DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitagawa (US-Pub 2022/0015213).
Regarding claim 1, Kitagawa discloses a heat treatment apparatus for irradiating a substrate with light to heat the substrate, comprising: a chamber (10, fig 11) for receiving a substrate (W1B, fig 11) therein; a holder (16, fig 11) for holding said substrate in said chamber; a first light source (12a, fig 11) for irradiating said substrate held by said holder with light; and a second light source (11, fig 11) for irradiating said substrate held by said holder with light, said second light source being different from said first light source, wherein at least part of an irradiation region in which said substrate is irradiated with light from said first light source overlaps an irradiation region in which said substrate is irradiated with light from said second light source (see dashed lines, fig 11), said heat treatment apparatus further comprising a common power supply circuit (13 is a power controller that controls the lights for both and is located in all embodiments as they would all need power control, fig 1) for supplying power to said first light source and said second light source.
Regarding claim 2, Kitagawa discloses wherein said second light source emits light of higher directivity than said first light source (shade 17 directs the light in a smaller angle towards 16, fig 11).
Regarding claim 6, Kitagawa discloses wherein the irradiation region of said second light source is a peripheral portion of said substrate (fig 11, the light source covers the whole area, and thus covers the peripheral).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa in view of Gouda (US-Pub 2023/0232501).
Regarding claim 3, Kitagawa discloses wherein said first light source is an LED lamp (12a, fig 11).
Kitagawa does not disclose wherein said second light source is a vertical cavity surface emitting laser.
Gouda teaches a lamp (100, fig 1) used to heat silicon wafers (par. 0008), wherein the light sources used is a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (par. 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source disclosed by Kitagawa by a VCSEL based on the teachings of Gouda. Doing so would allow for using only wavelengths that can be more efficiently absorbed by the substrate (par. 0037), as suggested by Gouda.
Regarding claim 7, Kitagawa discloses a flash lamp (17, fig 11) for irradiating said substrate held by said holder with a flash of light.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa as modified by Gouda as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Shin (7940014).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Kitagawa does not disclose wherein said power supply circuit includes a PWM control circuit, and wherein said power supply circuit includes a constant-current circuit.
Shin teaches a circuit to power an LED or Laser (col 1, lines 24-30) using a constant current circuit and a PWM control circuit(col 4, line 59-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the driving circuit disclosed by Kitagawa by using a constant current circuit including a PWM control circuit based on the teachings of Shin. Doing so would reduce waste heat generation (col 2, lines 1-7), as suggested by Shin.
Conclusion
/SEAN V MEILLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/GERALD L SUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741