DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sung et al. (WO 2018/025208 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Sung teaches a supported noble metal catalyst comprising a carrier, wherein the carrier comprises an inorganic oxide and a non-noble metal dopant, wherein the non-noble metal dopant is present in an amount of from 0.01 to 10 wt.% of catalyst, measured as oxide (Page 16, Example 2: Preparation of Catalyst Sample 3; A high surface area silica-alumina support from a commercial supplier having a BET surface area of about 160 to 200 M2/g and a pore volume of 0.8 to 0.9 cc/g… The silica-alumina support had 95% alumina and 5% silica, and no sulfur (i.e. < 0.1 wt.%); Page 17, The milled slurry was coated onto a 1"Dx3"L ceramic honeycomb core; Page 10, Ceramic materials used to construct the substrate may include any suitable refractory material, e.g., cordierite, mullite, cordierite-α alumina, silicon nitride, zircon mullite, spodumene, alumina-silica magnesia, zircon silicate, sillimanite, magnesium silicates, zircon, petalite, a alumina, aluminosilicates and the like). Such honeycomb monoliths meet the structural limitation requiring a shaped extrudate.
Sung teaches the catalyst wherein the carrier is a shaped extrudate (Page 17, The milled slurry was coated onto a 1"Dx3"L ceramic honeycomb core; Fig. 1; Page 11, Referring to FIG. 1, the exemplary substrate 2 has a cylindrical shape and a cylindrical outer surface 4; Page 10, Ceramic materials used to construct the substrate may include any suitable refractory material, e.g., cordierite, mullite, cordierite-α alumina, silicon nitride, zircon mullite, spodumene, alumina-silica magnesia, zircon silicate, sillimanite, magnesium silicates, zircon, petalite, a alumina, aluminosilicates and the like).
Sung teaches a noble metal component, wherein a content of the noble metal component is from 0.01 to 2 wt. %, measured as elemental metal, and a sulfur-containing component, wherein a content of the sulfur-containing component is from 0.01 to 2 wt. %, measured as elemental sulfur (Page 16-17, Example 2: Preparation of Catalyst Sample 3; A high surface area silica-alumina support from a commercial supplier having a BET surface area of about 160 to 200 M2/g and a pore volume of 0.8 to 0.9 cc/g, was impregnated with ammonium sulfate (NH4)2SO4 solution using standard incipient wetness procedure, with a targeted sulfur concentration of 1.4 wt.%... The above dried powder was next impregnated with Pt-amine solution using standard incipient wetness procedure, with a targeted Pt concentration at 1.1 wt.%).
With regard to Claims 3 and 4, Sung teaches the catalyst wherein the inorganic oxide is selected from the group consisting of alumina, silicon dioxide, silica-alumina, titanium dioxide, zirconium dioxide, silicon carbide, and any combination thereof, and wherein the inorganic oxide is alumina (Page 9, Exemplary refractory metal oxides include alumina, silica, zirconia, titania, ceria, and physical mixtures or chemical combinations thereof, including atomically-doped combinations and including high surface area or activated compounds such as activated alumina; Page 16-17, Example 2: Preparation of Catalyst Sample 3; A high surface area silica-alumina support from a commercial supplier having a BET surface area of about 160 to 200 M2/g and a pore volume of 0.8 to 0.9 cc/g).
With regard to Claim 5, Sung teaches the catalyst wherein the alumina is selected from the group consisting of alpha-alumina, beta-alumina, gamma-alumina, delta-alumina, theta-alumina, and any combination thereof (Page 9, Exemplary aluminas include large pore boehmite, gamma-alumina, and delta/theta alumina. Useful commercial aluminas include activated aluminas, such as high bulk density gamma-alumina, low or medium bulk density large pore gamma-alumina, and low bulk density large pore boehmite and gamma-alumina).
With regard to Claim 7, Sung teaches the catalyst wherein the noble metal is selected from the group consisting of ruthenium, iridium, palladium, platinum, and any combination thereof (Page 8, Catalyst Composition, The DOC catalyst composition includes a platinum (Pt) component and a sulfur (S)-containing component impregnated on a refractory metal oxide support; Page 16-17, Example 2: Preparation of Catalyst Sample 3; The above dried powder was next impregnated with Pt-amine solution using standard incipient wetness procedure, with a targeted Pt concentration at 1.1 wt.%).
With regard to Claim 9, Sung teaches the catalyst wherein a source of the sulfur-containing component is selected from the group consisting of sulfuric acid, ammonium sulfate, and a combination thereof (Page 16-17, Example 2: Preparation of Catalyst Sample 3; A high surface area silica-alumina support from a commercial supplier having a BET surface area of about 160 to 200 M2/g and a pore volume of 0.8 to 0.9 cc/g, was impregnated with ammonium sulfate (NH4)2SO4 solution using standard incipient wetness procedure, with a targeted sulfur concentration of 1.4 wt.%).
With regard to Claims 17 and 18, Sung teaches the shaped extrudate having a cylindrical form or lobed form, wherein the shaped extrudate has an aspect ratio of 1:1 to 20:1 (Page 17, The milled slurry was coated onto a 1"Dx3"L ceramic honeycomb core; Fig. 1; Page 11, Referring to FIG. 1, the exemplary substrate 2 has a cylindrical shape and a cylindrical outer surface 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al. (WO 2018/025208 A1) in view of Alvarez-Galvan et al. (“Hydrogen production for fuel cell by oxidative reforming of diesel surrogate: Influence of ceria and/or lanthana over the activity of Pt/Al2O3 catalysts”).
With regard to Claim 6, Sung teaches the non-noble metal dopant comprising titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), chromium (Cr), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), copper (Cu), zinc (Zn), tin (Sn), scandium (Sc), yttrium (Y), lanthanum (La), praseodymium (Pr), neodymium (Nd), samarium (Sm), gadolinium (Gd), ytterbium (Yb), or metal oxides thereof (Page 9, Exemplary combinations of metal oxides include alumina-zirconia, ceria-zirconia, alumina-ceria-zirconia, lanthana-alumina, lanthana-zirconia-alumina, baria-alumina, baria lanthana-alumina, baria lanthana-neodymia alumina, and alumina-ceria).
However, Sung is silent to the non-noble metal dopant comprising titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), chromium (Cr), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), copper (Cu), zinc (Zn), tin (Sn), scandium (Sc), yttrium (Y), lanthanum (La), praseodymium (Pr), neodymium (Nd), samarium (Sm), gadolinium (Gd), ytterbium (Yb), or metal oxides thereof, wherein the non-noble metal dopant is present in an amount of from 0.01 to 10 wt.% of catalyst, measured as oxide.
Alvarez-Galvan discloses a catalyst wherein the non-noble metal dopant is present in an amount of from 0.01 to 10 wt.% of catalyst, measured as oxide (Table 1; Pt/A-L, 2.7 wt% La2O3). Alvarez-Galvan notes that lanthana improves the thermal stability of alumina (Page 2503, Lanthana appeared to be one of the best additives for inhibiting the sintering of high surface area Al2O3…The main role of La is to stabilize Al2O3, decreasing the rate of surface diffusion that hinders sintering and loss of surface area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for Sung to teach the catalyst wherein the non-noble metal dopant comprises titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), chromium (Cr), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), copper (Cu), zinc (Zn), tin (Sn), scandium (Sc), yttrium (Y), lanthanum (La), praseodymium (Pr), neodymium (Nd), samarium (Sm), gadolinium (Gd), ytterbium (Yb), or metal oxides thereof, wherein the non-noble metal dopant is present in an amount of from 0.01 to 10 wt.% of catalyst, measured as oxide, as taught in Alvarez-Galvan, as lanthana improves the thermal stability of alumina.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Sung et al. (WO 2018/025208 A1).
With regard to Claim 8, Sung teaches the catalyst wherein molar ratio of noble metal to sulfur is in a range of from 1:1 to 1:5, and wherein the sulfur-containing component is calculated as elemental sulfur (Claim 2, wherein the Pt component and the sulfur-containing component are present in a Pt:S molar ratio in a range of about 1:1 to about 1:5, and wherein the sulfur-containing component is calculated as sulfur dioxide (SO2)).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05.I, in the case where the claimed range "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed March 2, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Sung et al. (WO 2018/025208 A1), claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Sung in view of Alvarez-Galvan et al. (“Hydrogen production for fuel cell by oxidative reforming of diesel surrogate: Influence of ceria and/or lanthana over the activity of Pt/Al2O3 catalysts”), and claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Sung have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made of claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, and 17-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Sung, claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Sung in view of Alvarez-Galvan, and claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Sung.
Regarding the rejections of Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 9 in view of Sung, on page 6 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that “Sung does not disclose a supported noble metal catalyst that includes a carrier in the form of a shaped extrudate. Sung is silent regarding extrudates or extrusion processes”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that the catalyst composition is coated on a ceramic honeycomb carrier that is of a cylindrical shape and meets the aspect ratio limitation as claimed (see Claims 1 and 17-18 rejections).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lapinski et al. (WO 2013/012489 A2) teaches a reforming catalyst comprising a noble metal and a cylindrical extrudate support. The catalyst has application in hydrogenation-dehydrogenation reactions.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDUL-RAHMAN YUSUF WALEED SMARI/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736