DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumi et al. (2003/0114615) in view of Sato et al. (2009/0038821).
Regarding claims 1-2: Sumi et al. teach a copolymer comprising a tetrafluoroethylene unit (A) and a perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) (B), wherein the molar ratio of (A)/(B) is in the range of from 98.1/1.9 to 95.0/5.0; and a melt flow rate at 372°C of 35 to 60 g/10 min [0006-0008; Examples].
Sumi et al. teach ranges that overlap the claimed mass percent of perfluoro (propyl vinyl ether) and the claimed melt flow rate.
The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Sumi et al. fail to teach the total number of claimed functional groups per main chain carbon atoms.
However, Sato et al. teach an analogous copolymer, wherein when the total number of unstable terminal groups (--COF, --COOH, --COOCH3, --CONH2 and –CH2OH) [0040] is less than 10 per 1 x 106 main-chain carbon atoms the thermal stability and electrical characteristics are improved [0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use less the claimed functional groups in an amount of less than 10 per 1 x 106 main-chain carbon atoms as taught by Sato et al. in the copolymer of Sumi et al. to improve the thermal stability and electrical characteristics.
Regarding claim 3: Sumi et al. teach an injection molded article [0027, 0029; Examples].
Regarding claims 4-5: Sumi et al. teach a coating for an electric cable [0028], which is deemed to meet the limitation of a coated electrical wire.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,459,177. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,459,126. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763