DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
In response to the communication received on 11/05/2025, the following is a Final Office Action for Application No. 18454130.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P. 201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on: 18454130 filed 08/23/2023 claims foreign priority to 2022-139523, filed 09/01/2022.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments have been fully considered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims overcome the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection, and hence the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Publicover et al. (US 20200242924 A1) hereinafter referred to as Publicover in view of Minster et al. (US 2017/0267233 A1) hereinafter referred to as Minster.
Publicover teaches:
Claim 1. An information processing apparatus, comprising
a controller configured to execute (¶0253 The foregoing vehicle control systems and methods may be employed in a variety of ways in conjunction with the foregoing parking control and management system to increase the efficiency with which vehicles are directed along various roadways and freeways to an available parking destination that matches the requirements of drivers/passengers of the vehicle as disclosed in detail herein):
receiving vehicle data periodically from a first vehicle, which (i) is an autonomous vehicle autonomously operated based on a first operation command generated based on a first operation plan generated for the first vehicle and (ii) provides a predetermined service, the predetermined service including any one of (i) passenger transport, (ii) package transport, (iii) package storage, (iv) provision of a mobile shop, (v) provision of a working space, and (vi) provision of a sleeping space, the vehicle data including at least a processing status of a first task of a plurality of tasks included in the first operation plan, and the plurality of tasks including at least (i) travelling for providing the predetermined service, (ii) providing the predetermined service, and (iii) travelling to any one of a plurality of vehicle sites after providing the predetermined service (¶0064 These modes of sensor 1211, speaker 1215, and lighting 1216 motion and focus can be initiated by the PSC 1100 in response to the expected or tracked position of a vehicle or the one or more of the occupants of a vehicle returning or leaving thereto. The methods of vehicle tracking can include GPS tracking of position, but other means such as cell tower location and wireless Ethernet (e.g., Wi-Fi®) positioning may also be employed. These methods may be combined together for even greater accuracy and for position coverage where some of these are unavailable or minimally available. ¶0120 an individual owner, occupant, or driver may utilize multiple Customer Accounts depending upon their roles. For example, a vehicle owner may run a business and have a family and thus require parking in both roles for the same vehicle at different times but wish to account for such parking within the role they participate in when parking. In some embodiments, vehicles may be autonomous (self-driving) and thus not have any driver or occupants at times yet still participate in TPMS 1000 by way of the Customer Account of their owner. ¶0145 Further, as the user of the space (i.e., the driver or passenger of the parked vehicle) is likely to carry a Smartphone 100 with a GPS after they leave their vehicle, it is possible for the Smartphone to be in signal communication through wireless networks including Wi-Fi and cellular data service (e.g., GSM, 3G/4G networks) in conjunction with location tracking mechanisms such as GPS with the PSC when the user is outside of their vehicle, such as to detect when they have reached their ultimate destination, or are returning to their vehicle);
receiving availability information on the plurality of vehicle sites periodically from an external apparatus that manages the plurality of vehicle sites (¶0152 the PMN 1210 can act as surveillance cameras for the property, as well as to be used to identify the availability of the Parking Spaces, and images and/or lighting can be acquired more frequently to check the appearance of the residence to insure there is no improper entry of it, or other suspicious activity.);
determining, based on the processing status of the first task, whether or not the first vehicle has finished providing the predetermined service to determine whether or not the first vehicle can begin to move in order to be forwarded to any one of the plurality of vehicle sites (¶0140 During the Vehicle 50 occupation of the Parking Space Allocation, the charging processor receives updates to the customer account data structure such as the location, intents, activity, purchases, and/or vacancy of the customer. The updates to the customer account data structure 1117 may result in an actual vacancy or updated predicted vacancy in the reservation calendar entry 1112-20. The updated vacancy information triggers notification to the request processor 1111 by way of signal processor 1115. Other customer account data structure 1117 update activity such as store purchases may result in recording other parking activity 1117-10 as a billing credit toward Parking Space fees and charges. In the case of an actual vacancy of a Parking Space, the end time parking activity 1117-10 is recorded in the customer account data structure and the customer's account is debited according to the parking terms 1112-21.);
when the first vehicle has finished providing the predetermined service, determining a first vehicle site to serve as a forwarding destination of the first vehicle, among the plurality of vehicle sites, based on the availability information on the plurality of vehicle sites and (ii) facility information on the plurality of vehicle sites, the facility information being stored in a memory of the information processing apparatus (¶0141 Access Processor 1116 (as illustrated in FIG. 12) handles requests to add or remove specific Parking Spaces from the system based on alternative needs to parking, such as closure of streets, a private owner wishing to limit availability, and the like such as access request 1112-30 shown in FIG. 17. Such private use may constitute an entity wishing to purchase a block of spaces and reserve them for their assignment to others. For example, if someone is having a party at their house and want to reserve street parking for their guests in front of their house they can pay for their parking and assign the spaces to the guest's vehicles. Alternatively, a merchant may wish to purchase a block of spaces in front of their store and assign them to their customers. ¶0161 Parking Spaces can be expanded by parking vehicles in slanted Parking Spaces three or more slots/vehicles deep, with first vehicle arriving occupying the forward Parking Space, the second vehicle immediately behind the first vehicle, and the third vehicle immediately behind the second vehicle, and so on, with a departure lane in front of the first vehicle and an access/entry lane behind the last vehicle. All vehicles enter Parking Spaces from the access/entry lane. The first vehicle to park is able to leave first via the departure lane, allowing the second and third vehicle to depart in the same order, that is providing First-in/first-out (FIFO) sequencing of vehicle allocations depending on when or how soon they want or are willing to commit to leave);
generating a second operation plan by incorporating information designating the first vehicle site into the first operation plan, the second operation plan including, as a second task, travelling to the first vehicle site after providing the predetermined service;generating a second operation command based on the second operation plan, the second operation command including an instruction for the first vehicle to move to the first vehicle site (¶0161 Parking Spaces can be expanded by parking vehicles in slanted Parking Spaces three or more slots/vehicles deep, with first vehicle arriving occupying the forward Parking Space, the second vehicle immediately behind the first vehicle, and the third vehicle immediately behind the second vehicle, and so on, with a departure lane in front of the first vehicle and an access/entry lane behind the last vehicle. All vehicles enter Parking Spaces from the access/entry lane. The first vehicle to park is able to leave first via the departure lane, allowing the second and third vehicle to depart in the same order, that is providing First-in/first-out (FIFO) sequencing of vehicle allocations depending on when or how soon they want or are willing to commit to leave.); and
transmitting the second operation command to the first vehicle to make the first vehicle autonomously travel to the first vehicle site based on the second operation command (¶0150 The TPMS 1000 can be programmed to provide additional functions as described below. Routing Processor 1113 may direct Vehicles 50 to the allocated Parking Space as they approach their destination, optionally by a navigation command system with voice commands and/or maps or 3-Dimensional type road displays ¶0120 a vehicle owner may run a business and have a family and thus require parking in both roles for the same vehicle at different times but wish to account for such parking within the role they participate in when parking. In some embodiments, vehicles may be autonomous (self-driving) and thus not have any driver or occupants at times yet still participate in TPMS 1000 by way of the Customer Account of their owner.).
Although not explicitly taught by Publicover, Minster teaches in the analogous art of methods for autonomous vehicle parking:
transmitting the second operation command to the first vehicle to make the first vehicle autonomously travel to the first vehicle site based on the second operation command (¶0015 As shown in FIG. 5 a system 500 for autonomous vehicle parking includes an autonomous vehicle 510, a vehicle coordinator 520, optionally a remote expert interface 530, an autonomous vehicle parking facilitation system (parking facilitator) 540, and a plurality of autonomous vehicles 550.¶0016 The system 500 functions to enable autonomous vehicle 510 to locate and/or identify an available parking space. Additionally, the system 500 functions to enable autonomous vehicle 510 to transaction to complete a transaction for obtaining or securing a parking space. For example, the vehicle routing coordinator 520 may provide instruction to the autonomous vehicle 510 to park in a specific geographic area associated with a ridesharing request or the like).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods for autonomous vehicle parking of Minster with the system for traffic and parking management of Publicover for the following reasons:
(1) a finding that there was some teaching, suggestion, or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings, e.g. Publicover ¶0003 teaches that there is a need for improved methods and systems for managing vehicles to reduce traffic congestion and improve the efficiency by which vehicle movement is managed and controlled and furthermore to improve the manner in which parking spaces are dynamically identified and allocated for vehicles;
(2) a finding that there was reasonable expectation of success since the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference, e.g. Publicover teaches a traffic and parking management system that is in signal communication with vehicles to direct them to park in specific locations that are under the systems authority, and Minster teaches systems for autonomous vehicle parking includes: identifying parking parameters for parking an autonomous vehicle, receiving parking space data of one or more parking spaces, identifying a parking space of the one or more parking spaces for parking the autonomous vehicle, determining autonomous vehicle controls for controlling the autonomous vehicle to park at a parking space associated with the parking space data, implementing the autonomous vehicle controls for parking the autonomous vehicle in the parking space; and
(3) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness, e.g. Publicover at least the above cited paragraphs, and Minster at least the inclusively cited paragraphs.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to combine the methods for autonomous vehicle parking of Minster with the system for traffic and parking management of Publicover. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and whether there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so." DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). See MPEP 2143(G).
Publicover teaches:
Claim 2. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of vehicle sites each belong to oneof a plurality of groups,the first operation plan includes information designating a group of the plurality of groups that correspondsto the forwarding destination of the firstvehicle,andwhen the first vehicle has finished providing the predetermined service, the controller determines the first vehicle site among the vehicle sites belonging to the designated group (¶0236 The system determines the volume of traffic that will be exiting at that time of arrival. Based on that volume, the system determines if capacity limitations will be exceeded. If so, the system has the vehicle pause in the holding area until joining the next pod which will allow the system to remain within its capacity requirements. Thus FIG. 25A also illustrated such a situation in that it shows car A waiting for pod B to pass, since entering this pod would exceed system capacity at the time which A will be exiting. As shown in FIG. 25B, car A is shown merging into the traffic lane and joining at the tail end of pod C. Thus, the grouping of the pods becomes determined by the destination of the vehicles within it, in order to avoid having too many vehicles reach the same exit at the same time).
Publicover teaches:
Claim 3. The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of groups are defined in accordance with types of tasks executable at the vehicle site, and the first operation plan includes designation of the task to be executed at the vehicle site (¶0236 The system determines the volume of traffic that will be exiting at that time of arrival. Based on that volume, the system determines if capacity limitations will be exceeded. If so, the system has the vehicle pause in the holding area until joining the next pod which will allow the system to remain within its capacity requirements. Thus FIG. 25A also illustrated such a situation in that it shows car A waiting for pod B to pass, since entering this pod would exceed system capacity at the time which A will be exiting. As shown in FIG. 25B, car A is shown merging into the traffic lane and joining at the tail end of pod C. Thus, the grouping of the pods becomes determined by the destination of the vehicles within it, in order to avoid having too many vehicles reach the same exit at the same time).
Publicover teaches:
Claim 4. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first operation plan is shared with the first vehicle, and the first operation plan does not include the information designating the first vehicle site (¶0111 In some embodiments, public and/or private buses may place their vehicles into service using the TPMS 1000 to facilitate and allocate their use to create spontaneous bus routes whose paths and schedules vary over time to meet the changing demands/needs of users. Such buses may include any vehicle where a driver picks up, transports, and drops off passengers. Users may register a request for transportation between two points at a requested time with TPMS 1000 and be matched with potential buses offering to provide such transport. ¶0140 In FIG. 10 a flow chart illustrating operation of the Charging Processor 1114 is shown. Upon receipt of a parking actualization intent, the charging processor 1114 updates the calendar entry 1112-20 to reflect the updated predicted time of occupancy and associated probabilities, additionally for any other bundled Parking Space Allocations of the reservation, their probabilities are correspondingly reduced. The charging processor also sends notification to request processor 1111 via signal processor 1115 of any increased probabilities and/or intent to occupy. ¶0253 The foregoing vehicle control systems and methods may be employed in a variety of ways in conjunction with the foregoing parking control and management system to increase the efficiency with which vehicles are directed along various roadways and freeways to an available parking destination that matches the requirements of drivers/passengers of the vehicle as disclosed in detail herein).
Publicover teaches:
Claim 5. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of vehicle sites are assigned priorities in accordance with facilities, and when the first vehicle has finished providing the predetermined service, the controller determines the first vehicle site based on the priorities (¶0118 As shown in FIG. 8, Parking space allocation of request processor 1111 may be done in real time, in response to the vehicle's communicated need for location, duration, and Parking Space size, and any Priority Determination Factors 1117-20 (PDFs). As shown in FIG. 7, PDF(s) may include handicapped priority access 1117-21, preferred status due to residency, work, or customer affiliation 1117-25, willingness/preference to pay or bid more (e.g., surcharges) for premium Parking Spaces 1117-22 closer to a desired location, or within walking distance or a mass transit route thereto, community vehicle designation (e.g., fire, police, ambulance, emergency, municipal, repair, tow, or delivery vehicles) 1117-24, as well as past loyalty or purchases 1117-23 at business establishments that wish to offer parking refunds, rebates or advances based on the likelihood of future purchases. ¶0119 Further, vehicles used in providing municipal, police, fire or emergency repair services can receive a high priority PDF 1117-20, placing them ahead of commercial or delivery vehicles, which themselves might have a higher priority in some times and locations than the priority of private vehicles. Vehicles with short parking duration may also get priority over longer term parking vehicles).
Publicover teaches:
Claim 6. The information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein when the first vehicle has finished providing the predetermined service, the controller selects, as the first vehicle site, vehicle site among the plurality of vehicle sites that has an available parking lot and hasthe facility having a highest priority (¶0118 As shown in FIG. 8, Parking space allocation of request processor 1111 may be done in real time, in response to the vehicle's communicated need for location, duration, and Parking Space size, and any Priority Determination Factors 1117-20 (PDFs). As shown in FIG. 7, PDF(s) may include handicapped priority access 1117-21, preferred status due to residency, work, or customer affiliation 1117-25, willingness/preference to pay or bid more (e.g., surcharges) for premium Parking Spaces 1117-22 closer to a desired location, or within walking distance or a mass transit route thereto, community vehicle designation (e.g., fire, police, ambulance, emergency, municipal, repair, tow, or delivery vehicles) 1117-24, as well as past loyalty or purchases 1117-23 at business establishments that wish to offer parking refunds, rebates or advances based on the likelihood of future purchases. ¶0119 Further, vehicles used in providing municipal, police, fire or emergency repair services can receive a high priority PDF 1117-20, placing them ahead of commercial or delivery vehicles, which themselves might have a higher priority in some times and locations than the priority of private vehicles. Vehicles with short parking duration may also get priority over longer term parking vehicles).
Publicover teaches:
Claim 7. The information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the plurality of vehicle sites are vehicle sites that have charging facilities, and the priorities are defined in accordance with charging capabilities of the charging facilities (¶0086 Premium Parking Spaces are Parking Spaces that have added features generally not available in other Parking Spaces. Premium Parking Spaces may command a higher price than non-premium Parking Spaces, such as due to bidding competition or set rate. Examples of features that make a Parking Space premium are: time of day, demand levels, being covered with a roof, being at ground level, having close proximity to stairs or elevator, having close proximity to entrance or exit of a parking structure, including a charging station for use by electric or plug-in hybrid Vehicles, valet service, close proximity to a desirable location (e.g., on-street parking directly in front of a popular store).
Publicover teaches:
Claim 8. The information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the plurality of vehicle sites have charging facilities, andthe priorities are defined in accordance with types of the charging facilities (¶0127 As shown in FIG. 5, it is anticipated that such a property owner is registered with the PSC in a Customer Account Data Structure 1117 that includes their identity 1117-40 and/or banking account information 1117-30 for the purpose of crediting parking fees earned, as well as Parking Space Associations 1117-70 to Parking Space Data Structure 1112 that contain Parking Space information including the geographic identity, descriptive/technical photographs 1112-40, available parking hours and days in Reservation Calendar 1112-10 and/or Association Start and End time dates at 1117-70, bonus features 1112-50 (e.g., availability to purchase extra options such as a vehicle charging station, a vehicle washing/detailing service, hot/cold water access, and/or electrical/charging access) and conditions 1112-70. Conditions may include that a driver utilizing the space must make the vehicle available for movement by the property owner and/or their assignees, via one or more of the methods described above. ¶0165 Likewise, electric vehicles can be directed to available charging stations, and a user with Smartphone 100 may be directed to move the vehicles when charging is complete via a text message or other electronic notification. It is also envisioned that with self or auto-drive and park capabilities vehicles 50 can automatically be directed to take turns at charging stations, with automation of the charging cable socket attachment and removal, such as aided by machine vision).
Publicover teaches:
Claim 9. The information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the priorities are defined in accordance with a type of the parking lot (¶0118 As shown in FIG. 8, Parking space allocation of request processor 1111 may be done in real time, in response to the vehicle's communicated need for location, duration, and Parking Space size, and any Priority Determination Factors 1117-20 (PDFs). As shown in FIG. 7, PDF(s) may include handicapped priority access 1117-21, preferred status due to residency, work, or customer affiliation 1117-25, willingness/preference to pay or bid more (e.g., surcharges) for premium Parking Spaces 1117-22 closer to a desired location ¶0119 Further, vehicles used in providing municipal, police, fire or emergency repair services can receive a high priority PDF 1117-20, placing them ahead of commercial or delivery vehicles, which themselves might have a higher priority in some times and locations than the priority of private vehicles. Vehicles with short parking duration may also get priority over longer term parking vehicles. Further, carpool vehicles (High Occupancy Vehicles—HOV) can have a higher priority PDF 1117-20 than single or low occupant vehicles).
Publicover teaches:
Claim 10. The information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein if there are a plurality of vehicle sites whose priorities are identical to each other,when the first vehicle has finished providing the predetermined service, the controller determines the first vehicle site based on a distance from the first vehicle (¶0118 As shown in FIG. 8, Parking space allocation of request processor 1111 may be done in real time, in response to the vehicle's communicated need for location, duration, and Parking Space size, and any Priority Determination Factors 1117-20 (PDFs). As shown in FIG. 7, PDF(s) may include handicapped priority access 1117-21, preferred status due to residency, work, or customer affiliation 1117-25, willingness/preference to pay or bid more (e.g., surcharges) for premium Parking Spaces 1117-22 closer to a desired location, or within walking distance or a mass transit route thereto, community vehicle designation (e.g., fire, police, ambulance, emergency, municipal, repair, tow, or delivery vehicles) 1117-24, as well as past loyalty or purchases 1117-23 at business establishments that wish to offer parking refunds, rebates or advances based on the likelihood of future purchases. ¶0119 Further, vehicles used in providing municipal, police, fire or emergency repair services can receive a high priority PDF 1117-20, placing them ahead of commercial or delivery vehicles, which themselves might have a higher priority in some times and locations than the priority of private vehicles. Vehicles with short parking duration may also get priority over longer term parking vehicles).
As per claims 11-20, the method tracks the apparatus of claims 1-10, respectively, resulting in substantially similar limitations. The same cited prior art and rationale of claims 1-10 are applied to claims 11-20, respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KURTIS GILLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624