DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
1. This action is in response to the Request for Reconsideration dated July 28, 2026.
2. Claims 1-9 are currently pending and have been examined.
3. Claim 9 is newly added.
4. Claims 1 and 7-8 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are:
As currently recited, Claim 1 recites an information processing system in the preamble. The steps are being undertaken by a processor configured to:, followed by steps. However, the steps are not conflating method steps with steps that a system would be configured to perform certain steps. Additionally, it appears that the system is not reflective of the system that the specification indicates would be required in order to function. The processing apparatus is installed in a place such as a convenience store and is sometimes used to execute a process registered in an information processing apparatus including a cloud server. (See Applicant Spec para 4)
In an exemplary embodiment, examples of identifying information associated with a card or the information processing terminal capable of short-range wireless communication include a card number and a card type of an electronic money card or an application for electronic money installed on the information processing terminal. (See Applicant Spec para 39) When a printing service is used, identifying information of electronic money, such as a card type and a card number, job information and content to be printed are sent from the application for job registration to the cloud server and thereby a print job is requested. (See Applicant Spec para 40) It is the cloud server that is configured to accept a request for a print job sent from the application for job registration, return the reservation number to the application for job registration and to associate the identifying information of electronic money, the job information and the content with each other and retains these data items. The cloud server is either configured to accept the request or the process is more properly drawn to a method if the steps are actually performing the registration process. The claim recites that the identifying information is obtained by the processing apparatus from the card or the information processing terminal via the short range wireless communication, indicating an active method step - which is not a proper system step.
Newly added Claim 9 now adds that the processing apparatus comprises a reader configured to read the identifying information from the card or the information processing terminal via the short-range wireless communication. Here, it should also be recited as capable of short-range wireless communication as seen in the independent claim from which it depends. The claim then adds a wherein clause that the processing apparatus reads the identifying information from the card or the information processing terminal by using the reader and that the processor receives the identifying information and transmits the information to be handled in the process to the processing apparatus.
It appears that the structural set up between the processing apparatus, mobile device, electronic card and cloud server is missing some connections and is being recited in part as system steps and in part as method steps. Dependent claims 2-6 are further rejected as dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
ANALYSIS:
STEP 1:
Does the claimed invention fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition matter?
Claim 1 recites a system claim. Claim 7 recites a non-transitory computer readable claim. Claim 8 recites a method claim. Currently, the CRM claim has an additional non-statutory rejection (as seen below), however Examiner assumes Applicant will amend the claims to recite the invention within statutory bounds.
STEP 2A:
Prong One: Does the Claim Recite A Judicial Exception (An Abstract Idea, Law of Nature or Natural Phenomenon)? (If Yes, Proceed to Prong Two, If No, the claim is not directed to a judicial exception and qualifies as subject matter patent eligible material)
Substantially similar Claims 1, 7-8 recite the abstract idea of information processing. The idea is described by the following limitations:
in accepting registration of a process to be performed…receiving identifying information…and information to be handled in the process and register the process in association with the identifying information;
in performing the registered process, receive the identifying information…;
transmit…the information to be handled in the process registered in association with the received identifying information…performs the registered process using the information.
As the claims currently presented are extremely broad, under a BRI, the claims reflect no more than a process to accept registration of a process to be performed, receiving identifying information to be handled in the process and register the process in association with the identifying information; in performing the registered process receiving the identifying information and transmitting information to be handled in the process registered in association with the received identifying information and performing the registered process using the information.
The recited process, broadly construed may be nothing more than a computer at a high level of generality being used to gather data indicating registration of a process including communication of identifying information associated with some type of wireless communication and transmission of information to be handled in the process registered in association with the received identifying information. This could be entering registration information for access to a facility into a computer and the scanning a card tag with a bar code at the access point. This could be registering a grocery store discount card associated with identifying information and then when the discount card is scanned transmitting coupons or discounts to the register.
As a result, the abstract ideas describe certain methods of organizing human activity where the steps involve managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people and/or commercial interactions including marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations. (i.e., in accepting registration of a process to be performed…receiving identifying information…and information to be handled in the process and register the process in association with the identifying information; in performing the registered process, receive the identifying information…; transmit…the information to be handled in the process registered in association with the received identifying information and performing the registered processing using the information)
(Step 2A, Prong 1: Yes, the claims are abstract)
Prong Two: Does the Claim Recite Additional Elements That Integrate The Judicial Exception Into A Practical Application of the Exception? (If Yes, the claim is not directed to a judicial exception and qualifies as subject matter patent eligible material. If No, Proceed to Step 2B)
The claims do not include additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of the exception because the claims do not provide improvements to another technology or technical field, improvements to the functioning of the computer itself, are not applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, are not applying the judicial exception with, or by use of a particular machine, are not effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, and are not applying the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Claim 1 recites a processor, a processing apparatus, and a card or an information processing terminal capable of short-range wireless communication.
Claim 7 recites a non-transitory computer readable medium, a program, a computer, a processing apparatus, and a card or an information processing terminal capable of short range wireless communication.
Claim 8 recites a processing apparatus, a card or an information processing terminal capable of short range wireless communication.
In particular, the claims only recite a processor, a processing apparatus, a card or an information processing terminal capable of short range wireless communication, a non-transitory computer readable medium, a program, and a computer which are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing generic computer functions) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, Claims 1 and 7-8 are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A – Prong 2: No, the additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
STEP 2B: If there is an exception, determine if the claim as a whole recites significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity: i) receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result‐‐a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added)); ii) performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values); Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ("The computer required by some of Bancorp’s claims is employed only for its most basic function, the performance of repetitive calculations, and as such does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims."); iii) electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2359, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (creating and maintaining "shadow accounts"); Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (updating an activity log); iv) storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; v) electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348, 113 USPQ2d 1354, 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (optical character recognition); and vi) a web browser’s back and forward button functionality, Internet Patent Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1418 (Fed. Cir. 2015). (MPEP §2106.05(d)(II))
This listing is not meant to imply that all computer functions are well‐understood, routine, conventional activities, or that a claim reciting a generic computer component performing a generic computer function is necessarily ineligible. Courts have held computer‐implemented processes not to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus ineligible) where the claim as a whole amounts to nothing more than generic computer functions merely used to implement an abstract idea, such as an idea that could be done by a human analog (i.e., by hand or by merely thinking). On the other hand, courts have held computer-implemented processes to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus eligible), where generic computer components are able in combination to perform functions that are not merely generic. (MPEP §2106.05(d)(II) – emphasis added)
Below are examples of other types of activity that the courts have found to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity: recording a customer’s order, Apple, Inc. v. Ameranth, Inc., 842 F.3d 1229, 1244, 120 USPQ2d 1844, 1856 (Fed. Cir. 2016); shuffling and dealing a standard deck of cards, In re Smith, 815 F.3d 816, 819, 118 USPQ2d 1245, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2016); restricting public access to media by requiring a consumer to view an advertisement, Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 716-17, 112 USPQ2d 1750, 1755-56 (Fed. Cir. 2014); identifying undeliverable mail items, decoding data on those mail items, and creating output data, Return Mail, Inc. v. U.S. Postal Service, -- F.3d --, -- USPQ2d --, slip op. at 32 (Fed. Cir. August 28, 2017); presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; determining an estimated outcome and setting a price, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; and arranging a hierarchy of groups, sorting information, eliminating less restrictive pricing information and determining the price, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1331, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1699 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (MPEP 2106.05(d))
Here, the steps are receiving or transmitting data over a network; storing and retrieving information and electronically scanning or extracting data – all of which have been recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine and conventional functions.
The claims are directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements that do not add meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because they require no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known in the industry.
For the next step of the analysis, it must be determined whether the limitations present in the claims represent a patent-eligible application of the abstract idea. A claim directed to a judicial exception must be analyzed to determine whether the elements of the claim, considered both individually and as an ordered combination are sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the exception itself.
For the role of a computer in a computer implemented invention to be deemed meaningful in the context of this analysis, it must involve more than performance of “well-understood, routine, [and] conventional activities previously known to the industry.” Further, “the mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.”
Applicant’s specification discloses the following:
“Examples of the information processing terminal 18 include a mobile phone such as a smartphone, a tablet computer, and a personal computer, and the information processing terminal 18 is configured to transmit a document to be printed to the cloud server 14 and request printing when the printing service provided by the cloud server 14 is used. In Fig. 1, a smartphone is depicted as an example of the information processing terminal 18.” (See Applicant Spec para 26)
“The image forming apparatus 12 according to the present exemplary embodiment includes a control unit 20 in which a central processing unit (CPU) 20A, a read only memory (ROM) 20B, and a random access memory (RAM) 20C are included as depicted in Fig. 2. The CPU 20A is configured to manage the overall operation of the image forming apparatus 12. The RAM 20C is a memory such as used as a work area while the CPU 20A executes various programs. The ROM 20B is configured to store various control programs, various parameters, and other data in advance. In the image forming apparatus 12, the components in the control unit 20 are electrically connected to each other by using a system bus 42.” (See Applicant Spec para 28)
“When used as the information processing terminal 18, a mobile phone, for example, capable of short-range wireless communication such as NFC serves as an electronic money once an application is installed.” (See Applicant Spec para 35)
“In the embodiments above, the term “processor” refers to hardware in a broad sense. Examples of the processor include general processors (e.g., CPU: Central Processing Unit) and dedicated processors (e.g., GPU: Graphics Processing Unit, ASIC: Application Specific Integrated Circuit, FPGA: Field Programmable Gate Array, and programmable logic device).” (See Applicant Spec para 113)
“In the embodiments above, the term “processor” is broad enough to encompass one processor or plural processors in collaboration which are located physically apart from each other but may work cooperatively. The order of operations of the processor is not limited to one described in the embodiments above and may be changed.” (See Applicant Spec para 114)
“The process performed by each unit in the information processing system 10 according to the exemplary embodiment above may be a process performed by using software, a process performed by using hardware, or a process performed by using a combination of software and hardware. The process performed by each unit in the information processing system 10 may be stored in a recording medium as a program and distributed by using the recording medium.” (See Applicant Spec para 115)
Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system.
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. The collective functions appear to be implemented using conventional computer systemization.
The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Upon reconsideration of the indicia noted under Step 2A in concert with the Step 2B considerations, the additional claim element(s) amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The same analysis applies in Step 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim does not provide an inventive concept significantly more than the abstract idea.
Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The independent claims 1 and 7-8 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Dependent Claims 2-6 further define the abstract idea that is presented in the respective independent Claims 1, and 7-8 and are further grouped as certain methods of organizing human activity and are abstract for the same reasons and basis as presented above.
Dependent Claim 2 further discloses that the identifying information is identifying information of electronic money. Dependent Claim 5 further discloses that the processor is configured to display a screen. Dependent Claim 6 further discloses that the processor is configured to, in accepting registration of the process, issue a reservation number for the process if the identifying information is not received and in performing the registered process, receive the reservation number from the processing apparatus and transmit to the processing apparatus the information to be handled in the process corresponding to the reservation number. Dependent Claim 9 further discloses that the recited processing apparatus comprises a reader configured to read identifying information from the card or the information processing terminal. No further additional components other than those found in the respective independent claims are recited, thus it is presumed that the claim is further utilizing the same generic systemization as presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application of the exception or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination.
Therefore, the dependent claims are also directed to an abstract idea.
Thus, Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 7 is further rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because in order to comply with §101, a computer program product claim must recite that the computer program product comprises a non-transitory computer readable medium having program instructions (or code) embodied thereon and said instructions are configured to control a computer to perform specific functional steps. The claim must then recite the specific functional steps performed by execution of the instructions contained on the computer-readable medium by the computer, rather than reciting the code or software itself (i.e. software per se is not patentable). A computer program product, when properly claimed, describes the method steps performed when executed by a computer system, not the code or software itself.
The preamble for a computer program product has to state that (1) the product is stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium (which is present), (2) the product can be executed on a computer (which is not clearly present) and (3) when executed, the product causes the computer to perform a method (which is not clearly present) where the further limitations are written as method steps. It is the actual method being performed by the computer which is patentable, rather than the software itself.
Here, the program is recited “causing a computer to execute a process”. This adds an additional layer where the program is causing a computer to execute a process and also does not recite when executed causes a computer to perform the method steps directly. The steps do not appear to be performed by the actual execution of the instructions stored on the non-transitory computer readable medium, rather there appears to be an intervening causing of a process to be undertaken.
Examiner Note:
Examiner notes that the specification does provide additional details that are not captured by the claims. Applicant has utilized the term processing apparatus in the claims, which is a broader term that an image forming apparatus that has been used to describe various disclosures in the specification. (See Applicant Spec para 22) The term “processing apparatus” is broader than an image forming apparatus and results in an a more expansive broadest reasonable interpretation and can encompass a variety of different forms. Additionally, there is no involvement of the cloud server in the claims, nor a recitation of the claims to disclose the image forming apparatus that is being described in the majority of the specification. Applicant is encouraged to narrow the claims and specify the distinct process that is sought to be patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morooka (US PG Pub. 2024/0069830) (“Morooka”) in view of Nakamura (US PG Pub. 2021/0337075) (“Nakamura”)
Regarding Claim 1, Morooka discloses the following:
An information processing system comprising:
a processor configured to: (See Morooka paras 27, 32-33 and Fig. 1)
in accepting registration of a process to be performed by a processing apparatus, receive identifying information of a card or an information processing terminal capable of short-range wireless communication and information to be handled in the process and register the process in association with the identifying information; (See Morooka paras 26-30, 31-33, 37-39, 44-49, 87-89 – cloud print services are linked, cloud print compatible printer registered; client terminal, for instance a PC, tablet, smartphone that may execute any application software [information processing terminal]; wired or wireless communication; identification information)
in performing the registered process, receive, from the processing apparatus, the identifying information obtained by the processing apparatus via the short-range wireless communication from the card or the information processing terminal; (See Morooka paras 45-49, 87-89)
transmit to the processing apparatus the information to be handled in the process registered in association with the received identifying information, wherein the processing apparatus performs the registered process using the information. (See Morooka paras 45-50, 56-57, 75-78, 81-84, 85-89, 97-103 – cloud print compatible printer receives printer registration operation for registering the cloud print compatible printer; OS executes subsequent processing related to printing based on the inputted instructions)
Morooka discloses his invention as noted above discloses a setting screen that is displayed by the client terminal and related to a printer, a screen for inputting user information (login and password) and once inputted, the user information is transmitted to the cloud print service and a request for user authorization and an access token is made. (See Morooka para 49) As a result of user authentication being successful, an access token is obtained. (See Morooka para 50) Further, Morooka discloses an example of a command for obtaining resource information using a tenant URL with the example of a print budget that is described. (See Morooka para 79) The user’s print budget information is obtained and cost information from the print data is obtained to determine the fee per printing sheet. (See Morooka paras 79-80) When it is determined that the fee information is less than the print budget information, the print settings extension application determines that printing is possible and passes the print data and print capability information to the print queue. (See Morooka paras 79-80) Further, Morooka discloses that fee information is described as an example of cost information, however does not limit the disclosure to information related to an amount of money. (See Morooka para 109)
Additionally, Morooka discloses the system to include a plurality of client terminals and cloud print compatible printers. (See Morooka Fig. 1, paras 26-27) The cloud print server 102, the cloud print server 103, the application management server 105, and the online support server 106 may each be a server system configured by a plurality of information processing apparatuses. (See Morooka para 27) The network is wired, wireless or a network including both. (See Morooka para 28) The client terminal is, for example, an information processing apparatus, such as a PC, tablet, or a smartphone and is a terminal that may be directly operated by a user. (See Morooka para 29) On the client terminal, any application software may be executed. (See Morooka para 29) The cloud print compatible printer is a device for performing printing on a printing medium and is an image forming apparatus for converting print data received in the network to image data and printing an image on a printing medium. (See Morooka para 29) The cloud print compatible printer receives print data generated by the cloud printer driver of the client terminal via the cloud print servers. (See Morooka para 29)
While Morooka does disclose fees and costs and wireless communication and by use of a client terminal such as a smartphone, envisions the potential of short range wireless communication making it capable of short range communication, it does not fully disclose receiving identifying information of a card or information processing terminal as to identifying information of electronic money, a processing terminal capable of short-range communication or collecting a charge for the process from the electronic money corresponding to the identifying information.
Nakamura discloses his invention as to an image forming device that includes a hardware processor that receives a charging job that is an object of charging; searches for a charging information storage that is around the device when the charging job is received; obtains charging information from the searched charging information storage; carries out a charging process for the charging job based on the charging information and processes the charging job after the charging process is carried out. (See Nakamura Abstract)
Nakamura discloses an exemplary structure of an image forming device in Figure 1 that includes a card information reader that reads information stored in a storage such as an IC card. (See Nakamura paras 30-33, Fig. 1) The card information reader can obtain information to be used for authentication of the user, for example. (See Nakamura para 33) The image forming device receives a job that produces a printed output, such as a print job or a copy job, for instance, as a job to be charged (hereafter charging job). (See Nakamura para 34) Once the charging job is received, the image forming device runs a search for a charging information storage that is around the device and obtains charging information in the charging information storage. (See Nakamura para 34) The charging information storage of the first embodiment is constructed by a portable terminal carried by a user. (See Nakamura para 34)
Once receiving the charging job, the image forming device runs a search for the portable terminal that is around the device and obtains the charging information from the portable terminal and establishes a wireless communication with the portable terminal so that it is enabled to run an automatic search for the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 35)
Nakamura discloses that once the charging job is received, the charging information storage of the first embodiment is constructed by a portable terminal and may be an application installed in the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 34) The charging information contains information relating to a charging application that charges through electronic money payment, credit card payment and/or payment of direct withdrawal from a bank account. (See Nakamura para 34) The image forming device establishes a wireless communication with the portable terminal and is enabled to automatically obtain the charging information from the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 35) The image forming device starts the charging application in the portable terminal based on the charging information obtained from the portable terminal and enables the charging application to charge a charging amount required for the processing of the charging job. (See Nakamura para 35)
Nakamura further discloses an example of the user information. (See Nakamura para 40) Authentication information to authenticate the user who uses the image forming device is registered as the user information and the user who is allowed to use the image forming device 1 is registered with the user information. (See Nakamura para 40 and Fig. 3) The authentication information includes information defining a feature of a face of the user for the face authentication, information defining a feature of a finger print pattern or a vein pattern of the user for the biological authentication and/or information registered in the IC card carried by the user for the card authentication. (See Nakamura para 40 – registered information for a card)
Figure 4 of Nakamura further discloses an example of the terminal information where information relating to the portable terminal carried by the user is registered as terminal information and includes a user name, terminal ID of the portable terminal, and a MAC address of the portable terminal are registered with terminal information. (See Nakamura para 41 and Fig. 4) The terminal ID is information to identify the portable terminal carried by the user and the MAC address is also information to identify the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 41 – registered information with an information processing terminal to identify the portable terminal)
The network interface is an interface that connects the image forming device to a network, which may be wired or wireless. (See Nakamura para 42) The image forming device is enabled to receive a print job sent from the information processing device via the network interface. (See Nakamura para 42)
The communication interface is an interface that establishes wireless communication such as Bluetooth and/or WiFi, for example and automatically establishes a connection with the portable terminal within a predetermined distance of the image forming device and makes the wireless connection. (See Nakamura para 43 – Bluetooth is short range wireless communication)
In the disclosure of Fig. 5 of Nakamura, it is further disclosed that when a person is detected around an image forming device by the person detecting sensor, the authenticating unit also brings the card information reader into operation and waits for receiving the card information from the card information reader. (See Nakamura para 53) While the authenticating unit is waiting, the card information reader may read the card information of the user and then the authenticating unit performs card authentication based on the card information. (See Nakamura para 53 and Fig. 5 – card information read by card reader) The authenticating unit determines if the information read from the IC card carried by the user is registered with the authentication information where if the read information is registered with the authentication information and if the read information is registered with the authentication information, the user who is trying to use the image forming device is identified through the authentication by the authenticating unit and the authentication results in success. (See Nakamura para 53 – receiving identifying information from the card)
Figure 6 of Nakamura further details an exemplary hardware structure of the portable terminal, which may be a smartphone or tablet terminal and discloses the communication interface is an interface that establishes wireless communication by Bluetooth. (See Nakamura paras 63-64 and Fig. 6) The communication interface establishes a connection with another device (for instance the image forming device) which is in a predetermined distance of the portable terminal and makes the wireless communication. (See Nakamura para 64)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the information processing apparatus, method and system disclosing execution of a cloud print service to execute printing involving user authentication and the use of identifying information in registering printer information and generating a print queue as well as charging fees for printing as disclosed by Marooka with receiving charging information related to charges through electronic money payment or credit card payment to charge for printed output an at image forming device as taught by Nakamura in order to streamline payment for printing outputs.
Regarding Claim 7, this claim recites substantially similar limitations as those seen in Claim 1 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same reasons and basis as disclosed above. Further, Morooka discloses the following:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a process for information processing, the process comprising: (See Morooka para 7)
Regarding Claim 8, this claim recites substantially similar limitations as those seen in Claim 1 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same reasons and basis as disclosed above.
Regarding Claim 2, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 1 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Morooka in view of Nakamura discloses the following:
wherein the identifying information is identifying information of electronic money.
Morooka discloses his invention as noted above discloses a setting screen that is displayed by the client terminal and related to a printer, a screen for inputting user information (login and password) and once inputted, the user information is transmitted to the cloud print service and a request for user authorization and an access token is made. (See Morooka para 49) As a result of user authentication being successful, an access token is obtained. (See Morooka para 50) Further, Morooka discloses an example of a command for obtaining resource information using a tenant URL with the example of a print budget that is described. (See Morooka para 79) The user’s print budget information is obtained and cost information from the print data is obtained to determine the fee per printing sheet. (See Morooka paras 79-80) When it is determined that the fee information is less than the print budget information, the print settings extension application determines that printing is possible and passes the print data and print capability information to the print queue. (See Morooka paras 79-80) Further, Morooka discloses that fee information is described as an example of cost information, however does not limit the disclosure to information related to an amount of money. (See Morooka para 109)
While Morooka does disclose fees and costs, it does not fully disclose receiving identifying information of a card or information processing terminal as to identifying information of electronic money or collecting a charge for the process from the electronic money corresponding to the identifying information.
Nakamura discloses his invention as to an image forming device that includes a hardware processor that receives a charging job that is an object of charging; searches for a charging information storage that is around the device when the charging job is received; obtains charging information from the searched charging information storage; carries out a charging process for the charging job based on the charging information and processes the charging job after the charging process is carried out. (See Nakamura Abstract)
Nakamura discloses that once the charging job is received, the charging information storage of the first embodiment is constructed by a portable terminal and may be an application installed in the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 34) The charging information contains information relating to a charging application that charges through electronic money payment, credit card payment and/or payment of direct withdrawal from a bank account. (See Nakamura para 34) The image forming device establishes a wireless communication with the portable terminal and is enabled to automatically obtain the charging information from the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 35) The image forming device starts the charging application in the portable terminal based on the charging information obtained from the portable terminal and enables the charging application to charge a charging amount required for the processing of the charging job. (See Nakamura para 35)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the information processing apparatus, method and system disclosing execution of a cloud print service to execute printing involving user authentication and the use of identifying information in registering printer information and generating a print queue as well as charging fees for printing as disclosed by Marooka with receiving charging information related to charges through electronic money payment or credit card payment to charge for printed output an at image forming device as taught by Nakamura in order to streamline payment for printing outputs.
Regarding Claim 3, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 2 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Morooka in view of Nakamura discloses the following:
wherein the processor is configured to collect a charge for the process from the electronic money corresponding to the identifying information.
Morooka discloses his invention as noted above discloses a setting screen that is displayed by the client terminal and related to a printer, a screen for inputting user information (login and password) and once inputted, the user information is transmitted to the cloud print service and a request for user authorization and an access token is made. (See Morooka para 49) As a result of user authentication being successful, an access token is obtained. (See Morooka para 50) Further, Morooka discloses an example of a command for obtaining resource information using a tenant URL with the example of a print budget that is described. (See Morooka para 79) The user’s print budget information is obtained and cost information from the print data is obtained to determine the fee per printing sheet. (See Morooka paras 79-80) When it is determined that the fee information is less than the print budget information, the print settings extension application determines that printing is possible and passes the print data and print capability information to the print queue. (See Morooka paras 79-80) Further, Morooka discloses that fee information is described as an example of cost information, however does not limit the disclosure to information related to an amount of money. (See Morooka para 109)
While Morooka does disclose fees and costs, it does not fully disclose receiving identifying information of a card or information processing terminal as to identifying information of electronic money or collecting a charge for the process from the electronic money corresponding to the identifying information.
Nakamura discloses his invention as to an image forming device that includes a hardware processor that receives a charging job that is an object of charging; searches for a charging information storage that is around the device when the charging job is received; obtains charging information from the searched charging information storage; carries out a charging process for the charging job based on the charging information and processes the charging job after the charging process is carried out. (See Nakamura Abstract)
Nakamura discloses that once the charging job is received, the charging information storage of the first embodiment is constructed by a portable terminal and may be an application installed in the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 34) The charging information contains information relating to a charging application that charges through electronic money payment, credit card payment and/or payment of direct withdrawal from a bank account. (See Nakamura para 34) The image forming device establishes a wireless communication with the portable terminal and is enabled to automatically obtain the charging information from the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 35) The image forming device starts the charging application in the portable terminal based on the charging information obtained from the portable terminal and enables the charging application to charge a charging amount required for the processing of the charging job. (See Nakamura para 35)
Nakamura further discloses that after receiving the job, the job receiving unit determines if the job is a job to be charged and if so, the user identifying unit is brought into operation and identifies the user who issued the print job. (See Nakamura paras 46-47) The charging amount calculator calculates an amount to be charged for the charging job. (See Nakamura paras 48-49)
Once obtaining charging information from the portable terminal, the charging unit charges for the charging job based on the charging information received from the charging information obtaining unit. (See Nakamura – collects a charge) After the charging process is carried out, the charging unit receives a charge completion notice where the charging application may be an application that carries out an electric money payment. (See Nakamura paras 59-60)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the information processing apparatus, method and system disclosing execution of a cloud print service to execute printing involving user authentication and the use of identifying information in registering printer information and generating a print queue as well as charging fees for printing as disclosed by Marooka with receiving charging information related to charges through electronic money payment or credit card payment to charge for printed output an at image forming device as taught by Nakamura in order to streamline payment for printing outputs.
Regarding Claim 4, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 1 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Morooka in view of Nakamura discloses the following:
wherein the processor is configured to, in accepting registration of the process, receive the identifying information and the information to be handled in the process from an information processing terminal in which the identifying information has been registered in advance. (See Morooka paras 26-30, 31-33, 37-39, 44-49, 87-89)
Morooka discloses his invention as noted above discloses a setting screen that is displayed by the client terminal and related to a printer, a screen for inputting user information (login and password) and once inputted, the user information is transmitted to the cloud print service and a request for user authorization and an access token is made. (See Morooka para 49) As a result of user authentication being successful, an access token is obtained. (See Morooka para 50) Further, Morooka discloses an example of a command for obtaining resource information using a tenant URL with the example of a print budget that is described. (See Morooka para 79) The user’s print budget information is obtained and cost information from the print data is obtained to determine the fee per printing sheet. (See Morooka paras 79-80) When it is determined that the fee information is less than the print budget information, the print settings extension application determines that printing is possible and passes the print data and print capability information to the print queue. (See Morooka paras 79-80) Further, Morooka discloses that fee information is described as an example of cost information, however does not limit the disclosure to information related to an amount of money. (See Morooka para 109)
While Morooka does disclose fees and costs, it does not fully disclose receiving identifying information of a card or information processing terminal as to identifying information of electronic money or collecting a charge for the process from the electronic money corresponding to the identifying information.
Nakamura discloses his invention as to an image forming device that includes a hardware processor that receives a charging job that is an object of charging; searches for a charging information storage that is around the device when the charging job is received; obtains charging information from the searched charging information storage; carries out a charging process for the charging job based on the charging information and processes the charging job after the charging process is carried out. (See Nakamura Abstract)
Nakamura discloses that once the charging job is received, the charging information storage of the first embodiment is constructed by a portable terminal and may be an application installed in the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 34) The charging information contains information relating to a charging application that charges through electronic money payment, credit card payment and/or payment of direct withdrawal from a bank account. (See Nakamura para 34) The image forming device establishes a wireless communication with the portable terminal and is enabled to automatically obtain the charging information from the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 35) The image forming device starts the charging application in the portable terminal based on the charging information obtained from the portable terminal and enables the charging application to charge a charging amount required for the processing of the charging job. (See Nakamura para 35)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the information processing apparatus, method and system disclosing execution of a cloud print service to execute printing involving user authentication and the use of identifying information in registering printer information and generating a print queue as well as charging fees for printing as disclosed by Marooka with receiving charging information related to charges through electronic money payment or credit card payment to charge for printed output an at image forming device as taught by Nakamura in order to streamline payment for printing outputs.
Regarding Claim 5, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 4 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Morooka in view of Nakamura discloses the following:
wherein the processor is configured to, in accepting the registration of the process, cause the information processing terminal to display a screen determined in advance based on whether an application is installed onto the information processing terminal and how the application is configured. (See Morooka paras 26-30, 31-33, 37-39, 44-49, 87-89 – setup operations for performing printing in the cloud print compatible printer is an operation received via the screen of Fig. 4, for example)
Morooka discloses his invention as noted above discloses a setting screen that is displayed by the client terminal and related to a printer, a screen for inputting user information (login and password) and once inputted, the user information is transmitted to the cloud print service and a request for user authorization and an access token is made. (See Morooka para 49) As a result of user authentication being successful, an access token is obtained. (See Morooka para 50) Further, Morooka discloses an example of a command for obtaining resource information using a tenant URL with the example of a print budget that is described. (See Morooka para 79) The user’s print budget information is obtained and cost information from the print data is obtained to determine the fee per printing sheet. (See Morooka paras 79-80) When it is determined that the fee information is less than the print budget information, the print settings extension application determines that printing is possible and passes the print data and print capability information to the print queue. (See Morooka paras 79-80) Further, Morooka discloses that fee information is described as an example of cost information, however does not limit the disclosure to information related to an amount of money. (See Morooka para 109)
While Morooka does disclose fees and costs, it does not fully disclose receiving identifying information of a card or information processing terminal as to identifying information of electronic money or collecting a charge for the process from the electronic money corresponding to the identifying information.
Nakamura discloses his invention as to an image forming device that includes a hardware processor that receives a charging job that is an object of charging; searches for a charging information storage that is around the device when the charging job is received; obtains charging information from the searched charging information storage; carries out a charging process for the charging job based on the charging information and processes the charging job after the charging process is carried out. (See Nakamura Abstract)
Nakamura discloses that once the charging job is received, the charging information storage of the first embodiment is constructed by a portable terminal and may be an application installed in the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 34) The charging information contains information relating to a charging application that charges through electronic money payment, credit card payment and/or payment of direct withdrawal from a bank account. (See Nakamura para 34) The image forming device establishes a wireless communication with the portable terminal and is enabled to automatically obtain the charging information from the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 35) The image forming device starts the charging application in the portable terminal based on the charging information obtained from the portable terminal and enables the charging application to charge a charging amount required for the processing of the charging job. (See Nakamura para 35)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the information processing apparatus, method and system disclosing execution of a cloud print service to execute printing involving user authentication and the use of identifying information in registering printer information and generating a print queue as well as charging fees for printing as disclosed by Marooka with receiving charging information related to charges through electronic money payment or credit card payment to charge for printed output an at image forming device as taught by Nakamura in order to streamline payment for printing outputs.
Regarding Claim 6, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 1 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Morooka in view of Nakamura discloses the following:
wherein the processor is configured to, in accepting registration of the process, issue a reservation number for the process if the identifying information is not received and in performing the registered process, receive the reservation number from the processing apparatus and transmit to the processing apparatus the information to be handled in the process corresponding to the reservation number.(See Morooka paras 26-30, 31-33, 37-39, 44-49, 61-63, 87-89 – package family name and a value of printer hardware ID must match in the queue)
Morooka discloses his invention as noted above discloses a setting screen that is displayed by the client terminal and related to a printer, a screen for inputting user information (login and password) and once inputted, the user information is transmitted to the cloud print service and a request for user authorization and an access token is made. (See Morooka para 49) As a result of user authentication being successful, an access token is obtained. (See Morooka para 50) Further, Morooka discloses an example of a command for obtaining resource information using a tenant URL with the example of a print budget that is described. (See Morooka para 79) The user’s print budget information is obtained and cost information from the print data is obtained to determine the fee per printing sheet. (See Morooka paras 79-80) When it is determined that the fee information is less than the print budget information, the print settings extension application determines that printing is possible and passes the print data and print capability information to the print queue. (See Morooka paras 79-80) Further, Morooka discloses that fee information is described as an example of cost information, however does not limit the disclosure to information related to an amount of money. (See Morooka para 109)
While Morooka does disclose fees and costs, it does not fully disclose receiving identifying information of a card or information processing terminal as to identifying information of electronic money or collecting a charge for the process from the electronic money corresponding to the identifying information.
Nakamura discloses his invention as to an image forming device that includes a hardware processor that receives a charging job that is an object of charging; searches for a charging information storage that is around the device when the charging job is received; obtains charging information from the searched charging information storage; carries out a charging process for the charging job based on the charging information and processes the charging job after the charging process is carried out. (See Nakamura Abstract)
Nakamura discloses that once the charging job is received, the charging information storage of the first embodiment is constructed by a portable terminal and may be an application installed in the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 34) The charging information contains information relating to a charging application that charges through electronic money payment, credit card payment and/or payment of direct withdrawal from a bank account. (See Nakamura para 34) The image forming device establishes a wireless communication with the portable terminal and is enabled to automatically obtain the charging information from the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 35) The image forming device starts the charging application in the portable terminal based on the charging information obtained from the portable terminal and enables the charging application to charge a charging amount required for the processing of the charging job. (See Nakamura para 35)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the information processing apparatus, method and system disclosing execution of a cloud print service to execute printing involving user authentication and the use of identifying information in registering printer information and generating a print queue as well as charging fees for printing as disclosed by Marooka with receiving charging information related to charges through electronic money payment or credit card payment to charge for printed output an at image forming device as taught by Nakamura in order to streamline payment for printing outputs.
Regarding Claim 9, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 1 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Morooka in view of Nakamura discloses the following:
wherein the processing apparatus comprises a reader configured to read the identifying information from the card or the information processing terminal via the short-range wireless communication, and
wherein the processing apparatus reads the identifying information from the card or the information processing terminal by using the reader, and
wherein the processor is configured to:
in response to receiving the identifying information read by the reader from the processing apparatus, transmit the information to be handled in the process to the processing apparatus.
Morooka discloses his invention as noted above discloses a setting screen that is displayed by the client terminal and related to a printer, a screen for inputting user information (login and password) and once inputted, the user information is transmitted to the cloud print service and a request for user authorization and an access token is made. (See Morooka para 49) As a result of user authentication being successful, an access token is obtained. (See Morooka para 50) Further, Morooka discloses an example of a command for obtaining resource information using a tenant URL with the example of a print budget that is described. (See Morooka para 79) The user’s print budget information is obtained and cost information from the print data is obtained to determine the fee per printing sheet. (See Morooka paras 79-80) When it is determined that the fee information is less than the print budget information, the print settings extension application determines that printing is possible and passes the print data and print capability information to the print queue. (See Morooka paras 79-80) Further, Morooka discloses that fee information is described as an example of cost information, however does not limit the disclosure to information related to an amount of money. (See Morooka para 109)
Additionally, Morooka discloses the system to include a plurality of client terminals and cloud print compatible printers. (See Morooka Fig. 1, paras 26-27) The cloud print server 102, the cloud print server 103, the application management server 105, and the online support server 106 may each be a server system configured by a plurality of information processing apparatuses. (See Morooka para 27) The network is wired, wireless or a network including both. (See Morooka para 28) The client terminal is, for example, an information processing apparatus, such as a PC, tablet, or a smartphone and is a terminal that may be directly operated by a user. (See Morooka para 29) On the client terminal, any application software may be executed. (See Morooka para 29) The cloud print compatible printer is a device for performing printing on a printing medium and is an image forming apparatus for converting print data received in the network to image data and printing an image on a printing medium. (See Morooka para 29) The cloud print compatible printer receives print data generated by the cloud printer driver of the client terminal via the cloud print servers. (See Morooka para 29)
While Morooka does disclose fees and costs and wireless communication and by use of a client terminal such as a smartphone, envisions the potential of short range wireless communication making it capable of short range communication, it does not fully disclose receiving identifying information of a card or information processing terminal as to identifying information of electronic money, a processing terminal capable of short-range communication or collecting a charge for the process from the electronic money corresponding to the identifying information, nor does Morooka fully describe the processing apparatus having a reader configured to read identifying information from the card or the information processing terminal via short-range wireless communication, wherein the processing apparatus reads the identifying information from the card or the processing terminal by using the reader and in response to receiving the identifying information read by the reader from the processing apparatus, transmit the information to be handled in the process to the processing apparatus.
Nakamura discloses his invention as to an image forming device that includes a hardware processor that receives a charging job that is an object of charging; searches for a charging information storage that is around the device when the charging job is received; obtains charging information from the searched charging information storage; carries out a charging process for the charging job based on the charging information and processes the charging job after the charging process is carried out. (See Nakamura Abstract)
Nakamura discloses an exemplary structure of an image forming device in Figure 1 that includes a card information reader that reads information stored in a storage such as an IC card. (See Nakamura paras 30-33, Fig. 1) The card information reader can obtain information to be used for authentication of the user, for example. (See Nakamura para 33) The image forming device receives a job that produces a printed output, such as a print job or a copy job, for instance, as a job to be charged (hereafter charging job). (See Nakamura para 34) Once the charging job is received, the image forming device runs a search for a charging information storage that is around the device and obtains charging information in the charging information storage. (See Nakamura para 34) The charging information storage of the first embodiment is constructed by a portable terminal carried by a user. (See Nakamura para 34)
Once receiving the charging job, the image forming device runs a search for the portable terminal that is around the device and obtains the charging information from the portable terminal and establishes a wireless communication with the portable terminal so that it is enabled to run an automatic search for the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 35)
Nakamura discloses that once the charging job is received, the charging information storage of the first embodiment is constructed by a portable terminal and may be an application installed in the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 34) The charging information contains information relating to a charging application that charges through electronic money payment, credit card payment and/or payment of direct withdrawal from a bank account. (See Nakamura para 34) The image forming device establishes a wireless communication with the portable terminal and is enabled to automatically obtain the charging information from the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 35) The image forming device starts the charging application in the portable terminal based on the charging information obtained from the portable terminal and enables the charging application to charge a charging amount required for the processing of the charging job. (See Nakamura para 35)
Nakamura further discloses an example of the user information. (See Nakamura para 40) Authentication information to authenticate the user who uses the image forming device is registered as the user information and the user who is allowed to use the image forming device 1 is registered with the user information. (See Nakamura para 40 and Fig. 3) The authentication information includes information defining a feature of a face of the user for the face authentication, information defining a feature of a finger print pattern or a vein pattern of the user for the biological authentication and/or information registered in the IC card carried by the user for the card authentication. (See Nakamura para 40 – registered information for a card)
Figure 4 of Nakamura further discloses an example of the terminal information where information relating to the portable terminal carried by the user is registered as terminal information and includes a user name, terminal ID of the portable terminal, and a MAC address of the portable terminal are registered with terminal information. (See Nakamura para 41 and Fig. 4) The terminal ID is information to identify the portable terminal carried by the user and the MAC address is also information to identify the portable terminal. (See Nakamura para 41 – registered information with an information processing terminal to identify the portable terminal)
The network interface is an interface that connects the image forming device to a network, which may be wired or wireless. (See Nakamura para 42) The image forming device is enabled to receive a print job sent from the information processing device via the network interface. (See Nakamura para 42)
The communication interface is an interface that establishes wireless communication such as Bluetooth and/or WiFi, for example and automatically establishes a connection with the portable terminal within a predetermined distance of the image forming device and makes the wireless connection. (See Nakamura para 43 – Bluetooth is short range wireless communication)
In the disclosure of Fig. 5 of Nakamura, it is further disclosed that when a person is detected around an image forming device by the person detecting sensor, the authenticating unit also brings the card information reader into operation and waits for receiving the card information from the card information reader. (See Nakamura para 53) While the authenticating unit is waiting, the card information reader may read the card information of the user and then the authenticating unit performs card authentication based on the card information. (See Nakamura para 53 and Fig. 5 – card information read by card reader) The authenticating unit determines if the information read from the IC card carried by the user is registered with the authentication information where if the read information is registered with the authentication information and if the read information is registered with the authentication information, the user who is trying to use the image forming device is identified through the authentication by the authenticating unit and the authentication results in success. (See Nakamura para 53 – receiving identifying information from the card)
The user is identified through authentication by the authenticating unit and the copy job is received by the job receiving unit. (See Nakamura paras 56-57 – job received)
Figure 6 of Nakamura further details an exemplary hardware structure of the portable terminal, which may be a smartphone or tablet terminal and discloses the communication interface is an interface that establishes wireless communication by Bluetooth. (See Nakamura paras 63-64 and Fig. 6) The communication interface establishes a connection with another device (for instance the image forming device) which is in a predetermined distance of the portable terminal and makes the wireless communication. (See Nakamura para 64)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the information processing apparatus, method and system disclosing execution of a cloud print service to execute printing involving user authentication and the use of identifying information in registering printer information and generating a print queue as well as charging fees for printing as disclosed by Marooka with receiving charging information related to charges through electronic money payment or credit card payment to charge for printed output an at image forming device as taught by Nakamura in order to streamline payment for printing outputs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 28, 2026 have been fully considered as further detailed below.
As to the 101 Rejection:
Applicant argues that the claims do not recite an abstract idea and argues that the claimed architecture initiates identification and delivery of the appropriate process data, after which the data is used for actual machine processing. (See Applicant’s Arguments dated 07/28/2026, pages 6-7) Applicant further argues that the proximity communication and machine processing are not insignificant data gathering or post solution activities and assert that they form integral parts of the mechanism that replaces the prior image capturing and command transmission operations. (Id. at page 7) Applicant concludes that the claim integrates the alleged abstract idea into a particular technological implementation and improves how the devices cooperate to initiate and execute a registered process and thus are subject matter patent eligible. (Id. at pages 7-8)
Examiner disagrees. The currently presented claims are extremely broad and may be nothing more than a computer recited at a high level of generality that is used to gather data and transmit information in response to perform the registered process. This may be nothing more than access or scanning an affinity card. The process that Applicant is asserting is not presented in the claims in a specific enough way to convey the alleged improvement. The 101 Rejection is maintained.
As to the 103 Rejection:
Based on Applicant’s arguments and amendments, Examiner has applied further disclosure from both of the prior art references, as seen in the rejection in chief. (Id. at pages 8-10)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMBREEN A. ALLADIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3691 October 10, 2026