DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 22, 2023, April 10, 2024 and January 15, 2025 are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA (or as subject to pre-AIA) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the rationale supporting the rejection would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 -3, 6, 12, 14-16, 19-21, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (US 2014/0060527 A1) . With respect to claim 1, Liu discloses a n apparatus for generating an inhalable aerosol, the apparatus comprising (see Fig. 2) : a first compartment ( space inside left atomizer 20 ) configured to store a first vaporizable material (see [0030]) , the first compartment comprising a first atomization chamber that is in fluid communication with the first vaporizable material (see [0030]) , wherein the first atomization chamber defines a first portion of an airflow path (see Fig. 4 illustrating an opening that traverses the length of element 20) ; a first heating element 221 configured to vaporize the first vaporizable material to form a first vapor (see Fig. 4 illustrating heating element 221 situated inside atomizer 20) ; a second compartment ( space inside right atomizer 20) positioned parallel to the first compartment (see Fig. 2) and configured to store a second vaporizable material (see [0030] ) , the second compartment comprising a second atomization chamber that is in fluid communication with the second vaporizable material (see [0030]) , wherein the second atomization chamber defines a second portion of the airflow path (see Fig. 4) ; and a second heating element 221 configured to vaporize the second vaporizable material to form a second vapor that mixes with the first vapor (see Fig. 4 and [0030]) . With respect to claim 2 , at least one of the first compartment and the second compartment are removable from the apparatus (see [0042] disclosing that the compartments are threadedly engaged to power unit 200, see also Fig. 1) . With respect to claim 3 , the vaporizable materials are not part of claimed invention. They are recited solely to provide context for the compartments. That said, the compartments 20 appear to be capable of storing gel s therein . With respect to claim 6 , the apparatus converts the vaporizable materials into inhalable aerosol (see abstract). Naturally, the first heating element is configured to heat the first vaporizable material to a first target temperature at which the first vaporizable material converts to aerosol , and the second heating element is configured to heat the second vaporizable material to a second target temperature at which the second vaporizable material converts to aerosol . With respect to claim 12 , the apparatus further compris es a body 201/203 (see Figs. 1-2) , the body comprising: a battery 202 , and circuitry 206 configured to selectively activate the first heating element to heat the first vaporizable material and to selectively activate the second heating element to heat the second vaporizable material (see [0042]) . With respect to claim 14 , Liu teaches a n apparatus for generating an inhalable aerosol, as discussed above. Specifically, the apparatus compris es (see Fig. 2 and rejection of claim 1 above) : a first compartment (space inside left atomizer 20) configured to store a first vaporizable material, the first compartment comprising a first airflow path, the first compartment comprising a first chamber comprising the first airflow path; a first heating element 221 configured to vaporize the first vaporizable material to form a first vapor; a second compartment (space inside right atomizer 20) positioned in parallel to the first compartment and configured to store a second vaporizable material, the second compartment comprising a second airflow path, the second compartment comprising a second chamber comprising the second airflow path; and a second heating element 221 configured to vaporize the second vaporizable material to form a second vapor, wherein the first airflow path and the second airflow path converge to a central airflow path (space inside nozzle 10) . With respect to claim 15, the vaporizable materials are not part of claimed invention. They are recited solely to provide context for the compartments. That said, the compartments 20 appear to be capable of storing gel s therein . With respect to claim 16, at least one of the first compartment and the second compartment are removable from the apparatus (see [0042] disclosing that the compartments are threadedly engaged to power unit 200, see also Fig. 1) . With respect to claim 19, the apparatus converts the vaporizable materials into inhalable aerosol (see abstract). Naturally, the first heating element is configured to heat the first vaporizable material to a first target temperature at which the first vaporizable material converts to aerosol , and the second heating element is configured to heat the second vaporizable material to a second target temperature at which the second vaporizable material converts to aerosol . With respect to claim 20, the apparatus further compris es a cartridge (see abstract) , wherein the first compartment and the second compartment are positioned within the cartridge (see abstract) , With respect to claim 2 1 , the apparatus further compris es a body 201/203 (see Figs. 1-2) , the body comprising: a battery 202 , and circuitry 206 configured to selectively activate the first heating element to heat the first vaporizable material and to selectively activate the second heating element to heat the second vaporizable material (see [0042]) . With respect to claim 25 , the first vapor mixes with the second vapor in the central airflow path (see abstract) . With respect to claim 26 , the cartridge must include an air inlet for each compartment. Otherwise, the user would not be able to inhale smoke/aerosol from the compartments. That said, it appears that the cartridge comprises multiple inlets (right end of each compartment in Figure 4 ) in communication with the first compartment and the second compartment (see Fig. 4 illustrating right end being open) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim s 4 , 5, 13, 17 , 18 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Conley et al. (“Conley”) (US 2013/0220315 A1). With respect to claim s 4 and 5 , Liu does not disclose a wicking material that is in fluid communication with each vaporizable material, wherein each first heater is in contact with a respective wicking material. The disclosure of Liu is broadly directed to an e-cigarette comprising parallel atomizers, and hence it does not provide detailed disclosure directed to the specific mechanics of how the e-cigarette converts a vaporizable material into aerosol. However, in order to control the rate at which a vaporizable material is aerosolized, electronic cigarettes conventionally use a wick to draw the vaporizable material to a heat ing element (see [0028] of Conley). In light of the disclosure of Conley and g iven that Liu does not disclose the details of how the vaporizable materials are transported to their respective heaters, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided each heat ing element taught by Liu with a wicking material for transporting the respective vaporizable material to the heat ing element . With respect to claim 13 , the apparatus further compris es a cartridge that houses the first compartment and the second compartment (see abstract) , wherein the cartridge comprises a mating end (threaded end, see Fig. 4) configured to detachably couple to a body 201 comprising a battery 202 housed therein (see [0015]). While Liu does not explicitly disclose a plurality of electrical contacts coupled to each heating element, it is evident that each heating element must form a circuit. Based on the lack of disclosure by Liu regarding how each heating element forms a circuit, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed said circuit by connecting each heating element to a pair of electrical contacts, as taught by Conley (see Fig. 2 of Conley illustrating leads 224 and 226 connected to heating element 222 for forming a circuit). If the modification is made, then the modified apparatus would comprise a plurality of contacts electrically coupled to the each heating element 221, as recited in claim 13. With respect to claim 24 , as discussed above (see rejection of claim 26), the cartridge must include an air inlet for each compartment. Otherwise, the user would not be able to inhale smoke/aerosol from the compartments. That said, it appears that the cartridge comprises multiple inlets (right end of each compartment in Figure 4) in communication with the first compartment and the second compartment (see Fig. 4 illustrating right end being open) . Claim s 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Fernando et al. (“Fernando”) (US 2010/0313901 A1). With respect to claims 7-11, as discussed above, it is evident that the first and second heating elements are configured to heat to their respective target temperatures to aerosolize the vaporizable materials. However, Liu does not specify what the target temperatures are. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the heating elements to heat to temperatures suitable for aerosolizing conventional flavorants used in e-cigarettes, specifically temperatures falling within the ranges recited in claims 7-11 (see [0093] of Fernando disclosing an exemplary operating temperature range for the heating elements of its e-cigarette , wherein the temperature range overlaps the claimed ranges ). Regarding the specific vaporizable materials recited in the claims, the vaporizable materials are not part of the claimed invention. Consequently, the vaporizable materials recited in the claims need not be taught by the prior art to reject the claims. Claim s 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Liu (“Liu 2”) (WO 2013/189050 A1). With respect to claims 22 and 23, as discussed above, the disclosure of Liu is broadly directed to an e-cigarette comprising parallel atomizers, and hence it does not provide detailed disclosure directed to a user interface for operating the e-cigarette. Liu 2 discloses an e-cigarette (see abstract) comprising a capacitive touch control unit 10 for operating the e-cigarette (see [0034]). The unit is configured to recognize finger swipes (i.e. it comprises a plurality of capacitive sensing zones) (see [0034]), and the swipes can be used to activate the e-cigarette and display information such as battery charge level (see [0034]). Given that the disclosure of Liu is silent regarding a user interface, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the e-cigarette taught by Liu with a conventional user interface for operating the e-cigarette, for example a capacitive touch control unit comprising a plurality of sensing zones for recognizing various swipe patterns for activating the e- cigarette and for displaying various information related to the e-cigarette such as battery charge level , as taught by Liu 2. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT PAUL S HYUN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8559 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8:30-5:00 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Luan Van can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-8521 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PAUL S HYUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796