Drawings
The drawings submitted on 6/27/2025 have been approved by the Examiner.
IDS
The IDS’s filed 2/26/2024 and 3/24/2025 have been previously considered by the Examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 7, 13, and 20 have been cancelled
Claims 21-23 have been added.
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-19, and 21-23 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments concerning the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are directed towards newly added subject matter and are fully address below in the context of the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Throughout the claims, the applicant uses the language, “…by a[the] computer system” followed by a recited function, without reciting sufficient structure to performed the recited function. The Examiner recommends adding the language, “…executed by one or more processors” after “by a[the] computer system” as recited in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-6, 8-12, 14-19, and 21-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The independent claims were amended to recite:
“based on the monitoring, predicting, by the computer system, that the first event or a second event will occur within the game;”
The Examiner notes, the claim limitation as written makes the second event optional, and may not occur.
The next limitation in the claim cites, “…presenting, in a portal, by the computing system, the predictions of the first event and the second event.”
The second event as set forth in the claim is optional and may never occur, therefore, the presenting limitation referring to the second event is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-9, 14-16, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayaram US 2021/0142066 in view of Gratton (US 20230421827A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jayaram discloses a method comprising:
generating, by a computing system, a broadcast feed corresponding to a game (Jayaram [0222] “For example, the platform may time align one or more broadcast video feeds and one or more tracking camera feeds at respective time slices where a player crosses a logo or other stationary features on the playing surface in each of the respective feeds (broadcast video and tracking camera feeds”);
deriving, by a pre-processing agent of the computing system, a tracking data feed from the broadcast feed of a game, the tracking data feed being derived to track x, y coordinates of one or more players and one or more objects by extracting position information of the one or more players and one or more objects from the broadcast feed and projecting information into a two-dimensional playing surface including the x, y coordinates (Jayaram [0222] In some embodiments, the platform may use stationary features on a playing surface (e.g., a basketball court) to calibrate the broadcast video camera parameters and to time align two or more video feeds, For example, the platform may utilize stationary lines (e.g., yard lines, top of the three point line, a half court line, a center field line, side lines, intersections between half court or field lines and side lines, logos, goal posts, and the like) to calibrate the broadcast video camera parameters, In these embodiments, the stationary features may be detected in the broadcast video feed and in the tracking video feed, In embodiments, the platform may determine the x, y, and z locations of the stationary features in the tracking video feed, and may calibrate the broadcast video camera parameters based on the x, y, z coordinates of the stationary features or voxel coordinates…”);
monitoring, by the computing system, the tracking data feed to automatically detect a first event to occur within the game, wherein the first event is detected based on the x, y coordinates of the one or more players and one or more objects meeting a tracking data criteria for the first event (Jayaram [0221] In embodiments, other feeds may be available that may contain additional information about events that are contained in the tracking camera video feed. For example, a data feed, such as a play-by-play feed, for a game may be ingested at a step 4422.);
based on the monitoring, predicting, by the computing system, that the first event or a second event will occur within the game (Jayaram [Fig. 15] “Chances”);
presenting, in a portal, by the computing system, the predictions of the first event and the second event (Jayaram [Fig. 15] “Chances”);
based on the monitoring, determining, by the computing system, that the event has occurred within the game (Jayaram [0221] In embodiments, other feeds may be available that may contain additional information about events that are contained in the tracking camera video feed. For example, a data feed, such as a play-by-play feed, for a game may be ingested at a step 4422.);
Jayamar does not disclose, but Gratton discloses
based on the determining, generating, by the computing system, a graphic associated with the first event, (Gratton [0033], “…a digital picture frame that contains the NFT and video delivered to the user, or uploading to an NFT marketplace.”) wherein the graphic comprises insights related to the first event, wherein the graphics is a generated image or video of the player corresponding to the insights, the graphic generated by a graphics engine of the computer system (Gratton [0028], “In some embodiments, the available NFTs are based on a player or team being involved in an occurrence. For example, an available NFT can be based on a team winning or losing a game. If the selected team wins, a NFT is associated with video of the event(s) (e.g., interception, great pass, or bad penalty, compilation) that determined the outcome of the game.”);
generating, by the computing system, a non-fungible token corresponding to the first event, wherein the non-fungible token is linked to the graphic (Gratton [0022], “FIG. 1 illustrates an example simplified block diagram of a system 100 for generating NFTs that correspond to one or more potential recordings of segments of a live event.”); and
broadcasting, by the computing system, the non-fungible token to a blockchain (Gratton [0021], “A NFT is a unique unit of data employing technology that allows digital content to be logged and authenticated using blockchains. Once content is logged onto the blockchain, every transaction associated with the NFT, from transfers to sales, is recorded on the blockchain.”).
These noted feature in Gratton are applicable to the method and system of Jayamar as both prior art references share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to finding video sequences such as those occurring in sports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jayamar as described above because in live events, such as sporting events, certain things happen that become famous. For example, a great touchdown completion or last minute comeback, especially during an important game, can become well known. Video of these types of events sometimes become popular through a viral process of Internet sharing, typically through video sharing as well as on social media and email. The video can be shared on social media and through video sharing platforms, but the original video is owned by the copyright owner, which is usually the entity that recorded the video (see Gratton [0001]).
Regarding claim 2, Jayamar does not disclose, but Gratton discloses the method of further comprising:
receiving, by the computing system, real-time or near real-time bids for the non-fungible token to be generated for the first event to be detected in the game (Gratton [Fig. 3A]); and
identifying, by the computing system, a winning user of the plurality of users based on the real-time or near real-time bids (Gratton [claim 16], “The method of claim 1, wherein a price for at least one of the one or more available NFTs is determined by an auction where only a highest bid receives exclusive rights to the available NFT.”).
This noted feature in Gratton is applicable to the method and system of Jayamar as both prior art references share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to finding video sequences such as those occurring in sports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jayamar as described above because in live events, such as sporting events, certain things happen that become famous. For example, a great touchdown completion or last minute comeback, especially during an important game, can become well known. Video of these types of events sometimes become popular through a viral process of Internet sharing, typically through video sharing as well as on social media and email. The video can be shared on social media and through video sharing platforms, but the original video is owned by the copyright owner, which is usually the entity that recorded the video (see Gratton [0001]).
Regarding claim 7, Jayamar does not disclose, but Gratton discloses the method further comprising:
causing, by the computing system, presentation of the artificial intelligence driven prediction in the portal (Gratton [0036], “… In some embodiments, the video of an event is marked and tagged manually, using artificial intelligence (AI), based on metadata, and/or optical character recognition (OCR) of information displayed on screen. For example, the system can determine that a particular batter is coming to the plate based on image recognition of a bat and OCR of the number on the player's jersey.”).
This noted feature in Gratton is applicable to the method and system of Jayamar as both prior art references share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to finding video sequences such as those occurring in sports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jayamar as described above because in live events, such as sporting events, certain things happen that become famous. For example, a great touchdown completion or last minute comeback, especially during an important game, can become well known. Video of these types of events sometimes become popular through a viral process of Internet sharing, typically through video sharing as well as on social media and email. The video can be shared on social media and through video sharing platforms, but the original video is owned by the copyright owner, which is usually the entity that recorded the video (see Gratton [0001]).
The non-transitory computer readable medium set forth in claims 8-9 and 13-14 are rejected under the same rationale as set forth above.
The system set forth in claims 15-16 and 20 are rejected under the same rationale as set forth above.
Regarding claim 21, Jayamar discloses, wherein the first event is at least one of a scoring attempt. (Jayamar [0407] “Optionally, the output of one level may be applied as input to another level. In embodiments, a first level of tactical relevance and similarity computing for determining tactical similarity may include determining spatiotemporal similarity of a plurality of sequences and assigning one or more labels that indicate at least one of a sequence representing a game chance (optionally referred to herein as “chance” or “chances”) and a sequence representing a tactical chance, and a second level of tactical relevance and similarity computing that determines tactical similarity of a plurality of sequences, which may optionally include the plurality of sequences to which the first level of tactical relevance and similarity computing was applied. The second level of tactical relevance and similarity computing may rely on labels of sequences indicating tactical chances as a factor in determining sequence-to-sequence tactical meaning. In embodiments, tactically similar sequences may include similar tactical chance labels but may be differentiated by at least one of movement of elements in the sequence, time duration of movement of elements in the sequence, total time duration of a sequence, relative position of elements at one or more times in the sequence, and the like.”).
Regarding claim 22, Jayamar discloses, wherein the insights include a text description of the first event (Jayamar [Fig. 15]).
Regarding claim 23, Jayamar discloses, wherein the prediction that the first event or the second event will occur within the game is based on the x, y coordinates of the one or more players, the x, y coordinates of the one or more objects, and a time left in the game (Jayamar [Fig. 15]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 10-12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayaram US 2021/0142066 in view of Gratton (US 2023/0421827A1) in further view of Nonni (US 2024/0037539).
Regarding claim 3, Jayaram in view of Gratton does not explicitly teach storing, by the computing system, the non-fungible token in a wallet associated with the computing system.
In a similar field of endeavor, Nonni teaches, storing, by the computing system, a non-fungible token in a wallet associated with a computing system (Nonni [0015] “The object of value may already exist and in such case can be transferred from a wallet associated with the enterprise.”).
This feature is applicable to the methods of Jayamar in view Gratton as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to the management of NFTs (Nonni [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jayamar in view of Gratton to use wallets as taught by Nonni because NFTs are difficult to create and manage because the technology is so new and is thus less understood (Nonni: [0002]”).
Regarding claim 4, Gratton teaches transferring a non-fungible token to a winning user (Gratton [claim 16] “The method of claim 1, wherein a price for at least one of the one or more available NFTs is determined by an auction where only a highest bid receives exclusive rights to the available NFT.”)..
Jayamar in view of Gratton do not explicitly teach, transferring, by the computing system, the non-fungible token from the wallet associated with the computing system to a second wallet.
In a similar field of endeavor, Nonni teaches, transferring, by the computing system, the non-fungible token from the wallet associated with the computing system to a second wallet (Nonni [0054]).
This feature is applicable to the method of Jayamar in view of Gratton as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to the management of NFTs (Nonni [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jayamar in view of Gratton to use wallets as taught by Nonni because NFTs are difficult to create and manage because the technology is so new and is thus less understood (Nonni [0002]).
Regarding claim 5, Jayamar in view of Gratton does not explicitly teach, writing, by the computing system, a transfer of the non-fungible token from the wallet associated with the computing system to the second wallet associated with the winning user to the blockchain.
In a similar field of endeavor, Nonni teaches, writing, by the computing system, a transfer of the non-fungible token from the wallet associated with the computing system to the second wallet associated with the winning user to the blockchain (Nonni Abstract).
This feature is applicable to the method of Jayamar in view of Gratton as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to the management of NFTs (Nonni [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jayamar in view of Gratton to use wallets as taught by Nonni because NFTs are difficult to create and manage because the technology is so new and is thus less understood (Nonni [0002]”).
The non-transitory computer readable medium set forth in claims 10-12 are rejected under the same rationale as set forth above.
The system set forth in claims 17-19 are rejected under the same rationale as set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW S GART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3696