DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/23/23 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pistoia et al US 200170374693 in view of Yeom et al US 20160366708 further in view of Honda US 20230421708
Regarding claim 1, Pistoia et al teaches an information processing system including a first device, a first virtual device that is a virtual device of the first device, a second device that is present within a predetermined distance from the first device, and a second virtual device that is a virtual device of the second device (fig 3), the system comprising:
one or a plurality of processors configured to cause (one or more processors or processing units 100, (paragraph 0028):
the first device to transmit nearby device information for specifying the second device (requesting from the first mobile device 10 a virtual connection with a mobile device having a specific type of sensor. the first mobile device 10 receives a response from a second mobile device 12 having the specific type of sensor (paragraph 0024), and recovery connection information used in a case where the second device connects to the first device, to the first virtual device (trust modules 50 in each of the mobile devices 10 and 12 establish in step S106 a trusted temporary communication connection (recovery connection) between with first and second mobile devices (paragraph 0024);
the second virtual device to transmit the recovery connection information received from the first virtual device to the second device (the virtual machine monitor sends a control signal from the first mobile device 10 to the second mobile device 12 for operating the specific type of sensor on the second mobile device. The virtual device monitor on the second mobile device 12 activates the NFC sensor causing the data to be printed by an NFC enabled printer in the vicinity of the second mobile device. (paragraph 0024) Note: the NFC sensor transmits the temporary connection (recovery connection) of paragraph 0024 to the second mobile device; and
Pistoia et al fails to teach the first virtual device to transmit the recovery connection information to the second virtual device corresponding to the second device indicated by the nearby device information received from the first device, in a case where communication with the first device is not possible;
Yeom et al teaches the first virtual device to transmit the recovery connection information to the second virtual device corresponding to the second device indicated by the nearby device information received from the first device, in a case where communication with the first device is not possible (when the first electronic device 310 moves within an area in which the connection is possible through the Bluetooth scheme from an area in which the connection is not possible, the first electronic device 310 may acquire the virtual MAC address and the connection information from the server 340 or the second electronic device 320. (paragraph 0109-0111);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pistoia et al to include: the first virtual device to transmit the recovery connection information to the second virtual device corresponding to the second device indicated by the nearby device information received from the first device, in a case where communication with the first device is not possible
The reason of doing so would to identify and connect with devices when communication is not possible.
Pistoia et al in view of Yeom et al fails to teach the second device to attempt to connect to the first device by using the recovery connection information received from the second virtual device;
Honda 20230421708 teaches the second device to attempt to connect to the first device by using the recovery connection information received from the second virtual device (acquire, via the first device, the information about the second device from the second device incapable of communicating with the communication unit, and reflect the acquired information about the second device in the second virtual device; and [0167] use the information about the first device reflected in the first virtual device, and use the information about the second device reflected in the second virtual device. (paragraph 0161-0167).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pistoia et al in view of Yeom et al to include: the second device to attempt to connect to the first device by using the recovery connection information received from the second virtual device;
The reason of doing so would to identify and connect with devices when communication is not possible.
Regarding claim 2, Pistoia et al in view of Honda teaches wherein the recovery connection information includes information indicating a connection method with which the second device connects to the first device, and the second device connects to the first device by using the information indicating the connection method in the recovery connection information (Pistoia et al: the virtual machine monitor sends a control signal from the first mobile device 10 to the second mobile device 12 for operating the specific type of sensor on the second mobile device. The control signal is this example includes the data to be printed. The virtual device monitor on the second mobile device 12 activates the NFC sensor causing the data to be printed by an NFC enabled printer in the vicinity of the second mobile device (paragraph 0024)
Regarding claim 3, Pistoia et al in view of Yeom et al further in view of Honda teaches wherein the recovery connection information includes specifying information for specifying the second device, and the second device checks whether or not the first device is in a power-off state or a sleep state by using the specifying information in the recovery connection information (Yeom et al: first electronic device 310 may be activated and acquire a virtual MAC address and connection information generated based on the virtual MAC address from the server 340 or the second electronic device 320. The activation of the first electronic device 310 may refer to switching of the first electronic device 310 to a use mode. For example, the activation of the first electronic device 310 may refer to turning-on of power of the first electronic device 310 or switching of the first electronic device 310 from an idle mode to use mode. (paragraph 0109)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pistoia et al to include: wherein the recovery connection information includes specifying information for specifying the second device, and the second device checks whether or not the first device is in a power-off state or a sleep state by using the specifying information in the recovery connection information
The reason of doing so would to identify and connect with devices when communication is not possible by identifying what state the device is in.
Regarding claim 4, Pistoia et al in view of Yeom et al further in view of Honda teach wherein the recovery connection information includes specifying information for specifying the second device, and the second device checks whether or not the first device is in a power-off state or a sleep state by using the specifying information in the recovery connection information. (Yeom et al: first electronic device 310 may be activated and acquire a virtual MAC address and connection information generated based on the virtual MAC address from the server 340 or the second electronic device 320. The activation of the first electronic device 310 may refer to switching of the first electronic device 310 to a use mode. For example, the activation of the first electronic device 310 may refer to turning-on of power of the first electronic device 310 or switching of the first electronic device 310 from an idle mode to use mode. (paragraph 0109). activation of the first electronic device 310 may be identified by the second electronic device 320 or the server 340. When the activation of the first electronic device 310 is identified by the second electronic device 320, the second electronic device 320 may directly transmit the virtual MAC address and the connection information to the electronic device 310 or may make a request for transmitting the virtual MAC address and the connection information to the first electronic device 310 to the server. (paragraph 0111)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pistoia et al to include: wherein the recovery connection information includes specifying information for specifying the second device, and the second device checks whether or not the first device is in a power-off state or a sleep state by using the specifying information in the recovery connection information
The reason of doing so would to identify and connect with devices when communication is not possible by identifying what state the device is in.
Regarding claim 5, Pistoia et al in view of Yeom et al further in view of Honda teaches wherein the first device detects the second device via communication using a predetermined communication method (Pistoia et al: the first mobile device 10 receives a response from a second mobile device 12 having the specific type of sensor (paragraph 0024).
Regarding claim 6, Pistoia et al in view of Yeom et al further in view of Honda teaches wherein the communication method is a short-range communication method (Pistoia et al: search sensor module 48 sends a signal through Bluetooth® and/or WiFi seeking mobile devices having an NFC sensor and also having the peer-to-peer virtual machine module (paragraph 0024).
Regarding claim 7, Pistoia et al in view of Yeom et al further in view of Honda teaches wherein the first device transmits the nearby device information and the recovery connection information to the first virtual device, at predetermined periodic timings (Honda: The first device may store a date and time the installation data has been collected, an interval at which the installation data has been collected, and a DSID of the device at which the installation data has been collected. The first device 20 may compare the installation data acquired last time with the installation data acquired this time, and transmit only the difference to the DS management unit 104. Further, the first device 20 may classify the installation data based on a type of installation data and update frequency information, and acquire and synchronize the data at intervals for each classification (paragraph 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pistoia et al to include: wherein the first device transmits the nearby device information and the recovery connection information to the first virtual device, at predetermined periodic timings
The reason of doing so would to identify and connect with devices when communication by periodically identifying what state the device is in.
Regarding claim 8, Pistoia et al in view of Yeom et al further in view of Honda teaches wherein the first device transmits the nearby device information and the recovery connection information to the first virtual device, in a case of synchronizing with the first virtual device (Honda: The first device may store a date and time the installation data has been collected, an interval at which the installation data has been collected, and a DSID of the device at which the installation data has been collected. The first device 20 may compare the installation data acquired last time with the installation data acquired this time, and transmit only the difference to the DS management unit 104. Further, the first device 20 may classify the installation data based on a type of installation data and update frequency information, and acquire and synchronize the data at intervals for each classification (paragraph 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pistoia et al to include: wherein the first device transmits the nearby device information and the recovery connection information to the first virtual device, in a case of synchronizing with the first virtual device
The reason of doing so would to identify and connect with devices.
Regarding claim 9, Pistoia et al in view of Yeom et al further in view of Honda teaches wherein the first device synchronizes with the first virtual device by using the second device (Pistoia et al: virtual machine monitor 52 couples the operating system of the first mobile device with the application program requiring the operation of the specific type of sensor such that the data from the specific type of sensor is not required to be onboard a sensor on the first mobile device. the coupling (synchronizes) is provided by a virtual machine monitor running on the first mobile device such that the first mobile device is a host machine and the second mobile device is a guest machine (paragraph 0023)
Regarding claim 10, Pistoia et al in view of Yeom et al further in view of Honda teaches wherein the first device synchronizes with the first virtual device via the second device and the second virtual device (Pistoia et al: requesting from the first mobile device 10 a virtual connection with a mobile device having a specific type of sensor. In step S104 the first mobile device 10 receives a response from a second mobile device 12 having the specific type of sensor (paragraph 0024)
Regarding claim 11, Pistoia et al in view of Yeom et al further in view of Honda teaches wherein the first device synchronizes with the first virtual device by setting information related to communication of the second device in the first device (Yeom et al: the first electronic device may set device information of the first electronic device as the acquired virtual device information in an operation for making the connection. the first electronic device may change a MAC address of the first electronic device from a unique MAC address of the first electronic device to a virtual MAC address included in the virtual device information. Accordingly, on behalf of the second electronic device, the first electronic device may uniformly maintain the connection between the second electronic device. (paragraph 0073)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pistoia et al to include: wherein the first device synchronizes with the first virtual device by setting information related to communication of the second device in the first device
The reason of doing so would to identify and connect with devices.
Regarding claim 12, Pistoia et al teaches An information processing system including a first device, a first virtual device that is a virtual device of the first device, a second device that is present within a predetermined distance from the first device, and a second virtual device that is a virtual device of the second device (the first mobile device 10 a virtual connection with a mobile device having a specific type of sensor. The search sensor module 48 sends a signal through Bluetooth® and/or WiFi seeking mobile devices having an NFC sensor and also having the peer-to-peer virtual machine module. In step S104 the first mobile device 10 receives a response from a second mobile device 12 having the specific type of sensor. The trust modules 50 in each of the mobile devices 10 and 12 establish in step S106 a trusted temporary communication connection between with first and second mobile devices. This connection can be using well known secure handshake techniques. In step S108, the virtual machine monitor sends a control signal from the first mobile device 10 to the second mobile device 12 for operating the specific type of sensor on the second mobile device. The virtual device monitor on the second mobile device 12 activates the NFC sensor causing the data to be printed by an NFC enabled printer in the vicinity of the second mobile device. (paragraph 0024), the system comprising:
one or a plurality of processors configured to cause (one or more processors or processing units 100, (paragraph 0028):
the first device to transmit nearby device information for specifying the second device to the first virtual device (requesting from the first mobile device 10 a virtual connection with a mobile device having a specific type of sensor. the first mobile device 10 receives a response from a second mobile device 12 having the specific type of sensor (paragraph 0024), and transmit recovery connection information used in a case where the second device connects to the first device, to the second device (trust modules 50 in each of the mobile devices 10 and 12 establish in step S106 a trusted temporary communication connection (recovery connection) between with first and second mobile devices (paragraph 0024);
the second virtual device to transmit the instruction information received from the first virtual device to the second device (the virtual machine monitor sends a control signal from the first mobile device 10 to the second mobile device 12 for operating the specific type of sensor on the second mobile device. The virtual device monitor on the second mobile device 12 activates the NFC sensor causing the data to be printed by an NFC enabled printer in the vicinity of the second mobile device. (paragraph 0024); and
Pistoia et al fails to teach the first virtual device to transmit instruction information indicating an instruction to recover the first device to the second virtual device corresponding to the second device indicated by the nearby device information received from the first device, in a case where communication with the first device is not possible;
Yeom et al teaches the first virtual device to transmit instruction information indicating an instruction to recover the first device to the second virtual device corresponding to the second device indicated by the nearby device information received from the first device, in a case where communication with the first device is not possible (when the first electronic device 310 moves within an area in which the connection is possible through the Bluetooth scheme from an area in which the connection is not possible, the first electronic device 310 may acquire the virtual MAC address and the connection information from the server 340 or the second electronic device 320. (paragraph 0109-0111);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pistoia et al to include: the first virtual device to transmit instruction information indicating an instruction to recover the first device to the second virtual device corresponding to the second device indicated by the nearby device information received from the first device, in a case where communication with the first device is not possible
The reason of doing so would to identify and connect with devices when normal communication is not possible.
Pistoia et al in view of Yeom et al fails to teach the second device to attempt to connect to the first device by using the recovery connection information received from the first device, in a case where the instruction information is received from the second virtual device;
Honda teaches the second device to attempt to connect to the first device by using the recovery connection information received from the first device, in a case where the instruction information is received from the second virtual device (acquire, via the first device, the information about the second device from the second device incapable of communicating with the communication unit, and reflect the acquired information about the second device in the second virtual device; and [0167] use the information about the first device reflected in the first virtual device, and use the information about the second device reflected in the second virtual device. (paragraph 0161-0167).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pistoia et al in view of Yeom et al to include: the second device to attempt to connect to the first device by using the recovery connection information received from the first device, in a case where the instruction information is received from the second virtual device
The reason of doing so would to identify and connect with devices.
Regarding claim 13, Pistoia et al teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program executed by a first device in an information processing system including the first device (Computer system may further include other removable/non-removable, volatile/non-volatile computer system storage media (paragraph 0031), a first virtual device that is a virtual device of the first device, a second device that is present within a predetermined distance from the first device, and a second virtual device that is a virtual device of the second device (the first mobile device 10 a virtual connection with a mobile device having a specific type of sensor. The search sensor module 48 sends a signal through Bluetooth® and/or WiFi seeking mobile devices having an NFC sensor and also having the peer-to-peer virtual machine module. In step S104 the first mobile device 10 receives a response from a second mobile device 12 having the specific type of sensor. The trust modules 50 in each of the mobile devices 10 and 12 establish in step S106 a trusted temporary communication connection between with first and second mobile devices. This connection can be using well known secure handshake techniques. In step S108, the virtual machine monitor sends a control signal from the first mobile device 10 to the second mobile device 12 for operating the specific type of sensor on the second mobile device. The virtual device monitor on the second mobile device 12 activates the NFC sensor causing the data to be printed by an NFC enabled printer in the vicinity of the second mobile device. (paragraph 0024), the program causing a computer to execute processes of:
detecting the second device by communication using a predetermined short-range communication method (the virtual machine monitor sends a control signal from the first mobile device 10 to the second mobile device 12 for operating the specific type of sensor on the second mobile device. The virtual device monitor on the second mobile device 12 activates the NFC sensor causing the data to be printed by an NFC enabled printer in the vicinity of the second mobile device. (paragraph 0024) Note: the NFC sensor transmits the temporary connection (recovery connection) of paragraph 0024 to the second mobile device); and
Pistoia et al fails to teach transmitting nearby device information for specifying the second device and recovery connection information used in a case where the second device connects to the first device;
Yeom et al teaches transmitting nearby device information for specifying the second device and recovery connection information used in a case where the second device connects to the first device (when the first electronic device 310 moves within an area in which the connection is possible through the Bluetooth scheme from an area in which the connection is not possible, the first electronic device 310 may acquire the virtual MAC address and the connection information from the server 340 or the second electronic device 320. (paragraph 0109-0111),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pistoia et al to include: transmitting nearby device information for specifying the second device and recovery connection information used in a case where the second device connects to the first device
The reason of doing so would to identify and connect with devices.
Pistoia et al in view of Yeom et al fails to teach the first virtual device, in a case of synchronizing with the first virtual device
Honda teaches to the first virtual device, in a case of synchronizing with the first virtual device (The first device may store a date and time the installation data has been collected, an interval at which the installation data has been collected, and a DSID of the device at which the installation data has been collected. The first device 20 may compare the installation data acquired last time with the installation data acquired this time, and transmit only the difference to the DS management unit 104. Further, the first device 20 may classify the installation data based on a type of installation data and update frequency information, and acquire and synchronize the data at intervals for each classification (paragraph 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pistoia et al in view of Yeom et al to include: the first virtual device, in a case of synchronizing with the first virtual device
The reason of doing so would to identify and connect with devices.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pistoia et al US 200170374693 in view of Yeom et al US 20160366708.
Regarding claim 14, Pistoia et al teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program executed by a first device in an information processing system including the first device (Computer system may further include other removable/non-removable, volatile/non-volatile computer system storage media (paragraph 0031), a first virtual device that is a virtual device of the first device, a second device that is present within a predetermined distance from the first device, and a second virtual device that is a virtual device of the second device (the first mobile device 10 a virtual connection with a mobile device having a specific type of sensor. The search sensor module 48 sends a signal through Bluetooth® and/or WiFi seeking mobile devices having an NFC sensor and also having the peer-to-peer virtual machine module. In step S104 the first mobile device 10 receives a response from a second mobile device 12 having the specific type of sensor. The trust modules 50 in each of the mobile devices 10 and 12 establish in step S106 a trusted temporary communication connection between with first and second mobile devices. This connection can be using well known secure handshake techniques. In step S108, the virtual machine monitor sends a control signal from the first mobile device 10 to the second mobile device 12 for operating the specific type of sensor on the second mobile device. The virtual device monitor on the second mobile device 12 activates the NFC sensor causing the data to be printed by an NFC enabled printer in the vicinity of the second mobile device. (paragraph 0024), the program causing a computer to execute processes of:
detecting the second device by communication using a predetermined short-range communication method (the virtual machine monitor sends a control signal from the first mobile device 10 to the second mobile device 12 for operating the specific type of sensor on the second mobile device. The virtual device monitor on the second mobile device 12 activates the NFC sensor causing the data to be printed by an NFC enabled printer in the vicinity of the second mobile device. (paragraph 0024) Note: the NFC sensor transmits the temporary connection (recovery connection) of paragraph 0024 to the second mobile device); and
transmitting recovery connection information used in a case where the second device connects to the first device, to the second device, in a case of synchronizing with the first virtual device. (virtual machine monitor 52 couples the operating system of the first mobile device with the application program requiring the operation of the specific type of sensor such that the data from the specific type of sensor is not required to be onboard a sensor on the first mobile device. the coupling (synchronizes) is provided by a virtual machine monitor running on the first mobile device such that the first mobile device is a host machine and the second mobile device is a guest machine (paragraph 0023)
Pistoia et al fails to teach transmitting nearby device information for specifying the second device to the first virtual device
Yeom et al teaches transmitting nearby device information for specifying the second device to the first virtual device (when the first electronic device 310 moves within an area in which the connection is possible through the Bluetooth scheme from an area in which the connection is not possible, the first electronic device 310 may acquire the virtual MAC address (device information) and the connection information from the server 340 or the second electronic device 320. (paragraph 0109-0111),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pistoia et al to include: transmitting nearby device information for specifying the second device to the first virtual device
The reason of doing so would to identify and connect with a specific device.
Conclusion
Michael Burleson
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2683
Michael Burleson
May 30, 2026
/MICHAEL BURLESON/
/AKWASI M SARPONG/ SPE, Art Unit 2681 6/2/2026