DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: “The United States Supreme Court in Graham v. John Deere Co. of Kansas City noted that an obviousness determination begins with a finding that "the prior art as a whole in one form or another contains all" of the elements of the claimed invention. See Graham v. John Deere Co. of Kansas City, 383 U.S. 1, 22 (U.S. 1966). The Applicant respectfully asserts that the combination of Leleannec and MP A fails to disclose all of the limitations set forth in claims 1 and 19-20, and consequently does not render obvious claims 1, 4-6, and 8-20.”
Examiner disagrees. As cited in the reasons for rejection the prior art as a whole in one form or another contains all of the elements of the claimed invention. Materially, prior art teaches the exact formulas and even the exact constants that are described in the claims in connection with calculating the same scaling factors. This is more than a coincidence.
Applicant argues: “Firstly, the Applicant respectfully submits that Leleannec is silent on the limitations that, how to perform a determination of a quantized residual coefficient level included in the quantization process on the block is based on whether the block is dyadic or non-dyadic”
Examiner notes that this argument does not address the specific reasons for rejection and citations to the prior art that indicate that Leleannec is not silent on the claimed limitations.
Applicant argues: “Secondly, on pages 3-4 of the Office Action and pages 7-8 of the Office Action,. in rejecting the scaling factor limitations, the Examiner asserts that S 1 and S2 disclosed in Leleannec stand for scaling factors, for example, referring to the highlighted portion below on page 4 of the Office Action: Examiner notes that. applicant's ;nterpretation of Le!eannac is not accurate. In f.rn poiiions of l.elaannee noted by the Applicant. W and H stand for width and height. However, Leleannec 's S1 and S2 are the height and width of a block and are not scaling factors:”
Examiner notes that Leleannec uses S1 and S2 determinations in calculating scaling factors and it is more than a coincidence that the formulas in Leleannec correspond to the formulas provided in the claims for both dyadic and non-dyadic blocks. Claims 1 and 4 suggest that the same formula can be used with a dyadic and a non-dyadic dimension, and this is disclosed in Leleannec, the scaling factors are different because the input dimensions, i.e. S1 and S2 are different.
Drawings
Examiner has previously withdrawn objections to Figures 1-4, 6, 10, 11, 15 in view of the amended Prior Art labels.
Response to Amendment
Examiner withdraws the rejection of Claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018130414 to Leleannec (“Leleannec”) in view of Applicant admitted prior art found in the Specification (AAPA).
Regarding Claim 1: “A method for processing video data comprising:
performing, during a conversion between a first block of a video and a bitstream of the video, a coding tool on the first block based on whether the first block is dyadic or non-dyadic, (“A decoding method … wherein the scaling factor, i.e. its value, depends on whether at least one of the width and the height of the block is a power of 2.” Leleannec, Page 1 lines 31-32 and Page 2, lines 5-8.)
wherein the first block is with dimensions of WxH, W being a width of the first block and H being a height of the first block, and wherein in response to the first block being dyadic, both the width and the height of the first block are in a form of 2N with N being an integer; and (“The HEVC quantization and scaling are only adapted to square blocks whose width and/or height are/is a power of 2,” which is a definition of a dyadic block, and always in the form of 2N. Leleannec, Page 1 lines 27-28.)
performing the conversion based on the coding tool, (“A decoding method … - transforming the scaled block into an image block, wherein the scaling factor, i.e. its value, depends on whether at least one of the width and the height of the block is a power of 2.” Leleannec, Page 1 lines 31-32 and Page 2, lines 5-8.)
wherein the coding tool includes a scaling process in a transform or inverse transform process, and wherein the scaling process in the transform or inverse transform process is performed based on whether the first block is dyadic or non-dyadic, (First note that this is a limitation on the coding tool, and while the method is based on the coding tool, the method is not limited to using the coding tool in part or in its entirety. Thus, the broadest embodiments of this element are rejected for reasons stated above. Cumulatively, prior art teaches: “transforming the scaled block into an image block, wherein the scaling factor, i.e. its value, depends on whether at least one of the width and the height of the block is a power of 2,” anotherwords it makes a distinction between dyadic blocks and various non-dyadic blocks. See Leleannec, Page 2, lines 5-8.)
wherein the coding tool includes a quantization or de-quantization process, (“scaling involves applying a scale factor to the residual information so that different frequency information is quantized at different granularities.” See Specification, Paragraph 70.)
wherein how to perform a determination of a quantized residual coefficient level included in the quantization process or a determination of a de-quantized residual coefficient included in the de-quantization process on the first block is based on whether the first block is dyadic or non-dyadic, … wherein the quantization or de-quantization process applied for a dyadic block is different from the quantization or de-quantization process applied for a non-dyadic block, and (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and ordinary skill in the art, “the scaling factors in the quantization scaling matrix may be treated differently for non-dyadic blocks than dyadic blocks” which defines scaling to be part of the quantization. See Specification, Paragraphs 112, 70. Prior art teaches this, where the scaling factor is calculated in one way for dyadic blocks as in Leleannec, Page 1, lines 17-28, and in a different way for non-dyadic blocks “wherein the scaling factor depends on whether at least one of the width and the height of the block is a power of 2” in Leleannec, Page 2, lines 28-29 and the various scaling factors calculated on pages 3-4 indicating that the quantization methods are different for dyadic blocks with both width and heigh being a power of 2 and non-dyadic blocks where one or both dimensions are not power of 2.)
wherein when the first block is a non-dyadic block, at least one of the following is applied for the scaling process in the transform or inverse transform process: (“wherein the scaling factor, i.e. its value, depends on whether at least one of the width and the height of the block is a power of 2. … Advantageously, when neither s1 nor s2 is a power of 2 … ” Leleannec, Page 2, lines 5-8, and Page 3, line 24 - Page 4, line 8.)
a scaling factor after a first forward transform stage (ST1) is set to 2-([log2 W] + offset1 wherein offset1 is an integer and derived based on a function of a bit-depth; (This appears to be a default “scaling factor SQ equal to 2^-(29-M-B), where B is the bitdepth of the original image,” and M is the number of bits in either a height or a width of the block for “blocks whose size in each dimension is equal to a power of 2, i.e. of size 2^M x 2^M,” such that M=log2 H or M=log2 W). ). Also note Leleannec teaches this example as when the height is not a power of 2, S2 = 3 x 2n1, in this case 3 exemplifies H, and n2 represents -offset2 in Leleannec, Page 3, line 24 - Page 4, line 8, and further that “After the second transform stage … 2^(-B-9)x 1/S1”)” which then equals to 1/3 x 2^(-(log2 W)-B-9-n1) on Page 13 lines 6-9. This also exemplifies the claimed equation.)
Cumulatively, Prior art teaches: a scaling factor after a second forward transform stage (ST2) is set to 2-([log2 H] + offset2) wherein offset2 is an integer; (This appears to be a default “scaling factor SQ equal to 2^-(29-M-B), where B is the bitdepth of the original image,” and M is the number of bits used to represent either a height or a width of the block for such that M=log2 H or M=log2 W). Also note Leleannec teaches this example as when the height is not a power of 2, S2 = 3 x 2n2, in this case 3 exemplifies H, and n2 represents -offset2 in Leleannec, Page 3, line 24 - Page 4, line 8, and further that “After the second transform stage … 2^(-6)x 1/S2”)” which then equals to 1/3 x x2^(-(log2 H)-6-n2) on Page 13 lines 6-9. This also exemplifies the claimed equation.)
Cumulatively, Prior art teaches: a scaling factor after a first inverse transform stage (S1T1) is set to 2^(-offset3), wherein offset3 is an integer; (For example, “Table 2 provides the values of each scale factor … After the first inverse transform stage (S1n) … 2^(-7) ” See Leleannec, Page 23, lines 1-5. Also, “Advantageously, when s1 is not a power of 2 [a non-dyadic block] and s2 is a power of 2, … S2 = 2n2,” Leleannec, Page 3, lines 6-20. Thus, this is also a value that is used in determining the scaling factor in the prior art.)
Cumulatively, Prior art teaches: or a scaling factor after a second inverse transform stage (S1T2) is set to 2^(-offset4), wherein offset4 is an integer and derived based on a function of a bit-depth.” (For example, “Table 2 provides the values of each scale factor … After the second inverse transform stage (S1r2 ) … 2 -(20-B) … where B is the considered bit-depth.” See Leleannec, Page 23, lines 1-5. Also, “Advantageously, when s1 is not a power of 2 [a non-dyadic block] and s2 is a power of 2, … S2 = 2n2.” Leleannec, Page 3, lines 6-20.)
Cumulatively, although Leleannec often uses different language to describe the above features, it appears (from the substantively identical formulas using the substantively identical variable names) that both the present Specification and Leleannec describe the same processes from the same HEVC video coding standard. See Specification, Paragraphs 58-80 and Figs. 1-4, 6, 10-11, 15.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the claimed invention in the manner described in Leleannec in order to apply the common HEVC standard to video coding.
Finally, in reviewing the present application, there does not seem to be objective evidence that the claim limitations are particularly directed to: addressing a particular problem which was recognized but unsolved in the art, producing unexpected results at the level of the ordinary skill in the art, or any other objective indicators of non-obviousness.
Regarding Claim 4: “The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the following is applied for the scaling process in the transform or inverse transform process: … derivation of a scaling factor after a first forward transform stage (Sn) in response to the first block being non-dyadic is identical to derivation of the Sn in response to the first block being dyadic, … derivation of a scaling factor after a second forward transform stage (ST2) in response to the first block being non-dyadic is identical to derivation of the ST2 in response to the first block being dyadic, … derivation of a scaling factor after a first inverse transform stage (Sm) in response to the first block being non-dyadic is identical to derivation of the Sm in response to the first block being dyadic, or … derivation of a scaling factor after a second inverse transform stage (SIT2) in response to the first block being non-dyadic is identical to derivation of the SIT2 in response to the first block being dyadic.” (For example the default “scaling factor SQ equal to 2^-(29-M-B), where B is the bitdepth of the original image,” and M is the number of bits in either a height or a width of the block for “blocks whose size in each dimension is equal to a power of 2, i.e. of size 2^M x 2^M,” such that M=log2 H or M=log2 W). As noted in Claim 1, this formula is applied identically to the derivation of the scaling factor of dyadic blocks and non-dyadic blocks based on their particular dimensions.)
Regarding Claim 5: “The method of claim 1, wherein for the scaling process in the transform process: … when at least one of W and H is equal to 1, in response to the first block being non-dyadic, … a scaling factor after a first forward transform stage (Sn) for the first block and a scaling factor after a second forward transform stage (ST2) for the first block are different; and … wherein when H is equal to 1, ST1 s set to 2-([log2 w]+B-9), and ST2 is set to 1, wherein B is a bit-depth, or … wherein when W is equal to 1, Sn is set to 1, and ST2 is set to 2-([log2 H]+B-9), wherein B is a bit-depth.” (“where QP is the quantization parameter, coeff1Q is the resulting de-quantized transform coefficient, level is the quantized transform coefficient, offset1Q is the offset used for appropriate rounding, shift1 = (M - 9 + B) with B being the bit depth of the encoded video to which the block belongs, and offset1Q = 1 « (M-10+B).” Thus for H=1, the S1 would default to 1 and W would remain a function of (M - 9 + B) with M = W. See Leleannec, Page 12, lines 26-30.)
Regarding Claim 6: “The method of claim 1, wherein for the scaling process in the inverse transform process: … when at least one of W and H is equal to 1, in response to the first block being non-dyadic, … a scaling factor after a first inverse transform stage (Sm) for the first block and a scaling factor after a second inverse transform stage (SIT2) for the first block are different; and … wherein when His equal to 1, Sm is set to 2-(20-B), and SIT2 is set to 1, wherein Bis a bit-depth, … or wherein when W is equal to 1, Sm is set to 1, and SIT2 is set to 2-(20-B), wherein B is a bit-depth.” (For example “where B is the considered bit-depth. … After the second inverse transform stage (S1T2) … 2 -(20-B) …Such that: SIQ = 1.“ See Leleannec, Page 23, lines 3-11.)
Regarding Claim 8: “The method of claim 1, wherein when the first block is a non-dyadic block, the quantization process includes a determination of a quantized residual coefficient level:
wherein coeff represents a transformed residual coefficient, QP represents a quantization parameter, fQP%6 represents a quantization matrix, offsetQ represents an integer value, and shift2 represents a shifting value, and wherein fQP%6, offsetQ, and shift2 are based on the dimensions of the first block.” (“The quantization in HEVC is expressed as follows:
where QP is the quantization parameter, coef f is the transform coefficient, level is the resulting quantized transform coefficient, off setQ is the offset used for 5 appropriate rounding in the division by Qstep , and shift2 = 29-M-B and t = [f0 , ... ,t5 ]t” Leleannec, Page 13, lines 1-6.)
Regarding Claim 9: “The method of claim 8, wherein fQP%6 is derived based on W, H and QP, and shift2 is derived based on W and H; and wherein
, wherein Prod is derived based on WxH, Q_SHIFT is an integer, s is an integer, gQP%6 (W,H) represents a de-quantization matrix based on W and H, and round represents a function that rounds a floating point number to an integer, and … wherein fQP%6(W, H) is set equal to fQP%6vvc_even when Prod is equal to 1 and s is equal to 1, or fQP%6(W, H) is set equal to fQP%6 vvc_odd when Prod is equal to 1 and s is equal to 2; or wherein
wherein round represents a function that rounds a floating point number to an integer, Q_SHIFT is an integer, IQ_SHIFT is an integer, gQP%6 (W, H) represents a de-quantization matrix based on W and H, and Additionalshifts2 (W,H) represents a shifting value based on W and H.” (It appears that this definition is consistent with the HEVC: “HEVC quantization and de-quantization are basically fixed-point [round] approximation of the latter equation. Additional scale factors SQ and S1Q are thus used to restore the norm of the residual block which gets modified because of the scaling used in fixed point implementation. In HEVC, the fixed point approximation of the latter equation is given by gQP%6 = round(26 x GQP%6),” exemplifying the case where Q_SHIFT = 6 and where g corresponds to the claimed case of f “when Prod is equal to 1 and s is equal to 1,” See Leleannec, Page 12, lines 17-24.
Although Leleannec does not use the variables name “Prod, s,” the claim does not particularly limit their selection, and Leleannec teaches a variety of additional substitutable ways to calculate the resulting scale factor between the quantization (f) and dequantization (g) matrices in Table 1 on Page 15, which overlap the scope of the claimed calculation. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to represent the scaling factors in a variety of substitutable manners that precisely calculate or approximate or round the scaling factor for block quantization and de-quantization using HEVC. See Leleannec, Page 12, lines 17-24.)
Regarding Claim 10: “The method of claim 8, wherein fQP%6 is stored as a three-dimension table denoted as f[idxO][idxl][idx2], wherein idxO represents W, idxl represents H, and idx2 represents a value of QP%6.” (“In order to ensure that the scaling factor that the norm of a corresponding residual block is preserved between the spatial domain and the transform domain for Qstep = 1, i.e. QP=4, the scaling factor SQ is defined such that:
In a first embodiment in which s1 is not a power of 2 and s2 is a power of 2,” which indicates that the scaling factor, and thus f, is selected based on the three parameters, the QP, width s1 and height s2, which corresponds to a “three-dimension table” data structure. See Leleannec, Page 15, lines 11-23.)
Regarding Claim 11: “The method of claim 1, wherein when the first block is a non-dyadic block, the dequantization process includes a determination of a de-quantized residual coefficient coeffQ:
, wherein level represents a quantized residual coefficient, QP represents a quantization parameter, gQP%6 represents a de-quantization matrix, offsetrQ represents an integer value, and shift1 represents a shifting value, and wherein gQP%6, offsetrQ, and shift1 are based on the dimensions of the first block.” (“ The de-quantization in HEVC is expressed as follows:
” See Leleannec, Page 12, lines 24-30.)
Regarding Claim 12: “The method of claim 1 1, wherein gQP%6 is derived based on W, H and QP, and shiftl is derived based on W and H; and wherein
wherein Prod is derived based on WxH, IQ_SHIFT is an integer, s is an integer, and round represents a function that rounds a floating point number to an integer, and wherein gQP%6(W, H) is set equal to gQP%6vvc_even when Prod is equal to 1 and s is equal to 1, or gQP%6(W, H) is set equal to gQP%6vvc_octct when Prod is equal to 1 and s is equal to 2.” (It appears that this definition is consistent with the HEVC: “HEVC quantization and de-quantization are basically fixed-point [round] approximation of the latter equation. Additional scale factors SQ and S1Q are thus used to restore the norm of the residual block which gets modified because of the scaling used in fixed point implementation. In HEVC, the fixed point approximation of the latter equation is given by gQP%6 = round(26 x GQP%6),” exemplifying the case where Q_SHIFT = 6 and where g corresponds to the claimed case of f “when Prod is equal to 1 and s is equal to 1,” See Leleannec, Page 12, lines 17-24.
Although Leleannec does not use the variables name “Prod, s,” the claim does not particularly limit their selection, and Leleannec teaches a variety of additional substitutable ways to calculate the resulting scale factor between the quantization (f) and dequantization (g) matrices in Table 1 on Page 15, which overlap the scope of the claimed calculation. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to represent the scaling factors in a variety of substitutable manners that precisely calculate or approximate or round the scaling factor for block quantization and de-quantization using HEVC. See Leleannec, Page 12, lines 17-24.)
Regarding Claim 13: “The method of claim 1 1, wherein gQP%6 is stored as a three-dimension table denoted as g[idxO][idxl][idx2], wherein idxO represents W, idxl represents H, and idx2 represents a value of QP%6.” (“In order to ensure that the scaling factor that the norm of a corresponding residual block is preserved between the spatial domain and the transform domain for Qstep = 1, i.e. QP=4, the scaling factor SQ is defined such that:
In a first embodiment in which s1 is not a power of 2 and s2 is a power of 2,” which indicates that the scaling factor, and thus f, is selected based on the three parameters, the QP, width s1 and height s2, which corresponds to a “three-dimension table” data structure. See Leleannec, Page 15, lines 11-23.)
Regarding Claim 14: “The method of claim 1, wherein the quantization scaling matrix of the quantization process is not applied to the first block when the first block is a non-dyadic block; or … wherein the quantization scaling matrix of the quantization process is allowed to be applied to the first block and included in the bitstream when the first block is a non-dyadic block, wherein the bitstream includes a flag indicating presence or usage of the quantization scaling matrix applied to the first block, and wherein a scaling factor for at least one position of the first block is included in the bitstream or derived based on a scaling factor for a corresponding dyadic block or another non-dyadic block with different dimensions.” (Prior art teaches the first option. First note that “In HEVC coding … transform and quantization are applied on square blocks whose size in each dimension is equal to a power of 2, i.e. of size 2M x 2M. As depicted on figure 1, quantization comprises quantization by Qstep (S10) followed by scaling (S12) by a scaling factor SQ equal to 2-C29-M-B),” Leleannec, Page 1, lines 17-26. As noted in Leleannec, Pages 2-4, this scaling process and thus “a quantization scaling matrix of the quantization process is not applied” is not applied when the block is non-dyadic.)
Regarding Claim 16: “The method of claim 1,
wherein the first block is a transform-skip coded block or a palette coded block; (“The encoder may also skip the transform and apply quantization directly to the non-transformed residual signal.” Leleannec, Page 11, lines 16-23.)
wherein the coding tool includes a quantization or de-quantization process; and wherein the quantization or de-quantization process applied on the first block in response to the first block being dyadic is identical to the quantization or de-quantization process applied on the first block in response to the first block being non-dyadic, or wherein the quantization or de-quantization process applied on the first block in response to the first block being dyadic is different from the quantization or de-quantization process applied on the first block in response to the first block being non-dyadic.” (Note both identical and different quantization aspects in Claims 1 and 6.)
Regarding Claim 17: “The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion comprises encoding the first block into the bitstream.” (“The various embodiments are described with respect to the encoding/decoding of an image block. … - encoding the scaled block into a bitstream. … decoding a block of transform coefficients from a bitstream.” Leleannec, Page 7, lines 30-33 and Page 4, line 14.)
Regarding Claim 18: “The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion comprises decoding the first block from the bitstream.” (“The various embodiments are described with respect to the encoding/decoding of an image block.” Leleannec, Page 7, lines 30-33 and Page 1, lines 30-32.)
Claim 19: “An apparatus for processing video data comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to: …” is rejected for reasons stated for Claim 1, and because prior art teaches: “According to an exemplary and non-limiting embodiment, the transmitter 200 further comprises a computer program stored in the memory 2030. The computer program comprises instructions which, when executed by the transmitter 200, in particular by the processor 2000, enable the transmitter 200 to execute the encoding method described with reference to Figure 4.” Leleannec, Page 9, lines 3-7 and Page 19, lines 28-32.)
Claim 20: “A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by a video processing apparatus, wherein the method comprises: …” is rejected for reasons stated for Claim 1 and because prior art teaches: “The bitstream may be obtained from a source. According to different embodiments, the source can be, but is not limited to: - a local memory, e.g. a video memory, a RAM, a flash memory, a hard disk ;” Leleannec, Page 19, lines 7-10. See additional reasons for rejection under section 101 above.)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018130414 to Leleannec (“Leleannec”) in view of Applicant admitted prior art found in the Specification (AAPA) and in view of US 20210368208 to Samuelsson (“Samuelsson”).
Regarding Claim 15: “The method of claim 1, wherein sign data hiding (SDH) or sign prediction is not applied to the first block when the first block is non-dyadic; or wherein the SDH or sign prediction is allowed to be applied to the first block when the first block is non-dyadic, and wherein the bitstream includes a flag indicating usage of the SDH or sign prediction applied to the first block.” Note that Leleannec does not require the use of sign prediction, therefore “sign prediction is not applied to the first block when the first block is non-dyadic.”
Samuelsson confirms that while “sign bit hiding” is a function available in HEVC and can be indicated by a flag in the bitstream, it is not required to be “applied to the first block when the first block is non-dyadic”: “sps_sign_data_hiding_enabled_flag equal to 0 specifies that sign bit hiding is disabled and not used for pictures referring to the SPS.” Samuelsson, Page 30, Column 1, third paragraph.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to supplement the teachings of Leleannec and AAPA to omit performing “sign bit hiding” in the manner described in Samuelsson, in order to omit performing the function when it is not required or when it is not desired to be coded. See Samuelsson, Page 30, Column 1, third paragraph.
Finally, in reviewing the present application, there does not seem to be objective evidence that the claim limitations are particularly directed to: addressing a particular problem which was recognized but unsolved in the art, producing unexpected results at the level of the ordinary skill in the art, or any other objective indicators of non-obviousness.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIKHAIL ITSKOVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483