DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 5/20/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/20/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (2013/0076363).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi et al. disclose a processing method for a battery comprising determining whether a target battery (10; see paragraph 63) is regenerable (see paragraph 78) without separating an electrode active material serving as a positive electrode active material and an electrode active material serving as a negative electrode active material of the target battery from an electrode group (see paragraphs 78-82; the determination is made based on external measurements), based on analysis result of measurement data for the target battery (supra).
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi et al. disclose the processing method according to claim 1, further comprising, if it is determined that the target battery is not regenerable in a state where the electrode active material is not separated from the electrode group, determining whether each of the electrode active material of the target battery is reusable based on the analysis result of the measurement data for the target battery (see paragraphs 78-82).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi et al. disclose the processing method according to claim 2, further comprising reusing the electrode active material determined to be reusable in the target battery without being decomposed (see paragraphs 79 and 139).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi et al. disclose the processing method according to claim 2, further comprising extracting an element included in the electrode active material or a compound or a mixture of the element by decomposing the electrode active material determined to be non-reusable in the target battery (see paragraphs 78-79, 139, and 220).
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi et al. disclose the processing method according to claim 1, further comprising:
determining whether the target battery is reusable as it is based on the analysis result of the measurement data for the target battery (see paragraphs 78-79, 139, and 158); and
reusing the target battery determined to be reusable as it is without separating the electrode active material from the electrode group and regenerating the target battery (see paragraph 79).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose or suggest, "regenerating the target battery determined ... regenerable by adjusting the positive ... and the negative electrode electric potential, by adjusting the positive ... and the negative electrode electric potential in a state where the electrode active material is not separated from the electrode group", in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 5, and claim 6 depending therefrom.
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/GEOFFREY T EVANS/Examiner, Art Unit 2852