Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abbas (US 10,982,442). Abbas discloses a glued-in-rod structure (10) comprising: a collar (14); a glued-in-rod (10); a hole (H) formed in a structure (C). The collar comprising: an annular base (16) having an inner diameter (24) configured to fit snugly around the rod at both the end and along a length (Fig, 1); and an outer diameter having a plurality of 3 axially elongated splines (28) configured to contact the hole wall allowing the passage of fluid (B).
Claims 13-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BBT HOLDING AG (DE 30 14 078). BBT discloses a glued-in-rod structure (10) comprising: a collar (14); a glued-in-rod (32); a hole (44) formed in a structure. The collar comprising: an annular base having an inner diameter (20, 22) configured to fit snugly around the rod at the end; and an outer diameter having a plurality of axially oriented splines (Fig. 1) or a plurality of helically elongated splines (Figs. 4 or 5). The splines are capable of contacting the hole wall allowing the passage of fluid and the embodiments of Figs. 4 and 5 show 4 splines on one side for a total of 6 or 8 spread around the collar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbas (US 10,982,442) in view of Buchholz (US 4,110,053). Abbas discloses a glued-in-rod structure as described above but does not disclose the structure being a wood structure. Buchholz discloses a glued-in-rod structure comprising a hole (5, 6) in a wood structure (column 2, line 51). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the concrete structure of Abbas with a wood structure as disclosed in Buchholz because Buchholz teaches that glued-in-rods are equally applicable to concrete and wood structures (column 1, paragraph beginning line 6).
Claims 8-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BBT HOLDING AG (DE 30 14 078) in view of Buchholz (US 4,110,053). BBT discloses a glued-in-rod structure as described above but does not disclose the structure being a wood structure. Buchholz discloses a glued-in-rod structure comprising a hole (5, 6) in a wood structure (column 2, line 51). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the concrete structure of BBT with a wood structure as disclosed in Buchholz because Buchholz teaches that glued-in-rods are equally applicable to concrete and wood structures (column 1, paragraph beginning line 6).
Response to Remarks
After consideration of applicant’s remarks, the rejections over the prior art remain mostly unchanged.
Applicant argues the claims define over Abbas (US 10,982,443) because Abbas does not disclose a plurality of elongated splines for defining channels to permit the flow of adhesive. Applicant argues that the fins 28 is are not elongated splines as claimed but instead are insolated projections which disclosed as mechanical anchoring members exerting pressure against the walls of the hole. In response, the examiner agrees with applicant’s understanding of the fins in Abbas but, that does not preclude the fins from anticipating the claimed splines limitation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The definition of “splines” requires a mating groove for the splines which is not present in the instant application nor is there any alternative definition so applying broadest reasonable interpretation of “elongated splines” any protrusion with an elongation would anticipate the limitation including the fins disclosed in Abbas. Furthermore, in regards to Abbas teaching a mechanical anchoring this is similar to the instant invention where the elongated splines also engage the wall of the hole (instant invention p.[0027]) for providing a mechanical anchor. And similar to the instant invention, between the splines are formed channels for the flow of an adhesive (Abbas column 5 paragraph beginning line 43). So not only are the fins of Abbas structurally “elongated splines” they also function in the same manner.
Applicant also argues that Abbas fails to disclose the claimed collar but instead disclose anchor rings. In response the examiner fails to see the difference between a collar and a ring.
Similar to applicant’s arguments directed at Abbas, applicant argues the BBT (DE 30 14 078) does not disclose the specific spline geometry and flow structure claimed but instead discloses a substantially different structure that is a cap with localized external projections. In response, the examiner does not dispute the structure of BBT is different than the instant invention. However, as noted above the claims are only interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims (emphasis added). See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues that BBT does not disclose continuous flow channel structures but instead only discloses protrusion to assist in centering and does not disclose the claimed spline geometry. In response, the examiner disagrees because there is nothing claimed which precludes the area between the protrusion from anticipating the claimed flow channels and similarly there is nothing which precludes the protrusions from anticipating the claimed splines for at least the reasons as explained above in regards to Abbas.
Applicant also argue that BBT is a cap structure which is different from applicant’s collar. In response the examiner again agrees that the structure of BBT is different then instant invention but, the claims do not define any of the differences.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675