DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “drive mechanism” in claim 17.
Applicant's specification shows the drive mechanism in figure 4 and is described in paragraphs 47-48 and 72-73 of the specification. The drive mechanism includes circuits that control actuators (paragraph 48 describes several actuator types with motors being one example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the radiation treatment plan" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-16 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1 and are also rejected.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the treatment planning process" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the radiation treatment plan" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 18-19 inherit the deficiencies of claim 17 and are also rejected.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the radiation treatment plan" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977 in view of US 2009/0256078 (Mazin).
Claims 1, 17, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977 discloses species with elements having specifics of the claims except for the limitation of the pairs being “uncovered by a jaw”. In a related area, Mazin discloses shows a method and apparatus for radiation therapy (title and abstract). Of note are paragraphs 37-38 and figure 5 which shows the use of collimator jaws (551) in a multi-leaf collimator to restrict divergence of radiation. The gap shown in figure 5 between the jaws can be considered as an uncovering of the collimator leaves (553) to the radiation source. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and apparatus of the US 11,730,977 to include the process of uncovering leaf pairs by a jaw, as shown by Mazin, in order to restrict divergence of radiation.
Claims 2-16 and 18 recite the same components present in U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977 and are mapped as follows.
Claim 2 is disclosed by claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim 3 is disclosed by claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim 4 is disclosed by claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim 5 is disclosed by claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim 6 is disclosed by claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim 7 is disclosed by claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim 8 is disclosed by claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim 9 is disclosed by claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim 10 is disclosed by claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim 11 is disclosed by claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim 12 is disclosed by claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim 13 is disclosed by claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim 14 is disclosed by claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim 15 is disclosed by claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim 16 is disclosed by claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim 18 is disclosed by claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,977.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 6, 15, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2012/0043482 (Prince et al., hereinafter Prince).
In regards to claim 1, Prince discloses a multi-level collimator system and its method of use (title and abstract). Paragraph 30 states that the motion of the multi-leaf collimator leaves during a treatment process according to a treatment plan is controlled by a computer, which would have a processor and a memory (storage device). Paragraphs 9, 25, 30, 32, and 42-44 and figure 1 show closed leaf pairs and state that the leaf pairs arrangements are off-set and move according to a treatment plan where the leaf pairs are uncovered by collimation jaws (paragraphs 45-47 and figures 8A-C and 9A-C; jaws cover the leaves and are opened to allow radiation through). Moving leaf pairs according to treatment plan would require the step of determining at least one closed leaf pair from the one or more closed leaf pairs and the step of determining an offset for each closed leaf pair and cause the leaf pair to move based on the determined offset before and during the treatment process.
In regards to claim 4, Prince discloses the limitations of claim 1. In addition, generating the offset for each of the at least one closed leaf pair before or at a beginning of a beam delivery in at least one treatment fraction of the one or more would be a required step due to the offset pair arrangements implemented during execution of therapies as noted in paragraphs 9, 25, 30, 32, and 42-44.
In regards to claim 5, Prince discloses the limitations of claim 1. Princes discloses the step of determining the offset for the closed leaf pairs in paragraphs 9, 25, 30, 32, and 42-44 and is part of the treatment plan. Thus, the offset is used to generate the treatment plan before the treatment process.
In regards to claim 6, Prince discloses the limitations of claim 5. While Prince does not explicitly state the step of evaluating or adjusting the treatment plan based on a leakage distribution associated with a dose leakage of each of the at least one closed leaf pair, Prince shows in paragraphs 5, 27, 34, 36, and 42-47 that leakage is controlled by shaping the radiation beam via the control method used on the leaves (which requires evaluation and adjustment of beam parameters of the treatment plan after offset determination). Paragraphs 42-47 and figures 8A-C and 9A-C show differences in leakage based on different arrangements and that that beam shaping reduces radiation leakage to acceptable levels (which shows leakage distributions associated with a dose leakage of each of the at least one closed leaf pair). Thus, the beam shaping process would require the step of evaluating or adjusting the treatment plan based on a leakage distribution associated with a dose leakage of each of the at least one closed leaf pair after determination of the offset.
In regards to claim 15, Prince discloses the limitations of claim 1. In addition, paragraphs 32-47 and figure 4 show that there are gaps between each closed leaf pair. Prince as noted in claim 1 shows the step of causing the at least one closed leaf pair to move based on the determined at least one offset. Any leaf movement would result in a position of the gap between each closed leaf pair being adjusted by a corresponding determined offset.
In regards to claims 17 and 20, Prince discloses a multi-level collimator system and its method of use (title and abstract). Paragraph 30 states that the motion of the multi-leaf collimator leaves during a treatment process according to a treatment plan is controlled by a computer (the controller), which would have a processor in communication with a memory (storage device that stores the instructions). Paragraphs 9, 25, 30, 32, and 42-44 and figure 1 show closed leaf pairs and state that the leaf pairs arrangements are off-set and move according to a treatment process according to a treatment plan where the leaf pairs are uncovered by collimation jaws (paragraphs 45-47 and figures 8A-C and 9A-C; jaws cover the leaves and are opened to allow radiation through). Paragraph 30 states the presence of drive motors that move the leaves, which meets the drive mechanism limitation. This would require the processor/controller be configured to execute the instructions for determining an offset for each closed leaf pair and causing the leaf pair to move based on the determined offset before and during the treatment process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0043482 (Prince et al., hereinafter Prince) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 6,052,430 (Siochi et al., hereinafter Siochi).
In regards to claims 7 and 8, Prince discloses the limitations of claim 1. In addition, the treatment process would naturally have one treatment fraction and as mentioned in claim 1 above, causes the at least one closed leaf pair to move based on the determined at least one offset. However, Prince does not state that the at least one closed leaf pair moves dynamically within the treatment fraction. In a related area, Siochi discloses a collimator that has dynamic modulation (title and abstract). Siochi states that dynamic intensity modulation moves the leaves during beam delivery of the therapy to match tumor volume and allows for avoidance of healthy tissue during beam delivery (column 1, line 47-column 3, line 26). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Prince to have the at least one closed leaf pair more dynamically during within a treatment fraction during a beam delivery, as taught by Siochi, in order to have the delivered therapy to match the tumor volume and allow for avoidance of healthy tissue during beam delivery.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0043482 (Prince et al., hereinafter Prince).
In regards to claim 11, Prince discloses the limitations of claim 1. In addition, paragraph 30 states that the leaves can be independently moved, and that the movements are based on the beam direction based on a treatment plan. This independent movement can allow for the synchronous or asynchronous movement of leaf pairs depending on the treatment plan. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify method of Prince to have leaf pairs to move in a synchronous and/or asynchronous manner because one of ordinary skill would be motivated to customize a radiation treatment plan for optimal outcomes.
Conclusion
The examiner notes that, though no art has been applied against claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 16, 18, and 19 at this time, they are not presently allowable. The question of prior art will be revisited upon resolution of the numerous issues noted above.
/JOSHUA DARYL D LANNU/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/CARRIE R DORNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791