DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4, in the reply filed on 27 February 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the above reply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0390320 to Sasaki et al. (“Sasaki”) in view of US 2017/0330841 to Cook et al. (“Cook”).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki discloses a substrate treating method for treating a pattern-formed surface of a substrate (see ¶ [0018]), the substrate treating method comprising:
a supply process of supplying a substrate treating liquid containing a sublimable substance and a solvent to the pattern-formed surface (see pre-drying processing liquid supply at step S6 in Fig. 5 and ¶ [0009], [0133]-[0135]);
a solidification process of evaporating the solvent in a liquid film of the substrate treating liquid supplied to the pattern-formed surface in the supply process, depositing the sublimable substance, and forming a solidified film containing the sublimable substance (see film thickness reduction and solidifying body form in steps S7-S8 in Fig. 5 and ¶ [0136]-[0140]); and
a sublimation process of sublimating the solidified film and removing the solidified film (see step S9 in Fig. 5 and ¶ [0141]-[0143]).
Sasaki discloses the claimed invention including subliming a solidified film from the substrate thereby removing the solidified film, but Sasaki does not expressly disclose wherein the sublimable substance contains at least one of 2,5-dimethyl-2,5-hexanediol and 3-trifluoromethylbenzoic acid. Cook teaches that it is known in the semiconductor processing art to provide sublimable films dissolved in suitable solvents, including 2,5-dimethyl-2,5-hexanediol (see Cook at ¶ [0034]-[0035]).
Therefore, the position is taken that it would have been obvious at the time of effective filing to substitute the sublimable material in Sasaki with the sublimable material including 2,5-dimethyl-2,5-hexanediol, such as that taught in Cook, to yield the same and predictable results of removing a film coating on a semiconductor substrate by sublimation.
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki further discloses:
a thinning process of thinning the liquid film of the substrate treating liquid supplied in the supply process onto the pattern-formed surface by rotating the substrate at a first rotation speed about a rotation axis parallel to a direction perpendicular to the pattern-formed surface (see rotation of the substrate and application of the pre-drying processing liquid in ¶ [0136]-[0137]),
wherein the solidification process is a process of rotating the substrate about the rotation axis at a second rotation speed higher than the first rotation speed and evaporating the solvent in the liquid film (see ¶ [0138]-[0139] wherein the solidifying of the pre-drying processing liquid on the substrate is performed at a rotating speed “equal to or different from the liquid supplying speed”).
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki further discloses wherein a solvent having a higher vapor pressure at room temperature than the sublimable substance is used as the solvent (see ¶ [0140] where the vapor pressure of the solvent is greater than the sublimable substance; also note the combination of Sasaki and Cook would result in the same materials disclosed by applicant as solvent and sublimable material).
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki further discloses wherein the solvent is at least one of methanol, butanol, isopropyl alcohol, and acetone (see use of IPA and acetone as solvent in ¶ [0013] and [0088]).
Conclusion
Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711