DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a height adjustment unit configured to raise or lower the guide vane to adjust a distance between the polishing pad and the guide vane in claim 11;
an angle adjustment unit configured to tilt the guide vane to adjust an angle between the polishing pad and the guide vane in claim 12;
a cleaning unit configured to clean the guide vane in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim limitation “a height adjustment unit configured to raise or lower the guide vane to adjust a distance between the polishing pad and the guide vane”, “an angle adjustment unit configured to tilt the guide vane to adjust an angle between the polishing pad and the guide vane”, and “a cleaning unit configured to clean the guide vane” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There is no specific mechanism link to the limitations, as the specification has only labeled boxes in fig. 4. Therefore, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “a height adjustment unit configured to raise or lower the guide vane to adjust a distance between the polishing pad and the guide vane”, “an angle adjustment unit configured to tilt the guide vane to adjust an angle between the polishing pad and the guide vane”, and “a cleaning unit configured to clean the guide vane” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There is no specific mechanism link to the limitations, as the specification has only labeled boxes in fig. 4. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maruyama US 20120220196 A1.
Re claim 1, Maruyama discloses a substrate polishing apparatus [fig. 12] comprising:
a carrier 1 configured to grip a substrate;
a polishing pad 2 configured to polish a surface to be polished of the substrate gripped by the carrier while rotating; and
a temperature control assembly [5, 52] configured to control a temperature of the polishing pad,
wherein the temperature control assembly comprises:
a Deionized water (DIW) spraying module [construed as “pure water” ¶63, element 52] configured to spray DIW toward the polishing pad; and
a guide vane 5 configured to guide at least a portion of the DIW sprayed from the DIW spraying module to an outside of the polishing pad.
Re claim 6, Maruyama further discloses wherein the guide vane 5 has a shape extending upward from the polishing pad [see bottom part 90 in fig. 16].
Re claim 7, Maruyama further discloses wherein the guide vane comprises a curved area formed at a lower end portion of the guide vane facing an upper surface of the polishing pad [see bottom part 90 in fig. 16].
Re claim 8, Maruyama further discloses wherein the curved area has a shape rounded with a predetermined curvature in a rotational direction of the polishing pad [see bottom part 90 in fig. 16].
Re claim 9, Maruyama further discloses wherein the curved area has a shape bent at a predetermined angle in a rotational direction of the polishing pad [see bottom part 90 in fig. 16].
Re claim 10, Maruyama further discloses wherein the curved area is formed of an elastic body comprising at least a portion of urethane, rubber, or silicon ¶8 [“the passage-forming member 90 is made of sintered SiC (sintered silicon carbide)”].
Re claim 11, Maruyama further discloses wherein the temperature control assembly comprises a height adjustment unit 12 configured to raise or lower the guide vane to adjust a distance between the polishing pad and the guide vane [fig. 12].
Re claim 12, Maruyama further discloses wherein the temperature control assembly comprises an angle adjustment unit 14 configured to tilt the guide vane to adjust an angle between the polishing pad and the guide vane [fig. 12].
Re claim 13, Maruyama further discloses wherein the temperature control assembly comprises a cleaning unit 50 configured to clean the guide vane.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not show or fairly render obvious the combination set forth in the claims. In particular, the prior art does not show wherein the temperature control assembly comprises: a slurry spraying module configured to spray slurry toward the polishing pad; and a housing configured to accommodate the DIW spraying module and the slurry spraying module and to which one end portion of the guide vane is coupled in combination with the other claim limitations.
Correspondence
C. A. R.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/C. A. RIVERA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723