DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 through 20 originally filed 22 August 2023. Claims 1 through 20 are addressed by this action.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(l).
The lines and numbers of Figure 1 are faded and not well-defined. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4).
The description uses the reference characters "800" to refer to more than one part each. The same reference character must never be used to designate different parts.
In the present case, these reference characters or similar numbers appear in the following locations: "800" is mentioned in ¶68, ¶73, ¶75, ¶76, ¶78, ¶79, ¶80, ¶81, ¶82, and ¶83.
The drawings refer to more than one part each with the reference characters "350", "360", "362", "364", and "368". The same part of an invention must be designated with the same reference character throughout the drawings.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5).
The drawings include the reference characters "310", "320", "330", "340", "344", "346", "350", "354", "360", "362", "364", "365", "366", "367", "368", "370", "380", "382", "385", and "388" which do not appear in the description. Reference characters not mentioned in the description must not appear in the drawings.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 7, 10 through 17, 19, and 20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Each of claims 2, 10 through 13, 19, and 20 use the term "thermos-electric cooler". This is a typographical error. The correct term is "thermo-electric cooler".
Each of claims 7 and 14 through 17 depend from one of claims 2 and 10 through 13 and inherit all features thereof including the above noted typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 through 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 10, this claim requires "Pin 5 is the signal input pin." However, this claim also requires different pins that connect to the anode and cathode of the laser device and operate the laser device. In the art, especially within the prior art set forth in the original disclosure, a laser device is driven by two signal pins that are respectively connected to the anode and cathode of the laser device (see Figure 1 of the original disclosure in which signal pins 362 are connected to laser 340) and does not include a third signal pin. In the present disclosure, the laser device of the present invention appears to be connected in the same manner (see e.g. Figure 2 depicting laser device 100 connected to signal pins 2 and 4). The original disclosure identifies a pin included in embodiments thereof as for "signal input", but this pin is never disclosed or shown as being connected to any other element. Since both the prior art and the original disclosure already provide signal input via pins already recited within the present claim and since the original disclosure does not identify how the "signal input" pin is to function in a manner that provides signal input, the original disclosure cannot enable one of ordinary skill in the art to employ any pin operating as the claimed "signal input pin" in conjunction with the pins already claimed without undue experimentation (MPEP §2164.08). As such, this claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 11, this claim requires "Pin 5 is the signal input pin." However, this claim also requires different pins that connect to the anode and cathode of the laser device and operate the laser device. In the art, especially within the prior art set forth in the original disclosure, a laser device is driven by two signal pins that are respectively connected to the anode and cathode of the laser device (see Figure 1 of the original disclosure in which signal pins 362 are connected to laser 340) and does not include a third signal pin. In the present disclosure, the laser device of the present invention appears to be connected in the same manner (see e.g. Figure 2 depicting laser device 100 connected to signal pins 2 and 4). The original disclosure identifies a pin included in embodiments thereof as for "signal input", but this pin is never disclosed or shown as being connected to any other element. Since both the prior art and the original disclosure already provide signal input via pins already recited within the present claim and since the original disclosure does not identify how the "signal input" pin is to function in a manner that provides signal input, the original disclosure cannot enable one of ordinary skill in the art to employ any pin operating as the claimed "signal input pin" in conjunction with the pins already claimed without undue experimentation (MPEP §2164.08). As such, this claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 12, this claim requires "Pin 5 is the signal input pin." However, this claim also requires different pins that connect to the anode and cathode of the laser device and operate the laser device. In the art, especially within the prior art set forth in the original disclosure, a laser device is driven by two signal pins that are respectively connected to the anode and cathode of the laser device (see Figure 1 of the original disclosure in which signal pins 362 are connected to laser 340) and does not include a third signal pin. In the present disclosure, the laser device of the present invention appears to be connected in the same manner (see e.g. Figure 2 depicting laser device 100 connected to signal pins 2 and 4). The original disclosure identifies a pin included in embodiments thereof as for "signal input", but this pin is never disclosed or shown as being connected to any other element. Since both the prior art and the original disclosure already provide signal input via pins already recited within the present claim and since the original disclosure does not identify how the "signal input" pin is to function in a manner that provides signal input, the original disclosure cannot enable one of ordinary skill in the art to employ any pin operating as the claimed "signal input pin" in conjunction with the pins already claimed without undue experimentation (MPEP §2164.08). As such, this claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 13, this claim requires "Pin 5 is the signal input pin." However, this claim also requires different pins that connect to the anode and cathode of the laser device and operate the laser device. In the art, especially within the prior art set forth in the original disclosure, a laser device is driven by two signal pins that are respectively connected to the anode and cathode of the laser device (see Figure 1 of the original disclosure in which signal pins 362 are connected to laser 340) and does not include a third signal pin. In the present disclosure, the laser device of the present invention appears to be connected in the same manner (see e.g. Figure 2 depicting laser device 100 connected to signal pins 2 and 4). The original disclosure identifies a pin included in embodiments thereof as for "signal input", but this pin is never disclosed or shown as being connected to any other element. Since both the prior art and the original disclosure already provide signal input via pins already recited within the present claim and since the original disclosure does not identify how the "signal input" pin is to function in a manner that provides signal input, the original disclosure cannot enable one of ordinary skill in the art to employ any pin operating as the claimed "signal input pin" in conjunction with the pins already claimed without undue experimentation (MPEP §2164.08). As such, this claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claims 14 through 17, each of these claims depend properly from one of claims 10 through 13 and inherit all limitations thereof. As such, these claims also contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 10 through 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, this claim requires "Which characterizes in that the lead pins include eight." However, it is unclear what is meant by this requirement because the requirement does not identify what there are eight of. It is possible that this requirement is meant to indicate that the lead pins include eight pins. However, this possibility conflicts with the remainder of the claim in which ten pins are identified (MPEP §2173.05(c)I). As such, this claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For the remainder of this action, this claim will be interpreted as meaning that the lead pins include at least eight pins.
Regarding claim 11, this claim requires "Which characterizes in that the lead pins include eight." However, it is unclear what is meant by this requirement because the requirement does not identify what there are eight of. It is possible that this requirement is meant to indicate that the lead pins include eight pins. However, this possibility conflicts with the remainder of the claim in which ten pins are identified (MPEP §2173.05(c)I). As such, this claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For the remainder of this action, this claim will be interpreted as meaning that the lead pins include at least eight pins.
Further, this claim requires "Pin 3 arranged behind the heat block." However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for a "heat block" within this claim to provide support for this requirement (MPEP §2173.05(e)). As such, this claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For the remainder of this action, this claim will be interpreted as introducing a "heat block" relative to which the "pin" may be arranged.
Regarding claim 12, this claim requires "Which characterizes in that the lead pins include eight." However, it is unclear what is meant by this requirement because the requirement does not identify what there are eight of. It is possible that this requirement is meant to indicate that the lead pins include eight pins. However, this possibility conflicts with the remainder of the claim in which ten pins are identified (MPEP §2173.05(c)I). As such, this claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For the remainder of this action, this claim will be interpreted as meaning that the lead pins include at least eight pins.
Regarding claim 13, this claim requires "Which characterizes in that the lead pins include eight." However, it is unclear what is meant by this requirement because the requirement does not identify what there are eight of. It is possible that this requirement is meant to indicate that the lead pins include eight pins. However, this possibility conflicts with the remainder of the claim in which ten pins are identified (MPEP §2173.05(c)I). As such, this claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For the remainder of this action, this claim will be interpreted as meaning that the lead pins include at least eight pins.
Further, this claim requires "Pin 3 arranged behind the heat block." However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for a "heat block" within this claim to provide support for this requirement (MPEP §2173.05(e)). As such, this claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For the remainder of this action, this claim will be interpreted as introducing a "heat block" relative to which the "pin" may be arranged.
Regarding claims 14 through 17, each of these claims depend properly from one of claims 10 through 13 and inherit all limitations thereof. As such, these claims are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. For the remainder of this action, these claims will also be interpreted as noted above regarding respective claims 10 through 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Wang (US Pub. 2020/0287347).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses, "A sub-mount" (p. [0053] and Fig. 4, pt. 151). "A laser diode chip on the sub-mount" (p. [0053] and Fig. 4, pts. 15 and 151). "A thermistor that monitors the temperature of the laser diode chip on the sub-mount" (p. [0099], [0100], and Fig. 10, pts. 151, 153, and 157). "A monitoring photodiode (MPD) that monitors beams emitted from the laser diode chip on the sub-mount" (p. [0101] and Fig. 10, pt. 156).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses, "A stem heat block including a stem base forming a bottom" (p. [0040] and Fig. 4, pt. 11). "A heat block protruding from the stem base" (p. [0046], [0047], and Fig. 4, pts. 11 and 13). "A thermo-electric cooler (TEC) with a temperature control function" (p. [0040], [0080], and Fig. 4, pt. 14). "Wherein the heat block has a surface including a vertical component" (p. [0045] and Fig. 6, pts. 13 and 131). "The TEC is fixed to the surface including the vertical component of the heat block" (p. [0049] and Fig. 6, pts. 13, 14, and 131). "The sub-mount module… fixed to the thermo-electric cooler (TEC)" (p. [0053] and Fig. 4, pts. 14 and 151). "A plurality of lead pins arranged at predetermined intervals on the stem base" (p. [0040] and Fig. 4, pts. 11 and 12). "Wires connecting each of the devices to the lead pins" (p. [0077], [0087], [0100], [0101], and Fig. 10, pts. 12, 14, 18, 121c, 121d, 144a, 144b, 156, and 157). "Wherein the TO CAN type laser diode package module is characterized in that emitted beams from the laser diode chip travel in the desired direction without changing its path" (p. [0114] and Figs. 2 and 3, pts. 15 and 162).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Funada et al. (Funada, US Pub. 2004/0037334).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses, "A stem heat block including a stem base forming a bottom" (p. [0040] and Fig. 4, pt. 11). "A heat block protruding from the stem base" (p. [0046], [0047], and Fig. 4, pts. 11 and 13). "A thermo-electric cooler (TEC) with a temperature control function" (p. [0040], [0080], and Fig. 4, pt. 14). "Wherein the heat block has a surface including a vertical component" (p. [0045] and Fig. 6, pts. 13 and 131). "The TEC is fixed to the surface including the vertical component of the heat block" (p. [0049] and Fig. 6, pts. 13, 14, and 131). "A sub-mount fixed on the thermo-electric cooler" (p. [0053] and Fig. 4, pts. 14 and 151). "A laser diode chip… fixed on the sub-mount" (p. [0053] and Fig. 4, pts. 15 and 151). "A thermistor fixed on the sub-mount" (p. [0099], [0100], and Fig. 10, pts. 151, 153, and 157). "A plurality of lead pins arranged at predetermined intervals on the stem base" (p. [0040] and Fig. 4, pts. 11 and 12). "Wires connecting each of the devices to the lead pins" (p. [0077], [0087], [0100], [0101], and Fig. 10, pts. 12, 14, 18, 121c, 121d, 144a, 144b, 156, and 157). "Wherein the TO CAN type laser diode package module is characterized in that emitted beams from the laser diode chip travel in the desired direction without changing its path" (p. [0114] and Figs. 2 and 3, pts. 15 and 162). Wang does not explicitly disclose, "A monitoring photodiode (MPD) disposed on the stem base to monitor the beam emitted from the laser diode chip." Funada discloses, "A monitoring photodiode (MPD) disposed on the stem base to monitor the beam emitted from the laser diode chip" (p. [0057] and Fig. 2, pts. 3A and 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Funada. In view of the teachings of Wang regarding a laser package that includes multiple pins and a monitor photodiode, the alternate arrangement of the monitor photodiode atop the package base as well as the alternate arrangement of some pins displaced along the center line of the package as taught by Funada would enhance the teachings of Wang by providing a suitably alternate manner in which these elements may be arranged within the package.
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses, "Characterized in that some of the lead pins are arranged in two rows along the diameter of the stem base" (p. [0042] and Fig. 4, pt. 12). "[The lead pins are arranged] with a diameter between them (in parallel to the X-axis direction)" (p. [0042] and Fig. 4, pt. 12). Wang does not explicitly disclose, "Others are arranged along the Y-axis direction from the center of the stem base." Funada discloses, "Others are arranged along the Y-axis direction from the center of the stem base" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pts. 14C and 14D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Funada for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses, "Characterized in that some of the lead pins are arranged in two rows along the diameter of the stem base" (p. [0042] and Fig. 4, pt. 12). "[The lead pins are arranged] with a diameter between them (in parallel to the X-axis direction)" (p. [0042] and Fig. 4, pt. 12). Wang does not explicitly disclose, "Others are arranged along the Y-axis direction from the center of the stem base." Funada discloses, "Others are arranged along the Y-axis direction from the center of the stem base" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pts. 14C and 14D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Funada for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Wang discloses, "Characterized in that a heat block is disposed in an eccentric part biased in the +Y direction from the center of a stem base" (p. [0051], [0057], and Fig. 6, 13 and 19).
Claims 2, 7, 9, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Oshima et al. (Oshima, US Pub. 2007/0120134), and further in view of Funada.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses, "A stem base forming a bottom" (p. [0040] and Fig. 4, pt. 11). "A plurality of lead pins arranged at predetermined intervals on the stem base" (p. [0040] and Fig. 4, pts. 11 and 12). "A thermo-electric cooler (TEC) with a temperature control function" (p. [0040], [0080], and Fig. 4, pt. 14). "A sub-mount fixed on the thermos-electric cooler" (p. [0053] and Fig. 4, pts. 14 and 151). "A laser diode chip… fixed on the sub-mount" (p. [0053] and Fig. 4, pts. 15 and 151). "A thermistor fixed on the sub-mount" (p. [0099], [0100], and Fig. 10, pts. 151, 153, and 157). "Wires connecting each of the devices to the lead pins" (p. [0077], [0087], [0100], [0101], and Fig. 10, pts. 12, 14, 18, 121c, 121d, 144a, 144b, 156, and 157). "Wherein the TO CAN type laser diode package module is characterized in that emitted beams from the laser diode chip travel in the desired direction without changing its path" (p. [0114] and Figs. 2 and 3, pts. 15 and 162). Wang does not explicitly disclose, "[The TEC] supported and fixed by two of the lead pins." Oshima discloses, "[The TEC] supported and fixed by two of the lead pins" (p. [0092] and Fig. 11, pts. 14, 38, and 52, where arranging the pins of Wang that control the TEC would result in at least a portion of the TEC being supported by the pins). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Oshima. In view of the teachings of Wang regarding a laser package that includes a thermo-electric cooler connected adjacent to driving pins thereof, the alternate arrangement of a packaged element to be partially supported by pins to which the packaged element is connected as taught by Oshima would enhance the teachings of Wang by allowing for the improved connection between the element and pins identified in Oshima to be realized between the thermo-electric cooler and pins in Wang.
The combination of Wang and Oshima does not explicitly disclose, "A monitoring photodiode (MPD) placed on the stem base to monitor beams emitted from the laser diode chip." Funada discloses, "A monitoring photodiode (MPD) placed on the stem base to monitor beams emitted from the laser diode chip" (p. [0057] and Fig. 2, pts. 3A and 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Wang and Oshima with the teachings of Funada. In view of the teachings of Wang regarding a laser package that includes multiple pins and a monitor photodiode, the alternate arrangement of the monitor photodiode atop the package base as well as the alternate arrangement of some pins displaced along the center line of the package as taught by Funada would enhance the teachings of Wang and Oshima by providing a suitably alternate manner in which these elements may be arranged within the package.
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses, "Characterized in that some of the lead pins are arranged in two rows along the diameter of the stem base" (p. [0042] and Fig. 4, pt. 12). "[The lead pins are arranged] with a diameter between them (in parallel to the X-axis direction)" (p. [0042] and Fig. 4, pt. 12).
The combination of Wang and Oshima does not explicitly disclose, "Others are arranged along the Y-axis direction from the center of the stem base." Funada discloses, "Others are arranged along the Y-axis direction from the center of the stem base" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pts. 14C and 14D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Wang and Oshima with the teachings of Funada for the reasons provided above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses, "Characterized in that some of the lead pins are arranged in two rows along the diameter of the stem base" (p. [0042] and Fig. 4, pt. 12). "[The lead pins are arranged] with a diameter between them (in parallel to the X-axis direction)" (p. [0042] and Fig. 4, pt. 12).
The combination of Wang and Oshima does not explicitly disclose, "Others are arranged along the Y-axis direction from the center of the stem base." Funada discloses, "Others are arranged along the Y-axis direction from the center of the stem base" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pts. 14C and 14D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Wang and Oshima with the teachings of Funada for the reasons provided above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, The combination of Wang, Oshima, and Funada does not explicitly disclose, "Characterized by the presence of an insulator between the thermos-electric cooler and the lead pin supporting the thermos-electric cooler." The examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that it was known in the art apply an insulating layer to a region of a conductive element not desired to conduct current so as to prevent undesired current flow. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply an insulating layer between the lead pin and portions of the thermo-electric cooler, since it is only desired that current flow between the thermo-electric cooler pads and the pins and such an insulating layer would confine current to that flow path.
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Oshima.
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses, "A stem base forming a bottom" (p. [0040] and Fig. 4, pt. 11). "A plurality of lead pins arranged at predetermined intervals on the stem base" (p. [0040] and Fig. 4, pts. 11 and 12). "A thermo-electric cooler (TEC) with a temperature control function" (p. [0040], [0080], and Fig. 4, pt. 14). "The sub-mount module… fixed to the thermoelectric cooler (TEC)" (p. [0053] and Fig. 4, pts. 14 and 151). "Wires connecting each of the devices to the lead pins" (p. [0077], [0087], [0100], [0101], and Fig. 10, pts. 12, 14, 18, 121c, 121d, 144a, 144b, 156, and 157). "Wherein the TO CAN type laser diode package module is characterized in that emitted beams from the laser diode chip travel in the desired direction without changing its path" (p. [0114] and Figs. 2 and 3, pts. 15 and 162). Wang does not explicitly disclose, "[The TEC] supported and fixed by two of the lead pins." Oshima discloses, "[The TEC] supported and fixed by two of the lead pins" (p. [0092] and Fig. 11, pts. 14, 38, and 52, where arranging the pins of Wang that control the TEC would result in at least a portion of the TEC being supported by the pins). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Oshima for the reasons provided above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, The combination of Wang and Oshima does not explicitly disclose, "Characterized by the presence of an insulator between the thermos-electric cooler and the lead pin supporting the thermos-electric cooler." The examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that it was known in the art apply an insulating layer to a region of a conductive element not desired to conduct current so as to prevent undesired current flow. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply an insulating layer between the lead pin and portions of the thermo-electric cooler, since it is only desired that current flow between the thermo-electric cooler pads and the pins and such an insulating layer would confine current to that flow path.
Claims 10, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Funada, and further in view of Ori et al. (Ori, US Pub. 2009/0129783).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses, "Pin 2 is connected to a cathode of the laser diode chip" (p. [0067] and Fig. 10, pts. 121a, 121b, and 171). "[Pin 3] is connected to the monitoring photodiode anode" (p. [0101] and Fig. 10, pts. 12 and 156). "Pin 4 is connected to an anode of the laser diode chip" (p. [0067] and Fig. 10, pts. 121a, 121b, and 171). "Pin 6 is connected to the (−) terminal of a thermos-electric cooler" (p. [0075] and Fig. 10, pts. 121c, 121d, 144a, and 144b). "Pins 7 and 9 are connected to a thermistor" (p. [0100] and Fig. 10, pts. 12 and 157). "Pin 10 is connected to the (+) terminal of a thermos-electric cooler" (p. [0075] and Fig. 10, pts. 121c, 121d, 144a, and 144b). Wang does not explicitly disclose, "Pin 3 arranged behind the heat block." Funada discloses, "Pin 3 arranged behind the heat block" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pt. 14D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Funada for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
The combination of Wang and Funada does not explicitly disclose, "Which characterizes in that the lead pins include eight." "Wherein pin 1 is an NC pin for signal input or inspection." Ori discloses, "Which characterizes in that the lead pins include eight" (p. [0075] and Fig. 2B, pt. NC, where inclusion of the NC pin of Ori in the arrangement of Wang results in at least 8 pins). "Wherein pin 1 is an NC pin for signal input or inspection" (p. [0075] and Fig. 2B, pt. NC). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Wang and Funada with the teachings of Ori. In view of the teachings of Wang regarding a laser package that includes a number of monitoring elements contained therein and connected to pins, the additional inclusion of an NC pin for operating a spare monitor photodiode as taught by Ori would enhance the teachings of Wang and Funada by providing separate control for an additional monitor useful for redundancy or verification.
The combination of Wang, Funada, and Ori does not explicitly disclose, "Pin 5 is the signal input pin." "Pin 8 is connected to an MPD anode." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide multiple pins that are capable of making the same connections for redundancy or symmetry, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses, "Pin 2 is connected to a cathode of the laser diode chip" (p. [0067] and Fig. 10, pts. 121a, 121b, and 171). "[Pin 3] is connected to the monitoring photodiode anode" (p. [0101] and Fig. 10, pts. 12 and 156). "Pin 4 is connected to an anode of the laser diode chip" (p. [0067] and Fig. 10, pts. 121a, 121b, and 171). "Pin 6 is connected to the (−) terminal of a thermos-electric cooler" (p. [0075] and Fig. 10, pts. 121c, 121d, 144a, and 144b). "Pins 7 and 9 are connected to a thermistor" (p. [0100] and Fig. 10, pts. 12 and 157). "Pin 10 is connected to the (+) terminal of a thermos-electric cooler" (p. [0075] and Fig. 10, pts. 121c, 121d, 144a, and 144b). Wang does not explicitly disclose, "Pin 3 arranged behind the heat block." Funada discloses, "Pin 3 arranged behind the heat block" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pt. 14D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Funada for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
The combination of Wang and Funada does not explicitly disclose, "Which characterizes in that the lead pins include eight." "Wherein pin 1 is an NC pin for signal input or inspection." Ori discloses, "Which characterizes in that the lead pins include eight" (p. [0075] and Fig. 2B, pt. NC, where inclusion of the NC pin of Ori in the arrangement of Wang results in at least 8 pins). "Wherein pin 1 is an NC pin for signal input or inspection" (p. [0075] and Fig. 2B, pt. NC). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Wang and Funada with the teachings of Ori for the reasons provided above regarding claim 10.
The combination of Wang, Funada, and Ori does not explicitly disclose, "Pin 5 is the signal input pin." "Pin 8 is connected to an MPD anode." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide multiple pins that are capable of making the same connections for redundancy or symmetry, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 14, Wang does not explicitly disclose, "Pin 3 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the +Y axis direction." "Pin 8 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the −Y direction." Funada discloses, "Pin 3 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the +Y axis direction" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pt. 14D). "Pin 8 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the −Y direction" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pt. 14C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Funada for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
The combination of Wang, Funada, and Ori does not explicitly disclose, "Characterized in that pins 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, and 10 are arranged in two rows along the transverse diameter (X-axis direction) of the stem base." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange each of the connection pins in a convenient manner, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 16, Wang does not explicitly disclose, "Pin 3 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the +Y axis direction." "Pin 8 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the −Y direction." Funada discloses, "Pin 3 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the +Y axis direction" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pt. 14D). "Pin 8 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the −Y direction" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pt. 14C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Funada for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
The combination of Wang, Funada, and Ori does not explicitly disclose, "Characterized in that pins 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, and 10 are arranged in two rows along the transverse diameter (X-axis direction) of the stem base." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange each of the connection pins in a convenient manner, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 11, 13, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Oshima, in view of Funada, and further in view of Ori.
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses, "Pin 2 is connected to a cathode of the laser diode chip" (p. [0067] and Fig. 10, pts. 121a, 121b, and 171). "[Pin 3] is connected to the monitoring photodiode anode" (p. [0101] and Fig. 10, pts. 12 and 156). "Pin 4 is connected to an anode of the laser diode chip" (p. [0067] and Fig. 10, pts. 121a, 121b, and 171). "Pin 6 is connected to the (−) terminal of a thermos-electric cooler" (p. [0075] and Fig. 10, pts. 121c, 121d, 144a, and 144b). "Pins 7 and 9 are connected to a thermistor" (p. [0100] and Fig. 10, pts. 12 and 157). "Pin 10 is connected to the (+) terminal of a thermos-electric cooler" (p. [0075] and Fig. 10, pts. 121c, 121d, 144a, and 144b).
The combination of Wang and Oshima does not explicitly disclose, "Pin 3 arranged behind the heat block." Funada discloses, "Pin 3 arranged behind the heat block" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pt. 14D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Wang and Oshima with the teachings of Funada for the reasons provided above regarding claim 2.
The combination of Wang, Oshima, and Funada does not explicitly disclose, "Which characterizes in that the lead pins include eight." "Wherein pin 1 is an NC pin for signal input or inspection." Ori discloses, "Which characterizes in that the lead pins include eight" (p. [0075] and Fig. 2B, pt. NC, where inclusion of the NC pin of Ori in the arrangement of Wang results in at least 8 pins). "Wherein pin 1 is an NC pin for signal input or inspection" (p. [0075] and Fig. 2B, pt. NC). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Wang, Oshima, and Funada with the teachings of Ori. In view of the teachings of Wang regarding a laser package that includes a number of monitoring elements contained therein and connected to pins, the additional inclusion of an NC pin for operating a spare monitor photodiode as taught by Ori would enhance the teachings of Wang, Oshima, and Funada by providing separate control for an additional monitor useful for redundancy or verification.
The combination of Wang, Oshima, Funada, and Ori does not explicitly disclose, "Pin 5 is the signal input pin." "Pin 8 is connected to an MPD anode." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide multiple pins that are capable of making the same connections for redundancy or symmetry, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses, "Pin 2 is connected to a cathode of the laser diode chip" (p. [0067] and Fig. 10, pts. 121a, 121b, and 171). "[Pin 3] is connected to the monitoring photodiode anode" (p. [0101] and Fig. 10, pts. 12 and 156). "Pin 4 is connected to an anode of the laser diode chip" (p. [0067] and Fig. 10, pts. 121a, 121b, and 171). "Pin 6 is connected to the (−) terminal of a thermos-electric cooler" (p. [0075] and Fig. 10, pts. 121c, 121d, 144a, and 144b). "Pins 7 and 9 are connected to a thermistor" (p. [0100] and Fig. 10, pts. 12 and 157). "Pin 10 is connected to the (+) terminal of a thermos-electric cooler" (p. [0075] and Fig. 10, pts. 121c, 121d, 144a, and 144b).
The combination of Wang and Oshima does not explicitly disclose, "Pin 3 arranged behind the heat block." Funada discloses, "Pin 3 arranged behind the heat block" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pt. 14D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Wang and Oshima with the teachings of Funada for the reasons provided above regarding claim 2.
The combination of Wang, Oshima, and Funada does not explicitly disclose, "Which characterizes in that the lead pins include eight." "Wherein pin 1 is an NC pin for signal input or inspection." Ori discloses, "Which characterizes in that the lead pins include eight" (p. [0075] and Fig. 2B, pt. NC, where inclusion of the NC pin of Ori in the arrangement of Wang results in at least 8 pins). "Wherein pin 1 is an NC pin for signal input or inspection" (p. [0075] and Fig. 2B, pt. NC). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Wang, Oshima, and Funada with the teachings of Ori for the reasons provided above regarding claim 11.
The combination of Wang, Oshima, Funada, and Ori does not explicitly disclose, "Pin 5 is the signal input pin." "Pin 8 is connected to an MPD anode." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide multiple pins that are capable of making the same connections for redundancy or symmetry, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 15, The combination of Wang and Oshima does not explicitly disclose, "Pin 3 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the +Y axis direction." "Pin 8 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the −Y direction." Funada discloses, "Pin 3 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the +Y axis direction" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pt. 14D). "Pin 8 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the −Y direction" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pt. 14C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Wang and Oshima with the teachings of Funada for the reasons provided above regarding claim 2.
The combination of Wang, Oshima, Funada, and Ori does not explicitly disclose, "Characterized in that pins 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, and 10 are arranged in two rows along the transverse diameter (X-axis direction) of the stem base." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange each of the connection pins in a convenient manner, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 17, The combination of Wang and Oshima does not explicitly disclose, "Pin 3 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the +Y axis direction." "Pin 8 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the −Y direction." Funada discloses, "Pin 3 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the +Y axis direction" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pt. 14D). "Pin 8 is placed at a position shifted from the center of the stem base in the −Y direction" (p. [0062] and Fig. 3, pt. 14C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Wang and Oshima with the teachings of Funada for the reasons provided above regarding claim 2.
The combination of Wang, Oshima, Funada, and Ori does not explicitly disclose, "Characterized in that pins 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, and 10 are arranged in two rows along the transverse diameter (X-axis direction) of the stem base." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange each of the connection pins in a convenient manner, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stewart et al. (Stewart, US Pub. 2003/0043868) is cited for teaching a laser package including several pins, some of which are arranged in rows.
Itoh (US Pub. 2003/0076862) is cited for teaching a laser package in which there are ten pins.
Huikai et al. (Huikai, US Patent 8,908,728) is cited for teaching a laser device mounted to a vertical support via a TEC.
Drögemüller et al. (Drögemüller, US Pub. 2022/0238980) is cited for teaching a laser device mounted to a vertical support via a TEC.
/SEAN P HAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2828