DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's reply filed 5/18/2026 has been entered. The claims 1, 4, 8, 10, 16, 18 and 19 have been amended. The claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the newly cited Hu reference.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Remarks, applicant argued against Dherse with respect to the claim limitation of a lighting representation space having a different number of dimensions from the latent space.
Dherse teaches in Section 3 that the light latent vector (C*D = 5*8 = 40 dimensional vector) in the light latent space has a different dimension as the scene latent vector in the scene latent space (e.g., the latent variable tensor R2028 *16*16).
Additionally, Hu shows at FIGS. 2-3 using an encoder to obtain an input latent vector ZSi and target light representation ZGl
The target lighting representation (256-dimensional vector) has a different number of dimensions from the latent space (see Page 539).
In Remarks, applicant argued against the cited references with respect to the claim limitation generating using a latent mapper a modified latent vector based on the input latent vector and the target lighting representation without consulting with Dherse reference and the newly cited Hu reference.
Dherse teaches at Appendix A and FIG. 10 (citing Sun’s BottleNeck) that the image generation network includes a network structure architecture including the latent-scene split and illumination predictor which draws in parallel with Hu’s light estimation Net and Light-to-Feature Net and Sun’s BottleNeck as a neural network and the latent-scene split and illumination predictor splits the light-scene into the scene latent vector and the light latent vector for the input image and the target image and then combines the input scene encoding of the input image and target light encoding of the target image and the network structure is separate from the Decoder of the image generation network.
Dherse further shows at FIG. 12 a network architecture includes the weighted pooling separate from the encoder and decoder wherein the weighted pooling produces a modified latent vector based on the input scene encoding and the target light encoding.
Hu teaches at FIG. 3 and Section 3.2 that the light estimation Net and the Lighting to Feature Net as a latent mapper that the light estimation Net takes the input latent vector from the scene encoder of the image generation network and the target lighting representation and the lighting-to-feature Net produces a modified latent vector including the input latent vector and the modified target light representation as a modified latent vector for the scene decoder of the image generation network. Additionally, Hu teaches that the combination of the target light representation and the scene implicit representation is then fed to the scene decoder (which is performed separately from the encoder and decoder of the image generation network. Hu teaches that the lighting-to-feature network comprises fully connected neural network layers.
Applicant argued against Sun’s FIGS. 2-4 without consulting Dherse’s FIG. 10 which shows a separate neural network architecture from the encoder and decoder of the image generation network similar to the BottleNeck of Sun. Applicant argued against FIG. 4 of Sun. However, even if taking Sun’s FIG. 4 alone, there is a bottleneck 16*32*3 network that is separate from the decoder of the image generation network that takes the target light representation and the source image latent vector as input to generate a modified latent vector according to Dherse FIG. 10 and FIG. 12 citing Sun. The combination of Dherse, Sun and Hu as a combination meet the contested claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-10 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over A. P. Dherse, et al., “Scene relighting with illumination estimation in the latent space on an encoder-decoder scheme”, DOI:10.48550/arXiv.2006.02333, June 3, 2020, pp. 1-30 (hereinafter Dherse) in view of Yamada et al. US-PGPUB No. 2024/0185391 (hereinafter Yamada) incorporating by reference Sun et al., “Single Image Portrait Relighting” at https://dl.acm.org/doi/pdf/10.1145/3306346.3323008, ACM Transactions on Graphics (TOG), Vol. 38, Issue 4, August 2019, pp. 79:1-19.12 (hereinafter Sun);
Hu, Z., Huang, X., Li, Y., Wang, Q.: SA-AE for any-to-any relighting. In: Proceedings of the European Conference on Computer Vision Workshops (ECCVW) (2020), pp. 535-549 (hereinafter Hu).
Re Claim 1:
Dherse in view of Hu teaches a method comprising:
Generating, using an encoder of an image generation network, an input latent vector and a target lighting representation, wherein the input latent vector represents image content with an input lighting condition in a latent space of a decoder of the image generation network, and the target lighting representation indicates a target lighting condition different from the input lighting condition in a lighting representation space having a different number of dimensions from the latent space (
Hu shows at FIGS. 2-3 using an encoder to obtain an input latent vector ZSi and target light representation ZGl
The target lighting representation (256-dimensional vector) has a different number of dimensions from the latent space (see Page 539).
Dherse teaches in Section 3 that the light latent vector (C*D = 5*8 = 40 dimensional vector) in the light latent space has a different dimension as the scene latent vector in the scene latent space (e.g., the latent variable tensor R2028 *16*16 .
Applicant’s specification at FIG. 4 shows the relighting model 330 takes input image 225 (as opposed to an input latent vector) and the encoder within the relighting model 330 produces the input latent vector 420 based on the target lighting representation 435(Lr) to generate a new latent vector and the StyleGAN 450 generates an output image 275.
However, the target lighting representation is the target lighting latent vector (see Paragraph 0072 of applicant’s specification).
Dherse teaches at Section 3.1 that the deep learning network takes the original image I and the target image T from which the lighting conditions should be acquired and the ground truth image G(I, T) corresponds to the input scene and the target illumination LT.
It is known that the output image Ĝ(I, T) is generated by the deep learning network to approximate actual G(I, T) corresponding to the input scene and the target illumination LT. Thus, the deep learning network takes the target illumination LT as the second input to generate the latent representation of the target illumination and the latent vector encoded from the input scene I as first input.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.2 (Page 8) that the target illumination LT is represented by a small environment map image.
Dherse teaches the claim invention in the same manner as Applicant’s specification.
The encoder-decoder network of Dherse FIG. 3 corresponds to the relighting model 330 takes an input image I (as opposed to an input latent vector) and the target image T representing the target illumination LT. The encoder within the encoder-decoder network produces an input latent vector for I based on the new lighting condition T to generate a new latent vector.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.1 that the deep learning network we used to solve the image relighting task takes two images as input: the original image I in which lighting conditions should be changed and the target image T from which the lighting conditions LT should be acquired. The target illumination conditions are encoded as the latent representation to generate one encoding representing the original image under the new light conditions.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.3 that predicting from it directly light condition properties and the encoding fed to the decoder consists of the scene latent representation from I and light latent representation encoded from T.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.2-3.3 and FIG. 3 that the image generation network includes encoder/decoder system G with the input latent vector representing the input image I and the target lighting representation T and we use an encoder for I and T that transforms two images into their respective latent representations and the latent space of the decoder is different from the light conditions LT of a given image….the decoder will be provided with the encoding of T in conjunction with skip connections from the encoder of I. Accordingly, the lighting condition LT is different from the latent encoding of I);
Generating, using a latent mapper, a modified latent vector based on the input latent vector and the target lighting representation, wherein the latent mapper comprises a neural network that takes the input latent vector as a first input in the latent space, and the target lighting representation as a second input in the lighting representation space, and produces the modified latent vector as an output in the latent space, and wherein the latent mapper is separate from the encoder and the decoder of the image generation network (
Dherse teaches at Appendix A and FIG. 10 (citing Sun’s BottleNeck) that the image generation network includes a network structure architecture including the latent-scene split and illumination predictor which draws in parallel with Hu’s light estimation Net and Light-to-Feature Net and Sun’s BottleNeck as a neural network and the latent-scene split and illumination predictor splits the light-scene into the scene latent vector and the light latent vector for the input image and the target image and then combines the input scene encoding of the input image and target light encoding of the target image and the network structure is separate from the Decoder of the image generation network.
Moreover, Sun teaches at Section 3.2 that the illumination predictor with respect to Bottleneck is a fully convolutional neural network that predicts environment illumination.
Dherse further shows at FIG. 12 a network architecture includes the weighted pooling separate from the encoder and decoder wherein the weighted pooling produces a modified latent vector based on the input scene encoding and the target light encoding.
Hu teaches at FIG. 3 and Section 3.2 that the light estimation Net and the Lighting to Feature Net as a latent mapper that the light estimation Net takes the input latent vector from the scene encoder of the image generation network and the target lighting representation and the lighting-to-feature Net produces a modified latent vector including the input latent vector and the modified target light representation as a modified latent vector for the scene decoder of the image generation network. Additionally, Hu teaches that the combination of the target light representation and the scene implicit representation is then fed to the scene decoder (which is performed separately from the encoder and decoder of the image generation network. Hu teaches that the lighting-to-feature network comprises fully connected neural network layers.
);
Generating, using the decoder of the image generation network, an image by decoding the modified latent vector, wherein the image depicts the image content with the target lighting condition (Dherse teaches at Section 3 at Page 8 that our network encoder for I and T transforms two images into their respective latent representations and a single representation is decoded into an output image).
Sun incorporated in Yamada by reference teaches at FIG. 2 and Section 1 that the target illumination is different from the latent space and the image generation network (a deep neural network) includes an encoder-decoder network under an arbitrary user-specified environment map. Sun teaches at Section 3 that the relit image is generated by the deep neural network using the input portrait image and the target lighting Lt. Sun teaches at Section 3.2 that in the decoder of our network, we feed the target lighting Lt as input into the network and encode it using conv layers before concatenating it with the representation (latent space) of the source image produced by the encoder. It is known from Dherse that the encoder generates a latent space vector of the input portrait image as the representation of the source image.
The encoder-decoder network of Dherse FIG. 3 corresponds to the relighting model 330 takes an input image I (as opposed to an input latent vector) and the target image T representing the target illumination LT. The encoder within the encoder-decoder network produces an input latent vector for I based on the new lighting condition T to generate a new latent vector.
Yamada teaches the same latent space of the image generation model where the latent vector of the input image is generated and the modified latent vector reflecting the lighting environment is generated. Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0007 and Paragraph 0028 embedding an input image in a latent space of an image generation unit. It is the same latent space where the input image is converted into a latent vector in the latent space of the generation unit 150 and the modified latent vector is generated by the generation unit 150 in the same latent space of the image generation model that reflects the lighting environment.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0028 that the mapping unit maps the latent vector of the input image to a modified latent space vector reflecting a condition vector expressing a lighting environment in which relighting is performed. Yamada further teaches at Paragraph 0044 that the processor 11 converts the combined feature quantity into a latent space vector (a modified latent space vector).
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0028-0030 that each encoder converts the input data into a vector representing a latent space (input latent vector) of the generation unit 150. hen, the mapping unit 140 acquires a latent space vector (the modified latent space vector) by embedding, in the latent space of the image generation model learned with the large-scale data set, a feature quantity obtained by reflecting a condition vector expressing a lighting environment in which relighting is performed.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0043 that the processor 11 executes the operation as the image structure feature extraction unit 130 simultaneously in parallel with the processing in step S12. That is, the processor 11 reads an input image I from the temporary storage area 13B, and extracts, from the input image I, a feature quantity for estimating a shape and/or texture, which is a feature quantity of an image structure of the input image I (step S13). The processor 11 stores the feature group A (latent vector of the input image) in which the feature quantities of the extracted image structures are stacked in the temporary storage area 13B.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0044 that the processor 11 executes the operation as the mapping unit 140, reads the feature group A in which the lighting environment and the feature quantity of the training image are stacked from the temporary storage area 13B, and combines the feature group A with the feature quantity of the image structure (step S14). The lighting environment of the training image is a lighting environment desired to be reflected. The processor 11 converts the combined feature quantity into a latent space vector (a modified latent space vector).
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0028-0030 that each encoder converts the input data into a vector representing a latent space (input latent vector) of the generation unit 150 and the mapping unit 140 acquires the lighting environment of the training image from the data input unit 110. The mapping unit 140 acquires a latent space vector (a modified latent vector reflecting lighting environment) by embedding, in the latent space of the image generation model, a feature quantity obtained by reflecting a condition vector expressing a lighting environment in which relighting is performed. The generation unit 150 acquires the latent space vector group from the mapping unit 140 and generates the feature quantity of the image structure in each layer of the generator. The generation unit 150 generates a relighted image by converting the feature quantity having the highest resolution of the feature group B into an RGB color space and passes the generated relighted image to the feature correction unit 160 and the feature correction unit 160 generates a corrected relighted image obtained by correcting the relighted image.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0044-0046 that the processor 11 converts the combined feature quantity into a latent space vector (a modified latent vector) and stores a vector group in which the converted latent space vectors are stacked and the processor 11 executes the operation as the generation unit 150, reads a vector group in which latent space vectors are stacked and acquires a feature quantity by a generator learned in advance using the vector group as an input and generates the relighted image by converting the feature quantity into the RGB color space.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0052-0053 that the relighted image generation unit includes the mapping unit 140 that acquires a latent space vector capable of generating a target which only the lighting environment is changed, by embedding, in a latent space of an image generation model learned with the large-scale data set, a feature quantity in which a condition vector expressing the lighting environment desired to be reflected is reflected in a feature quantity of an image structure of the input image.
Yamada teaches the same latent space of the image generation model where the latent vector of the input image is generated and the modified latent vector reflecting the lighting environment is generated. Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0007 and Paragraph 0028 embedding an input image in a latent space of an image generation unit. It is the same latent space where the input image is converted into a latent vector in the latent space of the generation unit 150 and the modified latent vector is generated by the generation unit 150 in the same latent space of the image generation model that reflects the lighting environment.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0028 that the mapping unit maps the latent vector of the input image to a modified latent space vector reflecting a condition vector expressing a lighting environment in which relighting is performed. Yamada further teaches at Paragraph 0044 that the processor 11 converts the combined feature quantity into a latent space vector (a modified latent space vector).
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0028-0030 that each encoder converts the input data into a vector representing a latent space (input latent vector) of the generation unit 150. hen, the mapping unit 140 acquires a latent space vector (the modified latent space vector) by embedding, in the latent space of the image generation model learned with the large-scale data set, a feature quantity obtained by reflecting a condition vector expressing a lighting environment in which relighting is performed.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0043 that the processor 11 executes the operation as the image structure feature extraction unit 130 simultaneously in parallel with the processing in step S12. That is, the processor 11 reads an input image I from the temporary storage area 13B, and extracts, from the input image I, a feature quantity for estimating a shape and/or texture, which is a feature quantity of an image structure of the input image I (step S13). The processor 11 stores the feature group A (latent vector of the input image) in which the feature quantities of the extracted image structures are stacked in the temporary storage area 13B.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0044 that the processor 11 executes the operation as the mapping unit 140, reads the feature group A in which the lighting environment and the feature quantity of the training image are stacked from the temporary storage area 13B, and combines the feature group A with the feature quantity of the image structure (step S14). The lighting environment of the training image is a lighting environment desired to be reflected. The processor 11 converts the combined feature quantity into a latent space vector (a modified latent space vector).
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0028-0030 that each encoder converts the input data into a vector representing a latent space of the generation unit 150 and the mapping unit 140 acquires the lighting environment of the training image from the data input unit 110. The mapping unit 140 acquires a latent space vector by embedding, in the latent space of the image generation model, a feature quantity obtained by reflecting a condition vector expressing a lighting environment in which relighting is performed.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0044-0046 that the processor 11 converts the combined feature quantity into a latent space vector (a modified latent vector) and stores a vector group in which the converted latent space vectors are stacked and the processor 11 executes the operation as the generation unit 150, reads a vector group in which latent space vectors are stacked and acquires a feature quantity by a generator learned in advance using the vector group as an input and generates the relighted image by converting the feature quantity into the RGB color space); and
generating an image by decoding the modified latent vector using the image generation network, wherein the image depicts the image content with the target lighting condition (
Yamada teaches the same latent space of the image generation model where the latent vector of the input image is generated and the modified latent vector reflecting the lighting environment is generated. Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0007 and Paragraph 0028 embedding an input image in a latent space of an image generation unit. It is the same latent space where the input image is converted into a latent vector in the latent space of the generation unit 150 and the modified latent vector is generated by the generation unit 150 in the same latent space of the image generation model that reflects the lighting environment.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0028 that the mapping unit maps the latent vector of the input image to a modified latent space vector reflecting a condition vector expressing a lighting environment in which relighting is performed. Yamada further teaches at Paragraph 0044 that the processor 11 converts the combined feature quantity into a latent space vector (a modified latent space vector).
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0028-0030 that each encoder converts the input data into a vector representing a latent space (input latent vector) of the generation unit 150. hen, the mapping unit 140 acquires a latent space vector (the modified latent space vector) by embedding, in the latent space of the image generation model learned with the large-scale data set, a feature quantity obtained by reflecting a condition vector expressing a lighting environment in which relighting is performed.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0043 that the processor 11 executes the operation as the image structure feature extraction unit 130 simultaneously in parallel with the processing in step S12. That is, the processor 11 reads an input image I from the temporary storage area 13B, and extracts, from the input image I, a feature quantity for estimating a shape and/or texture, which is a feature quantity of an image structure of the input image I (step S13). The processor 11 stores the feature group A (latent vector of the input image) in which the feature quantities of the extracted image structures are stacked in the temporary storage area 13B.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0044 that the processor 11 executes the operation as the mapping unit 140, reads the feature group A in which the lighting environment and the feature quantity of the training image are stacked from the temporary storage area 13B, and combines the feature group A with the feature quantity of the image structure (step S14). The lighting environment of the training image is a lighting environment desired to be reflected. The processor 11 converts the combined feature quantity into a latent space vector (a modified latent space vector).
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0044-0046 that the processor 11 converts the combined feature quantity into a latent space vector (a modified latent vector) and stores a vector group in which the converted latent space vectors are stacked and the processor 11 executes the operation as the generation unit 150, reads a vector group in which latent space vectors are stacked and acquires a feature quantity by a generator learned in advance using the vector group as an input and generates the relighted image by converting the feature quantity into the RGB color space).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Hu and Sun’s neural network separate from the encoder-decoder of the image generation network to have modified the Illumination Predictor that performs latent light-scene split and illumination predictor to provide a modified latent vector for the Decoder as shown in Dherse FIG. 10 and FIG. 12 to have generated a modified image based on the modified latent vector. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have relighted the input image based on the modified latent vector and the target illumination to have generated a relighted image.
Re Claim 2:
The claim 2 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the image depicts an object that is lit according to the target lighting representation.
Dherse further teaches the claim limitation that the image depicts an object that is lit according to the target lighting representation (
Dherse teaches at FiG. 7 that the image describes an object that is lit according to the target lighting condition (Lr).
Applicant’s specification at FIG. 4 shows the relighting model 330 takes input image 225 (as opposed to an input latent vector) and the encoder within the relighting model 330 produces the input latent vector 420 based on the target lighting representation 435(Lr) to generate a new latent vector and the StyleGAN 450 generates an output image 275.
However, the target lighting representation is the target lighting latent vector (see Paragraph 0072 of applicant’s specification).
Dherse teaches at Section 3.1 that the deep learning network takes the original image I and the target image T from which the lighting conditions should be acquired and the ground truth image G(I, T) corresponds to the input scene and the target illumination LT.
It is known that the output image Ĝ(I, T) is generated by the deep learning network to approximate actual G(I, T) corresponding to the input scene and the target illumination LT. Thus, the deep learning network takes the target illumination LT as the second input to generate the latent representation of the target illumination and the latent vector encoded from the input scene I as first input.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.2 (Page 8) that the target illumination LT is represented by a small environment map image.
Dherse teaches the claim invention in the same manner as Applicant’s specification.
The encoder-decoder network of Dherse FIG. 3 corresponds to the relighting model 330 takes an input image I (as opposed to an input latent vector) and the target image T representing the target illumination LT. The encoder within the encoder-decoder network produces an input latent vector for I based on the new lighting condition T to generate a new latent vector.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.1 that the deep learning network we used to solve the image relighting task takes two images as input: the original image I in which lighting conditions should be changed and the target image T from which the lighting conditions LT should be acquired. The target illumination conditions are encoded as the latent representation to generate one encoding representing the original image under the new light conditions.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.3 that predicting from it directly light condition properties and the encoding fed to the decoder consists of the scene latent representation from I and light latent representation encoded from T.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.2-3.3 and FIG. 3 that the image generation network includes encoder/decoder system G with the input latent vector representing the input image I and the target lighting representation T and we use an encoder for I and T that transforms two images into their respective latent representations and the latent space of the decoder is different from the light conditions LT of a given image….the decoder will be provided with the encoding of T in conjunction with skip connections from the encoder of I. Accordingly, the lighting condition LT is different from the latent encoding of I).
Re Claim 3:
The claim 3 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the target lighting representation comprises a vector in a lighting representation space.
Yamada and Dherse further teaches the claim limitation that the target lighting representation comprises a vector in a lighting representation space (
Dherse teaches at Appendix A and FIG. 10 (citing Sun’s BottleNeck) that the image generation network includes a network structure architecture including the latent-scene split and illumination predictor which draws in parallel with Hu’s light estimation Net and Light-to-Feature Net and Sun’s BottleNeck as a neural network and the latent-scene split and illumination predictor splits the light-scene into the scene latent vector and the light latent vector for the input image and the target image and then combines the input scene encoding of the input image and target light encoding of the target image and the network structure is separate from the Decoder of the image generation network.
Moreover, Sun teaches at Section 3.2 that the illumination predictor with respect to Bottleneck is a fully convolutional neural network that predicts environment illumination.
Dherse further shows at FIG. 12 a network architecture includes the weighted pooling separate from the encoder and decoder wherein the weighted pooling produces a modified latent vector based on the input scene encoding and the target light encoding.
Hu teaches at FIG. 3 and Section 3.2 that the light estimation Net and the Lighting to Feature Net as a latent mapper that the light estimation Net takes the input latent vector from the scene encoder of the image generation network and the target lighting representation and the lighting-to-feature Net produces a modified latent vector including the input latent vector and the modified target light representation as a modified latent vector for the scene decoder of the image generation network. Additionally, Hu teaches that the combination of the target light representation and the scene implicit representation is then fed to the scene decoder (which is performed separately from the encoder and decoder of the image generation network. Hu teaches that the lighting-to-feature network comprises fully connected neural network layers.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.1 that the deep learning network takes the original image I and the target image T from which the lighting conditions should be acquired and the ground truth image G(I, T) corresponds to the input scene and the target illumination LT.
It is known that the output image Ĝ(I, T) is generated by the deep learning network to approximate actual G(I, T) corresponding to the input scene and the target illumination LT. Thus, the deep learning network takes the target illumination LT as the second input to generate the latent representation of the target illumination and the latent vector encoded from the input scene I as first input.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.2 (Page 8) that the target illumination LT is represented by a small environment map image.
Dherse teaches the claim invention in the same manner as Applicant’s specification.
The encoder-decoder network of Dherse FIG. 3 corresponds to the relighting model 330 takes an input image I (as opposed to an input latent vector) and the target image T representing the target illumination LT. The encoder within the encoder-decoder network produces an input latent vector for I based on the new lighting condition T to generate a new latent vector.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.1 that the deep learning network we used to solve the image relighting task takes two images as input: the original image I in which lighting conditions should be changed and the target image T from which the lighting conditions LT should be acquired. The target illumination conditions are encoded as the latent representation to generate one encoding representing the original image under the new light conditions.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.3 that predicting from it directly light condition properties and the encoding fed to the decoder consists of the scene latent representation from I and light latent representation encoded from T.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.2-3.3 and FIG. 3 that the image generation network includes encoder/decoder system G with the input latent vector representing the input image I and the target lighting representation T and we use an encoder for I and T that transforms two images into their respective latent representations and the latent space of the decoder is different from the light conditions LT of a given image….the decoder will be provided with the encoding of T in conjunction with skip connections from the encoder of I. Accordingly, the lighting condition LT is different from the latent encoding of I.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0028-0030 that each encoder converts the input data into a vector representing a latent space of the generation unit 150 and the mapping unit 140 acquires the lighting environment of the training image from the data input unit 110. The mapping unit 140 acquires a latent space vector by embedding, in the latent space of the image generation model, a feature quantity obtained by reflecting a condition vector expressing a lighting environment in which relighting is performed).
Re Claim 4:
The claim 4 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 3 except additional claim limitation that the modified latent vector is generated using the latent mapper that is trained by using a lighting loss that compares an output of the image generation network in the lighting representation space.
Dherse and Yamada further teach the claim limitation that the modified latent vector is generated using the latent mapper that is trained by using a lighting loss that compares an output of the image generation network in the lighting representation space (
Dherse teaches at Appendix A and FIG. 10 (citing Sun’s BottleNeck) that the image generation network includes a network structure architecture including the latent-scene split and illumination predictor which draws in parallel with Hu’s light estimation Net and Light-to-Feature Net and Sun’s BottleNeck as a neural network and the latent-scene split and illumination predictor splits the light-scene into the scene latent vector and the light latent vector for the input image and the target image and then combines the input scene encoding of the input image and target light encoding of the target image and the network structure is separate from the Decoder of the image generation network.
Moreover, Sun teaches at Section 3.2 that the illumination predictor with respect to Bottleneck is a fully convolutional neural network that predicts environment illumination.
Dherse further shows at FIG. 12 a network architecture includes the weighted pooling separate from the encoder and decoder wherein the weighted pooling produces a modified latent vector based on the input scene encoding and the target light encoding.
Hu teaches at FIG. 3 and Section 3.2 that the light estimation Net and the Lighting to Feature Net as a latent mapper that the light estimation Net takes the input latent vector from the scene encoder of the image generation network and the target lighting representation and the lighting-to-feature Net produces a modified latent vector including the input latent vector and the modified target light representation as a modified latent vector for the scene decoder of the image generation network. Additionally, Hu teaches that the combination of the target light representation and the scene implicit representation is then fed to the scene decoder (which is performed separately from the encoder and decoder of the image generation network. Hu teaches that the lighting-to-feature network comprises fully connected neural network layers.
Dherse teaches at Section 3 generating by the deep learning network a training image based on the input latent vector of the original image I and the target lighting representation Lt. Dherse teaches at Section 3.4 computing the scene latent loss and light latent loss.
Dherse teaches at Page 5, Section 3.1 and FIG. 10 that latent light scene split and illumination predictor with light direction and light color temperature prediction auxiliary losses and the scene is illuminated in different directions and an encoder-decoder predicts the illumination corresponding to the source image and replace it with the target lighting. Dherse teaches at Section 3.1 that the illumination space is the Cartesian product of the light color temperature set (intensities) and the light direction set and at Page 10 that the color temperature has been translated into RGB values with the use of the Color-Science Python library and we represent light direction as a Gaussian distribution over value/brightness component of the light color in HSL color space…..The other half is used for light color estimation in HSL color space.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0044-0046 that the processor 11 (acts the mapping unit 140) converts the combined feature quantity into a latent space vector (a modified latent vector) and stores a vector group in which the converted latent space vectors are stacked and the processor 11 executes the operation as the generation unit 150, reads a vector group in which latent space vectors are stacked and acquires a feature quantity by a generator learned in advance using the vector group as an input and generates the relighted image by converting the feature quantity into the RGB color space.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph [0031] that the evaluation unit 170 updates the parameters of the image structure feature extraction unit 130, the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120, the mapping unit 140, and the feature correction unit 160 using an optimization method to minimize an error between the estimated lighting environment, the relighted image, the corrected relighted image, and the training data. In the present embodiment, the evaluation unit 170 acquires the estimated lighting environment from the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120, and acquires the relighted image and the corrected relighted image from the feature correction unit 160. Further, the evaluation unit 170 acquires the training image and the lighting environment of the training image from the data input unit 110. Furthermore, in a case where the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120 estimates the lighting environment of the input image, the evaluation unit 170 acquires the lighting environment of the input image from the data input unit 110. Then, the evaluation unit 170 calculates, from the error function, an error between the estimated lighting environment and the lighting environment of the training image or the lighting environment of the input image, and an error between each of the relighted image and the corrected relighted image and the training image. The error function uses an L1 norm or an L2 norm. In addition, as an option, the L1 norm or the L2 norm of the feature calculated by an encoder used in existing image classification such as VGG, an encoder used for identification of the same person such as ArcFace, or the like may be added for the error between each of the relighted image and the corrected relighted image and the training image. Thereafter, using an optimization method designated in any manner by the user from the calculated error, the evaluation unit 170 obtains the gradient of the parameter of each of the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120, the image structure feature extraction unit 130, the mapping unit 140, and the feature correction unit 160 to minimize these errors, and updates each parameter. At this time, the parameters may be updated such that each error is treated equally and each error is minimized on average, or the parameters may be updated such that the error to be prioritized the most is minimized by giving a weight between the errors. Note that the generation unit 150 does not update the parameter. Finally, the evaluation unit 170 passes the parameters of the deep layer generation model that has learned the training image, the input image, and the corrected relighted image to the model storage unit 180).
Re Claim 5:
The claim 5 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the target lighting representation indicates a direction and an intensity of a light source.
Dherse further teaches the claim limitation that the target lighting representation indicates a direction and an intensity of a light source (
Dherse teaches at Page 5, Section 3.1 and FIG. 10 that latent light scene split and illumination predictor with light direction and light color temperature prediction auxiliary losses and the scene is illuminated in different directions and an encoder-decoder predicts the illumination corresponding to the source image and replace it with the target lighting. Dherse teaches at Section 3.1 that the illumination space is the Cartesian product of the light color temperature set (intensities) and the light direction set).
Re Claim 7:
The claim 7 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that obtaining an additional lighting representation;
generating an additional latent vector based on the input latent vector and the additional lighting representation; and
generating an additional image based on the additional latent vector, wherein the additional image shares an attribute with the image and has different lighting from the image according to the additional lighting representation.
Dherse further teaches the claim limitation that obtaining an additional lighting representation;
generating an additional latent vector based on the input latent vector and the additional lighting representation; and
generating an additional image based on the additional latent vector, wherein the additional image shares an attribute with the image and has different lighting from the image according to the additional lighting representation (
Dherse teaches at Page 5, Section 3.1 and FIG. 10 that latent light scene split and illumination predictor with light direction and light color temperature prediction auxiliary losses and the scene is illuminated in different directions and an encoder-decoder predicts the illumination corresponding to the source image and replace it with the target lighting. Dherse teaches at Section 3.1 that the illumination space is the Cartesian product of the light color temperature set (intensities) and the light direction set and at Page 10 that the color temperature has been translated into RGB values with the use of the Color-Science Python library and we represent light direction as a Gaussian distribution over value/brightness component of the light color in HSL color space…..The other half is used for light color estimation in HSL color space.
Dherse teaches at FIGS. 7-9 example of relighting is performed for an input I and target T repeatedly).
Re Claim 8:
The claim 8 is in parallel with the claim 1 in a method form. The claim 8 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 1.
Moreover, Dherse further teaches the claim limitation:
Generating a training image based on the input latent vector and the target lighting representation using the image generation network (Dherse teaches at Section 3 generating by the deep learning network a training image based on the input latent vector of the original image I and the target lighting representation Lt);
Computing a lighting loss based on the training image (Dherse teaches at Section 3.4 computing the scene latent loss and light latent loss);
Re Claim 9:
The claim 9 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 8 except additional claim limitation that computing an output lighting representation based on the training image; and comparing the output lighting representation to the target lighting representation, wherein the lighting loss is based on the comparison of the output lighting representation to the target lighting representation.
Dherse and Yamada further teach the claim limitation that computing an output lighting representation based on the training image (Dherse teaches at Section 3 generating by the deep learning network a training image based on the input latent vector of the original image I and the target lighting representation Lt. Dherse teaches at Section 3.4 computing the scene latent loss and light latent loss.
Dherse teaches at Page 5, Section 3.1 and FIG. 10 that latent light scene split and illumination predictor with light direction and light color temperature prediction auxiliary losses and the scene is illuminated in different directions and an encoder-decoder predicts the illumination corresponding to the source image and replace it with the target lighting. Dherse teaches at Section 3.1 that the illumination space is the Cartesian product of the light color temperature set (intensities) and the light direction set and at Page 10 that the color temperature has been translated into RGB values with the use of the Color-Science Python library and we represent light direction as a Gaussian distribution over value/brightness component of the light color in HSL color space…..The other half is used for light color estimation in HSL color space.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0028-0030 that each encoder converts the input data into a vector representing a latent space of the generation unit 150 and the mapping unit 140 acquires the lighting environment of the training image from the data input unit 110. The mapping unit 140 acquires a latent space vector by embedding, in the latent space of the image generation model, a feature quantity obtained by reflecting a condition vector expressing a lighting environment in which relighting is performed. The generation unit 150 acquires the latent space vector group from the mapping unit 140 and generates the feature quantity of the image structure in each layer of the generator. The generation unit 150 generates a relighted image by converting the feature quantity having the highest resolution of the feature group B into an RGB color space and passes the generated relighted image to the feature correction unit 160 and the feature correction unit 160 generates a corrected relighted image obtained by correcting the relighted image); and comparing the output lighting representation to the target lighting representation, wherein the lighting loss is based on the comparison of the output lighting representation to the target lighting representation (Yamada teaches at Paragraph [0031] that the evaluation unit 170 updates the parameters of the image structure feature extraction unit 130, the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120, the mapping unit 140, and the feature correction unit 160 using an optimization method to minimize an error between the estimated lighting environment, the relighted image, the corrected relighted image, and the training data. In the present embodiment, the evaluation unit 170 acquires the estimated lighting environment from the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120, and acquires the relighted image and the corrected relighted image from the feature correction unit 160. Further, the evaluation unit 170 acquires the training image and the lighting environment of the training image from the data input unit 110. Furthermore, in a case where the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120 estimates the lighting environment of the input image, the evaluation unit 170 acquires the lighting environment of the input image from the data input unit 110. Then, the evaluation unit 170 calculates, from the error function, an error between the estimated lighting environment and the lighting environment of the training image or the lighting environment of the input image, and an error between each of the relighted image and the corrected relighted image and the training image. The error function uses an L1 norm or an L2 norm. In addition, as an option, the L1 norm or the L2 norm of the feature calculated by an encoder used in existing image classification such as VGG, an encoder used for identification of the same person such as ArcFace, or the like may be added for the error between each of the relighted image and the corrected relighted image and the training image. Thereafter, using an optimization method designated in any manner by the user from the calculated error, the evaluation unit 170 obtains the gradient of the parameter of each of the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120, the image structure feature extraction unit 130, the mapping unit 140, and the feature correction unit 160 to minimize these errors, and updates each parameter. At this time, the parameters may be updated such that each error is treated equally and each error is minimized on average, or the parameters may be updated such that the error to be prioritized the most is minimized by giving a weight between the errors. Note that the generation unit 150 does not update the parameter. Finally, the evaluation unit 170 passes the parameters of the deep layer generation model that has learned the training image, the input image, and the corrected relighted image to the model storage unit 180).
Re Claim 10:
The claim 10 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 9 except additional claim limitation that the latent mapper is trained based on the lighting loss.
Dherse and Yamada further teach the claim limitation that the latent mapper is trained based on the lighting loss (
Dherse teaches at Appendix A and FIG. 10 (citing Sun’s BottleNeck) that the image generation network includes a network structure architecture including the latent-scene split and illumination predictor which draws in parallel with Hu’s light estimation Net and Light-to-Feature Net and Sun’s BottleNeck as a neural network and the latent-scene split and illumination predictor splits the light-scene into the scene latent vector and the light latent vector for the input image and the target image and then combines the input scene encoding of the input image and target light encoding of the target image and the network structure is separate from the Decoder of the image generation network.
Dherse further shows at FIG. 12 a network architecture includes the weighted pooling separate from the encoder and decoder wherein the weighted pooling produces a modified latent vector based on the input scene encoding and the target light encoding.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0044-0046 that the processor 11 (acts the mapping unit 140) converts the combined feature quantity into a latent space vector (a modified latent vector) and stores a vector group in which the converted latent space vectors are stacked and the processor 11 executes the operation as the generation unit 150, reads a vector group in which latent space vectors are stacked and acquires a feature quantity by a generator learned in advance using the vector group as an input and generates the relighted image by converting the feature quantity into the RGB color space.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph [0031] that the evaluation unit 170 updates the parameters of the image structure feature extraction unit 130, the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120, the mapping unit 140, and the feature correction unit 160 using an optimization method to minimize an error between the estimated lighting environment, the relighted image, the corrected relighted image, and the training data. In the present embodiment, the evaluation unit 170 acquires the estimated lighting environment from the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120, and acquires the relighted image and the corrected relighted image from the feature correction unit 160. Further, the evaluation unit 170 acquires the training image and the lighting environment of the training image from the data input unit 110. Furthermore, in a case where the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120 estimates the lighting environment of the input image, the evaluation unit 170 acquires the lighting environment of the input image from the data input unit 110. Then, the evaluation unit 170 calculates, from the error function, an error between the estimated lighting environment and the lighting environment of the training image or the lighting environment of the input image, and an error between each of the relighted image and the corrected relighted image and the training image. The error function uses an L1 norm or an L2 norm. In addition, as an option, the L1 norm or the L2 norm of the feature calculated by an encoder used in existing image classification such as VGG, an encoder used for identification of the same person such as ArcFace, or the like may be added for the error between each of the relighted image and the corrected relighted image and the training image. Thereafter, using an optimization method designated in any manner by the user from the calculated error, the evaluation unit 170 obtains the gradient of the parameter of each of the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120, the image structure feature extraction unit 130, the mapping unit 140, and the feature correction unit 160 to minimize these errors, and updates each parameter. At this time, the parameters may be updated such that each error is treated equally and each error is minimized on average, or the parameters may be updated such that the error to be prioritized the most is minimized by giving a weight between the errors. Note that the generation unit 150 does not update the parameter. Finally, the evaluation unit 170 passes the parameters of the deep layer generation model that has learned the training image, the input image, and the corrected relighted image to the model storage unit 180).
Re Claim 16:
The claim 16 is in parallel with the claim 1 in an apparatus claim. The claim 16 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 1.
Moreover, Yamada further teaches an apparatus comprising:
one or more processors (e.g., processor 11 of FIG. 2);
one or more memories including instructions executable by the one or more processors (e.g., the memory 12 of FIG. 2 and Paragraph 0035);
an image generation network comprising parameters stored in the one or more memories (Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0032 that the model storage unit 180 has parameters of the learned deep layer generation model and at Paragraph 0036 that the data memory 13 uses as the model storage unit 180).
Re Claim 17:
The claim 17 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 16 except additional claim limitation that the image generation network comprises a generative adversarial network.
Dherse and Yamada further teach the claim limitation that the image generation network comprises a generative adversarial network (
Dherse teaches at Section 5.1 the image generation network is GAN.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0029 that the generator uses a deep layer generation model obtained by pre-learning a task of generating only a target to be relighted using a large-scale data set such as StyleGAN2. It is known that StyleGAN is a generative adversarial network).
Re Claim 18:
The claim 18 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 17 except additional claim limitation that the image generation network comprises the latent mapper configured to generate the modified latent vector based on an input latent vector and the target lighting representation.
Dherse and Yamada further teach the claim limitation that the image generation network comprises the latent mapper configured to generate the modified latent vector based on an input latent vector and the target lighting representation (
Dherse teaches at Section 3.1 that the deep learning network takes the original image I and the target image T from which the lighting conditions should be acquired and the ground truth image G(I, T) corresponds to the input scene and the target illumination LT.
It is known that the output image Ĝ(I, T) is generated by the deep learning network to approximate actual G(I, T) corresponding to the input scene and the target illumination LT. Thus, the deep learning network takes the target illumination LT as the second input to generate the latent representation of the target illumination and the latent vector encoded from the input scene I as first input.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.2 (Page 8) that the target illumination LT is represented by a small environment map image.
Dherse teaches the claim invention in the same manner as Applicant’s specification.
The encoder-decoder network of Dherse FIG. 3 corresponds to the relighting model 330 takes an input image I (as opposed to an input latent vector) and the target image T representing the target illumination LT. The encoder within the encoder-decoder network produces an input latent vector for I based on the new lighting condition T to generate a new latent vector.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.1 that the deep learning network we used to solve the image relighting task takes two images as input: the original image I in which lighting conditions should be changed and the target image T from which the lighting conditions LT should be acquired. The target illumination conditions are encoded as the latent representation to generate one encoding representing the original image under the new light conditions.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.3 that predicting from it directly light condition properties and the encoding fed to the decoder consists of the scene latent representation from I and light latent representation encoded from T.
Dherse teaches at Section 3.2-3.3 and FIG. 3 that the image generation network includes encoder/decoder system G with the input latent vector representing the input image I and the target lighting representation T and we use an encoder for I and T that transforms two images into their respective latent representations and the latent space of the decoder is different from the light conditions LT of a given image….the decoder will be provided with the encoding of T in conjunction with skip connections from the encoder of I. Accordingly, the lighting condition LT is different from the latent encoding of I.
Dherse teaches at Section 3 at Page 8 that our network encoder for I and T transforms two images into their respective latent representations and a single representation is decoded into an output image.
Yamada teaches the same latent space of the image generation model where the latent vector of the input image is generated and the modified latent vector reflecting the lighting environment is generated. Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0007 and Paragraph 0028 embedding an input image in a latent space of an image generation unit. It is the same latent space where the input image is converted into a latent vector in the latent space of the generation unit 150 and the modified latent vector is generated by the generation unit 150 in the same latent space of the image generation model that reflects the lighting environment.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0028 that the mapping unit maps the latent vector of the input image to a modified latent space vector reflecting a condition vector expressing a lighting environment in which relighting is performed. Yamada further teaches at Paragraph 0044 that the processor 11 converts the combined feature quantity into a latent space vector (a modified latent space vector).
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0028-0030 that each encoder converts the input data into a vector representing a latent space (input latent vector) of the generation unit 150. hen, the mapping unit 140 acquires a latent space vector (the modified latent space vector) by embedding, in the latent space of the image generation model learned with the large-scale data set, a feature quantity obtained by reflecting a condition vector expressing a lighting environment in which relighting is performed.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0043 that the processor 11 executes the operation as the image structure feature extraction unit 130 simultaneously in parallel with the processing in step S12. That is, the processor 11 reads an input image I from the temporary storage area 13B, and extracts, from the input image I, a feature quantity for estimating a shape and/or texture, which is a feature quantity of an image structure of the input image I (step S13). The processor 11 stores the feature group A (latent vector of the input image) in which the feature quantities of the extracted image structures are stacked in the temporary storage area 13B.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0044 that the processor 11 executes the operation as the mapping unit 140, reads the feature group A in which the lighting environment and the feature quantity of the training image are stacked from the temporary storage area 13B, and combines the feature group A with the feature quantity of the image structure (step S14). The lighting environment of the training image is a lighting environment desired to be reflected. The processor 11 converts the combined feature quantity into a latent space vector (a modified latent space vector).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over A. P. Dherse, et al., “Scene relighting with illumination estimation in the latent space on an encoder-decoder scheme”, DOI:10.48550/arXiv.2006.02333, June 3, 2020, pp. 1-30 (hereinafter Dherse) in view of Yamada et al. US-PGPUB No. 2024/0185391 (hereinafter Yamada) incorporating by reference Sun et al., “Single Image Portrait Relighting” at https://dl.acm.org/doi/pdf/10.1145/3306346.3323008, ACM Transactions on Graphics (TOG), Vol. 38, Issue 4, August 2019, pp. 79:1-19.12 (hereinafter Sun);
Hu, Z., Huang, X., Li, Y., Wang, Q.: SA-AE for any-to-any relighting. In: Proceedings of the European Conference on Computer Vision Workshops (ECCVW) (2020) (hereinafter Hu).
and Zhu et al. US-PGPUB No. 2022/0335689 (hereinafter Zhu).
Re Claim 6:
The claim 6 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that generating a random input vector; and generating the input latent vector based on the random input vector.
Zhu teaches the claim limitation that generating a random input vector; and generating the input latent vector based on the random input vector (
Zhu teaches at Paragraph 0113 that Z is the noise vector in the latent space.
Zhu teaches at Paragraph [0067] The generator network G of the Info-WGAN is trained to map a combination of a noise vector z and a latent code vector c as input to a simulated image x (such as a 2D image of pixels or 3D volume of voxels) of geological facies. For example, the pixels or voxels of the simulated image x can represent attributes, such as rock type, of geological facies of a subterranean formation or portion thereof. The noise vector z is in a one-dimensional latent space. The latent code vector c can have specific values for different categories of geological facies represented by the simulated image x.
Zhu teaches at Paragraph [0034] In embodiments, the noise vector can be in a one-dimensional latent space, and the category code vector can have specific values for different categories of geological facies represented by the simulated images produced by the generator neural network.
Zhu teaches at Paragraph 0068 that the discriminator network can be trained to map images to labels corresponding to the categories of geological faces and at Paragraph 0070 that in an online phase after the training phase is complete and the generator network G has been trained, combinations of values for the noise vector z and latent code vector c can be input to the generator network G which is configured to map each combination of noise vector z and latent code vector c into a simulated image of geological faces. The trained discriminator network D can be used in the online phase to map one or more simulated images of geological facies produced by the generator network G as input to a label corresponding to a particular category of geological facies for each simulated image. The dimensional space of the category label output by the discriminator network D corresponds to the different categories of geological facies represented by the latent code vector c input to the generator network G during training).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated the GAN of Zhu to have modified StyleGAN of Yamada to have trained the generator network to map a combination of the input noise vector and a latent code vector to a simulated image and use a discriminator to have identified the category of the simulated image. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have trained the generator network using the input noise vector and a latent code vector.
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over A. P. Dherse, et al., “Scene relighting with illumination estimation in the latent space on an encoder-decoder scheme”, DOI:10.48550/arXiv.2006.02333, June 3, 2020, pp. 1-30 (hereinafter Dherse) in view of Yamada et al. US-PGPUB No. 2024/0185391 (hereinafter Yamada) incorporating by reference Sun et al., “Single Image Portrait Relighting” at https://dl.acm.org/doi/pdf/10.1145/3306346.3323008, ACM Transactions on Graphics (TOG), Vol. 38, Issue 4, August 2019, pp. 79:1-19.12 (hereinafter Sun);
Hu, Z., Huang, X., Li, Y., Wang, Q.: SA-AE for any-to-any relighting. In: Proceedings of the European Conference on Computer Vision Workshops (ECCVW) (2020) (hereinafter Hu).
and Liu et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0252692 (hereinafter Liu).
Re Claim 11:
The claim 11 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 8 except additional claim limitation that generating a comparison image based on the input latent vector; and computing an attribute loss based on the training image and the comparison image, wherein the image generation network is trained based on the attribute loss.
Yamada at least suggests the claim limitation that generating a comparison image based on the input latent vector; and computing an attribute loss based on the training image and the comparison image, wherein the image generation network is trained based on the attribute loss (Yamada teaches at Paragraph 0044-0046 that the processor 11 (acts the mapping unit 140) converts the combined feature quantity into a latent space vector (a modified latent vector) and stores a vector group in which the converted latent space vectors are stacked and the processor 11 executes the operation as the generation unit 150, reads a vector group in which latent space vectors are stacked and acquires a feature quantity by a generator learned in advance using the vector group as an input and generates the relighted image by converting the feature quantity into the RGB color space.
Yamada teaches at Paragraph [0031] that the evaluation unit 170 updates the parameters of the image structure feature extraction unit 130, the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120, the mapping unit 140, and the feature correction unit 160 using an optimization method to minimize an error between the estimated lighting environment, the relighted image, the corrected relighted image, and the training data. In the present embodiment, the evaluation unit 170 acquires the estimated lighting environment from the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120, and acquires the relighted image and the corrected relighted image from the feature correction unit 160. Further, the evaluation unit 170 acquires the training image and the lighting environment of the training image from the data input unit 110. Furthermore, in a case where the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120 estimates the lighting environment of the input image, the evaluation unit 170 acquires the lighting environment of the input image from the data input unit 110. Then, the evaluation unit 170 calculates, from the error function, an error between the estimated lighting environment and the lighting environment of the training image or the lighting environment of the input image, and an error between each of the relighted image and the corrected relighted image and the training image. The error function uses an L1 norm or an L2 norm. In addition, as an option, the L1 norm or the L2 norm of the feature calculated by an encoder used in existing image classification such as VGG, an encoder used for identification of the same person such as ArcFace, or the like may be added for the error between each of the relighted image and the corrected relighted image and the training image. Thereafter, using an optimization method designated in any manner by the user from the calculated error, the evaluation unit 170 obtains the gradient of the parameter of each of the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120, the image structure feature extraction unit 130, the mapping unit 140, and the feature correction unit 160 to minimize these errors, and updates each parameter. At this time, the parameters may be updated such that each error is treated equally and each error is minimized on average, or the parameters may be updated such that the error to be prioritized the most is minimized by giving a weight between the errors. Note that the generation unit 150 does not update the parameter. Finally, the evaluation unit 170 passes the parameters of the deep layer generation model that has learned the training image, the input image, and the corrected relighted image to the model storage unit 180).
Liu further teaches the claim limitation that generating a comparison image based on the input latent vector; and computing an attribute loss based on the training image and the comparison image, wherein the image generation network is trained based on the attribute loss (
Liu teaches at Paragraph [0044] that the correspondence generation system may be trained with one or more objectives including a texture swapping constraint, a structure swapping constraint, a warping loss, a Chamfer loss, and a standard GAN objective. The loss function unit 205 evaluates an overall training objective including one or more of the objectives and backpropagates the transformation and generator parameter updates to reduce the loss. The texture swapping constraint is applied to ensure that the correspondence generation system generates the same identity and image layout when the structure is fixed and only the encoded image texture 250 is modified. Given a pair of synthesized images with a shared encoded image structure 240 (derived from the latent structure vector z.sub.s) and different encoded image textures 250 (derived from the latent texture vectors z.sub.t.sub.1, z.sub.t.sub.2), the texture swapping loss [AltContent: rect].sub.t is defined as the learned perceptual image patch similarity (LPIPS) loss between the two synthesized images.
Liu teaches at Paragraph [0061] that combining the encoder 310 with the correspondence generation system 100 along with the texture map neural network 320 and the structure map neural network 330 enables the extraction of dense correspondence from real images. Specifically, an encoder E(⋅;θ.sub.E) parameterized by θ.sub.E is introduced to map an image x to a pair of structure w.sub.s,E and texture w.sub.t,E latent codes (e.g., latent texture and latent structure vectors). The latent texture and latent structure vectors are then mapped to the encoded image texture 150 and structure 140, respectively, and input to the correspondence generation system 100 to synthesize a replica of the image. Embedding real images directly into W+ space rather than W space typically results in better reconstruction. Therefore, in an embodiment, the encoder 310 outputs latent texture vectors w.sub.t,E.sup.+ in W+ space as opposed to encoding w.sub.t,E.sup.+ in W space. During training, the modulated generator 120 may be fixed (i.e., the generator parameters 165 may be held constant) while the encoder parameters are optimized via latent consistency, reconstruction, and/or texture swapping losses.
Liu teaches at Paragraph [0062] that the latent consistency loss may be introduced by feeding synthesized images back into the encoder 310 and matching the distribution of outputs produced by the encoder 310 to that originally produced by the correspondence generation system 100. Suppose an image is synthesized with encoded image texture 150 w.sub.t the encoded image structure 140 w.sub.s, and the correspondence map 160 C.sup.w. Inputting the synthesized image back into the encoder 310 produces the encoded image texture 150 w.sub.t,E.sup.+ and the encoded image structure 140 w.sub.s,E, and the correspondence map 160 C.sub.E).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Liu’s image generation network using latent consistency and texture swapping losses to have optimized the parameters of the image generation network. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have synthesized an image by the image generation network to have optimized the texture swapping losses.
Re Claim 12:
The claim 12 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 8 except additional claim limitation that generating a comparison image based on the input latent vector;
and computing a texture loss based on the training image and the comparison image, wherein the image generation network is trained based on the texture loss.
Liu further teaches the claim limitation that generating a comparison image based on the input latent vector; and computing a texture loss based on the training image and the comparison image, wherein the image generation network is trained based on the texture loss (
Liu teaches at Paragraph [0044] that the correspondence generation system may be trained with one or more objectives including a texture swapping constraint, a structure swapping constraint, a warping loss, a Chamfer loss, and a standard GAN objective. The loss function unit 205 evaluates an overall training objective including one or more of the objectives and backpropagates the transformation and generator parameter updates to reduce the loss. The texture swapping constraint is applied to ensure that the correspondence generation system generates the same identity and image layout when the structure is fixed and only the encoded image texture 250 is modified. Given a pair of synthesized images with a shared encoded image structure 240 (derived from the latent structure vector z.sub.s) and different encoded image textures 250 (derived from the latent texture vectors z.sub.t.sub.1, z.sub.t.sub.2), the texture swapping loss [AltContent: rect].sub.t is defined as the learned perceptual image patch similarity (LPIPS) loss between the two synthesized images.
Liu teaches at Paragraph [0061] that combining the encoder 310 with the correspondence generation system 100 along with the texture map neural network 320 and the structure map neural network 330 enables the extraction of dense correspondence from real images. Specifically, an encoder E(⋅;θ.sub.E) parameterized by θ.sub.E is introduced to map an image x to a pair of structure w.sub.s,E and texture w.sub.t,E latent codes (e.g., latent texture and latent structure vectors). The latent texture and latent structure vectors are then mapped to the encoded image texture 150 and structure 140, respectively, and input to the correspondence generation system 100 to synthesize a replica of the image. Embedding real images directly into W+ space rather than W space typically results in better reconstruction. Therefore, in an embodiment, the encoder 310 outputs latent texture vectors w.sub.t,E.sup.+ in W+ space as opposed to encoding w.sub.t,E.sup.+ in W space. During training, the modulated generator 120 may be fixed (i.e., the generator parameters 165 may be held constant) while the encoder parameters are optimized via latent consistency, reconstruction, and/or texture swapping losses.
Liu teaches at Paragraph [0062] that the latent consistency loss may be introduced by feeding synthesized images back into the encoder 310 and matching the distribution of outputs produced by the encoder 310 to that originally produced by the correspondence generation system 100. Suppose an image is synthesized with encoded image texture 150 w.sub.t the encoded image structure 140 w.sub.s, and the correspondence map 160 C.sup.w. Inputting the synthesized image back into the encoder 310 produces the encoded image texture 150 w.sub.t,E.sup.+ and the encoded image structure 140 w.sub.s,E, and the correspondence map 160 C.sub.E).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Liu’s image generation network using latent consistency and texture swapping losses to have optimized the parameters of the image generation network. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have synthesized an image by the image generation network to have optimized the texture swapping losses.
Re Claim 13:
The claim 13 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 8 except additional claim limitation that generating a comparison image based on the input latent vector;
and computing an expression loss based on the training image and the comparison image, wherein the image generation network is trained based on the expression loss.
Yamada teaches the claim limitation claim limitation that generating a comparison image based on the input latent vector; and computing an expression loss based on the training image and the comparison image, wherein the image generation network is trained based on the expression loss (Yamada teaches at Paragraph [0031] that the evaluation unit 170 updates the parameters of the image structure feature extraction unit 130, the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120, the mapping unit 140, and the feature correction unit 160 using an optimization method to minimize an error between the estimated lighting environment, the relighted image, the corrected relighted image, and the training data. In the present embodiment, the evaluation unit 170 acquires the estimated lighting environment from the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120, and acquires the relighted image and the corrected relighted image from the feature correction unit 160. Further, the evaluation unit 170 acquires the training image and the lighting environment of the training image from the data input unit 110. Furthermore, in a case where the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120 estimates the lighting environment of the input image, the evaluation unit 170 acquires the lighting environment of the input image from the data input unit 110. Then, the evaluation unit 170 calculates, from the error function, an error between the estimated lighting environment and the lighting environment of the training image or the lighting environment of the input image, and an error between each of the relighted image and the corrected relighted image and the training image. The error function uses an L1 norm or an L2 norm. In addition, as an option, the L1 norm or the L2 norm of the feature calculated by an encoder used in existing image classification such as VGG, an encoder used for identification of the same person such as ArcFace, or the like may be added for the error between each of the relighted image and the corrected relighted image and the training image. Thereafter, using an optimization method designated in any manner by the user from the calculated error, the evaluation unit 170 obtains the gradient of the parameter of each of the lighting environment feature extraction unit 120, the image structure feature extraction unit 130, the mapping unit 140, and the feature correction unit 160 to minimize these errors, and updates each parameter. At this time, the parameters may be updated such that each error is treated equally and each error is minimized on average, or the parameters may be updated such that the error to be prioritized the most is minimized by giving a weight between the errors. Note that the generation unit 150 does not update the parameter. Finally, the evaluation unit 170 passes the parameters of the deep layer generation model that has learned the training image, the input image, and the corrected relighted image to the model storage unit 180).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Liu’s image generation network using latent consistency and texture swapping losses to have optimized the parameters of the image generation network. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have synthesized an image by the image generation network to have optimized the texture swapping losses.
Re Claim 14:
The claim 14 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 8 except additional claim limitation that generating a comparison image based on the input latent vector;
and computing a consistency loss based on the training image and the comparison image, wherein the image generation network is trained based on the consistency loss.
Liu further teaches the claim limitation that generating a comparison image based on the input latent vector;
and computing a consistency loss based on the training image and the comparison image, wherein the image generation network is trained based on the consistency loss (
Liu teaches at Paragraph [0044] that the correspondence generation system may be trained with one or more objectives including a texture swapping constraint, a structure swapping constraint, a warping loss, a Chamfer loss, and a standard GAN objective. The loss function unit 205 evaluates an overall training objective including one or more of the objectives and backpropagates the transformation and generator parameter updates to reduce the loss. The texture swapping constraint is applied to ensure that the correspondence generation system generates the same identity and image layout when the structure is fixed and only the encoded image texture 250 is modified. Given a pair of synthesized images with a shared encoded image structure 240 (derived from the latent structure vector z.sub.s) and different encoded image textures 250 (derived from the latent texture vectors z.sub.t.sub.1, z.sub.t.sub.2), the texture swapping loss [AltContent: rect].sub.t is defined as the learned perceptual image patch similarity (LPIPS) loss between the two synthesized images.
Liu teaches at Paragraph [0061] that combining the encoder 310 with the correspondence generation system 100 along with the texture map neural network 320 and the structure map neural network 330 enables the extraction of dense correspondence from real images. Specifically, an encoder E(⋅;θ.sub.E) parameterized by θ.sub.E is introduced to map an image x to a pair of structure w.sub.s,E and texture w.sub.t,E latent codes (e.g., latent texture and latent structure vectors). The latent texture and latent structure vectors are then mapped to the encoded image texture 150 and structure 140, respectively, and input to the correspondence generation system 100 to synthesize a replica of the image. Embedding real images directly into W+ space rather than W space typically results in better reconstruction. Therefore, in an embodiment, the encoder 310 outputs latent texture vectors w.sub.t,E.sup.+ in W+ space as opposed to encoding w.sub.t,E.sup.+ in W space. During training, the modulated generator 120 may be fixed (i.e., the generator parameters 165 may be held constant) while the encoder parameters are optimized via latent consistency, reconstruction, and/or texture swapping losses.
Liu teaches at Paragraph [0062] that the latent consistency loss may be introduced by feeding synthesized images back into the encoder 310 and matching the distribution of outputs produced by the encoder 310 to that originally produced by the correspondence generation system 100. Suppose an image is synthesized with encoded image texture 150 w.sub.t the encoded image structure 140 w.sub.s, and the correspondence map 160 C.sup.w. Inputting the synthesized image back into the encoder 310 produces the encoded image texture 150 w.sub.t,E.sup.+ and the encoded image structure 140 w.sub.s,E, and the correspondence map 160 C.sub.E).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Liu’s image generation network using latent consistency and texture swapping losses to have optimized the parameters of the image generation network. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have synthesized an image by the image generation network to have optimized the latent consistency losses.
Re Claim 15:
The claim 15 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 8 except additional claim limitation that computing a discriminator loss using a discriminator network, wherein the image generation network is trained based on the discriminator loss.
Liu teaches the claim limitation that computing a discriminator loss using a discriminator network, wherein the image generation network is trained based on the discriminator loss (
Liu teaches at Paragraph [0045] that the structure swapping constraint is applied to encourage images that share the same encoded image texture 250 to have similarly looking textures. This consists of encouraging two images with the same encoded image texture 250 (derived from the latent texture vector z.sub.t) but different encoded image structure 240 (derived from the latent structure vectors z.sub.s.sub.1, z.sub.s.sub.2) to have similar textures. A non-saturating GAN loss based on a patch discriminator may be used to define the structure swapping loss:
Liu teaches at Paragraph [0046] that a warping loss is defined to explicitly regularize the correspondence map produced by the coordinate warping unit 210. Given a pair of synthesized images x.sub.1=G(z.sub.s.sub.1, z.sub.t.sub.1; θ.sub.G) and x.sub.2=G(z.sub.s.sub.2, z.sub.t.sub.2; θ.sub.G), x.sub.1 is warped to the coordinate frame of x.sub.2 by transferring pixel colors according to Equation (1). In practice, Equation (1) may be relaxed with an affinity matrix to make the warping differentiable, producing a warped image x.sub.2,1.sup.w. A warping loss based on the LPIPS loss).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Liu’s image generation network using the GAN discriminator losses, latent consistency and texture swapping losses to have optimized the parameters of the image generation network. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have synthesized an image by the image generation network to have optimized the discriminator losses.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over A. P. Dherse, et al., “Scene relighting with illumination estimation in the latent space on an encoder-decoder scheme”, DOI:10.48550/arXiv.2006.02333, June 3, 2020, pp. 1-30 (hereinafter Dherse) in view of Yamada et al. US-PGPUB No. 2024/0185391 (hereinafter Yamada) incorporating by reference Sun et al., “Single Image Portrait Relighting” at https://dl.acm.org/doi/pdf/10.1145/3306346.3323008, ACM Transactions on Graphics (TOG), Vol. 38, Issue 4, August 2019, pp. 79:1-19.12 (hereinafter Sun);
Hu, Z., Huang, X., Li, Y., Wang, Q.: SA-AE for any-to-any relighting. In: Proceedings of the European Conference on Computer Vision Workshops (ECCVW) (2020) (hereinafter Hu);
Zhu et al. US-PGPUB No. 2022/0335689 (hereinafter Zhu) and Ranganathan et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0215128 (hereinafter Ranganathan).
Re Claim 19:
The claim 19 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 18 except additional claim limitation that the latent mapper comprises one or more fully connected layers with ReLU activation.
However, Ranganathan teachers the claim limitation that the latent mapper comprises one or more fully connected layers with ReLU activation (Ranganathan teaches at Paragraph [0047] In an example implementation of modeling system 220, the model type for encoder neural network 710 may be a convolutional neural network for image generation. Encoder neural network 710 may use convolutional layers with a Rectified Linear Unit (ReLU) activation function and a Wasserstein loss function. In this example, the model type for decoder neural network 720 may be an image classification model. Decoder neural network 720 may use convolutional layers and fully connected dense layers with a ReLU activation function and a Wasserstein loss function).
Zhu teachers the claim limitation that the mapping network comprises one or more fully connected layers with ReLU activation (Zhu teaches at Paragraph [0005] A more efficient and practical structure of GANs was proposed by Radford et al. in “Unsupervised Representation Learning with Deep Convolutional Generative Adversarial Networks,” arXiv:151106434, 2015, which introduced deep convolutional generative adversarial networks (DCGAN) to learn a hierarchy of representations from object parts to scenes in both the generator and discriminator. The DCGAN replaces pooling layers with strided convolutions (discriminator) and fractional-strided convolutions (generator), uses batch normalization in both the generator and the discriminator, removes fully connected hidden layers for deeper architectures, uses the ReLU activation function in the generator for all layers except for the output (which uses the Tanh activation function), and uses the LeakyReLU activation function in the discriminator for all layers. This DCGAN structure has become a standard implementation of GANs in general image representations and image generations.).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have recognized that fully connected dense layers inherently includes ReLU activation function. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have implemented the fully connected dense layers with ReLU activation function.
Re Claim 20:
The claim 20 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 19 except additional claim limitation that a training component comprising a lighting estimator configured to generate an estimated lighting representation of an output image, wherein the lighting loss is based on the estimated lighting representation.
Dherse further teaches the claim limitation that a training component comprising a lighting estimator configured to generate an estimated lighting representation of an output image, wherein the lighting loss is based on the estimated lighting representation (
Dherse teaches at Section 3 generating by the deep learning network a training image based on the input latent vector of the original image I and the target lighting representation Lt. Dherse teaches at Section 3.4 computing the scene latent loss and light latent loss.
Dherse teaches at Page 5, Section 3.1 and FIG. 10 that latent light scene split and illumination predictor with light direction and light color temperature prediction auxiliary losses and the scene is illuminated in different directions and an encoder-decoder predicts the illumination corresponding to the source image and replace it with the target lighting. Dherse teaches at Section 3.1 that the illumination space is the Cartesian product of the light color temperature set (intensities) and the light direction set and at Page 10 that the color temperature has been translated into RGB values with the use of the Color-Science Python library and we represent light direction as a Gaussian distribution over value/brightness component of the light color in HSL color space…..The other half is used for light color estimation in HSL color space.
Dherse teaches at FIGS. 7-9 example of relighting is performed for an input I and target T repeatedly).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIN CHENG WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617