DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 and 21-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Petersen (US 2018/0085509).
Regarding claim 1, Petersen discloses a driveline for an implantable medical device that connects the implantable medical device to an external controller, wherein the driveline comprises: first and second power conductors that provide a first polarity of power from the external controller to the implantable medical device, wherein the first and second power conductors are interconnected (par 0082); and third and fourth power conductors that provide a second polarity of power from the external controller to the implantable medical device, wherein the third and fourth power conductors are interconnected (par 0082).
Regarding claim 2, Petersen discloses the first and third power conductors are connected in the implantable medical device (par 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 3, Petersen discloses the first and third power conductors are connected in a connector to the driveline (pars 0048, 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 4, Petersen discloses the first and third power conductors are connected in the driveline (pars 0048, 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 5, Petersen discloses the first and third power conductors are connected in the external controller (pars 0048, 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 6, Petersen discloses the second and fourth power conductors are connected in the implantable medical device (pars 0048, 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 7, Petersen discloses the second and fourth power conductors are connected in a connector to the driveline (pars 0048, 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 8, Petersen discloses the second and fourth power conductors are connected in the driveline (pars 0048, 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 9, Petersen discloses the second and fourth power conductors are connected in the external controller (pars 0048, 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 10, Petersen discloses a driveline system for an implantable medical device that connects the implantable medical device to an external controller, wherein the driveline system comprises: (A) a driveline comprising: first and second power conductors that provide a first polarity of power from the external controller to the implantable medical device, wherein the first and second power conductors are interconnected (par 0082); third and fourth power conductors that provide a second polarity of power from the external controller to the implantable medical device, wherein the third and fourth power conductors are interconnected (par 0082); (B) a first driveline communication transceiver in the implantable medical device and coupled to the first, second, third and fourth power conductors in the driveline that provides digital communication to and from the external controller over the first, second, third and fourth power conductors in the driveline (par 0082); and (C) a second driveline communication transceiver in the external controller and coupled to the first, second, third and fourth power conductors in the driveline that provides digital communication to and from the implantable device over the first, second, third and fourth power conductors in the driveline (par 0082).
Regarding claim 11, Petersen discloses the first and third power conductors are connected in the implantable medical device (par 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 12, Petersen discloses the first and third power conductors are connected in a connector to the driveline (par 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 13, Petersen discloses the first and third power conductors are connected in the driveline (pars 0048, 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 14, Petersen discloses the first and third power conductors are connected in the external controller (pars 0048, 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 15, Petersen discloses the second and fourth power conductors are connected in the implantable medical device (pars 0048, 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 16, Petersen discloses the second and fourth power conductors are connected in a connector to the driveline (pars 0048, 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 17, Petersen discloses the second and fourth power conductors are connected in the driveline. (pars 0048, 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 18, Petersen discloses the second and fourth power conductors are connected in the external controller (pars 0048, 0082, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 21, Petersen discloses the driveline system maintains power from the external controller to the implantable device and further maintains communication between the external controller and the implantable device when one of the first and second power conductors fails (par 0081).
Regarding claim 22, Petersen discloses the driveline system maintains power from the external controller to the implantable device and further maintains communication between the external controller and the implantable device when one of the third and fourth power conductors fails (par 0081, 0084, 0087-0088).
Regarding claim 23, Petersen discloses the driveline system maintains power from the external controller to the implantable device and further maintains communication between the external controller and the implantable device when one of the first and second power conductor fails at the same time when one of the third and fourth power conductors has failed (par 0081, 0084, 0087-0088).
Regarding claim 24, Petersen discloses a method for an external controller to communicate with an implantable device on a driveline that connects the external controller to the implantable device, the method comprising: providing first and second conductors in the driveline that provide a positive power connection from the external controller to the implantable device (par 0082); providing third and fourth conductors in the driveline that provide a negative power connection from the external controller to the implantable device (par 0082); providing power from the external controller to the implantable device on the first, second, third and fourth conductors (par 0083-0085); and performing digital communication between the external controller and the implantable device on the first, second, third and fourth conductors (see figure 8, par 0083-0085).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 20 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen in view of Lo et al (TW 201728141 A, hereinafter “Lo”, copy of English translation included with Office action; citations below are based on the provided translation).
Regarding claim 19, Petersen discloses the claimed invention (see rejection of claim 10 above), but does not explicitly disclose the first and second driveline communication transceivers communicate with each other using binary phase shift keying (BPSK) modulation and demodulation. Lo is analogous art in regard to power and communication configurations implemented in biomedical applications as known in the art (page 2, “Background-Art” section). Lo discloses it was known in the art to provide data signals modulated to form a two-bit phase offset modulation signal BPSK and sent to a two-bit phase offset demodulation transformer (page 3, paragraph beginning with “Referring to figure 2 and figure 3 together […]). Applied to the invention of Petersen, the features of Lo would provide means for the first and second driveline communication transceivers to communicate with each other using binary phase shift keying (BPSK) modulation and demodulation as known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the features of Lo in the invention of Petersen, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of demodulation with lower power usage.
Regarding claim 20, Petersen discloses the claimed invention (see rejection of claim 10 above), but does not explicitly disclose the first and second driveline communication transceivers each comprise: a coupling transformer coupled to at least one conductor in the driveline; a binary phase shift keying (BPSK) modulator coupled to the coupling transformer that drives a transmitted message via the coupling transformer to the driveline; and a BPSK demodulator coupled to the coupling transformer that receives a message on the driveline received via the coupling transformer. Lo is analogous art in regard to power and communication configurations implemented in biomedical applications as known in the art (page 2, “Background-Art” section). Lo discloses it was known in the art to provide data signals modulated to form a two-bit phase offset modulation signal BPSK and sent to a two-bit phase offset demodulation transformer (page 3, paragraph beginning with “Referring to figure 2 and figure 3 together […]). Applied to the invention of Petersen, the features of Lo would provide means for the first and second driveline communication transceivers to each comprise: a coupling transformer coupled to at least one conductor in the driveline; a binary phase shift keying (BPSK) modulator coupled to the coupling transformer that drives a transmitted message via the coupling transformer to the driveline; and a BPSK demodulator coupled to the coupling transformer that receives a message on the driveline received via the coupling transformer as known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the features of Lo in the invention of Petersen, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of demodulation with lower power usage.
Regarding claim 25, Petersen discloses the claimed invention (see rejection of claim 24 above), but does not explicitly disclose the implantable medical device comprises a first driveline communication transceiver and the external controller comprises a second driveline communication transceiver, the method further comprising: the first and second driveline communication transceivers communicating with each other over the driveline using binary phase shift keying (BPSK) modulation and demodulation. Lo is analogous art in regard to power and communication configurations implemented in biomedical applications as known in the art (page 2, “Background-Art” section). Lo discloses it was known in the art to provide data signals modulated to form a two-bit phase offset modulation signal BPSK and sent to a two-bit phase offset demodulation transformer (page 3, paragraph beginning with “Referring to figure 2 and figure 3 together […]). Applied to the invention of Petersen, the features of Lo would provide means for the implantable medical device to comprise a first driveline communication transceiver and the external controller comprises a second driveline communication transceiver, the method further comprising: the first and second driveline communication transceivers communicating with each other over the driveline using binary phase shift keying (BPSK) modulation and demodulation as known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the features of Lo in the invention of Petersen, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of demodulation with lower power usage.
Conclusion
Lindsey G Wehrheim
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/LINDSEY G WEHRHEIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 4/3/2026