DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 21, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2022-134451, filed on August 25, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-4 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine); claim 5 is directed to a method (i.e., a process). Therefore, claims 1-5 all fall within the one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One
Independent claims 1 and 5 substantially recite performing processing for temporarily permitting use the specific charging and discharging facility by a non-specific vehicle different from the specific vehicle on condition that the non-specific vehicle uses the specific charging and discharging facility to exchange electric power with the trading partner, and
performing processing for granting an incentive to a user of the non-specific vehicle or a manager of the specific charging and discharging facility on condition that the non-specific vehicle has exchanged electric power with the trading partner.
The limitations stated above are processes/functions that under broadest reasonable interpretation covers “certain methods of organizing human activity” (commercial interactions) of managing usage availability of charging stations. Therefore, the claims recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claims 1 and 5 as a whole amount to: (i) merely invoking generic components as a tool to perform the abstract idea or “apply it” (or an equivalent), and (ii) generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The claim recites the additional elements of: (i) a power management system (claims 1, 5), (ii) a plurality of vehicles (claims 1, 5), (iii) a plurality of charging and discharging apparatuses each including a cable through which electric power exchanged with the vehicle passes and a connector for connection of the cable to the vehicle (claim 1 and 5), (iv) a server that manages exchange of electric power (claims 1 and 5), (v) a specific charging and discharging facility available to a specific vehicle of the vehicles (claims 1 and 5), (vi) a specific vehicle being permanently permitted to use the charging and discharging apparatus (claims 1 and 5), and (vii) a non-specific vehicle different from the specific vehicle (claims 1 and 5).
The additional elements of (i) a power management system, (ii) a plurality of vehicles, (iv) a server that manages exchange of electric power, (v) a specific charging and discharging facility available to a specific vehicle of the vehicles, (vi) a specific vehicle being permanently permitted to use the charging and discharging apparatus, and (vii) a non-specific vehicle different from the specific vehicle are recited at a high level of generality (see [Pg. 2, Ln. 4-20] of the Applicant’s Specification discussing the power management system, the server that manages exchange of electric power, [Pg. 5, Ln. 18-22] discussing the plurality of vehicles, the specific vehicle being permanently permitted to use the charging and discharging apparatus, and the non-specific vehicle different from the specific vehicle, and [Pg. 9, Ln. 11-22] discussing the specific charging and discharging facility available to a specific vehicle of the vehicles) such that, when viewed as whole/ordered combination, it amounts to no more than mere instruction to apply the judicial exception using generic computer components or “apply it” (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional element of (iii) a plurality of charging and discharging apparatuses each including a cable through which electric power exchanged with the vehicle passes and a connector for connection of the cable to the vehicle, wherein the at least one sensor includes a shift position sensor of the vehicle, (as interpreted above in the claim interpretation section) is recited at a high-level of generality (see [Pg. 2, Ln. 4-20] of the Applicant’s Specification discussing the plurality of charging and discharging apparatuses each including a cable through which electric power exchanged with the vehicle passes and a connector for connection of the cable to the vehicle, wherein the at least one sensor includes a shift position sensor of the vehicle) when viewed as whole/ordered combination, does no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., EV Charging) (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, these additional elements, when viewed as a whole/ordered combination [See Figures 1 and 2 showing all the additional elements (i) a power management system, (ii) a plurality of vehicles, (iii) a plurality of charging and discharging apparatuses each including a cable through which electric power exchanged with the vehicle passes and a connector for connection of the cable to the vehicle, (iv) a server that manages exchange of electric power, (v) a specific charging and discharging facility available to a specific vehicle of the vehicles, (vi) a specific vehicle being permanently permitted to use the charging and discharging apparatus, and (vii) a non-specific vehicle different from the specific vehicle in combination], do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements amount to no more than: (i) “apply it” (or an equivalent), and (ii) generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, and are not a practical application of the abstract idea. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., (i) merely invoking the generic components as a tool to perform the abstract idea or “apply it” (See MPEP 2106.05(f)); and (ii) generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)), does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, nothing in the claims adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, the claims 1 and 5 are ineligible.
Dependent Claims 2-4 merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea limitations. For reasons described above with respect to claim 1 these judicial exceptions are not meaningfully integrated into a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, claims 2-4 are also ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wild (US 20150224888) (hereafter Wild) in view of Juhasz (US 20140125279) (hereafter Juhasz).
In regards to claim 1, Wild discloses a power management system in which electric power is exchanged between a power supply and demand system of an electric power trading partner and a vehicle, the power management system comprising: a plurality of vehicles; (Para. 21, 51) (“Systems and methods for facilitating access to an electric vehicle charging network are described. In some embodiments, the system (e.g., a ‘charging interface system’) provides an interface via which an electric vehicle (EV) may access and/or be authorized to one of multiple, disparate charging networks.” “a charging network may require and/or request that an electric vehicle and/or associated driver be a registered user or member of the charging network in order to utilize the charging station provided by the charging network. As described herein, the charging interface system 125, therefore, provides an interface to automatically register electric vehicles (i.e. a plurality of vehicles) and/or associated drivers to these charging networks.”)
Wild discloses a plurality of charging and discharging apparatuses each including a cable through which electric power exchanged with the vehicle passes and a connector for connection of the cable to the vehicle; and (Para. 30, 40) (“The mobile application 127 may communicate with the charging interface system 125, one or more charging networks 140, a charging station 145, and/or a computing device 135 supported by an electric vehicle 130, over a network 105, such as the internet or other wireless or telecommunication networks. The electric vehicle (EV) 130 (e.g., a vehicle, plugin hybrid, range extended hybrid, electric traction or battery or plugin vehicle) is connected to the charging station 145 via a charging cable 147, which provides charge to a battery pack of the EV 130 (i.e. charging and discharging apparatuses each including a cable through which electric power exchanged with the vehicle passes and a connector for connection of the cable to the vehicle).” “The charging interface system 125 may communicate with the various charging networks (or, their associated charging stations (i.e. a plurality of charging and discharging apparatuses) ) via application programming interfaces (APIs)”)
Wild discloses a server that manages exchange of electric power, (Para. 40, 43) (“The charging interface system (i.e. a server that manages exchange of electric power) 125 facilitates communications associated with the payment for charging services and/or other authorization processes with multiple, disparate charging networks, such as a first charging network 210, a second charging network 220, and/or a home charging network 230.” “aspects of the system are described in the general context of computer-executable instructions, such as routines executed by a general-purpose computer, e.g., … a server computer (i.e. a server that manages exchange of electric power)”)
Wild discloses each charging and discharging apparatus of the charging and discharging apparatuses includes a specific charging and discharging facility available to a specific vehicle of the vehicles, (Para. 40, 122, 125) (“The charging interface system 125 facilitates communications associated with the payment for charging services and/or other authorization processes with multiple, disparate charging networks, such as … a home charging network 230 (i.e. each charging and discharging apparatus of the charging and discharging apparatuses includes a specific charging and discharging facility available to a specific vehicle of the vehicles)” “the charging interface system 125 may provide a system and method for incentivizing charging station owners, such as individuals who provide home or non-networked charging stations (i.e. each charging and discharging apparatus of the charging and discharging apparatuses includes a specific charging and discharging facility available to a specific vehicle of the vehicles).” “a driver of an electric vehicle (i.e. a specific vehicle of the vehicles) that provides his/her home as a charging station (i.e. a specific charging and discharging facility available to a specific vehicle of the vehicles).”)
Wild discloses the server performs processing for temporarily permitting use the specific charging and discharging facility by a non-specific vehicle different from the specific vehicle on condition that the non-specific vehicle uses the specific charging and discharging facility to exchange electric power with the trading partner, and (Para. 30, 40, 103, 122-123) (“a suitable computing environment 100 in which a charging interface system 125 may be supported and/or implemented. The computing environment 100 includes … one or more charging networks (i.e. a trading partner) 140” “The charging interface system 125 facilitates communications associated with the payment for charging services and/or other authorization processes with multiple, disparate charging networks, such as … a home charging network 230 (i.e. the server performs processing for temporarily permitting use the specific charging and discharging facility by a non-specific vehicle different from the specific vehicle)” “the payment module 1340 may include a reservation module that is configured to reserve the available charging station on behalf of a driver of the electric vehicle. For example, upon matching an available charging station to an electric vehicle, the payment module 1340, via the reservation module, may automatically or temporarily reserve the charging station (i.e. temporarily permitting use the specific charging and discharging facility by a non-specific vehicle different from the specific vehicle) on behalf of the driver of the electric vehicle.” “the charging interface system 125 may provide a system and method for incentivizing charging station owners, such as individuals who provide home or non-networked charging stations. … the charging interface system 125 may facilitate the authorization and/or payment of a charging event or session between an electric vehicle and a charging station (i.e. the server performs processing for temporarily permitting use the specific charging and discharging facility by a non-specific vehicle different from the specific vehicle on condition that the non-specific vehicle uses the specific charging and discharging facility to exchange electric power with the trading partner), … the charging interface system 125 may query the charging station, and/or an owner or providing network of the charging station for session data, such as information indicating a day and time of charging sessions, information identifying the duration of charging sessions, information identifying the electric vehicles associated with the charging sessions, and so on.” That is, the authorization of a charging event or session (i.e. temporarily permitting use the specific charging and discharging facility by a non-specific vehicle different from the specific vehicle) is conditional upon the requesting driver using the reserved/authorized charging station associated with an entity (i.e. on condition that the non-specific vehicle uses the specific charging and discharging facility to exchange electric power with the trading partner).)
Wild discloses performs processing for granting an incentive to a manager of the specific charging and discharging facility on condition that the non-specific vehicle has exchanged electric power with the trading partner. (Para. 30, 125) (“a suitable computing environment 100 in which a charging interface system 125 may be supported and/or implemented. The computing environment 100 includes … one or more charging networks (i.e. a trading partner) 140” “the charging interface system 1830 provides a reward to an entity associated with the charging station (i.e. a manager of the specific charging and discharging facility) that is based on the received feedback (i.e. on condition that the non-specific vehicle has exchanged electric power with the trading partner). For example, the charging interface system 125 may provide points, credits, or other discounts or rewards (i.e. granting an incentive) to a driver of an electric vehicle that provides his/her home as a charging station (i.e. a manager of the specific charging and discharging facility). The rewards may include credits towards charging at charging stations facilitated and/or managed by the charging interface system 125. For example, drivers may tip or otherwise provide positive feedback for a driver of an electric vehicle that allows other drivers to charge at his/her home charging station.” That is, the rewards are provided to the entity/driver providing their home is based feedback received after completion of a charging event (i.e. on condition that the non-specific vehicle has exchanged electric power with the trading partner).”)
Wild does not explicitly, however Juhasz, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the specific vehicle being permanently permitted to use the charging and discharging apparatus, and (Para. 78) (“The VIP status 814 of the user is an indication that the user is a ‘very important person.’ The VIP status 814, such as VIP status 834, is an indication that the User ID 832 is associated with a user that is ‘very important’ in some regard. This may be … an individual (i.e. the specific vehicle of Wild) who has … permanently been given priority access to this (and potentially other) ECVS (i.e. the specific vehicle being permanently permitted to use the charging and discharging apparatus).”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified provision of charging stations of Wild with the EV charging of Juhasz in order to improve the prioritization and optimization of charger allocation. (Juhasz – Abstract and Para. 10)
In regards to claim 2, Wild in view of Juhasz disclose the limitations of claim 1. Wild discloses wherein the server grants the manager the incentive in accordance with performance of the specific charging and discharging facility. (Para. 125) (“the charging interface system 1830 provides a reward to an entity (i.e. the manager) associated with the charging station that is based on the received feedback (i.e. the server grants the manager the incentive in accordance with performance of the specific charging and discharging facility). For example, the charging interface system 125 may provide points, credits, or other discounts or rewards to a driver of an electric vehicle (i.e. the manager) that provides his/her home as a charging station. … drivers may tip or otherwise provide positive feedback for a driver of an electric vehicle that allows other drivers to charge at his/her home charging station. The driver may then use points or credits earned from the tips and positive feedback (i.e. the server grants the manager the incentive in accordance with performance of the specific charging and discharging facility)”)
In regards to claim 3, Wild in view of Juhasz disclose the limitations of claim 1. Wild discloses the server searches for the specific charging and discharging facility in accordance with desire of the user of the non-specific vehicle in response to a request for search for the specific charging and discharging facility and transmits a result of search to the user. (Para. 97- 100) (“the request module 1310 is configured and/or programmed to receive a request to charge an electric vehicle at one of the multiple charging stations … the identification module 1320 may poll or otherwise query the charging stations at the location in order to identify or determine the charging stations that are available for use. … the information module 1330 is configured and/or programmed to present information associated with the available charging station. … The information module 1330 may present the information via the user interface 1330 and/or via the mobile application 127 in communication with the device and supported by the mobile device 110 associated with a driver of the electric vehicle.”)
In regards to claim 5, Wild discloses a power management method in a power management system in which electric power is exchanged between a power supply and demand system of an electric power trading partner and a vehicle, the power management system including a plurality of vehicles, (Para. 21, 51) (“Systems and methods for facilitating access to an electric vehicle charging network are described. In some embodiments, the system (e.g., a ‘charging interface system’) provides an interface via which an electric vehicle (EV) may access and/or be authorized to one of multiple, disparate charging networks.” “a charging network may require and/or request that an electric vehicle and/or associated driver be a registered user or member of the charging network in order to utilize the charging station provided by the charging network. As described herein, the charging interface system 125, therefore, provides an interface to automatically register electric vehicles (i.e. a plurality of vehicles) and/or associated drivers to these charging networks.”)
Wild discloses a plurality of charging and discharging apparatuses each including a cable through which electric power exchanged with the vehicle passes and a connector for connection of the cable to the vehicle, and (Para. 30, 40) (“The mobile application 127 may communicate with the charging interface system 125, one or more charging networks 140, a charging station 145, and/or a computing device 135 supported by an electric vehicle 130, over a network 105, such as the internet or other wireless or telecommunication networks. The electric vehicle (EV) 130 (e.g., a vehicle, plugin hybrid, range extended hybrid, electric traction or battery or plugin vehicle) is connected to the charging station 145 via a charging cable 147, which provides charge to a battery pack of the EV 130 (i.e. charging and discharging apparatuses each including a cable through which electric power exchanged with the vehicle passes and a connector for connection of the cable to the vehicle).” “The charging interface system 125 may communicate with the various charging networks (or, their associated charging stations (i.e. a plurality of charging and discharging apparatuses) ) via application programming interfaces (APIs)”)
Wild discloses a server that manages exchange of electric power, (Para. 40, 43) (“The charging interface system (i.e. a server that manages exchange of electric power) 125 facilitates communications associated with the payment for charging services and/or other authorization processes with multiple, disparate charging networks, such as a first charging network 210, a second charging network 220, and/or a home charging network 230.” “aspects of the system are described in the general context of computer-executable instructions, such as routines executed by a general-purpose computer, e.g., … a server computer (i.e. a server that manages exchange of electric power)”)
Wild discloses each charging and discharging apparatus of the charging and discharging apparatuses including a specific charging and discharging facility available to a specific vehicle of the vehicles, (Para. 40, 122, 125) (“The charging interface system 125 facilitates communications associated with the payment for charging services and/or other authorization processes with multiple, disparate charging networks, such as … a home charging network 230 (i.e. each charging and discharging apparatus of the charging and discharging apparatuses includes a specific charging and discharging facility available to a specific vehicle of the vehicles)” “the charging interface system 125 may provide a system and method for incentivizing charging station owners, such as individuals who provide home or non-networked charging stations (i.e. each charging and discharging apparatus of the charging and discharging apparatuses includes a specific charging and discharging facility available to a specific vehicle of the vehicles).” “a driver of an electric vehicle (i.e. a specific vehicle of the vehicles) that provides his/her home as a charging station (i.e. a specific charging and discharging facility available to a specific vehicle of the vehicles).”)
Wild discloses the power management method comprising: performing, by the server, processing for temporarily permitting use the specific charging and discharging facility by a non-specific vehicle different from the specific vehicle on condition that the non-specific vehicle uses the specific charging and discharging facility to exchange electric power with the trading partner; and (Para. 30, 40, 103, 122-123) (“a suitable computing environment 100 in which a charging interface system 125 may be supported and/or implemented. The computing environment 100 includes … one or more charging networks (i.e. a trading partner) 140” “The charging interface system 125 facilitates communications associated with the payment for charging services and/or other authorization processes with multiple, disparate charging networks, such as … a home charging network 230 (i.e. the server performs processing for temporarily permitting use the specific charging and discharging facility by a non-specific vehicle different from the specific vehicle)” “the payment module 1340 may include a reservation module that is configured to reserve the available charging station on behalf of a driver of the electric vehicle. For example, upon matching an available charging station to an electric vehicle, the payment module 1340, via the reservation module, may automatically or temporarily reserve the charging station (i.e. temporarily permitting use the specific charging and discharging facility by a non-specific vehicle different from the specific vehicle) on behalf of the driver of the electric vehicle.” “the charging interface system 125 may provide a system and method for incentivizing charging station owners, such as individuals who provide home or non-networked charging stations. … the charging interface system 125 may facilitate the authorization and/or payment of a charging event or session between an electric vehicle and a charging station (i.e. performing processing for temporarily permitting use the specific charging and discharging facility by a non-specific vehicle different from the specific vehicle on condition that the non-specific vehicle uses the specific charging and discharging facility to exchange electric power with the trading partner), … the charging interface system 125 may query the charging station, and/or an owner or providing network of the charging station for session data, such as information indicating a day and time of charging sessions, information identifying the duration of charging sessions, information identifying the electric vehicles associated with the charging sessions, and so on.” That is, the authorization of a charging event or session (i.e. temporarily permitting use the specific charging and discharging facility by a non-specific vehicle different from the specific vehicle) is conditional upon the requesting driver using the reserved/authorized charging station associated with an entity (i.e. on condition that the non-specific vehicle uses the specific charging and discharging facility to exchange electric power with the trading partner).)
Wild discloses performing, by the server, processing for granting an incentive to a user of the non-specific vehicle or a manager of the specific charging and discharging facility on condition that the non-specific vehicle has exchanged electric power with the trading partner. (Para. 30, 125) (“a suitable computing environment 100 in which a charging interface system 125 may be supported and/or implemented. The computing environment 100 includes … one or more charging networks (i.e. a trading partner) 140” “the charging interface system 1830 provides a reward to an entity associated with the charging station (i.e. a manager of the specific charging and discharging facility) that is based on the received feedback (i.e. on condition that the non-specific vehicle has exchanged electric power with the trading partner). For example, the charging interface system 125 may provide points, credits, or other discounts or rewards (i.e. granting an incentive) to a driver of an electric vehicle that provides his/her home as a charging station (i.e. a manager of the specific charging and discharging facility). The rewards may include credits towards charging at charging stations facilitated and/or managed by the charging interface system 125. For example, drivers may tip or otherwise provide positive feedback for a driver of an electric vehicle that allows other drivers to charge at his/her home charging station.” That is, the rewards are provided to the entity/driver providing their home is based feedback received after completion of a charging event (i.e. on condition that the non-specific vehicle has exchanged electric power with the trading partner).”)
Wild does not explicitly, however Juhasz, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the specific vehicle being permanently permitted to use the charging and discharging apparatus, and (Para. 78) (“The VIP status 814 of the user is an indication that the user is a ‘very important person.’ The VIP status 814, such as VIP status 834, is an indication that the User ID 832 is associated with a user that is ‘very important’ in some regard. This may be … an individual (i.e. the specific vehicle of Wild) who has … permanently been given priority access to this (and potentially other) ECVS (i.e. the specific vehicle being permanently permitted to use the charging and discharging apparatus).”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified provision of charging stations of Wild with the EV charging of Juhasz in order to improve the prioritization and optimization of charger allocation. (Juhasz – Abstract and Para. 10)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wild in view of Juhasz and further in view of Charged (“EVmatch: A simple, low-cost way to monetize your charging stations”; December 26, 2019) (hereafter Charged)
In regards to claim 4, Wild in view of Juhasz disclose the limitations of claim 3. Wild discloses the server searches for the specific charging and discharging facility available (Para. 97- 100) (“the request module 1310 is configured and/or programmed to receive a request to charge an electric vehicle at one of the multiple charging stations … the identification module 1320 may poll or otherwise query the charging stations at the location in order to identify or determine the charging stations that are available for use. … the information module 1330 is configured and/or programmed to present information associated with the available charging station. … The information module 1330 may present the information via the user interface 1330 and/or via the mobile application 127 in communication with the device and supported by the mobile device 110 associated with a driver of the electric vehicle.”)
Wild in view of Juhasz does not explicitly disclose, however Charged, in the same field of endeavor discloses the specific charging and discharging facility available of Wild is available on a day when the specific vehicle does not use the specific charging and discharging facility. (Pg. 4) (“A business that offers workplace charging could use the subnetwork feature to make its chargers available to the public outside working hours. “They could say, for example, Monday through Friday, nine to five, it’s only available to our employees or our customers. Then on the weekends it’s available to the general public (i.e. the specific charging and discharging facility available of Wild is available on a day when the specific vehicle does not use the specific charging and discharging facility), and they can set different prices for different user groups.”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified provision of charging stations of Wild in view of Juhasz with the shared private chargers of Charged in order to improve charger utilization and peer-to-peer charging opportunities. (Charged – Pg. 1-2)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Meroux – US 20230173941 – discloses systems and methods for facilitating temporary access to charging facilities.
/DAVID G. GODBOLD/Examiner, Art Unit 3628