DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 9 already recites the limitation of claim 10. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Freitag et al. (WO2017186755, “Freitag”, using machine translation).
Re claim 1, Freitag discloses a motor assembly, the motor assembly comprising:
a housing 131 (figs 1-2, [0040]);
a first rotor 114 and a second rotor 124 provided in the housing 131 (figs 1-2, [0032]);
wherein the first rotor 114 is configured to drive a first output shaft 117 (figs 1-2, [0038]), and wherein the second rotor 124 is configured to drive a second output shaft 127 (figs 1-2, [0038]); and
a first stator 111 and a second stator 121 provided in the housing 131 (figs 1-2, [0034] & [0037]), wherein the first stator 111 surrounds the first rotor 114 and the second stator 121 surrounds the second rotor 124 (figs 1-2).
Re claim 9, Freitag discloses a method comprising:
providing a first rotor 114 and a second rotor 127 within in a housing 131 (figs 1-2, [0032] & [0040]);
driving a first output shaft 117 with the first rotor 114 (figs 1-2, [0038]); and
driving a second output shaft 127 with the second rotor 127 (figs 1-2, [0038]);
providing a first stator 111 and a second stator 121 provided in the housing 131 (figs 1-2, [0034] & [0037]), wherein the first stator 111 surrounds the first rotor 114 and the second stator 121 surrounds the second rotor 124 (figs 1-2).
Re claims 3 and 11, Freitag discloses claims 1 and 9, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses providing an electronics module 150 (figs 1-2,[0048]).
Re claims 4 and 5, Freitag discloses claim 3 as discussed above and further discloses:
the electronics module 150 is configured to instruct via the first stator 111 the first rotor 114 to drive the first output shaft 117 in a first direction and at a first speed ([0020] & [0048]), and wherein the electronics module 150 is configured to instruct via the second stator 121 the second rotor 124 to drive the second output shaft 127 in a second direction and at a second speed ([0020] & [0048]); and
the first direction and the first speed are the same as the second direction and the second speed ([0020] & [0048], 1st & 2nd speed are capable to be same speed since 1st & 2nd stators are independently controlled); or wherein the first direction and the second direction are different, and the first speed and the second speed are the same ([0020] & [0048]); or wherein the first direction and the second direction are the same and the first speed and the second speed are different (([0020] & [0048], 1st & 2nd speeds capable of different speeds since 1st & 2nd stators are independently controlled); or wherein the first direction and the first speed are different from the second direction and the second speed ([0020] & [0048], 1st & 2nd speeds capable of different speeds since 1st & 2nd stators are independently controlled).
Re claims 6 and 14, Freitag discloses claims 1 and 9, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses a cooling module 140 (figs 1-2, [0040-0041]).
Re claims 7 and 8, Freitag discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses:
an aircraft (figs 1-2, [0003]), the aircraft comprising: a motor assembly as claimed in claim 1 (figs 1-2); and
a first propeller 210 (figs 1-2, [0030]); a second propeller 220 (figs 1-2, [0030]); wherein the first output shaft 117 is configured to drive the first propeller 210 (figs 1-2) and the second output shaft 127 is configured to drive the second propeller 220 (figs 1-2).
Re claim 10, Freitag discloses claim 9 as discussed above and further discloses providing a first stator 111 and a second stator 121 provided in the housing 131 (figs 1-2, [0034] & [0037]).
Re claims 12 and 13, Freitag discloses claim 11 as discussed above and further discloses:
the electronics module 150 is configured to instruct the first stator 111 to drive the first output shaft 117 in a first direction and at a first speed ([0020] & [0048]), and wherein the electronics module 150 is configured to instruct the second stator 121 to drive the second output shaft 127 in a second direction and at a second speed ([0020] & [0048]); and
the first direction and the first speed are the same as the second direction and the second speed ([0020] & [0048], 1st & 2nd speed are capable to be same speed since 1st & 2nd stators are independently controlled); or wherein the first direction and the second direction are different, and the first speed and the second speed are the same ([0020] & [0048], 1st & 2nd speed are capable to be same speed since 1st & 2nd stators are independently controlled); or wherein the first direction and the second direction are the same and the first speed and the second speed are different ([0020] & [0048], 1st & 2nd speeds capable of different speeds since 1st & 2nd stators are independently controlled); or wherein the first direction and the first speed are different from the second direction and the second speed ([0020] & [0048], 1st & 2nd speeds capable of different speeds since 1st & 2nd stators are independently controlled).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/11/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Chen does not disclose the claim 1 and 9 amendments (pgs 6-8) but provides no arguments with respect to Freitag.
Examiner agrees the claim 1 and 9 limitations overcome Chen, but Freitag does disclose the claim 1 and 9 amendments, as discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834