DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-3, 5-8, 21-23 and 25-31 are pending. Claims 4, 9-20, 24 and 32 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statements dated 04/03/2026 is acknowledged by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 06/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 21 and 29 (amended to include limitations from the previous claims 4, 24 and 32), on pages 7-8, the applicant argues that Minotani et al, US 2026/0052571 hereafter Minotani [0130] does not disclose “determining a traffic identifier (TID) to link mapping for a non-AP wireless device in the multi-AP system with one or more wireless links enabled with one or more AP wireless devices in the multi-AP system” since no “link” is mentioned.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's response. Minotani [0130] discloses a link by disclosing the downlink (DL) and uplink (UL).
“[0130] In a case of Multi-AP DL/UL TID Bitmap Valid=1, the type of TID transmittable in the R-TWT coordinated transmission is indicated in a Restricted TWT DL/UL TID Bitmap. That is, a Restricted TWT DL TID Bitmap field includes information indicating the type of TID transmittable in the R-TWT coordinated transmission in downlink (direction from AP to STA), and a Restricted TWT UL TID Bitmap field includes information indicating the type of TID transmittable in the R-TWT coordinated transmission in uplink (direction from STA to AP).”
The claim limitation does not include any features of the link that distinguish it from the downlink or uplink as recited in Minotani [0130]. The claim language is broad enough to include the teachings of the TID as recited in Minotani [0130]. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Minotani also discloses “[0306] The signaling in FIG. 42 is an example of indicating a TID bitmap for each link (for example, 2.4 GHz band, 5 GHz band, and 6 GHz band). The MAP TID bitmap is included as much as the number of links, and the bits of each TID bitmap corresponds to TIDs.
[0307] The signaling in FIG. 43 is an example of indicating a bitmap of a link for each TID. The bits in a MAP TID n Link bitmap (letter n corresponds to TID) correspond to each link.
[0308] The signaling in FIG. 44 is an example of indicating a bitmap of a link for each TID in control information. The Direction indicates the communication direction (for example, uplink, downlink, or both uplink and downlink) of each Link bitmap. Further, the Link mapping presence indicator indicates whether a bitmap corresponding to each TID is included. For example, in a case where the bit of the Link mapping presence indicator is one, a corresponding MAP TID n Link bitmap is included. Using the signaling in FIGS. 42, 43, and 44 makes it possible to determine a TID that can be used for the MAP coordinated transmission for each link.”
For these reasons, claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 23, 25-26 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being discloses by Minotani et al, US 2026/0052571.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 23, 25-26 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being discloses by Minotani et al, US 2026/0052571 hereafter Minotani.
As for claim 1, Minotani discloses:
A method, comprising: by a first access point (AP) wireless device:
providing beacon information indicating one or more multi-AP parameters associated with the first AP wireless device; (Minotani, FIG. 3, S305, [0087], Transmit the beacon signal including the capability information on the MAP coordinated transmission and the capability information on R-TWT to another AP)
receiving beacon information from a second AP wireless device, wherein the beacon information indicates one or more second multi-AP parameters associated with the second AP wireless device (Minotani, FIG. 3, S307, [0088], Receiving the beacon signal transmitted from the other AP and holds the capability information on the MAP coordinated transmission and the capability information on R-TWT in a buffer ); and
establishing a multi-AP system with at least the second AP wireless device based at least in part on the one or more multi-AP parameters associated with the first AP wireless device and the one or more second multi-AP parameters associated with the second AP wireless device (Minotani, FIG. 3, S309-S312, [0090]-[0091], establishing/participate in the MAP coordinated transmission based at least in part on the on the capability and/or control information associated with the first and second AP),
determining a traffic identifier (TID) to link mapping for a non-AP wireless device in the multi-AP system with one or more wireless links enabled with one or more AP wireless devices in the multi-AP system (Minotani, [0130], Aa Restricted TWT DL TID Bitmap field includes information indicating the type of TID transmittable in the R-TWT coordinated transmission in downlink direction from AP to STA, and a Restricted TWT UL TID Bitmap field includes information indicating the type of TID transmittable in the R-TWT coordinated transmission in uplink direction from STA to AP. Also refer to [0306]-[0308]).
As for claims 3, 23 and 31, Minotani discloses providing multi-AP system information to one or more non-AP wireless devices in one or more of: beacon frames (Minotani, FIG. 3, [0092], Each AP transmits the beacon signal to its respective subordinate STAs)
As for claims 5 and 25, Minotani discloses wherein the first AP wireless device acts as a network controller for the multi-AP system, wherein the method further comprises:
storing, for each association in the multi-AP system (Minotani, [0164], [0176], AP 2 that has received the Multi-AP coordinated transmission control signal stores information on the Multi-AP coordinated transmission control signal in a buffer), one or more of: station (STA) and AP parameters for a link corresponding to the association; one or more non-AP multi-link device and one or more AP multi-link device parameters for a multi-link device corresponding to the association; or one or more non-AP multi-access point parameters and one or more AP multi-access point parameters corresponding to the association. (Minotani, [0162], [0164], [0176], The AP and STA that have received the low-latency traffic control signal store the information on the type of low-latency traffic signal transmittable in the MAP coordinated transmission in a buffer)
As for claims 6 and 26, Minotani disclose buffering downlink data for one or more non-AP wireless devices in the multi-AP system (Minotani, [0164]-[0165], [0176], [0178], Storing downlink low-latency traffic for the STA) until the downlink data is requested by an AP wireless device in the multi-AP system (Minotani, [0109], [0179], [0208],requesting transmission of the low-latency traffic signal).
As for claim 21, Minotani discloses:
An apparatus (Minotani, FIG 4. [0310], [0312], The AP comprising a processor), comprising: a processor configured to cause a first access point (AP) wireless device to perform operations comprising:
providing beacon information indicating one or more multi-AP parameters associated with the first AP wireless device; (Minotani, FIG. 3, S305, [0087], Transmit the beacon signal including the capability information on the MAP coordinated transmission and the capability information on R-TWT to another AP)
receiving beacon information from a second AP wireless device, wherein the beacon information indicates one or more second multi-AP parameters associated with the second AP wireless device (Minotani, FIG. 3, S307, [0088], Receiving the beacon signal transmitted from the other AP and holds the capability information on the MAP coordinated transmission and the capability information on R-TWT in a buffer ); and
establishing a multi-AP system with at least the second AP wireless device based at least in part on the one or more multi-AP parameters associated with the first AP wireless device and the one or more second multi-AP parameters associated with the second AP wireless device (Minotani, FIG. 3, S309-S312, [0090]-[0091], establishing/participate in the MAP coordinated transmission based at least in part on the on the capability and/or control information associated with the first and second AP).
determining a traffic identifier (TID) to link mapping for a non-AP wireless device in the multi-AP system with one or more wireless links enabled with one or more AP wireless devices in the multi-AP system (Minotani, [0130], Aa Restricted TWT DL TID Bitmap field includes information indicating the type of TID transmittable in the R-TWT coordinated transmission in downlink direction from AP to STA, and a Restricted TWT UL TID Bitmap field includes information indicating the type of TID transmittable in the R-TWT coordinated transmission in uplink direction from STA to AP. Also refer to [0306]-[0308]).
As for claim 29, Minotani discloses:
A first access point (AP) wireless device, comprising: one or more antennas; a radio operably coupled to the one or more antennas; and a processor operably coupled to the radio (Minotani, FIG 4. [0310], [0312], The AP comprising a processor); wherein the first AP wireless device is configured to perform operations comprising:
providing beacon information indicating one or more multi-AP parameters associated with the first AP wireless device; (Minotani, FIG. 3, S305, [0087], Transmit the beacon signal including the capability information on the MAP coordinated transmission and the capability information on R-TWT to another AP)
receiving beacon information from a second AP wireless device, wherein the beacon information indicates one or more second multi-AP parameters associated with the second AP wireless device (Minotani, FIG. 3, S307, [0088], Receiving the beacon signal transmitted from the other AP and holds the capability information on the MAP coordinated transmission and the capability information on R-TWT in a buffer ); and
establishing a multi-AP system with at least the second AP wireless device based at least in part on the one or more multi-AP parameters associated with the first AP wireless device and the one or more second multi-AP parameters associated with the second AP wireless device (Minotani, FIG. 3, S309-S312, [0090]-[0091], establishing/participate in the MAP coordinated transmission based at least in part on the on the capability and/or control information associated with the first and second AP),
determining a traffic identifier (TID) to link mapping for a non-AP wireless device in the multi-AP system with one or more wireless links enabled with one or more AP wireless devices in the multi-AP system (Minotani, [0130], Aa Restricted TWT DL TID Bitmap field includes information indicating the type of TID transmittable in the R-TWT coordinated transmission in downlink direction from AP to STA, and a Restricted TWT UL TID Bitmap field includes information indicating the type of TID transmittable in the R-TWT coordinated transmission in uplink direction from STA to AP. Also refer to [0306]-[0308]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 2, 22 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minotani in view of Zhou et al, US 2024/0323815 hereafter Zhou.
As for claims 2, 22 and 30, Minotani does not explicitly disclose establishing the multi-AP system comprises determining a multi-AP address used to identify the first AP wireless device in the multi-AP system.
However, Zhou discloses establishing the multi-AP system comprises determining a multi-AP address used to identify the first AP wireless device in the multi-AP system. (Zhou, [0245], [0520], the Receiving Address (RA) field is a multicast address, and the multicast address corresponds to Slave Access Point(s) accepting a multi-AP candidate set setup request of the MAP.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Minotani with establishing the multi-AP system comprises determining a multi-AP address used to identify the first AP wireless device in the multi-AP system as taught by Zhou to provide improve transmission capability. (Zhou, [0002])
6. Claim(s) 7 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minotani in view of Seok et al, US 2022/0394726 hereafter Seok.
As for claims 7 and 27, Minotani discloses receiving uplink data for one or more non-AP wireless devices in the multi-AP system from one or more AP wireless devices in the multi-AP system. (Seok, [0154]-[0156], [0161]-[0162], Receiving uplink data/signal/beacon for the STA in the multi-AP system from an AP)
Minotani does not explicitly disclose buffering and performing uplink data reordering for the uplink data.
However, Seok discloses buffering and performing uplink data reordering for the uplink data. (Seok, [0048], Using the reordering buffer for uplink data from the transmit STA which can be an AP STA)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Minotani with buffering and performing uplink data reordering for the uplink data as taught by Seok to provide enhanced transmission efficiency, data rate and throughput.
7. Claim(s) 8 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minotani in view of Naribole et al, US 2021/0084493 hereafter Naribole.
As for claims 8 and 28, Minotani does not explicitly disclose performing one or more of downlink frame encryption or uplink frame decryption for a non-AP wireless device in the multi-AP system.
However, Naribole discloses performing one or more of downlink frame encryption or uplink frame decryption for a non-AP wireless device in the multi-AP system. (Naribole, [0026], the coordinator may perform some or all of the data encryption and decryption, and the member APs may serve as relays to forward data frames between STA and the coordinator.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Minotani with performing one or more of downlink frame encryption or uplink frame decryption for a non-AP wireless device in the multi-AP system as taught by Naribole to provide more efficient AP coordination (Naribole, [0024]).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2026/0006671 [0067] wherein a Traffic Identifier-to-Link mapping (TID-to-Link mapping) information element is carried in the target wireless frame, wherein the TID-to-Link mapping information element includes first TID-to-Link mapping information of the Non-AP MLD and the AP MLD as well as second TID-to-Link mapping information of the Non-AP MLD and the newly added affiliated AP.
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469