DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rico Alvarino (US 2018/0077683) in view of Venugopal (US 2021/0126761).
Regarding Claim 1, 13, 22, 27, Rico discloses UE comprising:
(the UE of figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805) one or more memories storing processor—-executable code; and (figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098]) one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: (figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098])
receive a first indication of one or more antenna element selection parameters, the one or more antenna element selection parameters comprising one or more antenna element performance thresholds for antenna element selection by the UE; (paragraph [0049], "in some aspects, a threshold level may be preconfigured, may be signaled to UE 205 from base station 210 (e.g., in a SIB element), may be signaled via UE-specific signaling (e.g., radio resource control (RRS) signaling), and/or UE 205 may autonomously determine which threshold level to use."; for the threshold level being for antenna element selection see paragraph [0048], "In some aspects, UE 205 may only select antennas for the subset of antennas for RS transmission 215 when the antennas have a signal property above a threshold value. For example, UE 205 may select antennas having a RSRP/RSRQ above a threshold value for the RS transmission 215. For antennas having a signal property below the threshold value, UE 205 may not select these antennas for inclusion in the subset of antennas for RS transmission 215.")
transmit a second indication of one or more transmission configuration indicator, TCI, states corresponding to usage of one or more antenna elements of the UE, the one or more antenna elements selected by the UE based at least in part on the one or more antenna elements satisfying the one or more antenna element performance thresholds. (paragraph [0058], "In some aspects, UE 205 may signal in a separate message (e.g., a channel state information (CSI) message, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) message, a rank indicator (RI) message, etc.), which antenna is associated with which signal property value." and "... and additionally report the new antenna configuration (e.g., by transmitting physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) in subframe M or a different subframe)."; it is noted that, in the generic context of the claim, the new antenna configuration can be seen as a transmission configuration indicator state).
Rico does not disclose wherein each TCI state of one or more TCI states is associated with a respective spatial resource for communications via one or more antenna elements. However, Venugopal discloses wherein each TCI state of one or more TCI states is associated with a respective spatial resource for communications via one or more antenna elements (Paragraph 0083; Figure 2). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to increase the functionality of Rico by modifying the beamforming and UE antenna selection methodology of Paragraphs 0044, 0046 of Rico so that this beamforming and antenna selection would be based on TCI state activation messages from base station 210 of Rico (TCI state activation messages incorporated from Paragraph 0047 Venugopal), and since both Rico and Venugopal disclose antenna beamforming and communication across multiple carriers disclosed in Paragraph 0044 (Rico); and Paragraph 0083 (Venugopal).
Regarding Claim 2, Rico discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds are associated with a feedline loss threshold, a blockage loss threshold, or both, and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: select a first set of antenna elements based at least in part on the one or more antenna elements satisfying a first antenna element performance threshold associated with the feedline loss threshold; and select a second set of antenna elements different than the first set of antenna elements based at least in part on the one or more antenna elements satisfying a second antenna element performance threshold associated with the blockage loss threshold (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 3, Rico discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds comprise first one or more antenna element performance thresholds for uplink communications and second one or more antenna element performance thresholds for downlink communications, and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit one or more uplink signals via first one or more antenna elements, the first one or more antenna elements selected by the UE based at least in part on the first one or more antenna element performance thresholds; and receive one or more downlink signals via second one or more antenna elements, the second one or more antenna elements selected by the UE based at least in part on the second one or more antenna element performance thresholds (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 4, Rico discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds are based at least in part on a first size of a first antenna array of the UE, a second size of a second antenna array of a network entity, or both (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 5, Rico discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: select the one or more antenna elements from a set of antenna element groups, wherein each antenna element group of the set of antenna element groups is associated with a same power characteristic (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 6, Rico discloses wherein, to receive the first indication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive the first indication via a radio resource control (RRC) message, a downlink control information (DCI) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message, or any combination thereof (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 7, Rico discloses wherein, to transmit the second indication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the second indication via an RRC message, an uplink control information (UCI) message, a MAC-CE message, or any combination thereof (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 8, Rico discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: select the one or more antenna elements based at least in part on an antenna element configuration at the UE (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 9, Rico discloses wherein the antenna element configuration is associated with a geometry of the one or more antenna elements of the UE, an arrangement of the one or more antenna elements of the UE, one or more boresight directions of the one or more antenna elements of the UE, a radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) configuration, a mapping between one or more RFIC ports and one or more feedlines associated with the one or more antenna elements of the UE, or any combination thereof (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 10, Rico discloses wherein the one or more antenna elements of the UE comprises one or more first sets of antenna elements, each first set of antenna elements associated with a respective plurality of boresight directions, and one or more second sets of antenna elements, each second set of antenna elements associated with a respective single boresight direction (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 11, Rico discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: communicate with a network entity in accordance with the one or more TCI states based at least in part on transmitting the second indication (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 12, Rico discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a third indication from a network entity of one or more second TCI states, different from the one or more TCI states, based at least in part on transmitting the second indication; and communicate with the network entity in accordance with the one or more second TCI states based at least in part on receiving the third indication (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 14, Rico discloses wherein, to transmit the first indication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: select the one or more antenna element performance thresholds based at least in part on a performance tradeoff between a blockage loss and a feedline loss, an antenna panel configuration supported by the UE, or both; and transmit the first indication of the one or more antenna element selection parameters based at least in part on the selecting (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 15, Rico discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds are associated with a feedline loss threshold, a blockage loss threshold, or both (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 16, Rico discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds comprise first one or more antenna element performance thresholds for uplink communications and second one or more antenna element performance thresholds for downlink communications, and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: receive one or more uplink signals based at least in part on the first one or more antenna element performance thresholds; and transmit one or more downlink signals based at least in part on the second one or more antenna element performance thresholds (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 17, Rico discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds are based at least in part on a first size of a first antenna array at the UE, a second size of a second antenna array at the network entity, or both (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 18, Rico discloses wherein, to transmit the first indication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit the first indication via a radio resource control (RRC) message, a downlink control information (DCI) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message, or any combination thereof (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 19, Rico discloses wherein, to receive the second indication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: receive the second indication via an RRC message, an uplink control information (UCI) message, a MAC-CE message, or any combination thereof (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 20, Rico discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: communicate with one or more UEs including the UE in accordance with the one or more TCI states based at least in part on receiving the second indication (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 21, Rico discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit a third indication to the UE of one or more second TCI states, different from the one or more TCI states, based at least in part on receiving the second indication; and communicate with one or more UEs including the UE in accordance with the one or more second TCI states based at least in part on transmitting the third indication (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 23, Rico discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds are associated with a feedline loss threshold, a blockage loss threshold, or both, the method further comprising: selecting a first set of antenna elements based at least in part on the one or more antenna elements satisfying a first antenna element performance threshold associated with the feedline loss threshold; and selecting a second set of antenna elements different than the first set of antenna elements based at least in part on the one or more antenna elements satisfying a second antenna element performance threshold associated with the blockage loss threshold (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 24, Rico discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds comprise first one or more antenna element performance thresholds for uplink communications and second one or more antenna element performance thresholds for downlink communications, the method further comprising: transmitting one or more uplink signals via first one or more antenna elements, the first one or more antenna elements selected by the UE based at least in part on the first one or more antenna element performance thresholds; and receiving one or more downlink signals via second one or more antenna elements, the second one or more antenna elements selected by the UE based at least in part on the second one or more antenna element performance thresholds (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 25, Rico discloses selecting the one or more antenna elements based at least in part on an antenna element configuration at the UE (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 26, Rico discloses wherein the antenna element configuration is associated with a geometry of the one or more antenna elements of the UE, an arrangement of the one or more antenna elements of the UE, one or more boresight directions of the one or more antenna elements of the UE, a radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) configuration, a mapping between one or more RFIC ports and one or more feedlines associated with the one or more antenna elements of the UE, or any combination thereof (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 28, Rico discloses wherein transmitting the first indication comprises: selecting the one or more antenna element performance thresholds based at least in part on a performance tradeoff between a blockage loss and a feedline loss, an antenna panel configuration supported by the UE, or both; and transmitting the first indication of the one or more antenna element selection parameters based at least in part on the selecting (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 29, Rico discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds are associated with a feedline loss threshold, a blockage loss threshold, or both (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 30, Rico discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds comprise first one or more antenna element performance thresholds for uplink communications and second one or more antenna element performance thresholds for downlink communications, the method further comprising: receiving one or more uplink signals based at least in part on the first one or more antenna element performance thresholds; and transmitting one or more downlink signals based at least in part on the second one or more antenna element performance thresholds (figure 2, 205 and figure 8, 805, figure 8, 825 and paragraph [0098], figure 8, 820 and paragraph [0098]), paragraph [0048-0049], paragraph [0058]).
Claim 1-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chendamarai Kannan (US 2018/0278320) in view of Venugopal (US 2021/0126761).
Regarding Claim 1, 13, 22, 27, Chendamarai discloses UE comprising:
(the UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015)
one or more memories storing processor—-executable code; and (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]) one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111])
receive a first indication of one or more antenna element selection parameters, the one or more antenna element selection parameters comprising one or more antenna element performance thresholds for antenna element selection by the UE; (paragraph [0073], " in some examples, at least one of the first threshold or the second threshold may be preconfigured at the UE 515, determined based at least in part on a parameter of the UE 515, received from the base station 505, or a combination thereof"; emphasis added by the examiner; selection of antenna sub-arrays - and thus elements - based on the thresholds is disclosed in paragraphs [0073] and [0064])
transmit a second indication of one or more transmission configuration indicator, TCI, states corresponding to usage of one or more antenna elements of the UE, the one or more antenna elements selected by the UE based at least in part on the one or more antenna elements satisfying the one or more antenna element performance thresholds. (paragraph [0074], "In some examples, the UE 515 may transmit to the base station, on a beam, a scheduling request state (e.g., a multiple bit indication) indicating the selected second antenna sub-array (e.g., a switch to the second antenna sub-array at the UE 515)."; in the generic context of the claim the indication of the selected second antenna sub-array may be viewed as an indication of a TCI state).
Chendamarai does not disclose wherein each TCI state of one or more TCI states is associated with a respective spatial resource for communications via one or more antenna elements. However, Venugopal discloses wherein each TCI state of one or more TCI states is associated with a respective spatial resource for communications via one or more antenna elements (Paragraph 0083; Figure 2). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to increase the functionality of Chendamarai by modifying the beamforming and UE antenna selection methodology of Paragraph 0074 of Chendamarai so that this beamforming and antenna selection would be based on TCI state activation messages from base station 505 of Chendamarai (TCI state activation messages incorporated from Paragraph 0047 Venugopal), and since both Chendamarai and Venugopal disclose antenna beam communication disclosed in Paragraph 0074 (Chendamarai); and Paragraph 0083 (Venugopal).
Regarding Claim 2, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds are associated with a feedline loss threshold, a blockage loss threshold, or both, and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: select a first set of antenna elements based at least in part on the one or more antenna elements satisfying a first antenna element performance threshold associated with the feedline loss threshold; and select a second set of antenna elements different than the first set of antenna elements based at least in part on the one or more antenna elements satisfying a second antenna element performance threshold associated with the blockage loss threshold (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 3, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds comprise first one or more antenna element performance thresholds for uplink communications and second one or more antenna element performance thresholds for downlink communications, and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit one or more uplink signals via first one or more antenna elements, the first one or more antenna elements selected by the UE based at least in part on the first one or more antenna element performance thresholds; and receive one or more downlink signals via second one or more antenna elements, the second one or more antenna elements selected by the UE based at least in part on the second one or more antenna element performance thresholds (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 4, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds are based at least in part on a first size of a first antenna array of the UE, a second size of a second antenna array of a network entity, or both (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 5, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: select the one or more antenna elements from a set of antenna element groups, wherein each antenna element group of the set of antenna element groups is associated with a same power characteristic (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 6, Chendamarai discloses wherein, to receive the first indication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive the first indication via a radio resource control (RRC) message, a downlink control information (DCI) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message, or any combination thereof (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 7, Chendamarai discloses wherein, to transmit the second indication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the second indication via an RRC message, an uplink control information (UCI) message, a MAC-CE message, or any combination thereof (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 8, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: select the one or more antenna elements based at least in part on an antenna element configuration at the UE (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 9, Chendamarai discloses wherein the antenna element configuration is associated with a geometry of the one or more antenna elements of the UE, an arrangement of the one or more antenna elements of the UE, one or more boresight directions of the one or more antenna elements of the UE, a radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) configuration, a mapping between one or more RFIC ports and one or more feedlines associated with the one or more antenna elements of the UE, or any combination thereof (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 10, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more antenna elements of the UE comprises one or more first sets of antenna elements, each first set of antenna elements associated with a respective plurality of boresight directions, and one or more second sets of antenna elements, each second set of antenna elements associated with a respective single boresight direction (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 11, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: communicate with a network entity in accordance with the one or more TCI states based at least in part on transmitting the second indication (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 12, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a third indication from a network entity of one or more second TCI states, different from the one or more TCI states, based at least in part on transmitting the second indication; and communicate with the network entity in accordance with the one or more second TCI states based at least in part on receiving the third indication (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 14, Chendamarai discloses wherein, to transmit the first indication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: select the one or more antenna element performance thresholds based at least in part on a performance tradeoff between a blockage loss and a feedline loss, an antenna panel configuration supported by the UE, or both; and transmit the first indication of the one or more antenna element selection parameters based at least in part on the selecting (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 15, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds are associated with a feedline loss threshold, a blockage loss threshold, or both (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 16, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds comprise first one or more antenna element performance thresholds for uplink communications and second one or more antenna element performance thresholds for downlink communications, and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: receive one or more uplink signals based at least in part on the first one or more antenna element performance thresholds; and transmit one or more downlink signals based at least in part on the second one or more antenna element performance thresholds (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 17, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds are based at least in part on a first size of a first antenna array at the UE, a second size of a second antenna array at the network entity, or both (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 18, Chendamarai discloses wherein, to transmit the first indication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit the first indication via a radio resource control (RRC) message, a downlink control information (DCI) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message, or any combination thereof (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 19, Chendamarai discloses wherein, to receive the second indication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: receive the second indication via an RRC message, an uplink control information (UCI) message, a MAC-CE message, or any combination thereof (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 20, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: communicate with one or more UEs including the UE in accordance with the one or more TCI states based at least in part on receiving the second indication (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 21, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit a third indication to the UE of one or more second TCI states, different from the one or more TCI states, based at least in part on receiving the second indication; and communicate with one or more UEs including the UE in accordance with the one or more second TCI states based at least in part on transmitting the third indication (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 23, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds are associated with a feedline loss threshold, a blockage loss threshold, or both, the method further comprising: selecting a first set of antenna elements based at least in part on the one or more antenna elements satisfying a first antenna element performance threshold associated with the feedline loss threshold; and selecting a second set of antenna elements different than the first set of antenna elements based at least in part on the one or more antenna elements satisfying a second antenna element performance threshold associated with the blockage loss threshold (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 24, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds comprise first one or more antenna element performance thresholds for uplink communications and second one or more antenna element performance thresholds for downlink communications, the method further comprising: transmitting one or more uplink signals via first one or more antenna elements, the first one or more antenna elements selected by the UE based at least in part on the first one or more antenna element performance thresholds; and receiving one or more downlink signals via second one or more antenna elements, the second one or more antenna elements selected by the UE based at least in part on the second one or more antenna element performance thresholds (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 25, Chendamarai discloses selecting the one or more antenna elements based at least in part on an antenna element configuration at the UE (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 26, Chendamarai discloses wherein the antenna element configuration is associated with a geometry of the one or more antenna elements of the UE, an arrangement of the one or more antenna elements of the UE, one or more boresight directions of the one or more antenna elements of the UE, a radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) configuration, a mapping between one or more RFIC ports and one or more feedlines associated with the one or more antenna elements of the UE, or any combination thereof (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 28, Chendamarai discloses wherein transmitting the first indication comprises: selecting the one or more antenna element performance thresholds based at least in part on a performance tradeoff between a blockage loss and a feedline loss, an antenna panel configuration supported by the UE, or both; and transmitting the first indication of the one or more antenna element selection parameters based at least in part on the selecting (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 29, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds are associated with a feedline loss threshold, a blockage loss threshold, or both (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Regarding Claim 30, Chendamarai discloses wherein the one or more antenna element performance thresholds comprise first one or more antenna element performance thresholds for uplink communications and second one or more antenna element performance thresholds for downlink communications, the method further comprising: receiving one or more uplink signals based at least in part on the first one or more antenna element performance thresholds; and transmitting one or more downlink signals based at least in part on the second one or more antenna element performance thresholds (UE of figures 5, 515 and 10, 1015; (figure 10, 1020 and paragraph [0111]); (figure 10, 1010 and paragraph [0111]); Paragraphs [0073-0074] and [0064]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKUR JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649