DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13, 20, and 22-24, and 26-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 20, 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al (US 2023/0,055,114; hereinafter Ryu) in view of Ko et al (US 2022/0,225,250; hereinafter Ko) in view of Wu et al (US 2020/0,389,246; hereinafter Wu) further in view of Rastegardoost (US 2023/0,354,220).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Ryu disclose an apparatus and method configured for wireless communications performed by a transmitter wireless communication device (e.g. 310), comprising:
one or more memories (376) (¶ [0081]; and
one or more processors (375) configured to execute the processor-executable instructions (¶ [0081] and cause the apparatus to:
transmit a plurality of automatic gain control (AGC) symbols (560, 1012, 1022) associated with one or more sidelink communications (a transmitting device may transmit the AGC symbol 1022 associated with a sidelink transmission; paras. [0100], [0158]); and
transmit the one or more sidelink communications after transmitting the plurality of AGC symbols (transmitting the sidelink transmission to a receiving device which receives the sidelink transmission, e.g. using a first beam after receiving the AGC symbols; paras. [0100], [0143], [0171-[0175]). Ryu do not disclose a quantity of the plurality of AGC symbols is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the plurality of AGC symbols. Ko disclose a quantity of the plurality of AGC symbols is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the plurality of AGC symbols (paras. [0210]-[0214]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so since the length of the SCS and the symbol is related to each other by being inversely proportional and the symbol duration and the time required for hardware to stabilize are intrinsically linked to the system’s numerology to maintain synchronization and orthogonality across different subcarrier spacings while ensuring the AGC process remain efficient for the specific frequency band being used. Ryu and Ko do not disclose transmit, after transmission of the first AGC symbol and the second AGC symbol, the first symbol of the one or more sidelink communications and the second symbol of the one or more sidelink communications. In the same field of endeavor, Wu teach transmit, after transmission of the first AGC symbol and the second AGC symbol, the first symbol of the one or more sidelink communications and the second symbol of the one or more sidelink communications (paras. [0053]; [0062]- [0065]; Figs. 4-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order so that the symbols used to transmit the sidelink data can be received correctly at the receiver to avoid loss of sidelink data when AGC training is performed before receiving the sidelink data (Wu; ¶ [0061]). Ryu, Ko, and Wu do not explicitly disclose a first AGC symbol is a repetition of a first symbol of a sidelink communication, and a second AGC symbol subsequent to the first AGC symbol is a repetition of second symbol of the sidelink communication. In the same field of endeavor, Rastegardoost disclose a first AGC symbol wherein a first AGC symbol is a repetition of a first symbol of a sidelink communication, and a second AGC symbol subsequent to the first AGC symbol is a repetition of second symbol of the sidelink communication (paras. [0409]-[0412], [0419]; Figs. 36-37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order for the apparatus to send the sidelink transmission with the associated duplicate AGC symbol to a receiving wireless device so that the receiving device may be able to perform, e.g. AGC training (Rastegardoost; ¶ [0407]).
Regarding claim 3 and 23, Ryu, Rastegardoost, Ko, and Wu disclose the apparatus and method of claim 1 and 20 respectively, wherein the plurality of AGC symbols includes one or more repetitions of a symbol of the one or more sidelink communications (AGC symbol 1022 may be a repetition of the last PSSCH symbol 1014 in a corresponding data channel, (e.g. a physical sidelink shared channel PSSCH) of a sidelink transmission 414; Ryu; paras. [0134], [0057], [0092]).
Regarding claim 4 and 24, Ryu, Ko, Rastegardoost and Wu disclose the apparatus and method of claim 1 and 20 respectively, wherein the plurality of AGC symbols (e.g. 1012, 1022) includes a repetition of a plurality of symbols of the one or more sidelink communications, each AGC symbol of the plurality of AGC symbols corresponding to a respective symbol from the plurality of symbols of the one or more sidelink communications (each AGC symbol may be a repetition of the last PSSCH symbol of the preceding slot, wherein PSSCH is a physical sidelink shared channel of a sidelink transmission; Ryu, paras. [0133]-[0136], [0158], [0092]; Wu, paras. [0053]; [0062]- [0065], Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 5, Ryu, Ko, Rastegardoost and Wu disclose the apparatus and method of claim 4, wherein the plurality of AGC symbols (e.g. 1012, 1022) includes one or more repetitions of a symbol of the one or more sidelink communications (the AGC symbols may include one or more repetitions of the last PSSCH symbol of the preceding slot, wherein PSSCH is a physical sidelink shared channel of a sidelink transmission; Ryu, paras. [0133]-[0136], [0158], [0092]).
Regarding claim 7, Ryu, Ko, Rastegardoost and Wu disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to execute the processor executable instructions and further cause the apparatus to generate the plurality of AGC symbols based at least in part on a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) sequence, the QAM sequence having a modulation order that matches a modulation order of the one or more sidelink communications (if the modulation order for the AGC symbols based on the modulated PN sequence is 16 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), the modulation order for the sidelink data transmissions is also 16 QAM; Wu, paras. [0069], [0071]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 8, Ryu, Ko, Rastegardoost and Wu disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to execute the processor executable instructions and further cause the apparatus to generate the plurality of AGC symbols based at least in part on one or more parameters, wherein the one or more parameters match a corresponding one or more parameters applied in association with generating symbols of the one or more sidelink communications (generating and modulating the PN sequence to modulation symbols mapped to OFDM symbol used for AGC based on various parameters, e.g. a modulation order parameter (Qm) for modulating the PN sequence, a quantity of earliest symbols in a slot to be dedicated to communicating the modulated PN sequence (LAGC), a sidelink data channel transmission bandwidth (Nsc), a number of layers for the sidelink data transmission, a number of antenna ports to be used to communicate the modulated PN sequence, that relate to the sidelink earliest symbols in a slot to be used to transmit sidelink data, and the gain that is configured based on the signal characteristics of the PN sequence may be applied to process subsequent symbols carrying sidelink data; Wu, paras. [0069], [0071]-[0073], [0076]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 10, Ryu, Ko, Rastegardoost, and Wu disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more sidelink communications include one or more physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) communications or one or more physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) communications (PSCCH or PSSCH; Ryu, ¶ [0057]).
Regarding claim 11, Ryu, Ko, Rastegardoost, and Wu disclose the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more PSCCH communications or the one or more PSSCH communications are transmitted in a plurality of contiguous slots and the plurality of AGC symbols are transmitted in one or more slots immediately prior to the plurality of contiguous slots (the AGC symbols in the first slot are transmitted prior to the n or threshold quantity of slots and the second slot which include one or more PSSCH communications; Ryu, paras. [0133]-[0134]; Wu, paras. [0053]; [0062]- [0065], Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 12, Ryu, Ko, and Wu disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more sidelink communications include one or more physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) communications (PSFCH 568; Ryu, paras. [0099]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 26 and 27, Ryu disclose an apparatus and method configured for wireless communications by a receiver wireless communication device (e.g. 350, 354b;
¶ [0084]), comprising: one or more memories (360); and one or more processors (356, 359), coupled to the one or more memories (¶ [0085]), configured to cause the apparatus to: receive a plurality of automatic gain control (AGC) symbols associated with one or more sidelink communications (the AGC symbols 1012, 1022 facilitate a receiving device to adjust the gain of the receiver amplifier to fit the total power of the received signal for the slot to perform joint channel estimation, such as DMRS bundling; paras. [0133], [0135], [0149]); and receive the one or more sidelink communications after reception of the plurality of AGC symbols (a receiving device which receives the sidelink transmission, e.g. using a first beam after receiving the AGC symbols; paras. [0100], [0143], [0171]-[0175]). Ryu do not disclose a quantity of the plurality of AGC symbols is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the plurality of AGC symbols. Ko disclose a quantity of the plurality of AGC symbols is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the plurality of AGC symbols (paras. [0210]-[0214]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so since the length of the SCS and the symbol is related to each other by being inversely proportional and the symbol duration and the time required for hardware to stabilize are intrinsically linked to the system’s numerology to maintain synchronization and orthogonality across different subcarrier spacings while ensuring the AGC process remain efficient for the specific frequency band being used. . Ryu and Ko do not disclose receive, after reception of the first AGC symbol and the second AGC symbol, the first symbol of the one or more sidelink communications and the second symbol of the one or more sidelink communications. In the same field of endeavor, Wu teach receive, after reception of the first AGC symbol and the second AGC symbol, the first symbol of the one or more sidelink communications and the second symbol of the one or more sidelink communications (paras. [0053]; [0062]- [0065]; Figs. 4-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order so that the symbols used to communicate the sidelink data can be received correctly when AGC training is performed prior to receiving the sidelink data to avoid loss of sidelink data (Wu;
¶ [0061]). Ryu, Ko, and Wu do not explicitly disclose a first AGC symbol is a repetition of a first symbol of a sidelink communication, and a second AGC symbol subsequent to the first AGC symbol is a repetition of second symbol of the sidelink communication. In the same field of endeavor, Rastegardoost disclose a first AGC symbol wherein a first AGC symbol is a repetition of a first symbol of a sidelink communication, and a second AGC symbol subsequent to the first AGC symbol is a repetition of second symbol of the sidelink communication (paras. [0409]-[0412], [0419]; Figs. 36-37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order for the apparatus to send the sidelink transmission with the associated duplicate AGC symbol to a receiving wireless device so that the receiving device may be able to perform, e.g. AGC training (Rastegardoost; ¶ [0407]).
Claims 2 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al (US 2023/0,055,114; hereinafter Ryu) in view of Ko et al (US 2022/0,225,250) in view of Wu et al (US 2020/0,389,246) in view of Rastegardoost (US 2023/0,354,220) further in view of Baek et al (US 2022/0,397,633; hereinafter Baek).
Regarding claim 2 and 22, Ryu, Ko, Rastegardoost, and Wu disclose the apparatus and method of claim 1 and 20 respectively, wherein they do not disclose a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the plurality of AGC symbols and an SCS of symbols of the one or more sidelink communications are at least 120 kilohertz (kHz). In the same field of endeavor, Baek disclose an SCS of symbols of the one or more sidelink communications are at least 120 kilohertz (kHz) (paras. [0111]-[0112]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide a numerology selection in e.g. 5G-NR communication with a wider subcarrier spacing like 120kHz depending on situation or purpose, e.g. when operating in higher frequency that cause a wide range frequency drift and higher phase noise by a moving transmitter/receiver such as in Ryu’s NR sidelink or NR-V2X communications. Ryu, Ko, Wu, and Baek do not explicitly disclose a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the plurality of AGC symbols is at least 120 kHz. However, the examiner takes official notice that a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the plurality of AGC symbols is at least 120 kHz. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to also provide a wider subcarrier spacing configured at the carrier level used in higher frequency bands in specific 5G-NR use case which enables faster data transmission and lower latency.
Claims 6, 9 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al (US 2023/0,055,114; hereinafter Ryu) in view of Ko et al (US 2022/0,225,250) in view of Wu et al (US 2020/0,389,246) in view of Rastegardoost (US 2023/0,354,220) further in view of Chae (US 20160/0,366,658).
Regarding claim 6, Ryu, Ko, Rastegardoost, and Wu disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and further cause the apparatus to generate the plurality of AGC symbols based on QPSK (Ryu; paras. [0083], [0118]-[0119]; Wu; paras. [0076]-[0077]). Ryu, Ko, and Wu do not explicitly disclose generating the plurality of AGC symbols based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) sequence. In the same field of endeavor, Chae disclose generating the plurality of AGC symbols based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) sequence (paras. [0056]-[0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order adjust the receiver gain to an optimum level before the arrival of the data symbols using the specific sequence at the start of the transmission.
Regarding claim 9, Ryu, Ko, Rastegardoost, and Wu disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of AGC symbols includes a repetition of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) associated with the one or more sidelink communications (transmitting a sidelink PSSCH DMRS pattern over multiple slots wherein each of the symbols in a slot may be associated with AGC, e.g. a first symbol includes AGC 560 in the first slot and the second slot may include a repetition of a last data portion of the first slot used to perform sidelink DMRS bundling; Ryu, paras. [0100], [0109], [0134], [0139], [0154], [0158]). Ryu, Ko, and Wu do not explicitly disclose AGC symbols includes a repetition of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS). In the same field of endeavor, Chae disclose the AGC includes a repetition of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (the DMRS of the AGC is the same or repetition of the later DMRS; ¶ [0063]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide a predetermined link relation sequence.
Regarding claim 29, Ryu, Ko, Rastegardoost, and Wu disclose the method of claim 20, further comprising generating the plurality of AGC symbols based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) sequence (UE 120a may transmit the modulated PN sequence, which is based on QPSK, in an earliest/first LAGC OFDM symbol(s) of a slot when UE 120a is transmitting sidelink data in the slot, Wu; paras. [0076]-[0077]). Ryu, Ko, and Wu do not explicitly disclose generating the plurality of AGC symbols based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) sequence. In the same field of endeavor, Chae disclose generating the plurality of AGC symbols based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) sequence (paras. [0056]-[0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order adjust the receiver gain to an optimum level before the arrival of the data symbols using the specific sequence at the start of the transmission.
6. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al (US 2023/0,055,114) in view of Ko et al (US 2022/0,225,250) in view of Wu et al (US 2020/0,389,246) in view of Rastegardoost (US 2023/0,354,220) further in view of Ryu et al (US 2023/0,262,618; hereinafter Ryu2).
Regarding claim 13, Ryu, Ko, Rastegardoost, and Wu disclose the apparatus of claim 12, wherein they do not disclose the one or more PSFCH communications are transmitted in a single slot and the plurality of AGC symbols are transmitted in one or more slots immediately prior to the single slot. In the same field of endeavor, Ryu2 disclose the one or more PSFCH communications are transmitted in a single slot and the plurality of AGC symbols are transmitted in one or more slots immediately prior to the single slot (the AGC symbols (e.g. 648) are transmitted prior to the mini slot (e.g. 641) that optionally has PSFCH communication; paras. [0076], [0094], [0111]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide a sequence indicating the mini slot (Ryu2; ¶ [0111]).
Conclusion
/LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648