DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendments filed 1/16/2024 have been entered.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2015/0005356 (‘356) in view of Marple et al., Otolaryngol Head Neck Surg, 2004;130:131-41 and Remington, 17th Ed, 1985, pages 1478-1486. ‘356, Maple et al., and Remington are references of record in the parent application 16/007999.
‘356 teaches an intranasal composition comprising epinephrine, in an amounts ranging from 0.05 mg to 10mg, with a pH of 3-6 (see abstract, claim 18, [0075]-[0076]). ‘356 teaches that the delivery volume of a spray as 100-250 µL (see [0075]-[0076]). The examiner notes that 0.05 -10mg in 100 µL would be 0.05-10%w/w. ‘356 teaches excipients such as EDTA, sodium chloride (0.1-1.0%) as osmotic adjusting agent, propylene glycol, ethanol, glycerin, hydrochloric acid for adjusting pH, can be used to formulate the epinephrine composition (see [0047], [0053], [0054], [0059], [0100], [0103]). ‘356 teaches “In addition to enabling agents in both aqueous and powder intranasal formulations of the present invention, the composition may further contain preservatives, stabilizers, antioxidants, thickening agent, humectant, surfactants, mucoadhesive agents, colorants, one or more excipients or combinations thereof” (see [0080]).
‘356 does not expressly teach the use of sodium sulfite or BKC. ‘356 does not expressly teach the herein claimed amount of the components.
Marple et al. teaches benzalkonium chloride as commonly used preservatives for intranasal product with minimum toxicity and well-tolerated (see abstract and page 140, Conclusion).
Remington teaches sodium sulfite, sodium metasulfite, and ascorbic acid, as well-known antioxidant for aqueous systems (see page 1481, col. 2, 4th paragraph).
It would have been obvious to incorporate the herein claimed excipients, in the amount herein claimed, into the epinephrine intranasal composition.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the herein claimed excipients, in the amount herein claimed, into the epinephrine intranasal composition. Incorporating the well-known excipients, which are useful in aqueous systems and the epinephrine composition of ‘356, into the epinephrine composition would be reasonably expected to impart the beneficial effects such as inhibit oxidation and degradation of the composition and thereby increase the stability of the composition.
Furthermore, the optimization of result effect parameters (e.g., weight amount of the excipients) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, the adjustment of the excipients amount would produce the optimal stability conditions (such as solubility, pH, oxidation inhibition, the antimicrobial effect) of the composition. The amount of epinephrine taught in ‘356 encompasses that of the instant claims and therefore prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 10,039,710 (710). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘710 teaches a nasal composition comprising epinephrine, and other components in the similar range of what is recited in the claims. ‘710 does not expressly teach the exact same weight percentage of the components as what is recited in the claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to adjust the weight percent of the herein claimed components.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the weight percent of the herein claimed components. The optimization of result effect parameters (dosage range, dosing regimens) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). As the weight percent range of the components disclosed by ‘710 encompasses that of the instant claims, prima facie obviousness exists.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,617,637 (‘637). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘637 teaches a liquid composition comprising epinephrine, and other components in the similar range of what is recited in the claims (see claims 2, 7, 12). ‘637 does not expressly teach the exact same weight percentage of the components as what is recited in the claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to adjust the weight percent of the herein claimed components.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the weight percent of the herein claimed components. The optimization of result effect parameters (dosage range, dosing regimens) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). As the weight percent range of the components disclosed by ‘637 encompasses or as similar to that of the instant claims, prima facie obviousness exists.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,966,925 (‘925). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘925 teaches a liquid composition comprising epinephrine, and other components in the similar range of what is recited in the claims (see claims 1, 5, 9, 10). ‘925 does not expressly teach the exact same weight percentage of the components as what is recited in the claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to adjust the weight percent of the herein claimed components.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the weight percent of the herein claimed components. The optimization of result effect parameters (dosage range, dosing regimens) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). As the weight percent range of the components disclosed by ‘925 encompasses or being similar to that of the instant claims, prima facie obviousness exists.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,973,781 (‘781). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘781 teaches a liquid composition comprising epinephrine, and other components in the similar range of what is recited in the claims (see claims 1-4). ‘781 does not expressly teach the exact same weight percentage of the components as what is recited in the claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to adjust the weight percent of the herein claimed components.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the weight percent of the herein claimed components. The optimization of result effect parameters (dosage range, dosing regimens) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). As the weight percent range of the components disclosed by ‘781 being similar to that of the instant claims, it is prima facie obvious to optimize the amount and weight percentage of the excipients to give rise optimal stability, solubility, and bioavailability of the composition.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,571,384 (‘384). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘384 teaches a liquid composition comprising epinephrine, and other components in the similar range of what is recited in the claims (see claims 10, 15, 16). ‘384 does not expressly teach the exact same weight percentage of the components as what is recited in the claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to adjust the weight percent of the herein claimed components.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the weight percent of the herein claimed components. The optimization of result effect parameters (dosage range, dosing regimens) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). As the weight percent range of some components (e.g., epinephrine) disclosed by ‘384 encompasses that of the instant claims, prima facie obviousness exists. For the weight percentage of other components that is very similar to that of the instant claims, it is prima facie obvious to optimize the amount and weight percentage of the excipients to give rise optimal stability, solubility, and bioavailability of the composition.
No claims are allowed.
/SAN MING R HUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627