DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending, claims 10-12 have been withdrawn from consideration, and claims 1-9 and 13-20 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 2 and Species I, readable on claims 1-9 and 13-20, in the reply filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “Species election must be determined based on the claims and the claimed subject matter…the claims recite related subject matter” (pg. 7 of Remarks) and “the Restriction Requirement fails to establish…because the reasons and/or examples provided to support the conclusions are inadequate…the Restriction Requirement does not provide adequate support for establishing that the species are independent or distinct” (pg. 7-8 of Remarks).
This is not found persuasive because election may be required prior to a search on the merits (A) in applications containing claims to a plurality of species with no generic claims, and (B) in applications containing both species claims and generic or Markush claims (see MPEP 808.01(a)). Election of species should not be required between claimed species that are considered clearly unpatentable (obvious) over each other (see MPEP 808.01(a)). The Species as listed in the Requirement for Restriction filed on 08/27/2025 are not unpatentable (or not obvious) over each other due to the differences in features among the species that are not obvious over each other (i.e., tool in a lumen, concentric dielectric layers, conductors arranged in the waveguide, etc.). Further, these species are mutually exclusive as one claim recites limitations disclosed for a first species but not a second, while a second claim recites limitations disclosed only for the second species and not the first (see MPEP 806.04(f)).
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “The Restriction Requirement merely provides the conclusory statement in support of the perceived search burden…does not provide adequate support for establishing a serious burden on the examiner under the second prong of the analysis, so the Restriction Requirement is improper” (pg. 8-9 in Remarks), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In order to demonstrate a serious search burden, the examiner must show by appropriate explanation one of the following: (A) separate classification thereof, (B) a separate status in the art when they are classifiable together, (C) a different field of search (see MPEP 808.02). As recited in the Requirement for Restriction filed on 11/25/2025, the species require a different field of search due to the different features among them (see pg. 3). Different search queries and CPC classifications (i.e., text search focusing on instruments, conductors, etc.) may be used to search for these different features for the species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species 1 and 3-4 and Species II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/25/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an imaging module at the proximal end of the insertion tube” (in claim 16) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: change “a medical procedure” to “the medical procedure” (i.e., previously recited in claim 1). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an imaging module” and “a control unit” in claim 4; “an imaging module” in claim 16; “a control unit” in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In claim 16, the limitation “an imaging module at the proximal end of the insertion tube” is not disclosed in the specification. Although the specification recites an imaging module at the proximal end ([0006]), the paragraph also recites “a transmitter coupled to the dielectric waveguide at the distal end…correspond to the image signal from the imaging device”. Throughout the specification, the imaging module is disclosed to be provided at the distal end ([0025]). Therefore, the subject matter of claim 16 fails to comply with the written description requirement. Claim 17 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 16.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “an imaging module at the proximal end of the insertion tube” is unclear when considering the limitation “a transmitter coupled to the dielectric waveguide at the distal end…corresponding to the image signal from the imaging device”. It is unclear where the imaging module is located in the device. Claim 17 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 16.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “the imaging device” on lines 6 and 10-11 lack antecedent basis. This feature has not been previously recited, and it is unclear if this feature is the same feature as the imaging module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe (US 2018/0136456).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses an interventional medical device (2, figure 1) comprising: an insertion tube (6, figure 1) extending between a proximal end and a distal end (see the ends of 6, figure 1), the distal end configured to be inserted into internal tissues of a patient during a medical procedure (figure 1), the insertion tube having a dielectric waveguide (41, figure 2 | dielectric material [0078]) extending between the proximal end and the distal end; and a transmitter (23 and/or 27, figure 2) coupled to the dielectric waveguide at the distal end, the transmitter transmitting a radio frequency signal along the dielectric waveguide from the distal end to the proximal end (transmission…radio waves [0071]).
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe further discloses a receiver (34, figure 2) coupled to the dielectric waveguide at the proximal end, the receiver receiving the radio frequency signal from the dielectric waveguide (millimeter waves…received by 34 [0102] | millimeter/submillimeter radio waves [0100]).
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe further discloses an imaging module (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a camera and integrated circuit | 22 and driver IC 23, figure 2) at the distal end and a control unit (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a receiver, processor, and integrated circuit | 31, 33, and 34, figure 2; MMIC monolithic microwave integrated circuit [0067]) at the proximal end operably coupled to the imaging module, the transmitter allowing data communication from the imaging module to the control unit via the dielectric waveguide (see 41, figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe further discloses the imaging module includes a camera (22, figure 2) and an integrated circuit (23, figure 2) receiving signals from the camera (see arrows, figure 2), the transmitter including a transmit antenna (27, figure 2) coupled to the integrated circuit transmitting the radio frequency signal, the control unit including an integrated circuit (MMIC monolithic microwave integrated circuit [0067]) having a receive antenna (34, figure 2) configured to receive the radio frequency signal from the dielectric waveguide and convert the radio frequency signal to a digital signal (millimeter/submillimeter radio waves [0100]; extracted from the millimeter waves…projected on the display apparatus [0103]-[0104]), the control unit including a data processor processing the digital signal (31, figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe further discloses the transmitter includes an integrated circuit (driver IC 23, figure 2) receiving a digital signal (A/D conversion [0099]), the transmitter including an antenna (27, figure 2) coupled to the integrated circuit converting the digital signal to the radio frequency signal (sends…radio waves [0100]).
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe further discloses a sensor (22, figure 2; CMOS [0061]) at the distal end, the transmitter receiving signals from the sensor (see arrows to 23, figure 2) and converting the signals to the radio frequency signal for transmission to the proximal end through the dielectric waveguide (A/D conversion [0099] | sends…radio waves [0100]).
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe further discloses the dielectric waveguide includes a central core (see 501, figure 16) and a cladding (502-503, figure 16) surrounding the core, the radio frequency signal being transmitted along the central core (radio waves are enclosed in the waveguide tube [0110]).
Regarding claim 9, Watanabe further discloses the insertion tube includes an electrical conductor (power wire 42, ground wire 43…[0068]) extending between the proximal end and the distal end.
Regarding claim 13, Watanabe further discloses the dielectric waveguide is flexible (dielectric material…sufficiently flexible [0226]; see figure 6).
Regarding claim 14, Watanabe further discloses the radio frequency signal is at a frequency of at least 30 GHz (radio waves having a frequency of approximately 30-600 GHz [0071]).
Regarding claim 15, Watanabe further discloses the radio frequency signal is between 30 GHz and 300 GHz (radio waves having a frequency of approximately 30-600 GHz [0071]).
Regarding claim 16, Watanabe discloses an interventional medical device (2, figure 1) comprising: an insertion tube (6, figure 1) extending between a proximal end and a distal end (see the ends of 6, figure 1), the distal end configured to be inserted into internal tissues of a patient during a medical procedure (figure 1), the insertion tube having a dielectric waveguide (41, figure 2 | dielectric material [0078]) extending between the proximal end and the distal end; an imaging module (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a camera and integrated circuit | 22 and driver IC 23, figure 2) at the proximal end of the insertion tube (see 112a and b rejection above | for examination purposes, interpreted the imaging module as being at the distal end; see figure 2), the imaging module imaging the internal tissues of the patient during the medical procedure (see figures 1-2), the imaging device generating an image signal (see arrows, figure 2); and a transmitter (23 and/or 27, figure 2) coupled to the dielectric waveguide at the distal end (see figure 2), the transmitter transmitting a radio frequency signal along the dielectric waveguide from the distal end to the proximal end (millimeter waves…received by 34 [0102] | millimeter/submillimeter radio waves [0100]), the radio frequency signal corresponding to the image signal from the imaging device (see 112a and b rejection above | for examination purposes, interpreted the imaging module as being at the distal end; [0100]-[0102]).
Regarding claim 17, Watanabe further discloses the imaging module includes a camera (22, figure 2) and an integrated circuit (driver IC 23, figure 2) receiving signals from the camera, the transmitter including a transmit antenna (27, figure 2) coupled to the integrated circuit transmitting the radio frequency signal.
Regarding claim 18, Watanabe discloses an interventional medical device (2, figure 1) comprising: an insertion tube (6, figure 1) extending between a proximal end and a distal end (see the ends of 6, figure 1), the distal end configured to be inserted into internal tissues of a patient during a medical procedure (figure 1), the insertion tube having a dielectric waveguide (41, figure 2 | dielectric material [0078]) extending between the proximal end and the distal end, the insertion tube including a lumen (treatment instrument channel…[0202]) extending between the proximal end and the distal end; a transmitter (23 and/or 27, figure 2) coupled to the dielectric waveguide at the distal end, the transmitter transmitting a radio frequency signal along the dielectric waveguide from the distal end to the proximal end (transmission…radio waves [0071]); and a tool received in the lumen (insertion of a treatment instrument…[0202]), the tool configured to interact with the patient during the medical procedure (instrument for treatment…[0202]).
Regarding claim 19, Watanabe further discloses an imaging module (22 and 23, figure 2) at the distal end and a control unit (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a receiver, processor, and integrated circuit | 31, 33, and 34, figure 2; MMIC monolithic microwave integrated circuit [0067]) at the proximal end operably coupled to the imaging module, the transmitter allowing data communication from the imaging module to the control unit via the dielectric waveguide (see 41, figure 2), the imaging module includes a camera (22, figure 2) and an integrated circuit (driver IC 23, figure 2) receiving signals from the camera, the transmitter including a transmit antenna (27, figure 2) coupled to the integrated circuit transmitting the radio frequency signal (radio waves [0100]), the control unit including an integrated circuit (MMIC monolithic microwave integrated circuit [0067]) having a receive antenna (34, figure 2) configured to receive the radio frequency signal from the dielectric waveguide and convert the radio frequency signal to a digital signal (millimeter/submillimeter radio waves [0100]; extracted from the millimeter waves…projected on the display apparatus [0103]-[0104]), the control unit including a data processor processing the digital signal (31, figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 2018/0136456) as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Vayser (US 2016/0287348).
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Watanabe is silent regarding the insertion tube includes a lumen concentric with the dielectric waveguide, a tool being received in the lumen, the tool configured to interact with the patient during a medical procedure.
Vayser teaches a malleable waveguide (12, figure 2) in a medical device (10, figures 1). The waveguide may be slidably disposed over the instrument like a glove disposed over a hand ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the dielectric waveguide to be slidably disposed over an instrument as taught by Vayser ([0034]). Doing so would provide a lower profile instrument ([0036]). The modified device would have the insertion tube includes a lumen concentric with the dielectric waveguide (slidably disposed over an instrument…[0034]), a tool being received in the lumen (instruments include…[0034]), the tool configured to interact with the patient during a medical procedure (catheters…[0034]).
Regarding claim 20, Watanabe discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 18. Watanabe is silent regarding the tool is one of a drug delivery tool, a needle, forceps, a balloon, an irrigation device, or a sensor.
Vayser teaches a malleable waveguide (12, figure 2) in a medical device (10, figures 1). The waveguide may be slidably disposed over the instrument like a glove disposed over a hand ([0034]). Exemplary surgical instruments include but are not limited to catheters, laparoscopies instruments, robotically controlled instruments including catheter shafts and laparoscopic instruments ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the device to use one of the tools as taught by Vayser ([0034]). Doing so would provide a variety of instruments to be used with the waveguide ([0034]). The modified device would have the tool is one of a drug delivery tool, a needle (laparoscopies instruments…[0034]), forceps, a balloon, an irrigation device, or a sensor (catheters [0034]; may have an imaging sensor).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Deyanov (US 2022/0104692) and Rezaie (US 2020/0015792).
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
January 8, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795