DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant Arguments and Remarks Made in an Amendment filed on 07/24/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2026 and 05/03/2026 were received and reviewed. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to application number 18/453,395 filed on 08/22/2023, in which claims 3, 9, 13, & 19-45 were canceled from consideration and 1-2, 4-12, 14-18, and 46-52 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/24/2026 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows:
Regarding the claim(s) objections: Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 8, with respect to claims 9 & 19 has been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 9 & 19 has been withdrawn.
Regarding the claim(s) rejections under 35 USC §103: Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 8-12, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, and 14-19 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Liongosari et al. US 20190057166 A1, which teaches a dislike/disapproval of a seat configuration/profile in paragraphs 7 & 20 of the prior art, as demonstrated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-12, 14-18, 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pereny et al. US 20160339801 A1 (hereinafter Pereny) in view of Nicola et al. US 20230249599 A1 (hereinafter Nicola) and Liongosari et al. US 20190057166 A1 (hereinafter Liongosari).
Claim 10: Pereny discloses a system for seat actuation comprising: a seat [[0029]; FIG. 3 illustrates the vehicle seat assembly 28 with a cover removed]; one or more actuators operatively connected to the seat [[0003]; at least one actuator is operably connected to at least one of the seat cushion and the seat back for adjustment of at least one of a plurality of settings of the seat assembly]; and one or more processors operatively connected to the one or more actuators, the one or more processors being programmed to initiate executable operations [[0003] & [0006]; a controller is in electrical communication with the at least one actuator and configured to: receive a data input indicative of occupant anthropometry data. (...) the computer-program product is provided with instructions for: receiving a data input indicative of occupant anthropometry data] comprising: (…).
Pereny does not explicitly disclose receiving user data relating to a seat actuation profile, the user data being a dislike about the seat actuation profile or a portion of the seat actuation profile, the dislike corresponding to disapproval; modifying the seat actuation profile or creating a new seat actuation profile based on the user data; and causing the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile to be implemented, whereby the one or more actuators operatively connected to a seat are selectively activated and/or deactivated in accordance with the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile. accordance with the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile.
Nicola teaches modifying the seat actuation profile or creating a new seat actuation profile based on the user data [[0062]; Initially, at step 402, a user profile is optionally created to allow for a more accurate initial tailoring of the seat 102. (...). The user 104 can also edit, update, review, etc. the user profile in a similar manner. Accessing the user profile for creation, edition, viewing, etc. can be performed using devices in the system 100. For example, the local computing environment can include a touch screen for accessing and editing the user profile or an app can be downloaded on the user device 114.]; and causing the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile to be implemented, whereby the one or more actuators operatively connected to a seat are selectively activated and/or deactivated in accordance with the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile [[0078]; a seat personalization prompt and upon approval of the seat personalization, the seat contour is automatically adjusted, for example, by adjusting the plurality of bladders 312 based on the pressure and posture assessment].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pereny in view of Nicola with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – Seat controls. The combination would utilize smart seat technology to personalize the user’s experience [Nicola; [0024]; The system and method of the present disclosure provides many benefits over conventional seats. These benefits include ease of use with minimal input required from occupants, personalized experience based on measured data (pressure, temperature, posture etc.) from each individual occupant, optimized adjustments to ensure continuous comfort throughout driving experience, and accurate wellness scoring based on in seat measurements and/or artificial intelligence].
Pereny in view of Nicola does not explicitly disclose receiving user data relating to a seat actuation profile, the user data being a dislike about the seat actuation profile or a portion of the seat actuation profile, the dislike corresponding to disapproval.
Liongosari teaches receiving user data relating to a seat actuation profile, the user data being a dislike about the seat actuation profile or a portion of the seat actuation profile, the dislike corresponding to disapproval [[0007] & [0020]; analyzing the aggregate sensor data to infer, based on the at least one action of at least one user, that the at least one user is experiencing physical discomfort while using the component; (…) the sensor data includes an explicit indication, by the respective user, that the respective user is dissatisfied with a configuration of the component; (...) For example, excessive fidgeting in a car seat may indicate that the using is physically uncomfortable or otherwise dissatisfied with the current configuration of the car seat. A level of satisfaction may also be determined by prompting the user to indicate whether they are satisfied, and/or by measuring biometric parameters (e.g., body temperature, heart rate, gaze, etc.) that may indicate the level of satisfaction or dissatisfaction].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pereny in view of Nicola & Liongosari with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – Seat controls. The combination would improve user satisfaction of seat configurations and R&D time for future productions [Liongosari; [0021]; An indication of the estimated current satisfaction and a representation of any component configuration may be sent to the server computing device(s) that provide a (e.g., cloud-based) satisfaction improvement service to prepare and return recommendations or commands in real-time for improving the user's satisfaction, e.g., through a proposed adjustment of the component configuration. Additionally, or alternatively, the satisfaction improvement system can use this information in a process, e.g., a generative design process and/or within a design view, for improving future versions of the component and/or its various sub-component(s).].
Claim 11: The combination of Pereny, Nicola, & Liongosari teach the system of claim 10, accordingly, the rejection of claim 10 above is incorporated.
Pereny discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are located onboard a vehicle [[0025]; The seating system can be employed in original equipment for vehicles or in aftermarket products].
Claim 12: The combination of Pereny, Nicola, & Liongosari teach the system of claim 10, accordingly, the rejection of claim 10 above is incorporated.
Pereny discloses the system of claim 10, further including a user interface [[0032]; the data may be input from an interface that is provided in the vehicle], and wherein the user data includes a user input provided on the user interface [[0033]; FIGS. 4-9 illustrate display images from an interface, such as a tablet. FIG. 4 illustrates a welcome screen wherein a data collection process is initiated].
Claim 14: The combination of Pereny, Nicola, & Liongosari teach the system of claim 10, accordingly, the rejection of claim 10 above is incorporated.
Pereny discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the user data is received from a personal device operatively connected to the one or more processors [[0032]; the interface may be remote, such as a personal digital assistant (PDA) including phones, tablets and the like].
Claim 15: The combination of Pereny, Nicola, & Liongosari teach the system of claim 14, accordingly, the rejection of claim 14 above is incorporated.
Pereny discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the user data includes user health information [[0033]; FIGS. 5 and 6 illustrate input screens wherein biometric, personal health and personal preference data, such as height and wellness, is collected].
Figure 5 & 6: Pereny
Claim 16: The combination of Pereny, Nicola, & Liongosari teach the system of claim 14, accordingly, the rejection of claim 14 above is incorporated.
Pereny discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the user data includes user context data about an activity, sleep, location, or movement of a user. [[0033]; FIGS. 5 and 6 illustrate input screens wherein biometric, personal health and personal preference data, such as height and wellness, is collected].
Examiner note: Activity data in the claim is interpreted as the driving frequency in Figure 5 and Figure 6: “How Often do you drive your primary vehicle” “ Often, 4 to 6 days per…”
Claim 17: The combination of Pereny, Nicola, & Liongosari teach the system of claim 10, accordingly, the rejection of claim 10 above is incorporated.
Pereny discloses the system of claim 10, further including a seat occupant sensor configured to acquire user data from a seat occupant [[0005]; a plurality of sensors is operably connected to at least one of the seat cushion and the seat back to detect a seating position of an occupant], wherein the seat occupant sensor is operatively connected to the one or more processors [[0005]; a controller is in electrical communication with the plurality of sensors], and wherein the user data is received from the seat occupant sensor [[0005]; receive occupant position data from the plurality of sensors].
Pereny does not explicitly disclose wherein the seat occupant sensor includes one or more biosensors.
Nicola teaches wherein the seat occupant sensor includes one or more biosensors [[0035]; the feedback devices 110 can include cameras, physiological sensors, biometric sensors, pressure sensors, and wearable devices].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pereny in view of Nicola with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – Seat controls. The combination would utilize smart seat technology to personalize the user’s experience [Nicola; [0024]; The system and method of the present disclosure provides many benefits over conventional seats. These benefits include ease of use with minimal input required from occupants, personalized experience based on measured data (pressure, temperature, posture etc.) from each individual occupant, optimized adjustments to ensure continuous comfort throughout driving experience, and accurate wellness scoring based on in seat measurements and/or artificial intelligence].
Claim 18: The combination of Pereny, Nicola, & Liongosari teach the system of claim 10, accordingly, the rejection of claim 10 above is incorporated.
Pereny discloses the system of claim 10, wherein causing the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile to be implemented [[0011]; a method for adjusting a seat assembly is provided with a step of receiving an occupant data input indicative of occupant anthropometry data] includes automatically causing the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile to be implemented [[0008]; a computer-program product is embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium that is programmed for automatically adjusting a seat assembly. The computer-program product is provided with instructions for: receiving an occupant data input indicative of occupant anthropometry data].
Claim 47: The combination of Pereny, Nicola, & Liongosari teach the system of claim 10, accordingly, the rejection of claim 10 above is incorporated. Pereny does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 47.
Nicola teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the executable operations further include: receiving user feedback from a user about the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile or a portion thereof, wherein the feedback includes a rating or feelings of the user [[0077]; In some embodiments, any recommendations, user responses, manual/automated changes, that occur throughout process 400 are stored by the computing environment and used for training/updating the AI/machine learning. In some embodiments, after the steps in process 400 are performed, a validation of the seat contouring is performed to train the AI model to optimize future seat contouring recommendations. In some embodiments, further analysis of the user 104 is performed to confirm optimal contouring of the seat 102. (...) Manual feedback can come in the form of a survey or questionnaire filled out by the user 104 and automatic confirmation can be provided by an emotional analysis based on the user's 104 physiological data (e.g., heart rate, facial recognition, etc.)].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pereny in view of Nicola with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – Seat controls. The combination would utilize smart seat technology to personalize the user’s experience [Nicola; [0024]; The system and method of the present disclosure provides many benefits over conventional seats. These benefits include ease of use with minimal input required from occupants, personalized experience based on measured data (pressure, temperature, posture etc.) from each individual occupant, optimized adjustments to ensure continuous comfort throughout driving experience, and accurate wellness scoring based on in seat measurements and/or artificial intelligence].
Claims 1-2, 4-8, & 46: The claims are directed towards a Method of the recited limitations performed by the System of claims 10-12, 14-18, & 47, respectively. The cited portions of Pereny, Nicola, & Liongosari used in the rejection of claims 10-12, 14-18, & 47 teach the same steps to perform the Method of claims 1-2, 4-8, & 46. Therefore, claims 1-2, 4-8, & 46 are rejected under the same rationales used in the rejection of claims 10-12, 14-18, & 47 as outlined above.
Claims 48-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicola in view of Benson et al. US 20160354027 A1 (hereinafter Benson).
Claim 48: Nicola discloses modifying the seat actuation profile or creating a new seat actuation profile based on the user data [[0062]; Initially, at step 402, a user profile is optionally created to allow for a more accurate initial tailoring of the seat 102. (...). The user 104 can also edit, update, review, etc. the user profile in a similar manner. Accessing the user profile for creation, edition, viewing, etc. can be performed using devices in the system 100. For example, the local computing environment can include a touch screen for accessing and editing the user profile or an app can be downloaded on the user device 114.]; and causing the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile to be implemented, whereby one or more actuators operatively connected to a seat are selectively activated and/or deactivated in accordance with the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile [[0078]; a seat personalization prompt and upon approval of the seat personalization, the seat contour is automatically adjusted, for example, by adjusting the plurality of bladders 312 based on the pressure and posture assessment].
Nicola does not explicitly disclose A method for seat actuation comprising: receiving user data relating to a seat actuation profile, the user data including whether a user is at or has been at a gym.
Benson teaches A method for seat actuation comprising: receiving user data relating to a seat actuation profile, the user data including whether a user is at or has been at a gym [[0141]; As a result, computer 54 may suggest various actions that the occupant may take outside the vehicle, inside the vehicle, modes of operation that may be performed by the vehicle and the vehicle seat, actions taken solely by the vehicle seat. Computer 54 may also notice certain biological responses of the occupant to various meetings, locations, weather, in-vehicle activities (e.g., firm braking, evasive maneuvers), out-of-vehicle activities (e.g., coming from the gym, coming from a long meeting, returning from a trip at the airport)].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nicola in view of Benson with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – Passenger comfort. The combination would assist passenger in achieving comfort in vehicle via collected data [Benson; [0086]; A comfort-validator mode may use sensor data collected by electronics system 16 to determine if changes made by computer 54 via output 56 have resulted in objective measures of improved comfort. As a result, an occupant may determine if their comfort has actually improved as compared to whether they think it has improved].
Claim 49: Nicola discloses modifying the seat actuation profile or creating a new seat actuation profile based on the user data [[0062]; Initially, at step 402, a user profile is optionally created to allow for a more accurate initial tailoring of the seat 102. (...). The user 104 can also edit, update, review, etc. the user profile in a similar manner. Accessing the user profile for creation, edition, viewing, etc. can be performed using devices in the system 100. For example, the local computing environment can include a touch screen for accessing and editing the user profile or an app can be downloaded on the user device 114.]; and causing the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile to be implemented, whereby one or more actuators operatively connected to a seat are selectively activated and/or deactivated in accordance with the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile [[0078]; a seat personalization prompt and upon approval of the seat personalization, the seat contour is automatically adjusted, for example, by adjusting the plurality of bladders 312 based on the pressure and posture assessment].
Nicola does not explicitly disclose A method for seat actuation comprising: receiving user data relating to a seat actuation profile, the user data including one or more body areas or body parts that a user has exercised.
Benson teaches A method for seat actuation comprising: receiving user data relating to a seat actuation profile, the user data including one or more body areas or body parts that a user has exercised [[0139]; In a comparative example of operation, the occupant is wearing an activity monitor and has just completed a strenuous workout at the gym. Once the occupant sits on the vehicle seat, computer 54 begins communicating with the activity monitoring device and understands the occupant has just been very energetic. As a result, the suggested mode of operation is customized (e.g., reclined seat back, light massage, and low heat) to the previous activity].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nicola in view of Benson with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – Passenger comfort. The combination would assist passenger in achieving comfort in vehicle via collected data [Benson; [0086]; A comfort-validator mode may use sensor data collected by electronics system 16 to determine if changes made by computer 54 via output 56 have resulted in objective measures of improved comfort. As a result, an occupant may determine if their comfort has actually improved as compared to whether they think it has improved].
Claim 50: Nicola discloses modifying the seat actuation profile or creating a new seat actuation profile based on the user data [[0062]; Initially, at step 402, a user profile is optionally created to allow for a more accurate initial tailoring of the seat 102. (...). The user 104 can also edit, update, review, etc. the user profile in a similar manner. Accessing the user profile for creation, edition, viewing, etc. can be performed using devices in the system 100. For example, the local computing environment can include a touch screen for accessing and editing the user profile or an app can be downloaded on the user device 114.]; and causing the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile to be implemented, whereby one or more actuators operatively connected to a seat are selectively activated and/or deactivated in accordance with the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile [[0078]; a seat personalization prompt and upon approval of the seat personalization, the seat contour is automatically adjusted, for example, by adjusting the plurality of bladders 312 based on the pressure and posture assessment].
Nicola does not explicitly disclose A method for seat actuation comprising: receiving user data relating to a seat actuation profile, the user data including whether a user has completed a flight exceeding a predetermined amount of time.
Benson teaches A method for seat actuation comprising: receiving user data relating to a seat actuation profile, the user data including whether a user has completed a flight exceeding a predetermined amount of time [[0109] & [0141]; A blood flow mode may use sensor data collected by electronics system 16 to determine whether blood flow is being inhibited or is likely to be inhibited during a trip. (…) Computer 54 may also notice certain biological responses of the occupant to various meetings, locations, weather, in-vehicle activities (e.g., firm braking, evasive maneuvers), out-of-vehicle activities (e.g., coming from the gym, coming from a long meeting, returning from a trip at the airport)].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nicola in view of Benson with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – Passenger comfort. The combination would assist passenger in achieving comfort in vehicle via collected data [Benson; [0086]; A comfort-validator mode may use sensor data collected by electronics system 16 to determine if changes made by computer 54 via output 56 have resulted in objective measures of improved comfort. As a result, an occupant may determine if their comfort has actually improved as compared to whether they think it has improved].
Claim 51: Nicola discloses modifying the seat actuation profile or creating a new seat actuation profile based on the user data [[0062]; Initially, at step 402, a user profile is optionally created to allow for a more accurate initial tailoring of the seat 102. (...). The user 104 can also edit, update, review, etc. the user profile in a similar manner. Accessing the user profile for creation, edition, viewing, etc. can be performed using devices in the system 100. For example, the local computing environment can include a touch screen for accessing and editing the user profile or an app can be downloaded on the user device 114.]; and causing the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile to be implemented, whereby one or more actuators operatively connected to a seat are selectively activated and/or deactivated in accordance with the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile [[0078]; a seat personalization prompt and upon approval of the seat personalization, the seat contour is automatically adjusted, for example, by adjusting the plurality of bladders 312 based on the pressure and posture assessment].
Nicola does not explicitly disclose A method for seat actuation comprising: receiving user data relating to a seat actuation profile, the user data including whether a user is jetlagged.
Benson teaches A method for seat actuation comprising: receiving user data relating to a seat actuation profile, the user data including whether a user is jetlagged [[0109] & [0141]; A blood flow mode may use sensor data collected by electronics system 16 to determine whether blood flow is being inhibited or is likely to be inhibited during a trip. (…) Computer 54 may also notice certain biological responses of the occupant to various meetings, locations, weather, in-vehicle activities (e.g., firm braking, evasive maneuvers), out-of-vehicle activities (e.g., coming from the gym, coming from a long meeting, returning from a trip at the airport)].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nicola in view of Benson with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – Passenger comfort. The combination would assist passenger in achieving comfort in vehicle via collected data [Benson; [0086]; A comfort-validator mode may use sensor data collected by electronics system 16 to determine if changes made by computer 54 via output 56 have resulted in objective measures of improved comfort. As a result, an occupant may determine if their comfort has actually improved as compared to whether they think it has improved].
Claims 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicola in view of Shouldice et al. US 20200383580 A1 (hereinafter Shouldice).
Claim 52: Nicola discloses modifying the seat actuation profile or creating a new seat actuation profile based on the user data [[0062]; Initially, at step 402, a user profile is optionally created to allow for a more accurate initial tailoring of the seat 102. (...). The user 104 can also edit, update, review, etc. the user profile in a similar manner. Accessing the user profile for creation, edition, viewing, etc. can be performed using devices in the system 100. For example, the local computing environment can include a touch screen for accessing and editing the user profile or an app can be downloaded on the user device 114.]; and causing the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile to be implemented, whereby one or more actuators operatively connected to a seat are selectively activated and/or deactivated in accordance with the modified seat actuation profile or the new seat actuation profile [[0078]; a seat personalization prompt and upon approval of the seat personalization, the seat contour is automatically adjusted, for example, by adjusting the plurality of bladders 312 based on the pressure and posture assessment].
Nicola does not explicitly disclose a method for seat actuation comprising: receiving user data relating to a seat actuation profile, the user data including a sleep score of a user.
Shouldice teaches a method for seat actuation comprising: receiving user data relating to a seat actuation profile, the user data including a sleep score of a user [[0026]; The electronic device may control, based on the output from the evaluation of the derived physiological movement signal, any one or more of: movement of the vehicle, adjustment of a light condition of the cabin vicinity, adjustment of electrochromic glass transparency, movement of a seat of the cabin vicinity, adjustment of a braking parameter, adjustment of an acceleration parameter, adjustment of a suspension setting, adjustment of window coverage, adjustment of an acoustic barrier, immobilization of the vehicle, engagement of vehicle ventilation and/or engagement of vehicle cabin cooling/heating system. The evaluation of the portion of the derived physiological movement signal may include detecting any one or more of sleepiness, fatigue state, a sleep stage and a time in a sleep stage and/or a calculation of sleep score. The evaluation of the portion of the derived physiological movement signal may include detecting any one of a sleep score, a sleep stage and a time in a sleep stage].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nicola in view of Shouldice with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – Passenger profiling. The combination would examine passenger wellness [Shouldice; [0220]; When they are asleep, the processing device 100 can have their respiratory waveforms checked in order to screen for sleep apnea, and breathing and cardiac rates checked for signs of illness. The processing device 100 can then present a sleep score, as well as a fatigue score. The system offers the opportunity to manage insomnia, and other sleep conditions].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Gage (US 20170361733 A1) discloses a vehicle includes a vehicle seat comprising a seat base structure and a seat back structure pivotally connected to the seat base structure. The seat back structure includes a central adjustable region, an inboard side adjustable region adjacent the central adjustable region and a outboard side adjustable region located adjacent the central adjustable region. The seat back structure includes a central proximity sensor located at the central adjustable region, an inboard side proximity sensor located at the inboard side adjustable region and an outboard side proximity sensor located at the outboard side adjustable region. A seat back structure adjustment apparatus includes a central region adjustable member that adjusts a configuration of the central adjustable region, an inboard side adjustable member that adjusts a configuration of the inboard side adjustable region and an outboard side adjustable member that adjusts a configuration of the outboard adjustable region.
Muck et al. (US 20140210240 A1) discloses a variable lumbar support assembly for a seatback of a vehicle seat assembly includes a support bracket and a lumbar member. The support bracket has an upper end, an opposite lower end, and a pair of side rails extending between the upper end and the lower end. The support bracket has a curved central portion positioned between the upper and the lower end. The lumbar member is slidingly attached to the pair of side rails of the support bracket. The slidingly attachment of the lumbar member along the pair of slide rails provides both a vertical displacement and a fore and aft displacement of the lumbar member.
Gage et al. (US 20180148007 A1) discloses a system for adjusting one or more vehicle settings includes one or more processors, one or more occupant recognition sensors communicatively coupled to the one or more processors and configured to output an occupant recognition signal indicative of an identity of one or more vehicle occupants, and one or more memory modules communicatively coupled to the one or more processors. The one or more memory modules store logic that when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: recognize a first vehicle occupant of the one or more vehicle occupants, determine a first vehicle zone in which the first vehicle occupant is present, automatically adjust the one or more vehicle settings based on one or more occupant preference settings associated with the first vehicle occupant and the first vehicle zone.
Pham (US 20210312169 A1) discloses a weight management system for managing vehicle seat occupant body weight by using vehicle cameras and weight sensors of a plurality of vehicles having onboard communication modules. Each vehicle is equipped to analyze and compare weight changes of the vehicle seat occupant over time. Based on the weight status, a weight management recommendation can be transmitted to the vehicle seat occupant. Each vehicle is operatively connected to a weight management application in a data center. The weight management application includes a registration module which registers each vehicle. Additionally, a vehicle seat occupant may register with the weight management application to have his/her weight analyzed when travelling in any of the plurality of vehicles. The weight management application requests a search of a data lake and analysis of search results by a weight data artificial intelligence analytics program to improve the weight management recommendation.
Lota (US 20180111511 A1) discloses vehicle seat adjustment systems including cameras are disclosed. The vehicle seat adjustment system includes a camera configured to capture a seat arrangement of a front seat of a vehicle and one or more seats behind the front seat, a screen, communicatively coupled to the camera, configured to display the seat arrangement captured by the camera, an input device configured to receive an input from a user for adjusting positions of the one or more seats, an actuator communicatively coupled to the input device and configured to adjust positions of the one or more seats, and a controller communicatively coupled to the camera, the screen, the input device and the actuator. The controller receives the input from the input device and instruct the actuator to adjust the positions of the one or more seats based on the input from the user.
Jiwani et al. (US 20200226498 A1) discloses allocation of a vehicle to a passenger includes receiving a booking request for a share-ride or a non-share ride. Based on the booking request, sets of sponsored and non-sponsored routes are identified. Each identified route connects at least a source location and a destination location associated with the booking request. Further, one or more sponsored routes are selected from the set of sponsored routes based on a persona of the passenger. A sponsored or non-sponsored route is selected, by the passenger, from the one or more sponsored routes or the set of non-sponsored routes, respectively. Based on the selection by the passenger, an available vehicle is allocated to the passenger for the ride. Similarly, at least sponsored routes are identified and presented to a driver of the allocated vehicle for travelling from a current location to the source location of the passenger.
Awtar et al. (US 20210114553 A1) discloses a passenger state modulation system for passenger vehicles is presented. The passenger state modulation system operates to predict events that will impact the passengers state (e.g., motion sickness) before they happen and use the prediction to implement preemptive interventions with active vehicle sub-systems.
Kaku et al. (US 20220371474 A1) discloses a seat system which can change a surrounding environment of a user including illumination according to the movement of the user's body. A seat system comprises a seat body on which a user can be seated; a plurality of sensors provided on or in the seat body or on a structure arranged around the seat body and configured to detect a touch operation by the user seated on the seat body; an output device configured to output at least one of sound, light, and vibration; and a control device configured to control the output device such that, when one or more of the sensors detect a touch operation, the control device causes the output device to generate a corresponding predetermined output.
Endou (US 5319248 A) discloses an automotive vehicle seat adjusting system according to this invention is constructed to move a seat by a drive circuit. It is also constructed to allow a driver to change, during movement of the seat, the moving speed of the seat as he likes. In the system of this invention, when a signal indicative of the feeling of the driver to the moving speed of the seat is inputted, fuzzy inference is performed in accordance with a speed decision rule to decide an optimal moving speed. The optimal moving speed is decided by a fuzzy inference processor on the basis of the inputted feeling signal and an actual moving speed. The drive circuit is controlled in accordance with the decision at the fuzzy inference processor, whereby the seat is allowed to move at the optimal moving speed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY GABRIEL MORA/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664