DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfgang, R. (EP2891513A2, relied on machine translation, hereinafter Wolfgang).
In regards to Claim 1, Wolfgang discloses a methane oxidation device (#2) for recovering heat for re-use in oxidation, said methane oxidation device (#2) comprising;
a methane oxidation unit (#10) for oxidising methane (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0016] and [0020]); and
a heat exchanger (#8) for recovering heat for re-use in oxidation (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0017], [0021] and [0025]);
wherein said heat exchanger (#8) comprises;
an inlet (#3) arranged, in use, in fluid communication with a source of methane emissions (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0017] and [0019]);
an outlet (#11) (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0017] and [0019]);
at least one flow path (#9), said at least one flow path fluidly connecting said inlet (#3) to said outlet (#11), said at least one flow path (#9) having at least a portion passing though said methane oxidation unit (#10) (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0017] and [0019]); and
at least one counter flow path (#14), wherein said counter flow path (#14) is the counter of said flow path (#9), said at least one counter flow path (#14) having at least a portion passing though said methane oxidation unit (#10) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0017], [0019] and [0021]);
in use, the at least one flow path (#9) and counter flow path (#14) are arranged to permit heat transfer therebetween (see figure 1 and paragraphs [-0019], [0021] and [0025]).
In regards to Claim 2, Wolfgang discloses wherein, in use, fluid flows via said at least one flow path (#9) and said at least one counter flow path (#14) and heat from the fluid exiting the methane oxidation unit (#10) is transferred to heat the fluid entering said methane oxidation unit (#10) (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0025]-[0027]).
In regards to Claim 3, Wolfgang discloses wherein said heat exchanger is a recuperative heat exchanger (see figure 1).
In regards to Claim 5, Wolfgang discloses wherein said heat exchanger is a single pass heat exchanger (see figure 1).
In regards to Claim 6, Wolfgang discloses wherein said inlet (#3) comprises an inlet manifold (#12) and said outlet comprises an outlet manifold (#11) (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0017] and [0019]).
In regards to Claim 7, Wolfgang discloses wherein said at least one counter flow path (#14) is parallel to said at least one flow path (#9) (see figure 1).
In regards to Claim 8, Wolfgang discloses the device as recited in claim 1. Although Wolfgang does not explicitly disclose wherein the length of said at least one flow path is identical to the length of said at least one counter flow path, changing the length of the at least one flow path to be identical to the length of the at least one counter flow path, as claimed by the applicant, is a mere engineering design choice in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as for improved heat transfer efficiency and is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
In regards to Claim 9, Wolfgang discloses wherein said at least one flow path (#9) and said at least one counter flow path (#14) are substantially straight (see figure 1).
In regards to Claim 11, Wolfgang discloses wherein said methane oxidation unit (#10) comprises a chamber (catalyst packing) for catalytic oxidation of methane (see figure 1 and paragraph [0020]).
In regards to Claim 12, Wolfgang discloses wherein said methane oxidation unit (#10) comprises at least one catalytic material located with said heat exchanger (see figure 1 and paragraph [0020]).
In regards to Claim 13, Wolfgang discloses wherein said at least one catalytic material is located within at least one of said at least one flow path (#9) or said at least one counter flow path (#14) (see figure 1).
In regards to Claim 14, Wolfgang discloses wherein said methane oxidation unit (#10) is located substantially equidistant the length of said at least one flow path (#9) and said at least one counter flow path (#14) (see figure 1).
In regards to Claim 15, Wolfgang discloses wherein said heat exchanger comprises an insulation unit (#6) for insulating the device to reduce heat loss to the external environment (see figure 1 and paragraph [0017]).
In regards to Claim 16, Wolfgang discloses wherein said device (#2) comprises a plurality of heat exchangers (see figure 2 and paragraph [0033]).
In regards to Claim 17, Wolfgang discloses wherein said device (#2) further comprises a heater unit (#28) for heating fluid within the methane oxidation unit (#10) which in use (see figure 1 and paragraph [0024]).
In regards to Claim 18, Wolfgang discloses wherein said device (#2) is substantially cuboid (see figure 1).
In regards to Claim 19, Wolfgang discloses the device as recited in claim 1. Although Wolfgang does not explicitly disclose wherein said device is substantially V-shaped, changing the shape of the device to a V-shaped is a mere engineering design choice, in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as for aesthetic appearance, and is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
In regards to Claim 20, Wolfgang discloses wherein said device (#2) further comprises a connection means (pipe connecting inlet #3 with inlet chamber #12) for connecting said inlet (#3) to a methane collection unit (#12) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0019]).
In regards to Claim 21, Wolfgang discloses wherein said device (#2) further comprises a methane collection unit (#12) for collecting methane emissions emitted by a methane source (see figure 1 and paragraph [0019]).
Examiner notes that although Wolfgang does not explicitly disclose wherein the methane emissions are emitted by an animal, utilizing another source of methane emission, such as emissions emitted by an animal is a mere engineering design choice in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as for removing methane emissions from an animal, and is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
In regards to Claim 23, Wolfgang discloses wherein said device (#2) further comprises at least one sensor (#18) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0022]).
In regards to Claim 24, Wolfgang discloses wherein said device (#2) further comprises a pump (#5 blower) for assisting fluid flow through the device (#2) while in use (see figure 1 and paragraph [0017]).
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfgang in view of Leyshon et al. (US Pat. No. 4,876,409, hereinafter Leyshon).
In regards to Claim 4, Wolfgang discloses the device as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the heat exchanger is a regenerative heat exchanger.
However, Leyshon teaches a device for the conversion of methane to higher hydrocarbons. The device comprises a methane oxidation unit comprising a monolithic reactor bed (#1). The monolithic reactor bed (#1) comprises channels (#2) therethrough for the passage of reaction gases. The feed gases comprised of methane and oxidant are introduced into channels (#2) through an inlet (#3), and reaction product gases at elevated temperatures are removed from channels (#2) at exit (#4), i.e. outlet. When feed gases pass through channels (#2), they are heated by heat of reaction conducted axially through solid (#1) in a direction opposite to the gas flow to a sufficiently high temperature such that the gases undergo the desired conversion of methane to higher hydrocarbons. The system depicted in FIG. 1 can be considered as comprised of two zones, a first preheat zone and a later reaction zone. There is no sharp demarcation between these zones--i.e. the feed gases may begin reacting while still being heated to higher reaction temperature. The cool feed gases upon reaching reaction temperature undergo the exothermic conversion to the desired products, the heat of reaction thus generated flowing axially to preheat additional feed gases (see figures 1a-1b and column 4, line 46 to column 5, line 2). This is considered equivalent to a regenerative heat exchanger, as claimed by the applicant.
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the device as disclosed by Wolfgang by substituting a known heat exchanger for another known heat exchanger, such as a regenerative heat exchanger, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Leyshon teaches a device for the conversion of methane to higher hydrocarbons comprising a methane oxidation unit a monolithic reactor bed comprising channels therethrough for the passage of reaction gases, wherein feed gases comprised of methane and oxidant are introduced into channels through an inlet, and reaction product gases at elevated temperatures are removed from channels at exit, whereby when feed gases pass through channels, they are heated by heat of reaction conducted axially through solid in a direction opposite to the gas flow to a sufficiently high temperature such that the gases undergo the desired conversion of methane to higher hydrocarbons, and wherein the feed gases may begin reacting while still being heated to higher reaction temperature, the cool feed gases upon reaching reaction temperature undergo the exothermic conversion to the desired products, the heat of reaction thus generated flowing axially to preheat additional feed gases, thereby obtaining a device with improved heat transfer (see figures 1a-1b and column 4, line 46 to column 5, line 2).
In regards to Claim 10, Wolfgang discloses the device as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein said at least one flow path and said at least one counter flow path are at least one of substantially curved or U-shaped.
However, Leyshon teaches a device for the conversion of methane to higher hydrocarbons. The device comprises a methane oxidation unit (#430), a heat exchanger (heat exchange occurring between flow path #450 and counter flow path #460) for recovering heat, an inlet (#470) in fluid communication with a source of methane emissions, an outlet (outlet for withdrawing reaction gas product mixture), at least one flow path (#450) connecting said inlet (#470) to said outlet, and at least one counter flow path (#460) and the at least one flow path (#450) and counter flow path (#460) are arranged to permit heat transfer therewith, and wherein said at least one flow path and said at least one counter flow path are at least one of substantially curved or U-shaped (see figure 4 and column 11, lines 20-39).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the device as disclosed by Wolfgang by further changing said at least one flow path and said at least one counter flow path are at least one of substantially curved or U-shaped, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Leyshon teaches a device for the conversion of methane to higher hydrocarbons, wherein the device comprises a methane oxidation unit, a heat exchanger for recovering heat, an inlet in fluid communication with a source of methane emissions, an outlet, at least one flow path connecting said inlet to said outlet, and at least one counter flow path and the at least one flow path and counter flow path are arranged to permit heat transfer therewith, and wherein said at least one flow path and said at least one counter flow path are at least one of substantially curved or U-shaped, thereby improving the heat transfer between both flow paths (see figure 4 and column 11, lines 20-39).
Claims 22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfgang in view of Norris et al. (WO2018/234729A1, hereinafter Norris).
In regards to Claim 22, Wolfgang, discloses the device as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein said device further comprises positioning means for positioning said device proximate the head of an animal.
However, Norris teaches a methane conversion device for oxidizing methane gas from livestock. The methane conversion device (#10) comprises a reaction chamber (#14), i.e. methane oxidation unit, comprising a housing (#12) having an inlet for introducing methane containing gas from the exterior of the device (#10) towards the reaction chamber (#14), and an exhaust (#22), i.e. outlet, to channel a gas stream from the reaction chamber (#14) towards the exterior of the device (#10), a palladium containing catalytic bed is located within the reaction chamber (#14) and is in thermal contact with a heating element (#24) (figures 1-4 and page 7, lines 1-13).
Norris further teaches a positioning means for positioning said device (#10) proximate the head of an animal, such that the methane gas passing over the device (#10) is catalytically oxidized in the reaction chamber (#14) and a product gas containing water vapor and carbon dioxide is expelled from the device via exhaust (#22) (see figures 1-4 and page 4, lines 20-26 and page 7, lines 15-26).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the device as disclosed by Wolfgang by further including positioning means for positioning said device proximate the head of an animal, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Norris teaches a methane conversion device for oxidizing methane gas from livestock comprising a reaction chamber, i.e. methane oxidation unit, comprising a housing having an inlet for introducing methane containing gas from the exterior of the device towards the reaction chamber, and an exhaust, i.e. outlet, to channel a gas stream from the reaction chamber towards the exterior of the device, a palladium containing catalytic bed located within the reaction chamber and in thermal contact with a heating element, and a positioning means for positioning said device proximate the head of an animal, such that the methane gas passing over the device is catalytically oxidized in the reaction chamber and a product gas containing water vapor and carbon dioxide is expelled from the device via the exhaust, thereby efficiently reducing methane emissions from livestock (see figures 1-4, page 4, lines 20-26 and page 7, lines 1-26).
In regards to Claim 25, Wolfgang, discloses the device as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein said device further comprises an emissions separation unit for separating the emissions based on at least one emission characteristic while in use.
However, Norris teaches a methane conversion device for oxidizing methane gas from livestock. The methane conversion device (#10) comprises a reaction chamber (#14), i.e. methane oxidation unit, comprising a housing (#12) having an inlet for introducing methane containing gas from the exterior of the device (#10) towards the reaction chamber (#14), and an exhaust (#22), i.e. outlet, to channel a gas stream from the reaction chamber (#14) towards the exterior of the device (#10), a palladium containing catalytic bed is located within the reaction chamber (#14) and is in thermal contact with a heating element (#24) (figures 1-4 and page 7, lines 1-13).
Norris further teaches the device (#10) may comprise filtration means, i.e. emission separator unit, configured to inhibit the entry of one or more gaseous species other than methane into the reaction chamber (#14). This helps to increase the methane concentration in the reaction chamber to a level above the lower explosive limit of methane, so that the methane becomes oxidized as it passes over the heating element. A carbon dioxide filter, i.e. emission separator unit, is provided to inhibit the passage of carbon dioxide to the device (#10) (page 3, lines 3-12, page 6, lines 5-7, and page 8, lines 21-27).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the device as disclosed by Wolfgang by further including an emissions separation unit for separating the emissions based on at least one emission characteristic while in use, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Norris teaches a methane conversion device for oxidizing methane gas from livestock comprising a reaction chamber, i.e. methane oxidation unit, comprising a housing having an inlet for introducing methane containing gas from the exterior of the device towards the reaction chamber, and an exhaust, i.e. outlet, to channel a gas stream from the reaction chamber towards the exterior of the device, a palladium containing catalytic bed located within the reaction chamber and in thermal contact with a heating element, and the device may comprise filtration means, i.e. emission separator unit, configured to inhibit the entry of one or more gaseous species other than methane into the reaction chamber, which helps to increase the methane concentration in the reaction chamber to a level above the lower explosive limit of methane, so that the methane becomes oxidized as it passes over the heating element (page 3, lines 3-12, page 6, lines 5-7, and page 8, lines 21-27).
Conclusion
/JELITZA M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774