DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on or reply to the remarks of 1/26/2026. The instant application has claims 1-20 pending. The system, method and medium for providing an guest account for an playback system There a total of 20 claims.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/413933 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and claims of ‘433 application recites the guest account being created for an time period for an playback system. Thus, the instant claims are obvious of claims of ‘433 application(based on same assignee).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
US App # 18452909
US App # 18413933
Comments
1. A computing device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing device is configured to: store data corresponding to a host account, the host account authorized to control a set of functionalities of a host media playback system comprising one or more playback devices; receive, from a control device, a request to communicate with at least one playback device of the host media playback system; based on a determination that the control device is not associated with the host account, generate a guest account, wherein the guest account is operative for a particular period of time and, during the particular period of time, both the host account and the guest account share control of at least one functionality in the set of functionalities; receive, from the control device, in one or more messages: (i) a set of data associated with the guest account; (ii) an indication to store the set of data and (iii) a guest identifier; after the particular period of time and based on the received one or more messages, store the set of data in association with the guest identifier; and based on receiving a request to generate a user account associated with the guest identifier, generate the user account using the set of data, wherein the user account is dissociated from the host media playback system.
1. A playback device comprising: at least one processor; at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium; and program instructions collectively stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are collectively executable by the at least one processor such that the playback device is configured to: play back media content accessed via a host account registered with the playback device; receive, via a host user device registered with the host account, an indication that the playback device is allowed to operate in a guest mode, wherein the guest mode allows the playback device to temporarily access media content via one or more guest accounts different than the host account registered with the playback device; receive a guest command to play back a media item, wherein the guest command is associated with a user of a guest account; and after receiving the guest command and while the playback device is allowed to operate in the guest mode: authenticate the user of the guest account; and access the media item via the guest account for playback by the playback device.
9. The playback device of claim 1, further comprising program instructions stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the playback device is configured to dissociate the guest account from the playback device after a particular period of time.
The instant claim 1 and claim 1 + claim 9 of ‘933 application essentially recites similar subject matter. That is, the guest account being created for an playback media system. The instant claim 1 has more details relating to guest identifier and functionalities allowed to be performed it would have been obvious at the time of filing to include an guest account having identifiers and set of functionalities allowed to be performed in order to limit the capability of the guest.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 7874006 to Hassan in view of CN 109905769 to Hua.
Regarding claim 1, 16, 20, Hassan discloses A computing device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the the computing device is configured to: store data corresponding to a host account, the host account authorized to control a set of functionalities of a host media playback system comprising one or more playback devices;(Fig. 1 item 122, the compulsory directory has the host account details); receive, from a control device, a request to communicate with at least one playback device of the host media playback system(Fig. 1 item 104 & Fig. 2 item 202-206, the guest arrives to host company); based on a determination that the control device is not associated with the host account, generate a guest account, wherein the guest account is operative for a particular period of time and, during the particular period of time, both the host account and the guest account share control of at least one functionality in the set of functionalities(Fig. 2 item 208, guest account is created & Col 2 Ln 14-53, the guest account for use in enterprise); receive, from the control device, in one or more messages: (i) a set of data associated with the guest account(Col 5 Ln 23-27, the guest account is created for network access which includes user identifier); (ii) an indication to store the set of data and (iii) a guest identifier(Fig. 1 item 128, guest user directory for storing); after the particular period of time and based on the received one or more messages, store, a media playback system provider server that is remoter form the host media playback system,, the set of data in association with the guest identifier(Col 5 Ln 23-27, the guest account is created for network access which includes user identifier).
Hassan does not disclose and based on receiving a request to generate a user account associated with the guest identifier, generate the user account using the set of data, wherein the user account is dissociated from the host media playback system and system identifier is associated with the user account, wherein the system identifier is associated with a new user media playback system that is different than the host media playback system and wherein the set of data is not retained by the host media playback system after the particular period of time.
In the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Hua discloses based on receiving a request to generate a user account associated with the guest identifier, generate the user account using the set of data, wherein the user account is dissociated from the host media playback system(Page 11 ¶ starting “Specifically, of the operation of selecting…” to ¶ starting “S204: If no operation…” , first account and second account are linked and are switch by user’s operation & Page 12 ¶ “S303, if operation…”, the new second account is created that is a subaccount of first account); a system identifier is associated with the user account, wherein the system identifier is associated with a new user media playback system that is different than the host media playback system(Page 11 ¶ starting “Further, user logs in to … “ ¶ starting Further, according to permission…”, the terminal is synchronized with accounts also synchronized, a new media playback device is another terminal that is transferred via network and server & Page 7 ¶starting “In an application…” to ¶Starting S101, acquiring…”); wherein the set of data is not retained by the host media playback system after the particular period of time(Page 12 ¶ starting The main function of logic layer…”, the multi-terminal synchronization with the data being erased and updated in historical page & Page 9 ¶ starting “The first account…” to ¶ starting “S203…”, first account and second account information is deleted and updated) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Hassan invention to incorporate based on receiving a request to generate a user account associated with the guest identifier, generate the user account using the set of data, wherein the user account is dissociated from the host media playback system and system identifier is associated with the user account, wherein the system identifier is associated with a new user media playback system that is different than the host media playback system and wherein the set of data is not retained by the host media playback system after the particular period of time for the advantage of taking advantage of cumbersome transfer of account between an family or new users that is added on different terminals and multiple users see Page 13 ¶ starting “The apparatus in the embodiments…”
Regarding claim 2, 17, The combined device/medium of Hassan and Hua, mutatis mutandis, Hassan discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein: the control device is prevented from communicating with the at least one playback device before the particular period of time starts and after the particular period of time ends(Col 1 Ln 50-59, the account valid for period time).
Regarding claim 3, 18, The combined device/medium of Hassan and Hua, mutatis mutandis, Hassan discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein: the particular period of time starts when a first condition is met(Col 1 Ln 50-59, the account valid for period time); and the particular period of time ends when a second condition is met(Col 1 Ln 50-59, the account valid for period time).
Regarding claim 4, 19, The combined device/medium of Hassan and Hua, mutatis mutandis, Hassan discloses the computing device of claim 3, wherein: the host media playback system further comprises a host control device(Fig. 1 item 106, the host company network); and at least one of the first condition or the second condition is set via the host control device(Col 4 Ln 64- Col 5 Ln 3, the limited time period for operation).
Regarding claim 5. The combined device of Hassan and Hua, Hassan discloses the computing device of claim 3, wherein: the first condition includes one or more of: a) a pre-set start time for the particular period of time(Col 1 Ln 50-59, the account valid for period time) ; or b) establishment of a token-authorized connection between the host media playback system and the control device(Col 1 Ln 50-59, the account valid for period time); and the second condition includes one or more of: a) a pre-set end time for the particular period of time; or b) end of the token-authorized connection between the host media playback system and the control device(Col 1 Ln 50-59, the account valid for period time).
.
Regarding claim 6. The combined device of Hassan and Hua, Hassan discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein: the user account is associated with a user media playback system comprising one or more user playback devices (Fig. 1 item 102, 104); and the user media playback system is independent and distinct from the host media playback system(Fig. 1 item 102, 104).
Regarding claim 7. The combined device of Hassan and Hua, Hassan discloses the computing device of claim 6, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions such that the computing device is configured to: receive, from at least one user playback device of the user media playback system, a registration message, the registration message associated with the guest identifier(Fig. 1 item 128, the guest user directory for string accounts); based on receiving the registration message, generate a system identifier, wherein the system identifier uniquely registers the at least one user playback device as belonging to the user media playback system(Fig. 1 item 104, guest user device); and associate the system identifier with the user account(Col 4 Ln 38-51, the account is guest ID and password).
Regarding claim 8. The combined device of Hassan and Hua, Hassan discloses the computing device of claim 6, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions such that the computing device is configured to: receive, from at least one user playback device of the user media playback system, a registration message, the registration message associated with the guest identifier; and based on receiving the registration message, send the set of data to the at least one user playback device in the user media playback system(Col 4 Ln 15-27, the guest Id and credentials for access).
Regarding claim 9. The combined device of Hassan and Hua, Hassan discloses the computing device of claim 6, wherein: the user media playback system is associated with a first globally unique system identifier; and the first globally unique system identifier is assigned to the user media playback system based on receiving the request to generate the user account associated with the guest identifier (Col 10 Ln 6-16, the guest access to network & Col 9 Ln 24-38).
Regarding claim 10. The combined device of Hassan and Hua, Hassan discloses the computing device of claim 9, wherein: the host media playback system is associated with a second, different globally unique system identifier(Col 7 Ln 27-38, the credentials for access is unique).
Regarding claim 11. The combined device of Hassan and Hua, Hassan discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions such that computing device is configured to: access at least one service; and wherein the user account is an account authorized to access the at least one service(Col 10 Ln 6-16, the resource from enterprise network).
Regarding claim 12. The combined device of Hassan and Hua, Hassan discloses the computing device of claim 11, wherein the at least one service is a media streaming service(Col 8 Ln 5-21, the IP services from enterprise network).
Regarding claim 13. The combined device of Hassan and Hua, Hassan discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein: the host media playback system is configured to play back media content from a queue of media items; and the at least one functionality in the set of functionalities comprises adding items to the queue of media items(Col 2 LN 3-13, the VLAN into all enterprise network resources).
Regarding claim 14. The combined device of Hassan and Hua, Hassan discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein: the guest account is configured to be associated with one or more media streaming service accounts (Col 10 Ln 6-16, the resource from enterprise network); and the set of data includes data corresponding to the one or more media streaming service accounts(Col 10 Ln 6-16, the resource from enterprise network).
Regarding claim 15. The combined device of Hassan and Hua, Hassan discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein the set of data comprises a history of media items played back the at least one playback device during the particular period of time(Col 1 Ln 50-59, the account valid for period time).
Conclusion
/VENKAT PERUNGAVOOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492 Email: venkatanarayan.perungavoor@uspto.gov