DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 20 is are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it is a method claim.
Claims 1-18 are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the recitation of “processor” provides sufficient structure to perform all claimed limitations.
Claim 19 is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it is an article of manufacture claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimihiko et al. (JP4470500B2, a copy of English translated by computer is provided herein, see PTO-892 attached).
Regarding claim 1 as a representative claim, Kimihiko teaches an information processing system comprising: a processor configured to (see paras. [0001] & [0008] (printed matter inspection apparatus); fig.1 and paras. [0018] & [0020] (printed matter inspection device 30)): acquire information related to a printed matter (see para. [0018] (reading device 4 images the entire sheet and sends the read image to device 30; device 8 extracts print image data formed on a sheet and sends it to device 30)); and create an inspection setting, based on setting basic information including the information related to the printed matter, such that a high level region, which is a region including a portion that is used as a final product, is inspected with higher accuracy than a low level region which is the other region (see paras. [0008] (pass/fail determination criterion for each area), [0009] (criterion settings for each area; high level pass/fail judgment criteria in an area where an image requiring accuracy is printed), [0013] (initially settings for high level pass/fail determination criterion), [0015] (inspection information settings), and [0031] – [0032] (“high” and “low”)).
Regarding claim 2, Kimihiko further teaches wherein the processor is configured to: acquire information for manufacturing the printed matter (see paras. [0037-[0038] (printer 20 receives a print job and forms an image on the sheet)).
Regarding claim 3, Kimihiko further teaches wherein the setting basic information includes information for manufacturing the printed matter (see paras. [0036] – [0038] (print job; inspection information settings; printer 20 receives a print job and forms an image on the sheet)).
Regarding claim 4, Kimihiko further teaches wherein the setting basic information includes information for manufacturing the printed matter (see paras. [0036] – [0038] (print job; inspection information settings; printer 20 receives a print job and forms an image on the sheet)).
Regarding claim 5, Kimihiko further teaches wherein the high level region is a region having an outer edge along an outer edge of the portion that is used as the final product (see para. [0031] (“range is designated at a position where the total stock number is printed on the detailed end paper set in the paper tray 4, and this range is designated. Must be printed with relatively high accuracy because it is one of the important data in the inventory management report. Therefore, “high” is set as a criterion in an area where the total value is printed.”)).
Regarding claim 6, Kimihiko further teaches wherein the high level region is a region having an outer edge along an outer edge of the portion that is used as the final product (see para. [0031] (“range is designated at a position where the total stock number is printed on the detailed end paper set in the paper tray 4, and this range is designated. Must be printed with relatively high accuracy because it is one of the important data in the inventory management report. Therefore, “high” is set as a criterion in an area where the total value is printed.”)).
Regarding claim 7, Kimihiko further teaches wherein the high level region is a rectangular region including an entire portion that is used as the final product (see para. [0033] (entire sheet wherein sheet has a rectangular region; standard inspection with higher settings)).
Regarding claim 8, Kimihiko further teaches wherein the high level region is a rectangular region including an entire portion that is used as the final product (see para. [0033] (entire sheet wherein sheet has a rectangular region; standard inspection with higher settings)).
Regarding claim 9, Kimihiko further teaches wherein the inspection setting is a setting such that a first high level region, which is a region including a particularly crucial portion of the portion that is used as the final product of the high level region, is inspected with higher accuracy than a second high level region, which is the other region of the high level region (see paras. [0031] (“range is designated at a position where the total stock number is printed on the detailed end paper set in the paper tray 4, and this range is designated. Must be printed with relatively high accuracy because it is one of the important data in the inventory management report. Therefore, “high” is set as a criterion in an area where the total value is printed.”) and [0031] – [0033] (high and low; higher and lower)).
Regarding claim 10, Kimihiko further teaches wherein the inspection setting is a setting such that a first high level region, which is a region including a particularly crucial portion of the portion that is used as the final product of the high level region, is inspected with higher accuracy than a second high level region, which is the other region of the high level region (see paras. [0031] – [0033] (high and low; higher and lower)).
Regarding claim 11, Kimihiko further teaches wherein the first high level region is a region having an outer edge along an outer edge of the particularly crucial portion of the portion that is used as the final product (see paras. [0031] (“range is designated at a position where the total stock number is printed on the detailed end paper set in the paper tray 4, and this range is designated. Must be printed with relatively high accuracy because it is one of the important data in the inventory management report. Therefore, “high” is set as a criterion in an area where the total value is printed.”) and [0031] – [0033] (high and low; higher and lower)).
Regarding claim 12, Kimihiko further teaches wherein the first high level region is a region having an outer edge along an outer edge of the particularly crucial portion of the portion that is used as the final product (see paras. [0031] (“range is designated at a position where the total stock number is printed on the detailed end paper set in the paper tray 4, and this range is designated. Must be printed with relatively high accuracy because it is one of the important data in the inventory management report. Therefore, “high” is set as a criterion in an area where the total value is printed.”) and [0031] – [0033] (high and low; higher and lower)).
Regarding claim 13, Kimihiko further teaches wherein the first high level region is a rectangular region including an entire particularly crucial portion of the portion that is used as the final product (see para. [0033] (entire sheet wherein sheet has a rectangular region; standard inspection with higher settings)).
Regarding claim 14, Kimihiko further teaches wherein the first high level region is a rectangular region including an entire particularly crucial portion of the portion that is used as the final product (see para. [0033] (entire sheet wherein sheet has a rectangular region; standard inspection with higher settings)).
Regarding claim 15, Kimihiko further teaches wherein in the creation of the inspection setting, a final product related to the printed matter is specified (see para. [0031] (cover sheet; paper set in the paper tray)), and in a case where the final product is a sticker, a determination is made that an inner portion of a slit in the printed matter is the portion that is used as the final product, and that an outer portion of the slit is a portion that is not used as the final product (these claim limitations are optional limitations; for compact prosecution; cover sheet (outer portion) and paper set (inner portion)).
Regarding claim 16, Kimihiko further teaches wherein in the creation of the inspection setting, a final product related to the printed matter is specified (see para. [0031] (cover sheet; paper set in the paper tray)), and in a case where the final product is a sticker, a determination is made that an inner portion of a slit in the printed matter is the portion that is used as the final product, and that an outer portion of the slit is a portion that is not used as the final product (these claim limitations are optional limitations; for compact prosecution; cover sheet (outer portion) and paper set (inner portion)).
Regarding claim 17, Kimihiko further teaches wherein the inspection setting is a setting such that a first high level region, which is a region including a particularly crucial portion of the portion that is used as the final product of the high level region, is inspected with higher accuracy than a second high level region, which is the other region of the high level region, and in the creation of the inspection setting, in a case where the final product is a sticker and in a case where the inner portion of the slit in the printed matter includes a portion in which an image is formed and a portion in which the image is not formed, a determination is made that the portion in which the image is formed is the particularly crucial portion (see paras. [0031] – [0038] (low is set for the address printed on the cover sheet; “range is designated at a position where the total stock number is printed on the detailed end paper set in the paper tray 4, and this range is designated. Must be printed with relatively high accuracy because it is one of the important data in the inventory management report. Therefore, “high” is set as a criterion in an area where the total value is printed”; forming an image on the sheet)).
Regarding claim 18, Kimihiko further teaches wherein the processor is configured to: receive input of information for manufacturing the printed matter (see paras. [0037-[0038] (printer 20 receives a print job and forms an image on the sheet)); manufacture the printed matter based on the information for manufacturing the printed matter (see paras. [0037-[0038] (printer 20 receives a print job and forms an image on the sheet); and inspect the manufactured printed matter based on the created inspection setting (see para. [0031] (inspection item information and judgment criterion).
Regarding claim 19 recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 1. Thus, the advanced statements as applied to claim 1 are incorporated hereinafter. Kimihiko further teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program (see para. [0021] (an image forming apparatus having a printed matter inspection function comprises a printer 20 and a printed inspection apparatus 30; thus, such medium is inherently included in order to generate a print job and print information on the sheet).
Regarding claim 20 recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 1 and thus is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kamada (U.S. Pat. No. 10,981,376 B2) teaches an inspection apparatus for inspecting printed matter (see abstract; figs. 1 and 3).
DMD
5/2026
/DUY M DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662