DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 2. Applicant’s 01/07/2026 election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13 in response to the restriction requirement of 11/19/2025 , is acknowledged and the election is made Final . Pending claims 1-13 are rejected for the reasons set forth below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 3 . 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. 4 . Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more. 5 . Analysis: Step 1: Statutory Category?: (is the claim(s) directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?) - YES : In the instant case, claims 1-13 are directed to a method (i.e., process). Regarding independent claim 1: Step 2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?: (is the claim(s) recited a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon) – YES : Independent claim 1 recites the at least following limitations of “… receiving a request to display a benchmark index relating to the cryptocurrencies; in response to receiving the request, for each of the cryptocurrencies: determining a market capitalization value and a price of the cryptocurrency over time; generating the benchmark index based on the market capitalization values and the prices over time; and displaying the benchmark index . ” These recited limitations of the claim, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas as they cover performance of the limitations in commercial interactions (including business relations for generating data on cryptocurrencies including generating a benchmark index based on market capitalization values and prices over time and displaying a benchmark index ). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception) - NO : This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, independent claim 1 further to the abstract idea includes additional elements of “ one or more computer processors ”. However, the additional elements recite generic computer components such as a computer, computing devices, a server, and/or software programing that are recited a high-level of generality that merely perform, conduct, carry out, implement, and/or narrow the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, the additional elements evaluated individually and in combination do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they comprise or include limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application such as adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea -- See MPEP 2106.05(f) . The claim is directed to an abstract idea. 2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception) - NO : The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “one or more computer processors” evaluated individually and in combination do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, or are not more than merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks ( e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea ( e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more - See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). None of the additional elements taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim is patent-ineligible. Dependent claims 2-13 have been given the full two-part analysis, analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claims, when analyzed individually and in combination, are also held to be patent-ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. Dependent claim 2 : simply provide further definition to “ determining the market capitalization value ” recited in claim 1. Simply stating that wherein determining the market capitalization value comprises: determining a stock price of the cryptocurrency; determining a number of outstanding shares of the cryptocurrency; and determining the market capitalization value based on the stock price and the number of outstanding shar es does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., the system for providing electronic patient reporting, code for gathering data) that results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B). Dependent claim 3 : simply provide further definition to “ generating the benchmark index ” recited in claim 1. Simply stating that wherein generating the benchmark index comprises: for each cryptocurrency, determining Weight A(t) = Market Cap A(t) / (Total Index Market Cap(t) * 100), wherein Weight A(t) is a weight over time associated with the cryptocurrency, Market Cap A(t) is the market capitalization value over time for the cryptocurrency, and Total Index Market Cap(t) is a sum of each determined Market Cap A(t);for each cryptocurrency, multiplying the weight over time associated with the cryptocurrency with the price over time of the cryptocurrency; and summing the weights over time multiplied by the prices over time does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., the system for providing electronic patient reporting, code for gathering data) that results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B). Dependent claim 4 : simply refines the abstract idea because they recite limitations (e.g., further comprising determining a global equities index; determining a return of the global equities index; determining a return of the benchmark index; determining a linear relationship between the return of the global equities index and the return of the benchmark index; and determining, based on the linear relationship, a residual risk ), that fall under the category of organizing human activity as described above in claim 1 . T he dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application) that results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B) . Dependent claim 5 : simply provide further definition to “ determining the return of the global equities index ” recited in claim 4 . Simply stating that wherein determining the return of the global equities index comprises determining a ratio of the global equities index at a time T and the global equities index at a time T-1, wherein T is a unit of time does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., the system for providing electronic patient reporting, code for gathering data) that results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B). Dependent claim 6 : simply provide further definition to “ determining the return of the benchmark index ” recited in claim 4 . Simply stating that wherein determining the return of the benchmark index comprises determining a ratio of the benchmark index at a time T and the benchmark index at a time T-1, wherein T is a unit of time does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., the system for providing electronic patient reporting, code for gathering data) that results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B). Dependent claim 7 : simply provide further definition to “ determining the residual risk ” recited in claim 4 . Simply stating that wherein determining the residual risk comprises: determining return(A) - (Slope * return(B) + intercept), wherein return(A) is the return of the benchmark index, Slope is a slope of the linear relationship, return(B) is the return of the global equities index, and intercept is the intercept of the linear relationship does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., the system for providing electronic patient reporting, code for gathering data) that results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B). Dependent claim 8 : simply refines the abstract idea because they recite limitations (e.g., further comprising: determining a sentiment index; determining a return of the sentiment index; determining a return of the benchmark index; determining a linear relationship between the return of the sentiment index and the return of the benchmark index; and determining, based on the linear relationship, a residual risk ), that fall under the category of organizing human activity as described above in claim 1 . T he dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application) that results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B) . Dependent claim 9 : simply provide further definition to “ determining the return of the sentiment index ” recited in claim 8 . Simply stating that wherein determining the return of the sentiment index comprises determining a ratio of the sentiment index at a time T and the sentiment index at a time T-1, wherein T is a unit of time does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., the system for providing electronic patient reporting, code for gathering data) that results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B). Dependent claim 10 : simply provide further definition to “ determining the return of the benchmark index ” recited in claim 8 . Simply stating that wherein determining the return of the benchmark index comprises determining a ratio of the benchmark index at a time T and the benchmark index at a time T-1, wherein T is a unit of time does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., the system for providing electronic patient reporting, code for gathering data) that results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B). Dependent claim 11 : simply provide further definition to “ determining the residual risk ” recited in claim 8 . Simply stating that wherein determining the residual risk comprises: determining return(A) - Slope * return(B) + intercept, wherein return(A) is the return of the benchmark index, Slope is a slope of the linear relationship, return(B) is the return of the sentiment index, and intercept is the intercept of the linear relationship does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., the system for providing electronic patient reporting, code for gathering data) that results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B). Dependent claim 12 : simply provide further definition to “ determining the sentiment index ” recited in claim 8 . Simply stating that wherein determining the sentiment index comprises: retrieving keyword analysis performed on one or more social media networks; and determining the sentiment index based on the keyword analysis amounts to no more than merely applying generic computer components and/or software programing to implement the abstract idea on a computer (i.e., one or more social media networks).Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., one or more social media networks) that results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B). Dependent claim 13 : simply provide further definition to “ retrieving the keyword analysis ” recited in claim 12 . Simply stating that wherein retrieving the keyword analysis comprises: performing the keyword analysis on the one or more social media networks amounts to no more than merely applying generic computer components and/or software programing to implement the abstract idea on a computer (i.e., the one or more social media networks).Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., the one or more social media networks) that results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 6 . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 7 . The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 8 . Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiatt (U.S. Pub. No. 2008 / 0154790 ), hereinafter, “ Hiatt ” . Claim 1 – Hiatt disclose s : a method of generating data on cryptocurrencies, comprising performing, by one or more computer processors: receiving a request to display a benchmark index relating to the cryptocurrencies; in response to receiving the request, for each of the cryptocurrencies: determining a market capitalization value and a price of the cryptocurrency over time; generating the benchmark index based on the market capitalization values and the prices over time; and displaying the benchmark index ( Hiatt , [ 0017 ], [0024], “ a method for calculating a volatility arbitrage benchmark index value, the method including calculating a value reflecting a volatility arbitrage benchmark of an underlying asset on a processor, the value for the total volatility having a dynamic value which reflects a performance of the underlying asset over a predefined time period, displaying at least one value reflecting the total volatility of the underlying asset on a trading facility display device coupled to a trading platform, and transmitting at least one volatility arbitrage benchmark derivative quote of a liquidity provider from the trading facility to at least one market participant … The creation of a volatility arbitrage benchmark index would facilitate development of volatility-based exchange-traded products, such as an exchange-traded fund (ETF). An ETF is typically an index fund that is not actively managed that may hold securities, currencies, commodities and other financial assets ”, see also Figures 1- 3 ) . Claim 2 – Hiatt disclose s the method of claim 1, as shown above. Hiatt further disclose s : wherein determining the market capitalization value comprises: determining a stock price of the cryptocurrency; determining a number of outstanding shares of the cryptocurrency; and determining the market capitalization value based on the stock price and the number of outstanding share s ( Hiatt , [ 00 24 ], “ Shares of an ETF are traded on a securities exchange. The traded price of these shares tracks their net asset value through the use of a creation/redemption process, which permits arbitrage. This creation/redemption process and the need for a more active management process are two of the impediments for a volatility-based ETF ”, see also Figure 1 ) . Claim 3 – Hiatt disclose s the method of claim 1, as shown above. Hiatt further disclose s : wherein generating the benchmark index comprises: for each cryptocurrency, determining Weight A(t) = Market Cap A(t) / (Total Index Market Cap(t) * 100), wherein Weight A(t) is a weight over time associated with the cryptocurrency, Market Cap A(t) is the market capitalization value over time for the cryptocurrency, and Total Index Market Cap(t) is a sum of each determined Market Cap A(t);for each cryptocurrency, multiplying the weight over time associated with the cryptocurrency with the price over time of the cryptocurrency; and summing the weights over time multiplied by the prices over time ( Hiatt , [ 0026 ] -[0030], “ The daily index value for the volatility arbitrage benchmark index in this example is calculated according to the following formula :Index t = Index t - 1 [ 1 + ( p t - p t - 1 p t - 1 ) ] where, Index.sub.t-1=Today's closing index value. Index.sub.t-1=Yesterday's closing index value. p.sub.t=Today's closing price for the front-month CBOE S&P 500 Three-month Realized Variance future. p.sub.t-1=Yesterday's closing price for the front-month CBOE S&P 500 Three-month Realized Variance future ”, see also Figure 1 ) . Claim 4 – Hiatt disclose s the method of claim 1, as shown above. Hiatt further disclose s : further comprising determining a global equities index; determining a return of the global equities index; determining a return of the benchmark index; determining a linear relationship between the return of the global equities index and the return of the benchmark index; and determining, based on the linear relationship, a residual risk ( Hiatt , [ 0038], “ Logic stored in the memory 214 is executed by the processor 212 such that that the volatility arbitrage benchmark index module 202 may receive a first set of trade information for each underlying asset representative of a desired group of underlying assets through the communications interface 210; aggregate that first set of trade information over a first time period, calculate a volatility arbitrage benchmark index for the desired group of underlying assets with the aggregated first set of trade information, and a standardized measure of the index; and pass the calculated values to the dissemination module 204 ”, see also Figure 2 ) . Claim 5 – Hiatt disclose s the method of claim 4 , as shown above. Hiatt further disclose s : wherein determining the return of the global equities index comprises determining a ratio of the global equities index at a time T and the global equities index at a time T-1, wherein T is a unit of time ( Hiatt , [ 0038], “ Logic stored in the memory 214 is executed by the processor 212 such that that the volatility arbitrage benchmark index module 202 may receive a first set of trade information for each underlying asset representative of a desired group of underlying assets through the communications interface 210; aggregate that first set of trade information over a first time period, calculate a volatility arbitrage benchmark index for the desired group of underlying assets with the aggregated first set of trade information, and a standardized measure of the index; and pass the calculated values to the dissemination module 204 ”, see also Figure 2 ) . Claim 6 – Hiatt disclose s the method of claim 4 , as shown above. Hiatt further disclose s : determining the return of the benchmark index comprises determining a ratio of the benchmark index at a time T and the benchmark index at a time T-1, wherein T is a unit of time ( Hiatt , [ 0038], “ Logic stored in the memory 214 is executed by the processor 212 such that that the volatility arbitrage benchmark index module 202 may receive a first set of trade information for each underlying asset representative of a desired group of underlying assets through the communications interface 210; aggregate that first set of trade information over a first time period, calculate a volatility arbitrage benchmark index for the desired group of underlying assets with the aggregated first set of trade information, and a standardized measure of the index; and pass the calculated values to the dissemination module 204 ”, see also Figure 2 ) . Claim 7 – Hiatt disclose s the method of claim 4 , as shown above. Hiatt further disclose s : wherein determining the residual risk comprises: determining return(A) - (Slope * return(B) + intercept), wherein return(A) is the return of the benchmark index, Slope is a slope of the linear relationship, return(B) is the return of the global equities index, and intercept is the intercept of the linear relationship ( Hiatt , [ 0026 ] -[0030], “ The daily index value for the volatility arbitrage benchmark index in this example is calculated according to the following formula :Index t = Index t - 1 [ 1 + ( p t - p t - 1 p t - 1 ) ] where, Index.sub.t-1=Today's closing index value. Index.sub.t-1=Yesterday's closing index value. p.sub.t=Today's closing price for the front-month CBOE S&P 500 Three-month Realized Variance future. p.sub.t-1=Yesterday's closing price for the front-month CBOE S&P 500 Three-month Realized Variance future ”, see also Figure 1 ) . Claim 8 – Hiatt disclose s the method of claim 1, as shown above. Hiatt further disclose s : further comprising: determining a sentiment index; determining a return of the sentiment index; determining a return of the benchmark index; determining a linear relationship between the return of the sentiment index and the return of the benchmark index; and determining, based on the linear relationship, a residual risk ( Hiatt , [ 0038], “ Logic stored in the memory 214 is executed by the processor 212 such that that the volatility arbitrage benchmark index module 202 may receive a first set of trade information for each underlying asset representative of a desired group of underlying assets through the communications interface 210; aggregate that first set of trade information over a first time period, calculate a volatility arbitrage benchmark index for the desired group of underlying assets with the aggregated first set of trade information, and a standardized measure of the index; and pass the calculated values to the dissemination module 204 ”, see also Figure 2 ) . Claim 9 – Hiatt disclose s the method of claim 8 , as shown above. Hiatt further disclose s : wherein determining the return of the sentiment index comprises determining a ratio of the sentiment index at a time T and the sentiment index at a time T-1, wherein T is a unit of time ( Hiatt , [ 0038], “ Logic stored in the memory 214 is executed by the processor 212 such that that the volatility arbitrage benchmark index module 202 may receive a first set of trade information for each underlying asset representative of a desired group of underlying assets through the communications interface 210; aggregate that first set of trade information over a first time period, calculate a volatility arbitrage benchmark index for the desired group of underlying assets with the aggregated first set of trade information, and a standardized measure of the index; and pass the calculated values to the dissemination module 204 ”, see also Figure 2 ) . Claim 10 – Hiatt disclose s the method of claim 8 , as shown above. Hiatt further disclose s : wherein determining the return of the benchmark index comprises determining a ratio of the benchmark index at a time T and the benchmark index at a time T-1, wherein T is a unit of time ( Hiatt , [ 0038], “ Logic stored in the memory 214 is executed by the processor 212 such that that the volatility arbitrage benchmark index module 202 may receive a first set of trade information for each underlying asset representative of a desired group of underlying assets through the communications interface 210; aggregate that first set of trade information over a first time period, calculate a volatility arbitrage benchmark index for the desired group of underlying assets with the aggregated first set of trade information, and a standardized measure of the index; and pass the calculated values to the dissemination module 204 ”, see also Figure 2 ) . Claim 11 – Hiatt disclose s the method of claim 8 , as shown above. Hiatt further disclose s : wherein determining the residual risk comprises: determining return(A) - Slope * return(B) + intercept, wherein return(A) is the return of the benchmark index, Slope is a slope of the linear relationship, return(B) is the return of the sentiment index, and intercept is the intercept of the linear relationship ( Hiatt , [ 0038], “ Logic stored in the memory 214 is executed by the processor 212 such that that the volatility arbitrage benchmark index module 202 may receive a first set of trade information for each underlying asset representative of a desired group of underlying assets through the communications interface 210; aggregate that first set of trade information over a first time period, calculate a volatility arbitrage benchmark index for the desired group of underlying assets with the aggregated first set of trade information, and a standardized measure of the index; and pass the calculated values to the dissemination module 204 ”, see also Figure 2 ) . Claim 12 – Hiatt disclose s the method of claim 8 , as shown above. Hiatt further disclose s : wherein determining the sentiment index comprises: retrieving keyword analysis performed on one or more social media networks; and determining the sentiment index based on the keyword analysis ( Hiatt , [ 0039], “ t he dissemination module 204 comprises a communications interface 216, a processor 218 coupled with the communications interface 216, and a memory 220 coupled with the processor 218. Logic stored in the memory 220 is executed by the processor 218 such that the dissemination module 204 may receive the calculated values from the volatility arbitrage benchmark index module 202 through the communications interface 216, and disseminate the calculated values over the communications network 208 to various market participants 222 ”, see also Figure 2 ) . Claim 13 – Hiatt disclose s the method of claim 1 2 , as shown above. Hiatt further disclose s : wherein retrieving the keyword analysis comprises: performing the keyword analysis on the one or more social media networks ( Hiatt , [ 0039], “ t he dissemination module 204 comprises a communications interface 216, a processor 218 coupled with the communications interface 216, and a memory 220 coupled with the processor 218. Logic stored in the memory 220 is executed by the processor 218 such that the dissemination module 204 may receive the calculated values from the volatility arbitrage benchmark index module 202 through the communications interface 216, and disseminate the calculated values over the communications network 208 to various market participants 222 ”, see also Figure 2 ) . Relevant Prior Art 9 . The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Shalen (U.S. Pub. No. 2009 / 0182684 ) teaches method and system for creating a volatility benchmark index . Conclusion 1 0 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Liz Nguyen whose telephone number is (571) 272-5414. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday 8:00 A.M to 5:00 P.M. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Gart, can be reached on (571) 272-3955. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Center system (visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800) 786-9199 (USA or CANADA) or (571) 272-1000. /LIZ P NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3696 /MATTHEW S GART/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3696