DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/30/26 has been entered in the case. Claims 1-25 are pending for examination.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 17-18 & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decker et al. (US 9,352,084) in view of Cinberg et al. (US 5,207,685).
Regarding claim 1, Decker discloses a method of administering, to a tympanic cavity, a pharmaceutical composition using a drug delivery device 20 including a flexible catheter portion 24 (cannula 24 is made of soft cannula), an inlet 32, the drug delivery device implanted through a tympanic membrane 64, the method comprising: fluidly connecting the drug delivery device 20 to an injection system 24 via an inlet 32 of a flexible catheter/cannula 24 of the drug delivery device; and introducing, to the tympanic cavity, a volume of the pharmaceutical composition via the drug delivery device, see Fig. 1.
Note: Decker states that the cannula 24 is made of soft cannula. The term “catheter” and “cannula” can be interchangeable. In this case, the soft cannula 24 can be called as “flexible catheter”.
Decker does not disclose a ventilation portion included in the drug delivery device.
Cinberg discloses a ventilation tube for ventilating comprising: an applicator tube 22 (equivalent to a claimed catheter or cannula) including a ventilation portion 10 located a distal portion of the tube 22; wherein the ventilation portion 10 is implanted at the tympanic membrane for venting (or air escapes from the tympanic cavity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Decker by including a ventilation portion located at the distal portion of the tube, as taught by Cinberg, for the purpose of ventilating the tympanic cavity or the middle ear.
Regarding claim 3, Decker in view of Cinberg discloses all the claimed subject matter as required. Decker also discloses that forming an incision in the tympanic membrane; inserting the flexible catheter/cannula 24 through the incision. The catheter/cannula 24 includes nodules 50 that having diameter larger than an outer diameter of the catheter/cannula 24, therefore, a person skilled in the art would recognize that a length/diameter of the incision is being larger than the outer diameter of the catheter/cannula 24 for preventing rupture tympanic membrane and reducing discomfort to a patient during inserting through the tympanic membrane.
Regarding claims 17-18, Decker in view of Cinberg discloses all the claimed subject matter as required. Decker also discloses that a tubing/catheter 20 is formed of polyurethan, col. 3, line 60. Since the cannula 24 is formed of soft material. It is well-known in the art that a polyurethan having flexible, soft characteristic. Therefore, a person skilled in the art would recognize that the cannula 24 can be formed of polyurethan material for improving patient comfort during insertion.
Note: the limitation “having a reduced rigidity when exposed to a body temperature of a patient” is a characteristic of a polyurethane material and therefore it is considered as a functional limitation to performing a function. In this case, the flexible catheter/cannula 24 in Decker is formed of polyurethane material, and therefore, the flexible polyurethane catheter/cannula in Decker is capable of having a reduced rigidity when exposed to a body temperature of a patient.
Regarding claim 22, Decker in view of Cinberg discloses claimed subject matter as required. Decker also discloses that the distal end of the catheter/cannula 24 may be placed adjacent to or in contact with a target location at the membrane wall of the inner ear such that the at least one nodule limits the insertion depth of the cannula into the wall. The medicine may then be administered to the target location. The at least one nodule may be sized, shaped, arranged and/or otherwise configured to permit passage through one or more membranes, such as the tympanic membrane, while not permitting passage through other membranes, such as the temporal bone lining the inner ear, col. 2, lines 3-15. In other words, the distal end of the catheter just passes through the tympanic membrane and the distal end of the catheter is located in between the tympanic membrane and the temporal bone lining the inner ear. Decker further discloses that a distance 54 of the nodule 50 from the distal end 42 of the cannula/catheter 24 about 0.1 mm to 0.5 mm or any other appropriate distance. The distance 54 is be adjusted in a cannula 24 having a sharpened tip, col. 4, lines 51-57. Although Decker (or Decker in view of Cinberg) does not disclose that a distance of from 2 mm to 5 mm from the tympanic membrane, a person skilled in the art would recognize that a distance from 2-5 mm from the tympanic membrane that depends on the size structure of the ear in each patient. In addition, inserting into the tympanic cavity about 2-5 mm from tympanic membrane is not deep into the tympanic cavity for less risk to contact with any of structures in the tympanic cavity.
Claims 2, 4-12, 14-15, 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decker et al. (US 9,352,084) in view of Cinberg et al. (US 5,207,685) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 10,813,947).
Regarding claims 2, 4-9, 23-25, Decker in view of Cinberg discloses all the claimed subject matter as required except for limitations as required in claims 2, 4-9, 23-25
Lee discloses a method of administering to a tympanic cavity, col. 7, lines 26-32, a pharmaceutical composition comprises an effective amount of an aqueous solution of a platinum chelator; where in platinum chelator is a thiosulfate salt, see abstract; wherein the chelator is a thiosulfate at a concentration of from 0.1M to 0.4M, see col. 11, lines 25-53;
wherein the thiosulfate solution has a pH of from 7.0 to 9.5, see col. 7, lines 11-13 & lines 36-57, buffered with boric acid, col. 14, line 32-34. In addition, Lee further states that buffering agents are known in the art used to adjust the pH of a pharmaceutical composition, e.g., a pharmaceutical dosage form, a substantially neutral pH level, col. 15, lines 24-28; wherein the platinum chelator is at least one selected from the group consisting of alkali metal thiosulfate salt, an alkaline earth thiosulfate salt, an ammonium thiosulfate salt, and an organoammonium thiosulfate salt, see col. 11, lines 54-56; wherein the platinum chelator is sodium thiosulfate, see claim 2 in Lee; wherein a volume of the administered pharmaceutical composition is in the required ranges of 0.1-0.5 mL, see col. 10, lines 6- col. 11, line 7 and claim 3 in Lee; wherein the effective amount of the aqueous solution of the platinum chelator is introduced to a level at or above a round window membrane in the tympanic cavity, col. 9, lines 55-60.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and device of Decker in view of Cinberg by providing the pharmaceutical composition with a concentration of thiosulfate as listed in claims 2, 4–9, and 23–25, as taught by Lee, in order to treat cancer or tumors, or to prevent or mitigate hearing loss.
Regarding claims 10-12 & 14-15, Decker in view of Cinberg discloses all the claimed subject matter as required except for limitations as required in claims 10-12; 14-15.
Lee discloses a method of administering to a tympanic cavity, col. 7, lines 26-32, a pharmaceutical composition comprises an effective amount of an aqueous solution of a platinum chelator, i.e., thiosulfate salt; wherein the introducing the pharmaceutical composition to the tympanic cavity occurs at from 1 hour prior to 1 hour after administering one or more platinum-based antineoplastic agents, col. 9,lines 19-35; wherein the introducing the pharmaceutical composition to the tympanic cavity occurs at from 30 minutes prior to 30 minutes after administering one or more platinum-based antineoplastic agents, col. 9,lines 19-35; wherein the one or more platinum-based antineoplastic agent is cisplatin, see Background, or col. 6, lines 60-61; wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered multiple times per day, see Figs. 1-3 & 7 in time point (h); wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered at least once per day for at least two days, see Figs. 1-3 & 7 in time point (h).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device of Decker in view of Cinberg by including a step of introducing the pharmaceutical composition to the tympanic cavity occurs at from 30mins to 1 hour prior to 30mins to 1 hour after administering one or more platinum-based antineoplastic agents, i.e. cisplatin, and the administering multiple times or at least once per day or at least two days, as taught by Lee, in order to treat cancers or tumor or to prevent or mitigate hearing loss.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decker et al. (US 9,352,084) in view of Cinberg et al. (US 5,207,685) & Lee et al. (US 10,813,947) and further in view of Kadiyala et al. (US 2018/0221503)
Regarding claims 13-15, Decker in view of Cinberg and Lee discloses all the claimed subject matter as required except for wherein the composition further comprises PD-1 or PDL-1 inhibitors.
Kadiyala discloses pharmaceutical compositions and method for immuno-oncology therapy comprising: a composition comprises PD-1 or PDL-1 inhibitors, paras [0128, 0162]; wherein the composition is administered to multiple target area in a patient that including trans-tympanic (across or through the tympanic cavity), para [0402] on page 50; wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered multiple times per day or once per day for at least two days, paras [0405-0406]; wherein the dosage(s) is/are injectable via intravenous, para [0407, 0409].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Decker in view of Cinberg and Lee by including PD-1 or PDL-1 inhibitor composition(s); wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered multiple times per day or once per day for at least two days, as taught by Kadiyala, in order to treat cancers or tumor or to prevent or mitigate hearing loss.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decker et al. (US 9,352,084) in view of in view of Cinberg et al. (US 5,207,685) and further in view of Arenberg et al. (US 6,685,697).
Decker in view of Cinberg discloses all claimed subject matter as required except for the limitation that the flexible catheter has an outer diameter of 1-2Fr.
Arenberg discloses a method of administering, to a tympanic cavity 5, a pharmaceutical composition using a drug delivery device and a flexible catheter 200 has an outer diameter of from 0.5-2 mm (which is in the required ranges of 1 Fr to 2 Fr), col. 29, lines 29, lines 49-50.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device of Decker in view of Cinberg by obtaining a size of outer diameter of the catheter in ranges from 1-2Fr, as taught by Arenberg, in order to allow a comfort to a patient during inserting the catheter into the tympanic cavity/membrane
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decker et al. (US 9,352,084) in view of in view of Cinberg et al. (US 5,207,685) and further in view of Lobl et al. (US 2006/0264897).
Regarding claim 19, Decker in view of Cinberg discloses all claimed subject matter as required. Decker further discloses that a syringe or other primary drug container may be utilized to initially store the treatment and dispense it for delivery to the targeted location, col. 4, lines 8-10. In other words, a person skilled in the art would recognize that a syringe can be located at a proximal end 32 of the flexible cannula/catheter 40. Alternatively, a syringe can be replaced to the infusion pump 20; and person skilled in the art would recognize that the catheter tubing 28 and the soft cannula 24 can be formed in one unitary unit; wherein the syringe is being connected to an inlet end 30 of the catheter 28.
Decker does not disclose that the inlet of the flexible catheter is connector of the injection system having a Luer-lock, the inlet having a complementary lock to the Luer lock configured to twistable receive the connector.
Lobl discloses a drug delivery device system comprising: a syringe (or an injection system) 14 having a Luer-lock 15/16, see Figs. 2-6; an inlet 33 of a flexible catheter 21 is a complementary lock 33 to the Luer lock 16 configured to twistable receive the connector 15/16.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device of Decker in view of Cinberg by providing a luer lock in the injection system (or syringe) and complementary lock of the inlet of the catheter, as taught by Lobl, in order to improve a securing in between the injection system (syringe) and the catheter.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decker et al. (US 9,352,084) in view of in view of Cinberg et al. (US 5,207,685) and further in view of Krolikowski et al. (US 4,642,101).
Regarding claim 20, Decker in view of Cinberg discloses all claimed subject matter as required except for the limitation that attaching the inlet of the flexible catheter, via a suture, to a surface exterior to an ear canal.
Krolikowski discloses a catheter device 10 and a method of securing the catheter device to a patient comprising: a catheter 10; a hub 26; the method comprising: attaching the inlet of the catheter 18, via a suture 34 (& via tabs 22), to a surface exterior of a skin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device of Decker in view of Cinberg by including a method of attaching the inlet of the flexible catheter, via a suture, to a surface exterior of a skin, as taught by Krolikowski, for securing the catheter to the skin of a patient such as to a surface exterior to an ear canal.
Note: although Krolikowski shows that the catheter is secured at an exterior surface of a patient’s arm; however, a person skilled in the art would recognize that the method of attaching the catheter to a patient’s skin can be applied in different exterior location of skin such as outside of ear canal, such as ear’s skin and that considered as rearrangement purpose or intended use purpose.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decker et al. (US 9,352,084) in view of Cinberg et al. (US 5,207,685) and further in view of Stypulkowski et al. (US 4,706,682).
Regarding claim 21, Decker in view of Cinberg discloses all claimed subject matter as required except for the limitation that attaching the inlet of the flexible catheter, via an adhesive tape, to a surface exterior to an ear canal.
Stypulkowski discloses a method and device comprising: an elongated device 10 being inserted into an ear canal 46; wherein a method comprising attaching an inlet of the flexible catheter 24 via an adhesive tape 26, to a surface exterior to an ear canal for providing some mechanical stability to the elongate member when it is in place, see Figs. 1 & 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device of Decker in view of Cinberg by including a method of attaching the inlet of the flexible catheter, via an adhesive tape, to a surface exterior to an ear canal, as taught by Stypukowski, for the benefits of providing some mechanical stability to the elongate member when it is in place.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection has been applied in this office action.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUYNH-NHU H. VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783