DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “bottom portion of the low-voltage output terminal installation portion” (claim 1), “top portion of the first end plate” (claim 1), “cells contact system assembly” (claim 2), “sampling assembly” (claim 2), “flexible circuit board” (claim 2), “through hole corresponding to the threaded hole” (claim 3), “weight-reducing holes pass through the limiting groove or the installation groove” (claim 4), “top portion of the low-voltage output terminal installation portion” (claim 5), “inner side”, “outer side”, “outer side wall”, “end surface of the limiting groove” (claim 8), “sub-limiting groove” (claim 10), and “elastic members” (claim 11) must be shown and reference characters provided therefor on the drawings and in the specification, or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Further, the Office would like to emphasize that the entire structure of the “cell contact assembly” with all components and cooperative relationships thereof as recited in claims 2 and 3 must be shown with all necessary reference characters.
Furthermore, the drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “10” (e.g., see par. [0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, and 5-7, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitations: “the battery module further comprises a cells contact system assembly, the cells contact system assembly is electrically connected to the cells, the cells contact system assembly comprises a sampling assembly and a high-voltage output sheet, the sampling assembly comprises a flexible circuit board and a low-voltage connector, the flexible circuit board is electrically connected to the cells, the low-voltage connector is installed on the low-voltage output terminal installation portion and is electrically connected to the flexible circuit board, and the high-voltage output sheet is installed in the high-voltage output terminal installation portion and is electrically connected to the cells”.
Furthermore, claim 3 recites the limitations: “a threaded hole is arranged in the high-voltage output terminal installation portion, the high-voltage output sheet is installed on the high-voltage output terminal installation portion, and a through hole corresponding to the threaded hole is arranged on the high-voltage output sheet”.
The aforementioned limitations are not enabled since the disclosure does not provide adequate explanation how the aforementioned “cell contact assembly” recited in the claims is actually constructed (i.e., see drawings objection above and relevant portion of the specification).
After considering all of the Wands factors (and specifically, that there is no adequate direction provided by the inventor/applicant, no existence of the working examples (as per the current record), and that there is low predictability of the claimed functions in the relevant arts), the Office has concluded that the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the instant disclosure will be high and undue to a person of the ordinary skill, and therefore, such a person will not be able to make and use the claimed invention without resorting to undue experimentation. See In re Brown, 477 F.2d 946, 177 USPQ 691 (CCPA 1973); In re Ghiron, 442 F.2d 985, 169 USPQ 723 (CCPA 1971).
The remaining dependent claims 5-7 have been also rejected since they inherit the aforementioned problems of the parent claim 2.
Claims 4, 8, and 10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitations: “the weight-reducing holes pass through the limiting groove or the installation groove”. It's not clear how the “weight-reducing holes” can pass “through the limiting groove or the installation groove”. The drawings do not show the aforementioned subject matter (see drawings objection above). The scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim 8 recites the limitations: “the limiting groove is formed by extending from an inner side to an outer side of the first end plate in a thickness direction of the first end plate, and an outer side wall of the first end plate closes an end surface of the limiting groove”.
The aforementioned limitations are imprecise, unclear, and technically inconsistent because a surface is not ordinarily something that is “closed”. It is unclear how a wall can close a surface. The end surface is itself a surface rather than an opening or cavity capable of being closed. Accordingly, it is unclear what structural relationship is intended between the outside side wall and the limiting groove. Accordingly claim 8 is indefinite.
Regarding claim 10, it’s not clear what the “sub-limiting groove” is (see drawings objection above). Therefore the scope of the claim is unclear.
Furthermore, the Office reminds Applicant that the uniform terminology must be used throughout the claims. The claimed terminology must be consistent with the terminology of the specification and must follow the nomenclature of the specification. The terms and phrases used in claims must have a clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o).
Appropriate corrections are required. Applicant’s cooperations is requested in correcting any remaining problems and informalities of which Applicant may become aware in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 11, and 12, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2022/ 213728 to Wang et al. (hereafter “Wang”, cited on IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Wang discloses (Fig. 2-7 and English translation of record) a battery module (200), comprising: a frame comprising side plates (202) opposite to each other and a first end plate (201) and a second end plate (201) opposite to each other; a plurality of cells (400) stacked and installed in the frame; and a plastic (par. [0073]) output terminal base (203) comprising a high-voltage output terminal installation portion (2032), a low-voltage output terminal installation portion (2034), and a limiting portion, wherein the high-voltage output terminal installation portion and the low-voltage output terminal installation portion are arranged side by side, and the limiting portion (see annotated Fig. 7 below) is formed by extending from a bottom portion of the low-voltage output terminal installation portion (see annotated Fig. 7 below), wherein a top portion of the first end plate (201) is provided with a limiting groove and an installation groove (see annotated Fig. 7 bellow), the high-voltage output terminal installation portion is installed in the installation groove, and the limiting portion is installed in the limiting groove to connect the output terminal base (203) to the first end plate (201) (see annotated Fig. 7 below).
See next page →
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Wang discloses that the battery module further comprises a cells contact system assembly, the cells contact system assembly is electrically connected to the cells (400), the cells contact system assembly comprises a sampling assembly (205) and a high-voltage output sheet (204), the sampling assembly comprises a flexible circuit board (par. [0084]) and a low-voltage connector (see annotated Fig. 5 below), the flexible circuit board (205) is electrically connected to the cells (400) (par. [0084]), the low-voltage connector is installed on the low-voltage output terminal installation portion (2034) and is electrically connected to the flexible circuit board (205), and the high-voltage output sheet (204) is installed in the high-voltage output terminal installation portion (2032) and is electrically connected to the cells (400), (Figs. 2, 5).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Wang discloses that a threaded hole ( i.e., a threaded hole (5) of the nut (2033)) is arranged in the high-voltage output terminal installation portion (2032), the high-voltage output sheet (204) is installed on the high-voltage output terminal installation portion (2032), and a through hole (6) corresponding to the threaded hole (5) is arranged on the high-voltage output sheet (204) (Figs. 5, 6 and par. [0081]).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Wang discloses that the first end plate (201) or the second end plate (201) is provided with a plurality of weight-reducing holes, and the weight-reducing holes pass through the limiting groove or the installation groove (see annotated Fig. 7 above).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Wang discloses (Fig. 7) that the low-voltage output terminal installation portion further comprises hook structures (see annotated Fig. 7 above), and the hook structures are formed by extending from both sides of a top portion of the low-voltage output terminal installation portion in a direction away from the low-voltage output terminal installation portion (see annotated Fig. 7 above).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Wang discloses that the limiting groove is formed by extending from an inner side to an outer side of the first end plate (201) in a thickness direction of the first end plate (201), and an outer side wall of the first end plate closes an end surface of the limiting groove (see annotated Fig. 7 above).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses that the limiting portion comprises a plurality of elastic members, and the elastic members are engaged in the limiting groove (see annotated Fig. 7 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Alternatively, Claim 4, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang taken alone.
Regarding claim 4, it can be seen in Wang that the end plate (201) is not a solid structure but is formed with ribs, while assuring that the structure of the end plate and of the entire battery module has the required strength. Therefore, making a configuration including weight reducing through holes is merely a matter of design choice that could have been appropriately selected by a person skilled in the related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in order to predictably reduce weight, material consumption, and production costs of the device, while preserving its sufficient structural strength. All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of US 2012/0298433 to Ohkura.
Regarding claim 13, Wang does not disclose a battery pack comprising a box body, wherein the battery module is installed in the box body.
First, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed a battery pack from a plurality of the battery modules of Wang, in order to predictably provide sufficient power as required by a specific application, since providing a plurality of the battery modules instead of a single one would amounted to a mere duplication of said battery module which is not inventive, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Second, the battery module (200) of Wang is inherently mounted on an apparatus that uses its power. Therefore, accommodating it in a housing such as a box is merely a common practice and could have been easily achieved by a person skilled in the art as evidenced, for example, by Ohkura which teaches that the battery modules (100a-100d) form a battery pack and are mounted in casing/box (550), (pars. [0149]-[0150]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have installed the battery pack/modules of Wang in a box body, as taught by Ohkura, in order to predictably construct the battery pack as a unit and also to protect its components from environment, thus enhancing reliability and safety. All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 9 and 10, the limitations of claim 9 (“the limiting portion comprises a first limiting portion, a second limiting portion, and a third limiting portion, the first limiting portion and the second limiting portion are formed by extending away from a vertical direction, the third limiting portion is located between the first limiting portion and the second limiting portion and is arranged in the vertical direction, the limiting groove comprises a first limiting groove, a second limiting groove, and a third limiting groove respectively corresponding to the first limiting portion, the second limiting portion, and the third limiting portion, and the first limiting portion, the second limiting portion, and the third limiting portion are respectively installed in the first limiting groove, the second limiting groove, and the third limiting groove in a thickness direction of the first end plate to fix the output terminal base”) in combination with all of the limitations of the parent claim 1, are believed to render the combined subject matter, and claim 10 dependent therefrom, allowable over the prior art of record taken alone or in combination.
Conclusion
The additional prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure, because of the teachings of various battery modules and packs.
/Anatoly Vortman/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841