Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In each of claims 17 and 18, the “splines” is a double inclusion since splines were introduced in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abbas (US 10,982,442). Abbas discloses a glued-in-rod structure (10) comprising: a collar (14); a glued-in-rod (10); a hole (H) formed in a structure (C). The collar comprising: an annular base (16) having an inner diameter (24) configured to fit snugly around the rod at both the end and along a length (Fig, 1); and an outer diameter having a 3 axially oriented splines (28) configured to contact the hole wall allowing the passage of fluid (B).
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 13-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BBT HOLDING AG (DE 30 14 078). BBT discloses a glued-in-rod structure (10) comprising: a collar (14); a glued-in-rod (32); a hole (44) formed in a structure. The collar comprising: an annular base having an inner diameter (20, 22) configured to fit snugly around the rod at the end; and an outer diameter having a plurality of axially oriented splines (Fig. 1) or a plurality of helical oriented splines (Figs. 4 or 5). The splines are capable of contacting the hole wall allowing the passage of fluid and the embodiments of Figs. 4 and 5 show 4 splines on one side for a total of 6 or 8 spread around the collar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbas of BBT as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fann (US 5,474,346). Neither Abbas or BBT discloses dimples configured to contact the hole wall. Fann discloses a collar (1) having an outer surface with dimples (14’ or 44) configured to contact a wall of a hole (Fig. 6). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the splines of Abbas or BBT with dimples as disclosed in Fann because Fann teaches the dimples as an alternative to splines (Fig. 1) for yielding the same results.
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbas (US 10,982,442) in view of Buchholz (US 4,110,053). Abbas discloses a glued-in-rod structure as described above but does not disclose the structure being a wood structure. Buchholz discloses a glued-in-rod structure comprising a hole (5, 6) in a wood structure (column 2, line 51). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the concrete structure of Abbas with a wood structure as disclosed in Buchholz because Buchholz teaches that glued-in-rods are equally applicable to concrete and wood structures (column 1, paragraph beginning line 6).
Claims 8-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BBT HOLDING AG (DE 30 14 078) in view of Buchholz (US 4,110,053). BBT discloses a glued-in-rod structure as described above but does not disclose the structure being a wood structure. Buchholz discloses a glued-in-rod structure comprising a hole (5, 6) in a wood structure (column 2, line 51). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the concrete structure of BBT with a wood structure as disclosed in Buchholz because Buchholz teaches that glued-in-rods are equally applicable to concrete and wood structures (column 1, paragraph beginning line 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rinklake (US 5,060,447), Dubon (US 8,517,641) and Bianchi (US 2010/0021259) teach other examples of centering collars to glued-in-rods. Natsume (US 4,941,769) us cited to teach another example of dimples.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675