Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/13/25 with respect to the Restriction required under 35 U.S.C. 121 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the Restriction has been withdrawn. Applicant hereby elects claims 1-14 and 22-30 of Group 1, without traverse, for examination on the merits. Accordingly, without prejudice or disclaimer, claims 15-21 are canceled in view of the election. New claims 31-36 are added, including features similar to those of claims 9-14, and are also related to elected Group 1. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that the examination of new claims 31-36 also can be made with the claims of elected Group 1 without serious burden. See MPEP @ 803 (see page 8 of 9 in Remarks).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,7, 9-13, 22-29 and 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang Min et al (WO 2020151741 A1)(see IDS) in view of Kim et al (US 2017/0134201A1)
With regards to claim 1, Huang Min et al discloses a user equipment (UE) (see abstract, [0007], A method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) (120a) includes receiving a CSI report configuration for frequency domain compressed precoder matrix feedback,) comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code (see fig. 10, [0074], the processing system 1002 includes a processor 1004 couple to a computer-readable medium/memory 1012-- -), the processing system configured to cause the UE to:
precoder(precode) in accordance with a subset of time domain precoding taps from a set of time domain precoding taps, each of the set of time domain precoding taps corresponding to a respective precoding value of a set of precoding values associated with a set of subcarriers, and a respective absolute value of each of the subset of time domain precoding taps being greater than a respective absolute value of each of one or more other time domain precoding taps of the set of time domain precoding taps ( see [0007], the method generally includes receiving a channel state information (CSI) report configuration for frequency domain compressed precoder matrix feedback. The CSI report configuration configures the UE to report, for a plurality of selected beans at a plurality of time domain taps- - - quantizing the corresponding linear combination coefficients and/or frequency domain compression basis vectors based on the grouping). Also in [0058]-[0065] -- -In some examples, the grouping is based on more dominant and less dominant linear combination coefficients, a target or threshold payload size, a target or threshold overhead - - - have small value of amplitudes”. Also see figs. 8 and 9, wherein the dominant coefficients corresponding to “subset”, the subset of time domain precoding taps are sent as feedback information node, so that the network code performs precoding on a signal and transmit it.;
Huang Min et al discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, except for the modified precoder according to subset of time domain precoding taps is used to precode and transmit a signal via the set of subcarriers in accordance with the precooding.
However, Kim et al in the same endeavor wireless communication systems discloses in fig. 6, [0076], in step 622, the transmit end 600 can design a precoder for a subcarrier set corresponding to the receive end 602, based on the feedback signal received from the receive end 602. In [0095], FIG. 11, in step 1110, the transmit end 1100 receives a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) from the receive end 1102. In step 1112, the transmit end 1100 acquires channel state information at the transmit end, based on the SRS received from the receive end 1102.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang Min et al as taught by Kim et al to arrive at the claimed invention, wherein the modified precoder according to subset of time domain precoding taps is used to precode and transmit a signal via the set of subcarriers in accordance with the precooding with a reasonable expectation of success, thus minimizing the influence of an Inter Carrier Interference (ICI) in system (see Kim et al [0008]). MPEP 2143 Rationale C.
With regards to claim 22, A method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising: precoding a signal in accordance with a subset of time domain precoding taps from a set of time domain precoding taps, each of the set of time domain precoding taps corresponding to a respective precoding value of a set of precoding values associated with a set of subcarriers, and a respective absolute value of each of the subset of time domain precoding taps being greater than a respective absolute value of each of one or more other time domain precoding taps of the set of time domain precoding taps; and transmitting the signal in accordance with the precoding via the set of subcarriers. (Claim 22, is method claim at a UE comprising features as those of claim 1, but in terms of method steps. Claim 22 is rejected similarly as in claim 1 above. See rejection above).
With regards to claims 2 and 23, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: select one or more scaling factors associated with a power normalization of the set of subcarriers, the one or more scaling factors being associated with the subset of time domain precoding taps; and perform the power normalization of the set of subcarriers in accordance with the one or more scaling factors (see Huang Min et al, [0055], - - -In some examples, the amplitude values of these dominant taps have larger values than the amplitude of the other taps--- -precoding matrix quantization)
With regards to claims 3 and 24, The UE of claim 1, wherein, to precode the signal, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to precode the signal using a precoding matrix that is associated with the subset of time domain precoding taps (see Huang Min et al, [0007], the method generally includes receiving a channel state information (CSI) report configuration for frequency domain compressed precoder matrix feedback. The CSI report configuration configures the UE to report, for a plurality of selected beans at a plurality of time domain taps- - - quantizing the corresponding linear combination coefficients and/or frequency domain compression basis vectors based on the grouping)
With regards to claims 4 and 25, the combination of Huang Min et al and Kim discloses the UE of claim 3, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: receive one or more downlink reference signals ( see Kim et al fig. 6, reference signal (610)); and generate the precoding matrix in accordance with channel information of an uplink channel that is associated with the one or more downlink reference signals, the channel information of the uplink channel being associated with measurements of the one or more downlink reference signals (see Kim et al, [0114] Referring to FIG. 14, in step 1410, the transmit 1400 transmits a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) to the receive end 1402. In step 1412, the receive end 1402 acquires Channel State Information at Receiver (CSIR) based on the SRS received from the transmit end 1400, and determines an ICI).
With regards to claims 5 and 26, the combination of Huang Min et al and Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the signal comprises a sounding reference signal, and the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to select a second subset of time domain precoding taps from the set of time domain precoding taps (Huang et al discloses plurality of time domain taps) in association with transmitting the sounding reference signal (see Kim et al, fig. 6, [0076], in step 622, the transmit end 600 can design a precoder for a subcarrier set corresponding to the receive end 602, based on the feedback signal received from the receive end 602. In [0095], FIG. 11, in step 1110, the transmit end 1100 receives a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) from the receive end 1102. In step 1112, the transmit end 1100 acquires channel state information at the transmit end, based on the SRS received from the receive end 1102.
With regards to claims 6 and 27, The UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication of a precoding matrix associated with the set of time domain precoding taps; and select a subset of the precoding matrix associated with the subset of time domain precoding taps, the precoding of the signal being in accordance with the selected subset of the precoding matrix. taps (see [0007], the method generally includes receiving a channel state information (CSI) report configuration for frequency domain compressed precoder matrix feedback. The CSI report configuration configures the UE to report, for a plurality of selected beans at a plurality of time domain taps- - - quantizing the corresponding linear combination coefficients and/or frequency domain compression basis vectors based on the grouping)
With regards to claims 7 and 28, The UE of claim 6, wherein, to receive the indication of the precoding matrix, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to receive control signaling that indicates the precoding matrix. (see Huang Min et al, [0007], the method generally includes receiving a channel state information (CSI) report configuration for frequency domain compressed precoder matrix feedback. The CSI report configuration configures the UE to report, for a plurality of selected beans at a plurality of time domain taps- - - quantizing the corresponding linear combination coefficients and/or frequency domain compression basis vectors based on the grouping
With regards to claim 29, The method of claim 22, wherein the signal comprises a channel state information report. (see Huang Min et al, [0007], the method generally includes receiving a channel state information (CSI) report configuration for frequency domain compressed precoder matrix feedback. The CSI report configuration configures the UE to report, for a plurality of selected beans at a plurality of time domain taps- - - quantizing the corresponding linear combination coefficients and/or frequency domain compression basis vectors based on the grouping)
With regards to claim 9, A network entity (see figs. 1 and 2, BS 110a), comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code (see [0074], the processing system 1002 includes a processor 1004 coupled to a CRM/memory- --), the processing system configured to cause the network entity to:
precode a signal in accordance with a subset of time domain precoding taps from a set of time domain precoding taps, each of the set of time domain precoding taps corresponding to a respective precoding value of a set of precoding values associated with a set of subcarriers, and a respective absolute value of each of the subset of time domain precoding taps being greater than a respective absolute value of each of one or more other time domain precoding taps of the set of time domain precoding taps; and
transmit the signal in accordance with the precoding via the set of subcarriers. (The rest of claim 9 recites similar limitations as in claim 1 above, see similar rejection as in claim 1 above)
With regards to claim 31, A method for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising: precoding a signal in accordance with a subset of time domain precoding taps from a set of time domain precoding taps, each of the set of time domain precoding taps corresponding to a respective precoding value of a set of precoding values associated with a set of subcarriers, and a respective absolute value of each of the subset of time domain precoding taps being greater than a respective absolute value of each of one or more other time domain precoding taps of the set of time domain precoding taps; and transmitting the signal in accordance with the precoding via the set of subcarriers. (Claim 31, is method claim at a network entity comprising features as those of claim 9, but in terms of method steps. Claim 31 is rejected similarly as in claim 9 above. See rejection above).
With regards to claims 10 and 32, The network entity of claim 9, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the network entity to: select one or more scaling factors associated with a power normalization of the set of subcarriers, the one or more scaling factors being associated with the subset of time domain precoding taps; and perform the power normalization of the set of subcarriers in accordance with the one or more scaling factors. (see Huang Min et al, [0055], - - -In some examples, the amplitude values of these dominant taps have larger values than the amplitude of the other taps--- -precoding matrix quantization)
With regards to claims 11 and 33, The network entity of claim 9, wherein, to precode the signal, the processing system is configured to cause the network entity to precode the signal in accordance with a precoding matrix that is associated with the subset of time domain precoding taps. (see Huang Min et al, [0007], the method generally includes receiving a channel state information (CSI) report configuration for frequency domain compressed precoder matrix feedback. The CSI report configuration configures the UE to report, for a plurality of selected beans at a plurality of time domain taps- - - quantizing the corresponding linear combination coefficients and/or frequency domain compression basis vectors based on the grouping)
With regards to claims 12 and 34, The network entity of claim 9, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the network entity to: receive an indication of a precoding matrix associated with the set of time domain precoding taps; and select a subset of the precoding matrix associated with the subset of time domain precoding taps, the precoding of the signal being in accordance with the subset of the precoding matrix (see [0007], the method generally includes receiving a channel state information (CSI) report configuration for frequency domain compressed precoder matrix feedback. The CSI report configuration configures the UE to report, for a plurality of selected beans at a plurality of time domain taps- - - quantizing the corresponding linear combination coefficients and/or frequency domain compression basis vectors based on the grouping)
With regards to claims 13 and 35, The network entity of claim 12, wherein, to receive the indication of the precoding matrix, the processing system is configured to cause the network entity to receive a channel state information report that indicates the precoding matrix. (see Huang Min et al, [0007], the method generally includes receiving a channel state information (CSI) report configuration for frequency domain compressed precoder matrix feedback. The CSI report configuration configures the UE to report, for a plurality of selected beans at a plurality of time domain taps- - - quantizing the corresponding linear combination coefficients and/or frequency domain compression basis vectors based on the grouping.
Claims 8, 14, 30 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang Min et al (WO 2020151741 A1)(see IDS) in view of Kim et al (US 2017/0134201A1) as applied in claims 1, 9, 22 and 31 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (US 20210306046 A1).
With regards to claims 8 and 30, The combination of Huang Min et al and Kim et al discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, except for the UE of claim 1, wherein the signal comprises a channel state information report in accordance with an enhanced Type-2 channel state information codebook.
However, Zhang et al in the same endeavor, Wireless communication systems, discloses in [0004], methods to perform encoding of channel state information (CSI), e.g., enhanced type II CSI. Also see [0111], FIG. 9 illustrates WB and SB aspects of type II CSI.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang Min et al and Kim et al as taught by Zhang et al to arrive at the claimed invention, wherein the signal comprises a channel state information report in accordance with an enhanced Type-2 channel state information codebook with a reasonable expectation of success, thus reduce the signaling overhead associated with CSI reporting (see Zhang et al [0004]). MPEP 2143 Rationale C.
With regards to claims 14 and 36, The network entity of claim 13, wherein the channel state information report comprises an enhanced Type-2 channel state information codebook that indicates the precoding matrix (see similar rejection as in claims 8 and 30 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ko et al (US 20150382223 A1) discloses a wireless communication system and, more specifically, to a method and device for reporting channel state information (CSI).
/HELENE E TAYONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 January 20, 2026