DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claim 7 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Zhu. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim7 recites the force of the thermoforming is 7kN, However, this is indefinite without an area provided. It appears that applicants meant to recite a pressure unit and not a force unit. For examination purposes it is assumed that kN are equivalent to Mpa.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (Macromolecular Research, Vol.25, No.2, pp. 165-171 (2017), as supplied by applicants).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 8-9 and 18-19
Zhu discloses a biodegradable pol(butylene succinate)/Spirulina composite made by mixing 100 parts dry spirulina (i.e., unextracted or non-chemically modified biomatter),15 parts water (i.e., plasticizer), 10 parts glycerol (i.e., co-plasticizer), 2 parts sodium sulfite, and loading from 15 to 50 wt % of this composition with PBS (i.e., polymer) in a high speed mixer, mixing, melt blending at 130 C (i.e., baking), dried at 90 C for 16 H, then molded at 130 C (i.e., about 140 C) under a pressure of 10 MPa (i.e., about 7 MPa) for 3 min (i.e., about 5 minutes) (i.e., thermoforming or hot pressing), and cold molded to for standard specimens Preparation of PBS/Spirulina Biocomposites.
It is noted that the physical properties of the composite would necessarily be different than the Spirulina used as a starting material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Macromolecular Research, Vol.25, No.2, pp. 165-171 (2017), as supplied by applicants), as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9 and 18-19 above.
Regarding Claims 10-11
Zhu discloses that the Spirulina formulation can be loaded at up to 50wt % with the PBS, and although the formulation is not 100 % spirulina the amount would not be so much less than 50 wt % that the skilled artisan would expect a difference in properties.
Regarding claims 12-17
The density, tensile strength, elasticity, flexural strength, and biodegradability are all properties of the composition. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Macromolecular Research, Vol.25, No.2, pp. 165-171 (2017), as supplied by applicants), as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-19 above, in view of Lavoisier et al. (WO-2017046356-A1).
Regarding claim 6 and 20
Although, Zhu does not disclose the use of polylactic acid, Zhu does disclose the use of PBS. However, Lavoisier discloses that in similar biocomposites that poly lactic acid and PBS are functionally equivalent biodegradable polymers (approx..para 0045). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Zho by substituting poly lactic acid for PBS as the biodegradable polymer with a reasonable expectation of success in forming a useful composite as suggested by Lavoisier.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the rejections over Lavoisier.
Applicants amendments to the claims overcome the rejections over Lavoisier and they have been withdrawn. However, a new rejection has been made with new art making these arguments moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734