DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first office action upon examination of application number 18/452998. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined on the merits discussed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/21/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
(Step 1) Claims 1-7 are directed to a method; thus these claims are directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention. Claims 8-14 are directed to a computer readable storage medium (non-transitory as per paragraph 26)?, which is a manufacture, and this a statutory category of invention. Claims 15-20 are directed to an apparatus comprising a processor; thus the apparatus comprises a device or set of devices, and therefore, is directed to a machine which is a statutory category of invention.
(Step 2A) The claims recite an abstract idea instructing how to manage a cleaning schedule for PV panels, which is described by claim limitations reciting:
dynamically measuring, … dust level representing decay in transistor current output … for condition based photovoltaic (PV) panel cleaning; and
… managing a cleaning schedule and cleaning fleets, wherein yield is boosted and dynamic planning is improved based on a plurality of input sources…
The identified limitations in the claims describing managing a cleaning schedule for PV panels (i.e., the abstract idea) fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, which covers fundamental economic practices. Dependent claims 3, 7, 10, 14, and 20 recite limitations that further narrow the abstract idea; therefore, these claims are also found to recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because additional elements such as the computing device in claim 1; the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith; and processor in claim 8; and the memory configured to store instructions; and processor configured to execute the instructions in claim 15, do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea since these elements are only broadly applied to the abstract ideas at a high level of generality; thus, none of recited hardware offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, in this case, implementation via a computer/processor.
Additional elements such as measuring… by utilizing at least one particle deposition (PD) detection sensor that utilizes machine learning (ML)...; utilizing an ML-based edge process for managing…; and input sources for the ML-based edge process… do not yield an improvement in the functioning of the computer itself, nor do they yield improvements to a technical field or technology; further, these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and only generally link the abstract idea to a technological environment. Similarly, additional elements in claims 2, 4-6, 9, 11-13, and 16-19 add additional elements that do not yield an improvement and only generally link the abstract idea to a technological environment. Accordingly, these additional element do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
(Step 2B) The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the hardware additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Additional elements such as measuring… by utilizing at least one particle deposition (PD) detection sensor that utilizes machine learning (ML)...; utilizing an ML-based edge process for managing…; and input sources for the ML-based edge process… do not provide an improvement and only generally link the abstract idea to a technological environment. Additional elements in claims 2, 4-6, 9, 11-13, and 16-19 add additional elements that do not yield an improvement and only generally link the abstract idea to a technological environment. In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0339675 (Jones).
As per claim 1, Jones teaches: a method comprising: dynamically measuring, by a computing device, dust level representing decay in transistor current output by utilizing at least one particle deposition (PD) detection sensor that utilizes machine learning (ML) for condition based photovoltaic (PV) panel cleaning; and ([0020] … measuring a short circuit current of each of the individual photovoltaic cells… determining soiling conditions of the soil monitoring panel based on measured and compared short circuit currents [0051] … The measurement unit will measure the individual short circuit current (Isc) from each cell in the soil monitoring panel 10 and the corresponding cell or cells in a clean reference panel 8. [0052] … takes an instantaneous short circuit current (Isc) measurements from each corresponding pair of cells from the soil monitoring panel 10 and the clean reference 8. [0054] … upon the individual measurements taken from each cell to determine the following (but not limited to) additional soiling characteristics, such as average soiling loss percent (average loss of all cells on soil monitoring vs. those on the clean reference solar) percent of non-uniformity of soiling, (delta between the weakest cell on the soil monitoring panel and the strongest cell on the soil monitoring panel 10), soiling losses from cells located in the corners of the panel, the loss due to soiling on each row of cells and along the borders of the panel, the total soiling loss for the panel [0141] With the advent of machine learning, a predictive model for soiling can be built from the on-site soiling measurements of said PV soil monitoring system hardware, which can produce highly accurate and reliable forecasts of the soiling rate and soiling period for a given PV system. [0136] The cleaning will never be optimal before the cost of the loss of energy due to soiling equalling the cost of cleaning.)
utilizing an ML-based edge process for managing a cleaning schedule and cleaning fleets, ([0019] …the solar panel monitoring system includes a forecasting module implemented on the data storage system and or Remote Server, wherein the forecasting module determines a cleaning schedule of a photovoltaic system based on a determined soiling rate of the soil monitoring panel. [0039] … the system, is considered to be located on the site where the PV system losses are to be measured. [0141] With the advent of machine learning, a predictive model for soiling can be built from the on-site soiling measurements of said PV soil monitoring system hardware, which can produce highly accurate and reliable forecasts of the soiling rate and soiling period for a given PV system. [0129] …estimate the optimal schedule, costs and frequency of panel cleaning that will be required for a particular PV plant).
wherein yield is boosted and dynamic planning is improved based on a plurality of input sources for the ML-based edge process ([0003] … maximize production from the solar panels…understand the required frequency and timing of cleanings to optimize performance of the PV plant and to minimize costs. [0129] …estimate the optimal schedule, costs and frequency of panel cleaning that will be required for a particular PV plant [0141] With the advent of machine learning, a predictive model for soiling can be built from the on-site soiling measurements of said PV soil monitoring system hardware [0037] A number of environmental sensors including a relative humidity sensor, a temperature sensor, moisture sensor and a wind sensor, (amongst others) may be connected).
As per claim 3, Jones teaches: wherein the plurality of input sources is selected from the group consisting of soiling condition, particle deposition, environment condition and asset information ([0015] …system further includes one or more environmental condition sensors and PV String sensors, in electronic communication with the data storage system, communications unit, and/or measurement unit, and the one or more environmental condition and or PV string sensors selected from the group consisting of a PV string voltage, PV string current, temperature sensor, rain or moisture sensor, and a wind sensor; environment condition. [0127] Edge soiling occurs when dirt pollen and mold accumulate … measure the effects of edge soiling on standard PV panels; particle deposition. [0140] The method disclosed herein and shown in FIG. 8 relies on the on-site measurements of the PV soil monitoring system to accurately determine the characteristic soiling of a PV system. [0166] 2. Actual Soiling measurements from Soil Monitoring System; soil condition. [0221] 1. The following inputs page may be used to collect information used to calculate the Energy Output Dataset (PV Watts): [0222] i. Location of Plant (state, city, street, zip) [0223] ii. DC System Size (kWp) [0224] iii. Module Type: (Poly, Mono, Thin film) [0225] iv. Array Type: (Roof, Ground Fixed, Ground 1-Axis Tracking, Ground 2-Axis Tracking) [0226] v. System loss % (see Loss Calculator PV Watts) [0227] vi. Panel Tilt (degrees): (0-90) [0228] vii. Azimuth(Degrees): (0-360): 0 degrees is North; asset information).
As per claim 4, Jones teaches: wherein the at least one PD detection sensor is deployed at a same position of the PV panel ([0029] FIG. 5 illustrates a configuration of a soil monitoring system installed at ends of a row of PV panels to measure the effects of soiling on the adjacent PV panels [0036] … The reference solar panel includes 8 at least one, dedicated PV cell which is installed onto the same glass sheet as the soil monitoring panel 10 (FIGS. 2-4 and 7), which is used to provide measurements of a soiled panel versus the clean reference cell 8. The reference solar panel 8 may be mounted to either side of the soil monitoring panel 10 or on either extreme end of the soil monitoring panel 10 [0116] … the reference cell panel 8 and soil monitoring panels 10 are installed on a single glass substrate, which is mounted alongside the native PV array at the end of a row of PV panels).
As per claim 5, Jones teaches: wherein the at least one PD detection sensor utilizes a passive particle deposition detection for measuring dust level that represents decay in transistor current output for the PV panel ([0010] … monitoring reduced power generated by solar panels as they become contaminated by dust and dirt. [0046] The current of a PV panel is directly proportional to the irradiance incident on the surface of the cells… accurately measure losses due to soiling, and better understand the specific losses due to pattern soiling).
As per claim 6, Jones teaches: wherein data from the at least one PD detection sensor is sent to an edge device for processing using an ML model with reference to historical data ([0055] … DAS unit or a remote server, is able to self-monitor the soil monitoring panel 10 [0141] With the advent of machine learning, a predictive model for soiling can be built from the on-site soiling measurements [0166] 2. Actual Soiling measurements from Soil Monitoring System [0167] i. This dataset is used to calculate regression coefficients to predict the near-term soiling rates and soiling window [0236] 1. Average Monthly Soiling Rate [0251] … Rainfall Clean Amount (mm) calculated by the AI (machine learning from previous events)).
As per claim 7, Jones teaches: wherein a rule engine obtains a variable threshold value for triggering a wash cycle and for factoring an acceptable power loss ([0136] The cleaning will never be optimal before the cost of the loss of energy due to soiling equalling the cost of cleaning. At the same time it would need to be determined if the system should be cleaned by determining whether an investment into cleaning the panels will pay off in the next period. The soiling rate and therefore the soiling period is always changing. The production of energy is also changing within each period, which is a determining factor for whether or not a given cleaning event will pay off within a given soiling period. [0139] The cleaning event will coincide with the pay-off point (when the cost of loss equals cost of cleaning) [0149] The cost of the loss of energy due to accumulated soiling is compared with the cost of cleaning at each hour throughout the first year to determine the optimal frequency and schedule for cleaning, over the first year. [0150] In the case that the soiling level results in a total energy production loss and cost of energy loss, which is greater than the cost of cleaning the panels, within a given soiling period then a panel cleaning is scheduled for that day or days required to clean the PV system [0278] … the Max Allowable Soiling Loss %).
As per claims 8 and 15, these claims recite limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 1, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per claim 10, this claim recites limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 3, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per claim 11, this claim recites limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 4, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per claims 12 and 18, these claims recite limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 5, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per claims 13 and 19, these claims recite limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 6, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per claims 14 and 20, these claims recite limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 7, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per claim 17, this claim recites limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claims 3 and 4, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0339675 (Jones); in view of US 2018/0331653 (Gostein).
As per claim 2, Jones teaches: deploying the at least one PD detection sensor … with a same tilt and azimuth on a particular PV panel ([0013] …reference solar panel is positioned at the same azimuth and elevation angle [0029] FIG. 5 illustrates a configuration of a soil monitoring system installed at ends of a row of PV panels to measure the effects of soiling on the adjacent PV panels [0036] … The reference solar panel includes 8 at least one, dedicated PV cell which is installed onto the same glass sheet as the soil monitoring panel 10 (FIGS. 2-4 and 7), which is used to provide measurements of a soiled panel versus the clean reference cell 8. The reference solar panel 8 may be mounted to either side of the soil monitoring panel 10 or on either extreme end of the soil monitoring panel 10 [0116] … the reference cell panel 8 and soil monitoring panels 10 are installed on a single glass substrate, which is mounted alongside the native PV array at the end of a row of PV panels [0171] 4. The following inputs may be used to collect information used to calculate user specific data: … [0178] 1. Panel Tilt (degrees): (0-90) [0179] 2. Azimuth(Degrees)).
Although not explicitly taught by Jones, Gostein teaches: dynamically deploying the at least one PD detection sensor based on racking groups with a same tilt and azimuth on a particular PV panel ([0017] …small ground-mounted and roof-mounted PV arrays to large utility-scale projects, owners and operators of PV arrays [0022] … the accumulation of soiling particles can depend on orientation, especially tilt angle, the device may be typically installed in the same plane (same azimuth and tilt angle) as an actual or prospective PV array. In some embodiments, the device mounts onto a PV array mounting structure or onto a PV module within a PV array [0047] … measuring soiling levels of photovoltaic arrays).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Jones with the aforementioned teachings of Gostein with the motivation of installing sensor in the same plane as a prospective array (Gostein [0022]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the teachings of Gostein to the system of Jones would have yielded predictable results and doing so would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for installation of a sensor in the same plane as a PV array.
As per claims 9 and 16, these claims recite limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 2, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2025/0062719 (Balawi) – discloses a method that determines soiling loss on solar panels of photovoltaic (PV) power plant.
/ALAN TORRICO-LOPEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625