Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Braendel (US 2,278,411). In considering the embodiment shown in Figs. 1-2, Braendel discloses a fastener comprising a shank with a first end at a tip and a second end at a head; the shank includes a thread (16) from the tip towards the head; the tip includes a pilot portion with a plurality of a flutes (17); the pilot thread includes a first thread portion (14) with a first revolution, a second thread portion with a second revolution (the last revolution of 14) which follows the first thread revolution, and a third portion with a third revolution which follows the second revolution. The pilot portion has the first thread (14) with a gradually reducing outer diameter and a constant root diameter (first column, paragraph beginning line 38) therefore the thread height of the second portion would have a revolution with a different height and width than the height and width of the first revolution; a first revolution width being less than a second revolution width; and since the second thread portion continues to the third thread portion, the second and third revolutions would have the same height and width.
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 11, 13 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rausch (US 5,562,379). Rausch discloses a fastener (21) comprising a shank (26) with a first end at a tip (27) and a second end at a head (24); the shank includes a thread (30) from the tip towards the head; the tip includes a pilot portion; the pilot thread includes a first thread portion with a first revolution (34), a second thread portion with a revolution (33) which follow the first thread revolution, and a third portion with a revolution (35) which follows the second revolution . The pilot portion has the second thread revolution with a height less than the first and third thread revolutions (column 2, paragraph beginning line 63) and a width different from the first thread revolution height and greater than a width of the first thread revolution; the first thread revolution height being the same as the third revolution height and the third revolution is followed by a revolutions equal to the third revolution.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsau (US 2007/0172333) is cited to teach a thin first thread. Giannuzzi (US 5,188,496), Stanwick (US 3,381,733) and Ling (US 8,608,252) are cited to teach a smaller second thread. Torii (US 9,790,979), Lathom (US 3,935,785), Boehlow (US 3,351,115) and Hurdle (US 5,795,120) are cited to teach a second thread different from a first. Meersteiner (US 2,232,337) and Thurston (US 3,492,908) are cited to teach flutes.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675