DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the term “Switch”, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "The TO-SW295 Switch Adapter" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the console tray" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the other side" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the power switch" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the transformer" in lines 7 and 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the controller " in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the USB3.0 interface " in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the outer wall " in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the upper surface" in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the lower surface" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the position" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 1 - 5 contains the trademark/trade name Switch. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a gaming console and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (US 11239675) in view of Kuo (US 20120062179) and in further view of Hirose (US 20180151982) and in further view of Eliyahu (US 9857842).
Regarding claim 1, Dong teaches the TO-SW295 Switch adapter (figure 1, 4 and 5 a power adapter) comprises:
a shell (figure 4 item 1 a base defined in column 5 line 47 – 50), and is electrically connected with a plurality of charging slots (12) (figure 4 shows a plurality of charging slots);
a plurality of placing slots (13) are arranged on one side of the controller (11) (figure 4 shows a plurality of charging slots).
Dong discloses an adapter charging system with a plurality of charging slots, but does not explicitly teach the console tray (2) is sliding connected in the shell (1); a power cord (16) is provided on one side of the console tray (2), a TYPE-C charging cable (19) is provided on the other side, one end of the power cord (16) is electrically connected with a plug (112), and the other end is electrically connected with a power switch (15) which is fixedly connected to the shell (1), the power switch (15) is electrically connected to the transformer (113), and the TYPE-C charging line (19) is electrically connected to the transformer (113) which is electrically connected to the controller (11) and the USB3.0 interface (17), and the USB3.0 interface (17) is arranged on one side of the outer wall of the shell (1); the controller (11) is installed on the upper surface of the shell (1), and is electrically connected with a plurality of charging slots (12) whose are arranged on both sides of the controller (11).
Kuo teaches which is characterized in that the console tray (2) is sliding connected in the shell (1) (figure 1 and figure 2 show a console tray, interpreted as a containing slot 130, a holding arm 120 with a sliding end item 122 connected to the shell 110);
Kuo teaches a power cord (16) is provided on one side of the console tray (2) (figures 1 and 2 show a power cord on one side)
Kuo teaches the other end is electrically connected with a power switch (15) which is fixedly connected to the shell (1), the power switch (15) (figure 4 item 410 paragraph [0032] discloses a power switch)
Kuo is electrically connected to the transformer (113) (figure 1 paragraph [0015] discloses a transformer, interpreted as a conversion circuit for converting AC to DC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Dong reference with the sliding tray system of the Kuo reference so that the holding slot for devices is adjustable to allow placement of portable electronic devices of various sizes.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kuo reference in Abstract wherein and adjustable containing slot is taught.
The combined inventions of Dong in view of Kuo teach a charging system for electronic devices with a slidable tray, but does not explicitly disclose specific USB interfaces (Kuo disclose USB interfaces [0029]) of a TYPE-C charging cable, USB3.0, a controller electrically connected to a transformer.
Hirose teaches a TYPE-C charging cable (19) is provided on the other side, one end of the power cord (16) is electrically connected with a plug (112) (figure teaches item 140 defined in paragraph [0070] as a USB type-C and USB 3.0), and
Hirose teaches the TYPE-C charging line (19) which is electrically connected to the controller (11) (paragraph [0054] discloses a control circuit) and the USB3.0 interface (17), and the USB3.0 interface (17) is arranged on one side of the outer wall of the shell (1) (figure teaches item 140 defined in paragraph [0070] as a USB type-C and USB 3.0)
Hirose teaches the controller (11) is installed on the upper surface of the shell (1), whose are arranged on both sides of the controller (11) (Paragraph [0053] disclose a control circuit from controlling the charging of a battery of the electronic device. Paragraph [0068] discloses wherein the circuit board containing a controller may be installed in various locations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Dong and Kuo references with the specific TYPE-C Charging cable and USB3.0 connectors taught in the Hirose system reference so that the different types of electronic devices may be accommodated for charging.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Hirose reference in paragraph [0071] wherein the plug may accommodate different electronic devices.
The system of Dong, Kuo, and Hirose do not explicitly teach wherein the TYPE-C charging line (19) which is electrically connected to the controller (11) is electrically connected to the transformer (113).
Elihayu teaches the TYPE-C charging line (19) which is electrically connected to the controller (11) is electrically connected to the transformer (113) (figure 4 shows a variety of connectors including a USB3.0 port which is connected to a controller and a transformer. Column 3 lines 1 – 24 discloses wherein the input power is electrically connected to the controller and converted, defined as, “Power to drive the station electronics and its power outputs is provided through DC 12V terminal 49, which receives line power through a converter (not shown) that changes 120 VAC into 12 VDC”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Dong, Kuo and Hirose references with a transformer disclosed in the Eliyahu reference so that the device may charge and provide increased connectivity through multiple ports.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Eliyahu reference in column 3 lines 41 – column 4 line 3 increased connectivity is taught.
Dong figure 4 shows a centralized charging device for a plurality of electronic devices
Kuo shows a charging device for a plurality of devices with a slidable tray, item 130 a containing slot
Hirose figure 6 show a charging base with a TYPE-C connector and USB3.0 connector
Eliyahu figures 3 and 4 show a charging device with a variety of inputs/outputs for electronic devices and a transformer or a component comprised within to convert AC to DC voltage
Regarding claim 2, Dong teaches according to claim 1, a charging storage device applicable to switch console and accessories is characterized by: those first groove (14) are provided in a plurality of placing slots (13) (figures 1, 4, and 5 show a plurality of grooves item 2 provided in a plurality of placing slots).
Regarding claim 3, Dong teaches according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a charging storage device applicable to switch console and accessories is characterized by: a plurality of first gaskets (110) are fixed on the lower surface of the shell (1), and two second gaskets (21) are fixed on the lower surface of the console tray (2).
Kuo teaches a charging storage device applicable to switch console and accessories is characterized by: a plurality of first gaskets (110) are fixed on the lower surface of the shell (1), and two second gaskets (21) are fixed on the lower surface of the console tray (2) (figure 4 item 440 and 450 defined in paragraph [0032] as an anti-skid pad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Dong reference with the sliding tray system of the Kuo reference so that the holding slot for devices is adjustable to allow placement of portable electronic devices of various sizes.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kuo reference in Abstract wherein and adjustable containing slot is taught.
Regarding claim 4, Dong teaches according to claim 3, but does not explicitly teach a charging storage device applicable to switch console and accessories is characterized by: a second groove (111) is provided on the lower surface of the shell (1) corresponding to the position of the console tray (2).
Kuo teaches a charging storage device applicable to switch console and accessories is characterized by: a second groove (111) is provided on the lower surface of the shell (1) corresponding to the position of the console tray (2) (defined in paragraph [0035] wherein a recesses may be included in the sliding end mechanism).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Dong reference with the sliding tray system of the Kuo reference so that the holding slot for devices is adjustable to allow placement of portable electronic devices of various sizes.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kuo reference in Abstract wherein and adjustable containing slot is taught.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (US 11239675) in view of Kuo (US 20120062179) and in further view of Hirose (US 20180151982) and in further view of Eliyahu (US 9857842) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Yu (US 20220069595).
Regarding claim 5, Dong, Kuo, Hirose and Eliyahu teaches according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a charging storage device applicable to switch console and accessories is characterized by: take-up slot (18) is provided on the lower surface of the shell (1), and the TYPE-C charging cable (19) is arranged in take-up slot (18).
Yu teaches a charging storage device applicable to switch console and accessories is characterized by: take-up slot (18) is provided on the lower surface of the shell (1), and the TYPE-C charging cable (19) is arranged in take-up slot (18) (figure 9 shows a take-up slot defined as a recessed area item 204 provided on a lower surface of a shell of a charger and the TYPE-C charging cable is arranged in the take-up slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Dong, Kuo, Hirose and Eliyahu references with the recessed area system of the Yu reference so that potential damage is prevented while transporting the charging device.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Yu reference in paragraph [0062] wherein damage is prevented while storing the charging cable in the recessed area is taught.
Yu figure 9 shows a take-slot, interpreted as a recessed area item 204 to receive connector 132.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20110095724 A1 Docking Station Byrne; Norman R.
Us 9429995 B2 Docking Station For Electronic Devices Byrne; Norman R. Et Al.
Us 20180183265 A1 Support Tray With Device Charging Byrne; Norman R. Et Al.
Us 20260084065 A1 Attachment Ebihara; Kazuki Et Al.
Us 20240039329 A1 Wireless Charging Device Hsiao; Chi-Cheng
Us 20020115480 A1 Adapter Set Huang, Chih Chen
Us 20030216069 A1 Multipurpose Combination USB Hub Huang, Yes Yen
Us 9979147 B1 Multi-Functional Usb Hub Huang; Cheng Yu
Us 20210044124 A1 Dock Base For Handheld Devices Lin; Chia-Hua
Us 20090179610 A1 Mobile Power Bank Lin; Hsi-Tung
Us 11769976 B1 Charging System Lakic; Nemanja Et Al.
Us 8698454 B2 Charging Appraratus Lee; Chien-Hung Et Al.
Us 7663866 B2 Remote Control Duo Power Set Lee; Yu-Lung Et Al.
Us 7675264 B2 Charging And Power-Supply Device Lin; Mei-Ju Et Al.
Us 7956573 B1 Battery Charging System With Discharging Means Rosen; Greg
Us 20150248141 A1 Supportive Docking Mechanism Singleton; Jody S. Et Al.
Us 11669128 B1 Station For Portable Electronic Devices Troedson; Emelie Elna Victoria
Us 20160322852 A1 Wireless Charging Device Yeh; Yu-Chou Et Al..
Us 20140097793 A1 Adjustable Docking Station Wurtz; David Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859