DETAILED ACTION
Status of claim
Examined:
1-8
Independent:
1, 6
Priority
As detailed on the 12/20/2023 filing receipt, this application does not claim domestic or foreign priority. The effective filing date of this application is 09/08/2023.
Drawings
The drawings filed 9/08/2023 are accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
No Information Disclosure Statements are provided.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“…a sample set processing module configured for acquiring a training sample set…;” “…an unsupervised pre-training module configured for performing unsupervised pre-training…;” “…an input setting module configured for coupling two matrices for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence into a multi-dimensional symmetric matrix…” and “…a model training module configured for fitting the experimental measurement classification and regression value of protein and small molecule interaction…” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (line 14) recites “…fitting the experimental measurement classification and regression value…” which requires but lacks antecedent basis in the claims because there is no previous recitation of " experimental measurement classification " in the claims.
Claim 3 recites “generating a one-dimensional…” (line 3) “…the feature representation being a one-dimensional or multidimensional symmetric matrix.” (line 14). It is not clear whether a one-dimensional in line 14 is referring to the same one-dimensional as in line 3.
Claim 4 recites “a multi-dimensional symmetric matrix” (line 2) and “to obtain a multi-dimensional symmetric matrix” (Line 5). It is not clear whether a multi-dimensional in line 5 is referring to the same multi-dimensional as in line 2.
See as discussed above (claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)), regarding claim 6, there is no disclosure in the originally filed specification of structure or material that is a “sample set processing module" that is "configured for acquiring a training sample set,” “an unsupervised pre-training module” that is “configured for performing unsupervised pre-training,” “an input setting module” that is “configured for coupling two matrices for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence into a multi-dimensional symmetric matrix” and “a model training module” that is “configured for fitting the experimental measurement classification and regression value of protein and small molecule interaction” as presently claimed. Because there is no clear structure associated with the claimed terminology “sample set processing module,” “unsupervised pre-training module,” “an input setting module,” and “a model training module” for performing the recited function, the claim is indefinite.
Dependent claims are rejected for being dependent on rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Analysis of claims in Step 1.
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a 101 process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
Independent claim 1 is directed to a 101 process, here a "protein virtual screening method," with process steps such as " acquiring…, performing…"
[Step 1: claims 1-5 and 7-8: YES]
In accordance with MPEP § 2106, claims found to recite statutory subject matter (Step 1: YES) are then analyzed to determine if the claims recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 1). In the instant application, the claims recite the following limitations that equate to an abstract idea:
Mental processes recited include:
Claim 1 recites: "… predicting different protein prediction tasks by the screening model to output prediction results…” The limitation is an act of evaluating, analyzing, observing and judging data that could be practically performed in the human mind and/or with pen and paper (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection III).
Claim 2 recites: “…executing a masking strategy based on a BERT-type masking language model, randomly masking binding sites of protein targets…”
Mathematical concepts recited include:
Claim 1 recites “…performing unsupervised pre-training on a Transformer model with the source data as input and the sample data as verification, and respectively generating a one- dimensional or multi-dimensional symmetric matrix for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence; coupling two matrices for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence into a multi-dimensional symmetric matrix, and using the multi-dimensional symmetric matrix as an input of an hidden layer of a BiLSTM network model; fitting the experimental measurement classification and regression value of protein and small molecule interaction by the Bilstm network model to obtain to a trained screening model; and predicting different protein prediction tasks by the screening model to output prediction results.”
Claim 2 recites “…executing a masking strategy based on a BERT-type masking language model, randomly masking binding sites of protein targets…”
Claim 3 recites “…performing unsupervised pre-training on a Transformer model with the source data as input and the sample data as verification; and respectively generating a one-dimensional or multi-dimensional symmetric matrix for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence comprises: inputting the training sample sets of the protein sequence and the ligand sequence into an input embedding layer of the Transformer model, respectively; embedding the training sample sets by the input embedding layer of the Transformer model; inputting the embedded training sample sets into an intermediate hidden layer of the Transformer model; learning feature representation of the training sample sets by the intermediate hidden layer of the Transformer model; and outputting the learned feature representation by an output prediction layer of the Transformer model, the feature representation being a one-dimensional or multi-dimensional symmetric matrix.”
Claim 4 recites: “…coupling two matrices for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence by an QSAR model to obtain a multi-dimensional symmetric matrix.”
Claim 5 recites: “…characterized in that the fitting the experimental measurement classification and regression value of protein and small molecule interaction by the Bilstm network model to obtain to a trained screening model comprises: acquiring a protein sequence X= … wherein gt is the output of first several layers, the first several layers are in a forward input, and LSTM t is a last layer of the forward LSTM; g, and gt are defined similarly and in opposite directions; LSTM r and LSTM r are defined similarly and in opposite directions; and fitting the experimental measurement classification and regression value of protein and small molecule interaction by embedding vector z, by means of the learning transformation and softmax function the to obtain to a trained screening model; the softmax function is ) = softmax t Wg Ib) where W and b are learning parameters,” which is a mathematical model and formula.
Claim 1, as indicated above, recite mental processes, because the claim elements are involved with predicting and claim 2 is involved with masking sites of a protein, which are all acts of evaluating, analyzing, observing and judging data. Acts of evaluating and analyzing data could be practically performed in the human mind and/or with pen and paper because they merely require making observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III). Overall, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the indicated claims above can be practically carried out in the human mind or with pen and paper as claimed, which falls under the "mental processes" grouping of abstract ideas.
Claims 1-6 as indicated above, are mathematical concepts and/or mathematical formulas that requires performing a series of calculations/operations. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the indicated claims above falls under the “mathematical concepts” grouping of abstract ideas.
As such, claims 1-5 and 7-8 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 1: YES).
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims as a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2). The above indicated judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite an additional elements that apply, rely on or use the judicial exception in such a manner to amount to integration into a practical application. For example, there are no limitations that reflect an improvement to technology or applies or uses the recited judicial exception in some other meaningful way. Rather, the instant claims recite additional elements that equate to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or insignificant extra solution activity. Specifically, the instant claims recite the following additional elements:
Claim 1 recites "acquiring a training sample set, wherein the training sample set comprises source data and sample data corresponding to the source data; the source data comprises protein sequences and ligand sequences of a small molecule compound which can bind to the protein; the sample data comprises subsequences of binding sites of the protein and the small molecule compound… with the source data as input and the sample data as verification, and respectively generating a one- dimensional or multi-dimensional symmetric matrix for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence… using the multi-dimensional symmetric matrix as an input of an hidden layer of a BiLSTM network model…"
Claim 2 recites “…acquiring a training sample set... obtaining a discontinuous protein sequence characterization and using the discontinuous protein sequence characterization as sample data; and correspondingly storing the source data and the sample data to obtain training sample sets.”
Claim 3 recites “…source data as input and the sample data as verification; and respectively generating a one-dimensional or multi-dimensional symmetric matrix for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence comprises: inputting the training sample sets of the protein sequence and the ligand sequence into an input embedding layer of the Transformer model, respectively; embedding the training sample sets by the input embedding layer of the Transformer model; inputting the embedded training sample sets into an intermediate hidden layer of the Transformer model; learning feature representation of the training sample sets by the intermediate hidden layer of the Transformer model; and outputting the learned feature representation by an output prediction layer of the Transformer model, the feature representation being a one-dimensional or multi-dimensional symmetric matrix.”
Claim 5 recites: “…acquiring a protein sequence…”
Claim 7 recites: “…computer equipment comprising a memory and a processor, with the memory having stored there on a computer program…”
Claim 8 recites: “…computer-readable storage medium having stored there on a computer program…processor…”
As indicated above, claims 7-8 recite generic computer components, which are tools used to execute the abstract idea. The use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The elements of claims 1-6, as indicated above, equate to insignificant extra solutional activities of data gathering and outputting. Extra-solution activity includes both pre-solution and post-solution activity. An example of pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, which is recited as part of a claimed process of analyzing and manipulating the gathered information by a series of steps in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. An example of post-solution activity is an element that is not integrated into the claim as a whole, e.g., a printer that is used to output a report of fraudulent transactions, which is recited in a claim to a computer programmed to analyze and manipulate information about credit card transactions in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). Limitations that add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(g) have been identified by the courts to not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(I)). Additionally, the listed additional elements are mere instructions to apply an exception because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome and does not recite a technological solution to a technological problem. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)(1)). As such, as currently recited, the claims do not appear to recite an improvement to technology or apply or use the recited judicial exception in some other meaningful way. Therefore, claims 1-5 and 7-8 are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 2: NO).
Claims found to be directed to a judicial exception are then further evaluated to determine if the claims recite an inventive concept that provides significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B). The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims recite additional elements that equate to well-understood, routine and conventional activities, insignificant extra-solution activity or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. The instant claims recite the following additional elements:
Claim 1 recites "acquiring a training sample set, wherein the training sample set comprises source data and sample data corresponding to the source data; the source data comprises protein sequences and ligand sequences of a small molecule compound which can bind to the protein; the sample data comprises subsequences of binding sites of the protein and the small molecule compound… with the source data as input and the sample data as verification, and respectively generating a one- dimensional or multi-dimensional symmetric matrix for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence… using the multi-dimensional symmetric matrix as an input of an hidden layer of a BiLSTM network model…"
Claim 2 recites “…acquiring a training sample set... obtaining a discontinuous protein sequence characterization and using the discontinuous protein sequence characterization as sample data; and correspondingly storing the source data and the sample data to obtain training sample sets.”
Claim 3 recites “…source data as input and the sample data as verification; and respectively generating a one-dimensional or multi-dimensional symmetric matrix for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence comprises: inputting the training sample sets of the protein sequence and the ligand sequence into an input embedding layer of the Transformer model, respectively; embedding the training sample sets by the input embedding layer of the Transformer model; inputting the embedded training sample sets into an intermediate hidden layer of the Transformer model; learning feature representation of the training sample sets by the intermediate hidden layer of the Transformer model; and outputting the learned feature representation by an output prediction layer of the Transformer model, the feature representation being a one-dimensional or multi- dimensional symmetric matrix.”
Claim 5 recites: “…acquiring a protein sequence…”
Claim 7 recites: “…computer equipment comprising a memory and a processor, with the memory having stored there on a computer program…”
Claim 8 recites: “computer-readable storage medium having stored there on a computer program…processor…”
The additional elements in claims 1-5 and 7-8 do not comprise an inventive concept when considered individually or as an ordered combination that transforms the claimed judicial exception into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. The limitations equate to insignificant extra solutional activities. As explained by the Supreme Court, the addition of insignificant extra-solution activity does not amount to an inventive concept, particularly when the activity is well-understood or conventional. (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Additionally, inputting protein sequences and protein structure information into machine learning and language models are known methods as disclosed by Chandra ("Transformer-based deep learning for predicting protein properties in the life sciences." Elife 12 (2023): e82819.; published Jan. 18, 2023; as cited on the attached 892 form). Limitations that add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea such as a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions so that the information can be analyzed by an abstract mental process, as discussed in CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) have been identified by the courts to not to be enough to qualify as "significantly more" when recited in a claim with a judicial exception.
Furthermore, limitations that equate to mere data gathering and outputting via generic computer components, such as receiving data at a computer or outputting data, amount to insignificant extra-solution activity as set forth by the courts in Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968 and OIP Techs., Inc, v, Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015). Storing and retrieving information in memory were identified by the courts as well-understood, routine and conventional in Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93. Also, the use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more as identified by the courts in Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit).
Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: No). As such, claims 1-5 and 7-8 are not patent eligible.
Matter belonging to no statutory category – claim 6
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 6 is to "device," which is not, in all embodiments within a BRI, interpreted as belonging to any category listed in 101. In a BRI, the claim reads on data and/or software comprising no structure other than data and/or software. The claim is not recited as a process, and the claim is not limited to any particular structure as a 101 machine or manufacture. The claim reads on transitory propagating signals which are not proper patentable subject matter because it does not fit within any of the four statutory categories of invention (In re Nuijten, Federal. Circuit, 2006).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu ("ULDNA: Integrating Unsupervised Multi-Source Language Models with LSTM-Attention Network for Protein-DNA Binding Site Prediction." bioRxiv (2023): 2023-05. Posted May 30, 2023.; cited on the attached 892 form).
Regarding independent claim 1, Zhu teaches acquiring a training sample set, wherein the training sample set comprises source data and sample data corresponding to the source data; the source data comprises protein sequences and ligand sequences of a small molecule compound which can bind to the protein; the sample data comprises subsequences of binding sites of the protein and the small molecule compound with “Figure 1 illustrates the performance of seven feature embeddings on three training datasets (i.e., PDNA-543, PDNA-335, and PDNA-316) under cross-validation and two test datasets (i.e., PDNA-41 and PDNA 52) under independent validation.” (page 10 of 35, para. 1) and Table 1 (page 4 of 35) and “…protein-DNA binding site datasets, where the results demonstrated significant advantage on accurate DNA-binding site prediction over the current state-of-the-art of the field.” (page 4 of 35, para. 1).
Zhu teaches performing unsupervised pre-training on a Transformer model with “We proposed a novel deep learning method, ULDNA, to predict DNA-binding sites from protein sequences through a LSTM-attention architecture embedded with three unsupervised language models pretrained in multiple large-scale sequence databases.” (page 1 of 35, Abstract) and “The algorithm was built on transformer embedding and LSTM-attention decoding.” (page 14 of 35, para. 1, Conclusions).
Zhu teaches the source data as input and the sample data as verification, and respectively generating a one- dimensional or multi-dimensional symmetric matrix for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence; coupling two matrices for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence into a multi-dimensional symmetric matrix, and using the multi-dimensional symmetric matrix as an input of an hidden layer of a BiLSTM network model with “The input sequence is fed to ESM2 and ProtTrans transformers to output two feature embedding matrices with the scales of 𝐿 × 2560 and 𝐿 × 1024, respectively.” (page 5 of 35, para. 1) and “The concentrated feature embedding is fed to a designed LSTM-attention network to generate a score vector with 𝐿 dimensions, indicating the confidence scores of belonging DNA-binding sites for all residues in query sequence. In LSTM-attention network, a BiLSTM layer and a self-attention layer are combined to enhance the correlation between evolution diversity and DNA-binding in residue-level to improve DNA-binding prediction.” (page 5 of 35, para. 2)
Zhu teaches fitting the experimental measurement classification and regression value of protein and small molecule interaction by the Bilstm network model to obtain to a trained screening model with “M0: Model is trained on BiLSTM consisting of 256 cells with a one-hot coding matrix [60] extracted from the input sequence, followed by a fully connected network, in which an output layer with SoftMax function [61] is used to generate the confidence scores of belonging DNA-binding sites for all residues in the input sequence. In the training stage, the cross-entropy loss [62] is used as the loss function, as described in Eq 9.” (page 11 of 35, para. 2)
Zhu teaches predicting different protein prediction tasks by the screening model to output prediction results with “We proposed a novel deep learning method, ULDNA, to predict DNA-binding sites from protein sequences through a LSTM-attention architecture embedded with three unsupervised language models pretrained in multiple large-scale sequence databases.” (page 1 of 35, Abstract)
Regarding claim 2, Zhu teaches acquiring a training sample set comprises: executing a masking strategy based on a BERT-type masking language model, randomly masking binding sites of protein targets, obtaining a discontinuous protein sequence characterization, and using the discontinuous protein sequence characterization as sample data; and correspondingly storing the source data and the sample data to obtain training sample sets with “For an input sequence, the masking strategy is performed on the corresponding tokens (i.e., amino acids). Specifically, we randomly sample 15% tokens, each of which is changed as a special “masking” token with 80% probability, a randomly chosen alternate amino acid with 10% probability, and the original input token (i.e., no change) with 10% probability.” (page 1 of 35, para. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu teaches performing unsupervised pre-training on a Transformer model with the source data as input and the sample data as verification; and respectively generating a one-dimensional or multi-dimensional symmetric matrix for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence comprises: inputting the training sample sets of the protein sequence and the ligand sequence into an input embedding layer of the Transformer model, respectively; embedding the training sample sets by the input embedding layer of the Transformer model with “The input sequence is fed to ESM2 and ProtTrans transformers to output two feature embedding matrices with the scales of 𝐿 × 2560 and 𝐿 × 1024, respectively.” (page 5 of 35, para. 1) and “The concentrated feature embedding is fed to a designed LSTM-attention network to generate a score vector with 𝐿 dimensions, indicating the confidence scores of belonging DNA-binding sites for all residues in query sequence. In LSTM-attention network, a BiLSTM layer and a self-attention layer are combined to enhance the correlation between evolution diversity and DNA-binding in residue-level to improve DNA-binding prediction.” (page 5 of 35, para. 2)
Zhu teaches inputting the embedded training sample sets into an intermediate hidden layer of the Transformer model; learning feature representation of the training sample sets by the intermediate hidden layer of the Transformer model; and outputting the learned feature representation by an output prediction layer of the Transformer model, the feature representation being a one-dimensional or multi-dimensional symmetric matrix with Figure S1, The workflow of ESM2 transformer (page 30 of 35).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu teaches characterized in that the fitting the experimental measurement classification and regression value of protein and small molecule interaction by the Bilstm network model to obtain to a trained screening model comprises: acquiring a protein sequence X=,..,xL), i =1,..., L, wherein X is all amino acids; represents a point mutation at a position I, a mutation sequence x ) = (x1, .., x;,..,xL), and sequence context x[=(x1, ....X Xi+1,...,xL encoding the sequence context by a vector where in fe is an embedding function mapping a discrete sequence to a D-dimensional continuous space; the embedding function is instantiated by a bidiectional LSTM neural network and is connected to the output of a final LSTM layer to for man embedding vector so as to obtain wherein gt is the output of first several layers, the first several layers are in a forward input, and LSTM is a last layer of the forward LSTM; g, and gt are defined similarly and in opposite directions; LSTM r and LSTM r are defined similarly and in opposite directions; and fitting the experimental measurement classification and regression value of protein and small molecule interaction by embedding vector z, by means of the learning transformation and softmax function the to obtain to a trained screening model with Figure 1(page 5 of 35) and “The output of the last attention layer is fed to a fully connected layer with SoftMax function to generate a 𝐿 × 28 probability matrix” (equation S14, page 21 of 35). Figure 1 teaches query sequence and feature embedding that is feed to BiLSTM
Regarding independent claim 6, Zhu teaches a sample set processing module configured for acquiring a training sample set, wherein the training sample set comprises source data and sample data corresponding to the source data; the source data comprises protein sequences and ligand sequences of a small molecule compound which can bind to the protein; the sample data comprises subsequences of binding sites of the protein and the small molecule compound with “Figure 1 illustrates the performance of seven feature embeddings on three training datasets (i.e., PDNA-543, PDNA-335, and PDNA-316) under cross-validation and two test datasets (i.e., PDNA-41 and PDNA 52) under independent validation.” (page 10 of 35, para. 1) and Table 1 (page 4 of 35); “…protein-DNA binding site datasets, where the results demonstrated significant advantage on accurate DNA-binding site prediction over the current state-of-the-art of the field.” (page 4 of 35, para. 1) and Figure 1 (page 5 of 35).
Zhu teaches an unsupervised pre-training module configured for performing unsupervised pre-training on a Transformer model with the source data as input and the sample data as verification with “We proposed a novel deep learning method, ULDNA, to predict DNA-binding sites from protein sequences through a LSTM-attention architecture embedded with three unsupervised language models pretrained in multiple large-scale sequence databases.” (page 1 of 35, Abstract); “The algorithm was built on transformer embedding and LSTM-attention decoding.” (page 14 of 35, para. 1, Conclusions) and Figure 1 (page 5 of 35).
Zhu teaches the source data as input and the sample data as verification, and respectively generating a one- dimensional or multi-dimensional symmetric matrix for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence; an input setting module configured for coupling two matrices for coupling two matrices for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence into a multi-dimensional symmetric matrix, and using the multi-dimensional symmetric matrix as an input of an hidden layer of a BiLSTM network model with “The input sequence is fed to ESM2 and ProtTrans transformers to output two feature embedding matrices with the scales of 𝐿 × 2560 and 𝐿 × 1024, respectively.” (page 5 of 35, para. 1); “The concentrated feature embedding is fed to a designed LSTM-attention network to generate a score vector with 𝐿 dimensions, indicating the confidence scores of belonging DNA-binding sites for all residues in query sequence. In LSTM-attention network, a BiLSTM layer and a self-attention layer are combined to enhance the correlation between evolution diversity and DNA-binding in residue-level to improve DNA-binding prediction.” (page 5 of 35, para. 2) and Figure 1 (page 5 of 35).
Zhu teaches a model training module configured for fitting the experimental measurement classification and regression value of protein and small molecule interaction by the Bilstm network model to obtain to a trained screening model with “M0: Model is trained on BiLSTM consisting of 256 cells with a one-hot coding matrix extracted from the input sequence, followed by a fully connected network, in which an output layer with SoftMax function is used to generate the confidence scores of belonging DNA-binding sites for all residues in the input sequence. In the training stage, the cross-entropy loss is used as the loss function, as described in Eq 9.” (page 11 of 35, para. 2) and and Figure 1 (page 5 of 35).
Zhu teaches a prediction module configured for predicting different protein prediction tasks by the screening model to output prediction results with “We proposed a novel deep learning method, ULDNA, to predict DNA-binding sites from protein sequences through a LSTM-attention architecture embedded with three unsupervised language models pretrained in multiple large-scale sequence databases.” (page 1 of 35, Abstract) and Figure 1 (page 5 of 35).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu teaches a computer equipment comprising a memory and a processor, with the memory having stored there on a computer program, characterized in that the processor, when executing the computer program, implements the steps of the method of claim 1 with “The standalone package and an online server of ULDNA are made freely available through URL http://csbio.njust.edu.cn/bioinf/uldna/,” “We proposed a novel deep learning method, ULDNA, to predict DNA-binding sites from protein sequences through a LSTM-attention architecture embedded with three unsupervised language models pretrained in multiple large-scale sequence databases” and Figure 1. Zhu teaches a software package and storing and retrieving data from databases. Therefore, the recited computer equipment comprising a memory and processor corresponds to the online server as taught by Zhu and the recited computer program corresponds to the standalone package as taught by Zhu.
Regarding claim 8, Zhu teaches a computer-readable storage medium having stored there on a computer program, characterized in that the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the steps of the method of claim 1 with “The standalone package and an online server of ULDNA are made freely available through URL http://csbio.njust.edu.cn/bioinf/uldna/,” “We proposed a novel deep learning method, ULDNA, to predict DNA-binding sites from protein sequences through a LSTM-attention architecture embedded with three unsupervised language models pretrained in multiple large-scale sequence databases” and Figure 1. Zhu teaches a software package and storing and retrieving data from databases.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu ("ULDNA: Integrating Unsupervised Multi-Source Language Models with LSTM-Attention Network for Protein-DNA Binding Site Prediction." bioRxiv (2023): 2023-05. Posted May 30, 2023.; cited on the attached 892 form) as applied to claims 1-3 and 5-8 above, and further in view of Dunn III (3D QSAR of flexible molecules using tensor representation. Perspectives in Drug Discovery and Design 12, 167–182 (1998).; cited on the attached 892 form).
Zhu is applied to claims 1-3 and 5-8 as discussed above in the 35 USC 102 section above,
Regarding claim 4, Zhu teaches coupling two matrices for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence into a multi-dimensional symmetric matrix with “…we concentrate the above mentioned three feature embedding matrices from different transformer models as a combination embedding matrix with the scale of 𝐿 × 4352.” (page 5 of 35, para. 1).
Zhu does not teach coupling two matrices for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence by an QSAR model to obtain a multi-dimensional symmetric matrix in claim 4, However, this limitation is taught by Dunn III.
Dunn III teaches characterized in that the coupling two matrices for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence into a multi-dimensional symmetric matrix comprises: coupling two matrices for the protein sequence and the ligand sequence by an QSAR model to obtain a multi-dimensional symmetric matrix with section 3.2 titled 3-way arrays.
It would have also been prima facia obvious to combine the teachings of Zhu and Dunn III to arrive at the claimed invention. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have also been motivated to modify the method of Zhu to include the QSAR model as taught by Dunn III to obtain information indirectly about the receptor geometry. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success, since Zhu and Dunn III teach methods that pertain to the analysis of protein-ligand interactions.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/K.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1686
/Karlheinz R. Skowronek/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1687