Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 01/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodrich (US 2021/0031996) in view of Alam et al (US Patent 6,146,484).
Regarding claim 1, Goodrich discloses a method for making an isothermal wrapping comprising:
placing a first paper layer on a work surface (expanded slit paper sheet 102),
overlapping at least partially a second isothermal paper layer on said first paper layer, said second layer having a plurality of incisions (expanded slit paper sheet 203),
applying to said second layer a first and a second traction force acting in opposite verses of the same direction so as to widen said plurality of incisions in order to obtain a honeycomb shape (see paragraphs [0125] and [0130]),
preparing a third paper layer (embossed paper 101),
at least partly overlapping said third paper layer on said second layer (see Fig. 8A).
Goodrich discloses adhesively bonding the layers together with adhesive strip 502 (see paragraph [0204]). However, Goodrich does not disclose heat-sealing the first, second and third layers together forming said wrapping in the manner claimed by the applicant. Regarding this difference, the applicant is directed to the reference of Alam.
Alam discloses a method for making sheets of honeycomb materials. As shown in Fig. 1, sheet materials 10 and 12 are formed into desired shapes. Adhesive deposits 17 and 19 are applied to the sheets and the sheets are bonded. Alam discloses that the adhesive deposits 17 and 19 may comprise of a heat curable resin composite material or room temperature curable adhesive. If heat is required, heated tacking rollers 20 and 22 are provided. See col. 2, lines 39-43 and col. 3, lines 4-9.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to employ and heat-activated adhesive to heat-seal the materials, as taught by Alam, in the method of Goodrich since Alam discloses heat-sealing and room-temperature sealing are functionally, equivalent, alternate expedients in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Goodrich discloses adhesively bonding the layers together with adhesive strip 502 (see paragraph [0204]).
Regarding claim 3, it is the examiner’s position that the glue inherently passes through the empty portions of said second layer for gluing on the third layer as claimed by the applicant.
Regarding claims 4-5 and 8-9, it is the examiner’s position that folding and edge-sealing are well known and conventional in the art and it would have been obvious to apply the adhesive in the manner claimed in order to produce articles with desired physical shape and configuration.
Regarding claim 6, it is the examiner’s position that allowing a heat-activated adhesive to cool is an inherent step in a manufacturing process.
Regarding claim 7, employing a heat-sealing step carried out at a temperature between 150-250°C would be obvious based on the physical properties of the adhesive being employed. For example, polyurethane has a melting point between 100-210°C and polyamide has a melting point of 190-350°C.
Conclusion
JAMES D. SELLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/JAMES D SELLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745