DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species V, claim 1 and 5-14 in the reply filed on 01/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 9-11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson (1,529,683).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson teaches a chisel comprising:
a body formed of a first material and including
a first end having a shank 19,
a second end having a first planar side 5 that defines a first plane, a second planar side 6 that is opposite the first planar side and defines a second plane, a third side extending between the first planar side and the second planar side, and a fourth side that is opposite the third side and extending between the first planar side and the second planar side,
a channel 4 formed in an edge of the second end between the first planar side and the second planar side, the channel extending from the third side to the fourth side, and
a longitudinal axis extending through the first end and the second end; and
a head 11 formed of a second material that is harder than the first material, the head received in the channel, positioned between the first and second planes, extending continuously between the third side and the fourth side, and defining a working surface of the chisel.
See Figs. 1-3.
Regarding claim 5, the channel 4 having a substantially rectangular shape is best seen in Fig. 2. The head 11 having a plate-shape and two ends is best seen in Figs
. 1-2.
Regarding claim 6, the structure of the head is best seen in Figs. 1-2.
Regarding claim 7, the first and second planar surfaces extending beyond the second end of the body is best seen in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 9, depressions (7, 8) is best seen in Figs. 1-2.
Regarding claim 10, Anderson teaches a chisel comprising:
a body formed of a first material and including
a first end having a shank 19,
a second end having a first planar side 5 that defines a first plane, a second planar side 6 that is opposite the first planar side and defines a second plane, a third side extending between the first planar side and the second planar side, and a fourth side that is opposite the third side and extending between the first planar side and the second planar side,
a recess 4 formed in the second end between the first plane and second plane,
a longitudinal axis extending through the first end and the second end; and
a plate 11 formed of a second material that is harder than the first material, the plate received in the recess, positioned between the first and second planes, and defining a working surface of the chisel.
See Figs. 1-3.
Regarding claim 11, the plate 11 being disposed between the first planar side 5 and the second planar side 6 is best seen in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 13, a beveled working surface is best seen in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 14, two beveled working surfaces are best seen in Fig. 2.
Claims 10 -14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gordon et al. (178,627), hereinafter Gordon.
Regarding claim 10, Gordon teaches a chisel comprising:
a body formed of a first material and including
a first end having a shank (B),
a second end having a first planar side (B1) that defines a first plane, a second planar side that is opposite the first planar side and defines a second plane, a third side extending between the first planar side and the second planar side, and a fourth side that is opposite the third side and extending between the first planar side and the second planar side,
a recess (B2) formed in the second end between the first plane and second plane,
a longitudinal axis extending through the first end and the second end; and
a plate (A) formed of a second material that is harder than the first material, the plate received in the recess, positioned between the first and second planes, and defining a working surface of the chisel.
See Figs. 1-3.
As to the material of the body and the plate, it is known in the art that the plate (A) is made from hardened metal due to its cutting function to prevent the plate wearing out quickly and the handle is made from a softer material.
To the degree the Applicant would argue to select a harder material for the plate is not obvious to one skilled in the art, then claim 1 is un-obvious over Gordon in view of Anderson in which Anderson teaches the body and the plate are made from different materials or to select a well-known material such as hardened metal would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 11, the plate (A) positioned between two planar sides is best seen in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 12, the plate (A) having an upper surface flush with the first planar side (B1) is best seen in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 13, an angled working surface of the plate (A) is best seen in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 14, the first working surface and the second working surface converging to form a cutting edge is best seen in Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (1,529,683) in view of Kniff (3,807,804) and DeHaan (4,566,467).
Anderson teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the first end having chamfered edges.
Kniff teaches an impacting head 16 similar to the chisel head of the invention having a chamfered edge at a first end 26. See Fig. 1. DeHaan teaches a head 14 having a chamfered edge 32 at a first end 30. See Fig. 2. The chamfered edge 32 makes a first end of a head 14 slightly smaller than a bore 16 of a body for easy guiding and inserting the head into the bore. See col. 4, lines 57-62.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the first end of the head in Anderson chamfered edges as taught by Kniff and DeHaan for easy guiding and inserting the head into the bore.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chisels of general interest are cited in form PTO-892.
/PHONG H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724