base comprising a first base member and a second base member.
Chartier discloses a first pair of handles (handles 40, fig.1), one handle in the first pair of handles connected to or integrally formed with the upper portion of the first bar and the other handle in the first pair of handles connected to or integrally formed with the upper portion of the second bar (each handle 40 is connected to an upper portion of a bar 20 through member 22, fig.1). Ge discloses wherein the base comprises a first base member (upper top surface of the base 1 as seen in attached figure, fig.1-3); and a second base member (lower top surface of base 1 as seen in attached figure, figs.1-3) disposed below and connected to the first base member, wherein the first base member has an opening facing upward and configured to receive a lower portion of a vessel (upper top surface has opening to allow lower portion of barrel 11 to pass, figs.1-3), and the second base member is connected to the first base member and configured to hold the vessel upright (lower top surface of base 1 is connected to upper top surface of base 1 and the lower top surface of base 1 supports the barrel 11 upright, fig.1).
Li and Chartier are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of trollies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with the handles and arms of Chartier with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements according to known methods yielding predictable results to allow the trolley/cart be maneuvered from multiple sides of the cart, allowing the cart to be moved easier.
Li and Ge are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transport carts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with the base structure of Ge with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of helping fasten the container to the base and help prevent the container from sliding or falling off of the base when the trolley/cart is being moved, making the cart safer.
Regarding claim 19, Li in combination with Chartier and Ge, Chartier discloses wherein each handle in the first pair of handles extends toward a rear side of the vessel cart (handles 40 mounted to members 22 extend in a rearward direction, fig.1).
Regarding claim 20, Li in combination with Chartier and Ge, Chartier discloses a second pair of handles (arms 80 can be used as handles, fig.1), one handle in the second pair of handles connected to or integrally formed with the upper portion of the first bar and the other handle in the second pair of handles connected to or integrally formed with the upper portion of the second bar (each arm 80 is connected to a bar 20, fig.1), wherein each handle in the second pair of handles extends toward a front side of the vessel cart (arms 80 extend in a forward direction, fig.1).
Regarding claim 21, Li in combination with Chartier and Ge, Chartier discloses wherein a distance between the handles of the second pair is greater than a distance between the handles of the first pair (handles 40 are mounted to vertical frame 20 through members 22 which are mounted on top of the frame 20 while the arms 80 are mounted to the frame 20 through brackets/plates on the side of the frame 20 as seen in figure 1, making the distance between arms 80 greater than the handles 40 at the mounting locations).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 22-27 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 17 depends upon claim 1 which is rejected, but claim 17 has the limitation of “wherein the clamp is configured to facilitate mounting of a headplate on the clamp, and wherein the clamp comprises a plurality of fastening members each extending upward for connecting the headplate with the clamp, and wherein the plurality of fastening members is distributed substantially evenly along a perimeter of the clamp.” Li discloses the clamp (23 and 24) but does not disclose a headplate mounted on the clamp. Aldana (US 20230038635 A1) discloses a lid (106) fastened to bucket (104), but does not disclose lid fastened to a clamp. Yeh (US 20220135288 A1) discloses cover module (2, fig.1) fastened through fastening modules (3, fig.1), but fastening modules are on the top of a barrel body not a clamp. Benet (US 20150329284 A1) discloses lid (13) with groove (16) and gasket (17), wherein the lid is fastened to collar (12) of a tank (11) through swing bolts (14), but fails to disclose the lid being fastened to a clamp.
Tang (CN 114749345 A) discloses a cover (73) mounted to stand (12) and top of barrel (22), but does not disclose a clamp. Kim (KR 20170003961 U) discloses container (10) fastened to top of clamp (hinged mounting unit 123) through coupling parts (11), mounting portion (123a), and fastening groove (123b) with fasteners, but does not disclose a headplate and clamp (123) is not connected to stand. The prior art taken alone or in combination does not teach or fairly suggest all of the limitations of claim 17.
Claim 22 depends upon claim 1 which is rejected, but claim 22 has the limitation of “A vessel assembly comprising: a vessel cart of any claim 1; and a headplate configured to be mounted on the clamp of the vessel cart, wherein the headplate comprises: a groove formed at a lower side of the headplate to accommodate a sealing member, wherein the sealing member is an O-ring or a gasket.” Li discloses the clamp (23 and 24) but does not disclose a headplate mounted on the clamp. Aldana (US 20230038635 A1) discloses a lid (106) fastened to bucket (104), but does not disclose lid fastened to a clamp. Yeh (US 20220135288 A1) discloses cover module (2, fig.1) fastened through fastening modules (3, fig.1), but fastening modules are on the top of a barrel body not a clamp. Benet (US 20150329284 A1) discloses lid (13) with groove (16) and gasket (17), wherein the lid is fastened to collar (12) of a tank (11) through swing bolts (14), but fails to disclose the lid being fastened to a clamp.
Tang (CN 114749345 A) discloses a cover (73) mounted to stand (12) and top of barrel (22), but does not disclose a clamp. Kim (KR 20170003961 U) discloses container (10) fastened to top of clamp (hinged mounting unit 123) through coupling parts (11), mounting portion (123a), and fastening groove (123b) with fasteners, but does not disclose a headplate and clamp (123) is not connected to stand. The prior art taken alone or in combination does not teach or fairly suggest all of the limitations of claim 22.
Claims 23-27 depend upon claim 22 giving them the same allowable subject matter as discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure is included in the 892 form. The art included has features related to claim limitations, the general structural of the invention, teachings, and other analogous art to the invention.
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613